For a glimpse into the past, and a drive along the low-lying fields and windmills of North Holland, Volendam is an ideal day trip destination from Amsterdam. Too cute to be true, the quaint fishing village surrounds a picture-postcard harbor lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 313 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jessica B W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our family two adults, two children aged 6 and 8 really enjoyed this day trip. We were wowed by the windmills in Zaanse Schans, loved Volendam and its charm, the ferry ride to Marken and spending time on the island. We loved watching the clogs being made, the city tour was super informative and we opted for the canal ride as well, which was a nice, slower pace. All in all a great day, with a fantastic guide and would recommend.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

reach.grace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend anyone to go on this trip based on the fact that the places visited are so beautiful and definitely worth it.
Cons: This tour is broken into 2 parts - morning and afternoon. The morning section where we visited the windmills, volendam and market was too rush to me. If you have elders who are unable to walk fast, be warned that it is hard to keep up to the speed. The only way to do it is to have a headstart i.e. when given 10 minutes for souvenir shopping, don't even look and start walking. Too little time was given at the windmills as it was also a far walk to the windmill which we could enter and listen to a brief. As such, we did not have much time to visit other 'shops/windmills'. Also, too little time was given to see/buy souvenirs at the clogs-making workshop and had to rush for the boat to volendam which was a far walk away. When we come to the end of the morning tour, we had to do a far walk to the bus as well. As it was cold and very windy, most of us could not walk too quickly especially the elders where their legs are more or less stiff from the cold. Many were complaining as many of us were being rushed to quickly board the bus.
Probably the trip that breaks down Keukenhof into another day will be better as I supposed more time will be given to visit the windmills, volendam and marken which is to be completed in 1 day.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

mylifecompleted

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a wonderful day this was! We had the unfortunate timing of arriving in Amsterdam moments after the Brussels attacks in 2016. This threw our entire vacation into chaos and things were very stressful. This trip gave us a few hours of peace and we loved every minute of it! Our guide was wonderful and very engaging. We headed to Zaanse Schans first thing in the morning and saw the beautiful Windmills. It was amazing getting to talk to the Miller and watch this mill work. He explained how he uses the mill to make oil and after allowed us to climb up to the top of the Windmill. The views were fantastic! We had some free time to take pictures around the Windmill and the little village. We headed back to the bus and made our way to Marken for our wooden shoe demonstration. The shoe maker was really funny and ran the machines to make a shoe for us. After we had a few minutes to try them on and shop before we took a beautiful walk through the village. We headed to a covered boat for a 30 minute ride to Volendam where we made our way into the cheese factory. We had a 5 minute demonstration followed by a TON of cheese tastings! We then took a little walk to our final meeting point and had about an hour to wander on our own. It was a beautiful town and we had a gorgeous day! The tour was the perfect length and we really enjoyed ourselves!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall- a great day trip outside the city of Amsterdam. Short visits to Edam, Volendam, and Maarken. You are taken on a short guided walk around the town of Edam. Cheese Tasting is not done in Edam-instead you visit a cheese factory in Volendam and have wine with various cheeses which was very nice. A lunch break is taken in Maarken good food. Visited a working sawmill windmill which was interesting but felt we would have used a little more time at the windmills to take it all in and take some more pictures.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour. My partner described it as the Netherlands in a day and we definitely covered a lot of ground. The windmills area was very atmospheric and seeing a windmill producing oil was interesting. I loved the visit to Delft and we had an excellent lunch in Volendam at the restaurant suggested by the guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an awesome half day tour. It is a great way to see the countryside. In Zaanse Schans, we were able to go inside a working windmill and given a tour of how it works, and then given some free time to explore the small town and see all the windmills. In Volendam we were given a tour of the cheese making process and in Marken we watched a demonstration of clog making. Overall it was a great day and I would do it again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Terrianne L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Keukenhof gardens were spectacular! Enjoyed the time spent there!
The Zaanse Schans Windmills - we walked to the last Windmill for a brief talk therefore had no time to look around the town. Volendam was a nice town and enjoyed free time walking around. Marken was a great site to visit. Never saw anything like it before

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Jay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was well worth the cheap price. First stop at Wind Mills and demo of Clog making, then free time to explore the site. Then to walk around cute little village of Edam. Next stop cheese making and tasting. Last stop in Volendam, which is pretty much a boardwalk along the ocean. Lots of food carts to try different things and shopping. Tour guide and driver were great and gave good info.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Judit L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour, great guides! Volendam and Marken are wonderful little towns, and the windmills are also very interesting. The guides and the driver were fantastic, we even had a little Dutch language lesson on the way back to A'dam. Highly recomment this tour to anyone. Dag-dag and tot ziens!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

