For a glimpse into the past, and a drive along the low-lying fields and windmills of North Holland, Volendam is an ideal day trip destination from Amsterdam. Too cute to be true, the quaint fishing village surrounds a picture-postcard harbor lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 214 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Duration: 5.5 hours (9 AM - 2:30 PM)
Boarding: Opposite Amsterdam Centraal (also de-boarding)
Locations: Countryside - Volendam (Fishing village, Cheese museum), Marken (ferry ride, Cloggs shop) and Zaanse Schans (Wind mills)
Transport: Double decker, 2X2 Vanhool bus, Comfortable enough. Could leave stuff in the bus while checking out places
Schedule: Daniela managed the timetable pretty well, without hurrying us
Languages spoken: She's a polyglot! English, Italian, French and I think German too. We got to learn some Dutch words too.
Do we get food on the trip: we stopped at Volendam for 30 - 45 mins for tea / coffee / food (no, not complementary in the tour)
Price: EU 40 per head
Can you leave anything out: would recommend no. a longer tour will be even better :-)
Would I recommend the tour: Absolutely, without question!
Suggestion: Understandably, its a pleasure tour. I would have loved even more if there was more information available (even in written format) on where we are going - history, local information. This is strictly for the lazy travellers, which I became in this trip :(

Have to mention the tour guide - Daniela, who was absolutely engaging and uber-sweet! We loved you :-)

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I definitely recommend this day trip from Amsterdam. We also did the Holland in One Day Sightseeing tour, which I do not recommend. This tour is a fun filled day, but there is actually NO cheese tasting in Edam. Viator definitely shouldn't mislead people. The tasting was just at a tourist cheese shop in Volendam. Our guide told us that cheese isn't even made in Edam. They simply named the cheese after it. There are some great authentic cheese shops in Amsterdam so seek those out where you can buy the cheese from local farms and where chefs were buying cheeses for their restaurants. Edam is a quiet little town. It was exciting to be there on their festival weekend when everyone in town was out on the streets having fun. Seeing the countryside and getting to explore a working windmill was extraordinary.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Enjoyed the tour. Good value for the price. Our tour guide for the Windmills, Volendam and Marken Trip was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The afternoon tour (Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken) was outstanding. We really enjoyed seeing the Holland countryside and experiencing all of these beautiful places, could has spent a whole day touring these three locations. On the morning city tour, we did not appreciate being dropped off at a diamond factory for about an hour. At the factory we were locked in a room with the intent of trying to get us to buy something. We felt that there were other more interesting things we could have been seeing in Amsterdam instead of spending 1/3 of the tour in the diamond factory.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was fantastic especially the windmills, Volendam and Marken day trip.....I will surely recommend the tour to my friends

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I really enjoyed the villages of the windmills, the cheese factory at Volendam, and the clog factory at Marken. We apparently came when there was a festival going on and the Marina was extremely rowdy and crowded with celebration. This was where we had to take a boat to Marken. Fun was just in the air, but it was a bit much for me. The city tour, I could've done without because I really did not see much or learn much than if I had been walking. We went by places too fast and half the time I could not really find what the guide was referring to.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I greatly enjoyed the various cities we visited (Marken (clogs, boat), Volendam (more touristy town), Edam (cheese), and especially Zaanse Schans windmills. They were the highlights and adorable! The tour was conducted in two languages and our guide, Erik, tried his best to get through both in a timely manner.
Only thing keeping us from five stars is that we got very little history about the cities themselves and it was more color commentary than history. This is a preference thing though.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day. We really enjoyed this tour. The windmills were good but the highlights were definitely Marken and Volendam. The cheese factory was really good and the little villages were so picturesque. The boat trip was a great also. The whole day was a really good way to see the outer areas of Amsterdam that most people don't get to see. Definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We especially enjoyed the Windmills, Volendam, and Marken. Our guide was excellent!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip through the countryside. Got to see a small town with windmills and beautiful houses, walk through Volendam to see a cheese factory (get short demo - not extensive) and the coast. Had the chance to try the local cuisine of kibbeling (fried fish). Took a pleasant ferry trip to see a clog maker, who takes you through step by step. I felt it was the right amount of time given to see everything while not taking up a whole day. Was given freedom to walk around certain areas with or without the tour guide depending on the pace you wanted to set. Good information and history given on the bus through an audio guide. Only negative was that I would prefer to hear more information from the guide.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great experience, Volendam is delightful. Marvellous day and would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a wonderful half day trip to the countryside. The tour guide gave the tour in two languages, English and Spanish. He was a success at it. Volendam was a very interesting stop, with a stop at the Cheese Factory and a chance to explore their remarkable gift store. We had ample time to try the local fish dish in a local restaurant, and then had a beautiful day to take the lake cruise to our last stop to the Dutch Shoe factory. Excellent trip. I give it my be review. PS, the bus driver was very entertaining as well. RDP

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved Volendam and Marken very lovely fishing villages and an enjoyable ferry ride across the lake to link both. A magic day

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My family and i had a lovely afternoon. Our guide "Erma" was great, the driver too.
My husband ,being a tree surgeon was thrilled with the windmill tour it being a sawmill even my teenage children enjoyed doing the "touristy" bit. There was a little more walking than i expected but we saw lots of homes and gardens which the owners keep beautifully. I would highly recommend following the guides suggestion of a meal it was beautiful and not expensive, We gave the cheese making a miss and explored Volendam ourselves but did the clogmaker in Marken. A very interesting afternoon topped of by our driver singing for us

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour, enjoyed seeing (and having my grandchildren see) all of the windmills and how they functioned. Volendam and Marken are two lovely little villages and the Volendam Museum was excellent and well worth the stop. It was a lovely day and the boat trip between Volendam and Marken was great and very much enjoyed by the grandchildren.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message