David A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our time in the Dutch countryside seeing the windmills at Zaanse Schans, the cheese factory and shops in Volendam, and the wooden shoe factory in Market. Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Janice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was very friendly. Tour was punctual but could have had a little more time at the windmills. Boat trip to Volendam was good.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Nicole M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour. I recommend getting there about 30 minutes early to secure a decent seat we had a double-decker bus, or you're stuck facing the back with no view. There was a driver and a separate speaker/guide, as well as the headset system where you could pick your language for the times when the guide wasn't talking. Listening through the headphones was nice and clear and to be used when the guide wasn't speaking. The Dutch countryside is lovely, and the small fishing villages and windmills were really cool. Be sure to go to the top, well, just because you can and should. There wasn't really time for shopping or exploring in Zaanse Schans but that was fine with me. The boat ride from Volendam to Marken was really cool too - you could get food, snacks, and beverages including beer on the boat and that was neat. The cheese factory and clog-maker were really interesting as well. There are not too many places to eat in Marken but the guide recommended a place so everyone went there. You only get about 1 hour to explore there after the cheese factory, so in the interest of time, we walked a little bit down the way and picked a place that nobody else on the boat went to so we could get done faster and have a bit of extra time before meeting back to jump back on the bus. I definitely recommend this tour to get out of the city and see the countryside.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

travelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An excellent value! In about 5 1/2 hours, we really saw a lot. A very personable guide that spoke fluent English and Spanish. We got to go inside one of the windmills that is used for sawing lumber and see how it operated. Also, we visited the factory where the wooden shoes are made and watched the process. On to Volendam next by ferry where we visited a cheese factory and watched cheese being made. Then had lunch at a nearby restaurant. The bus ride and commentary were also nice and informative, especially for a first time visitor like myself.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Elissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great way to experience the country side and get out of Amsterdam for a while. Zaanse Schans was adorable but my favorite town was Volendam! Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Santosh M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very good tour guide in Ms. Juliet to give you an overview of Holland's history. Thoroughly enjoyed the half a day tour walk on the dyke, cheese making and the oil extraction process in windmills balanced by the countryside lifestyle Edam and Volendam.
What stood out most during the tour was the clog manufacturing process in Zaanse Schans and to finally get my hands on an authentic black forest wooden cuckoo clock!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Alfian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

had a great day, wished it could be one hour longer at least for a proper lunch and walk about at Volendam.
Diana was a great tour guide! She kept the crowd entertained throughout the ride, and also ensured that everyone returns to their own seats to prevent unhappiness. I would definitely recommend this for anyone new or even revisiting Amsterdam :

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Richard S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour had been the highlight of our trip to Amsterdam. Our guide was knowledgeable and was engaging enough to keep our interest up. Of all the places we've visited, Zaanse Schans had to be the best since that's where the windmills are. With such an idyllic scenery, it was made for picture taking. Going up the windmill afforded us with an elevated 360 views of the surrounding area. Learning about the windmill's inner workings was fascinating. I do wish that we were allowed more time to meander around the neighborhood and check out the shops. I feel that an hour give or take wasn't nearly enough.

The other portion of the tour at Edam, Volendam and Marken were also interesting. The lunch in Marken was surprisingly good. Normally, lunches included in tours are nothing to write home about. However, our lunch was pretty good if I say so myself.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour as it gave us an experience that was something that's totally different from the big city feel of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jennah R United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This tour overall was very nice. The windmills were so amazing and it was so cool to get to go inside one and all the way to the top. The town is so nice and quaint, I could have spent the whole day there! I wish we had more time to go into the shops and see the windmill. The town Volendam was very cool, but I could have done without the cheese factory, pretty much a scheme to get you to buy the cheese from there, you don't really learn much about making cheese. The last stop was nice but you have no time at all in that city. You walk straight to see how the clogs are made then have about 20 min to get what you want if you want anything and get on the bus. Also, our tour guide was nice but if you weren't right at the front of the line when he got to where he was going you completely missed what he said and he didn't repeat it. Also the place we had lunch in Volendam was not very good so you should venture out on your own to somewhere else. Overall, I would do it all over again and would recommend it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Lamiaa S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

it was amazing tour, we had the chance to see the beautiful side of Holland country side, the windmills, the cheese factory, the Clogs factory in Marken and the sea food in Volendam was perfect.
we went on this tour in October 27th, although the weather was a little bit cold, but lucky for us it didn't rain and the day was amazing.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

David J

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Bus was nice. Got to see windmills, hear about how they worked and walked around the grounds briefly. Not much time to get souvenirs, though. Next the wooded shoe maker demonstrated how shoes are made using modern tools. Still pretty neat and the shoemaker was very funny. Next we got onto a ferry that went to Volendam. Pretty postcard town with lots of interesting shops. Saw a brief cheese demonstration and we bought some cheese there. Guide to us to a nice lunch spot to get lunch. Prices were reasonable. Took our bus back to meeting spot. Kinda rushed but saw lots of neat things.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Delwyn B New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The company organisation of this trip was commendable. So many buses and people to organise but left on time and kept to schedule. The guide was friendly and informative.
Loved getting out of the city into the countryside. Zaanse Schans was a highlight - so much to see here but not enough time. Would have preferred more time here and less for lunch in Volendam. Plenty of variety on the trip: countryside windmills clog making cheese making town wanders. Well worth it for the price

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Noelene E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great tour of the windmills and fascinating how they work. Marken and Volendam were interesting. Had a great morning.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Louise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour - loved the windmills and being able to visit a working windmill. The area was so green and very pretty and guide was knowlegable and friendly. Loved walking through the streets of Marken and Volendam is so picturesque and beautiful. Visiting a clog factory was informative and the clog maker was very amusing in explaining how clogs are made and a demonstration followed. The tour was not too far from Amsterdam and the afternoon had perfect blue skies...just perfect!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message