• USD ($)
  • English
For a glimpse into the past, and a drive along the low-lying fields and windmills of North Holland, Volendam is an ideal day trip destination from Amsterdam. Too cute to be true, the quaint fishing village surrounds a picture-postcard harbor lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 196 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an amazing tour. The best part was going on the bus and seeing the Dutch countryside. It is lovely. The windmills were so cool to see and learn about. We went to an old fishing village called Volendam and went to a cheese factory. We also took a boat ride to the island of Marken and saw where they made the wooden clogs. We also went to Delft where we saw the beautiful pottery that they make. The Hague is beautiful too and well worth seeing. Loved this trip so much!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We loved this tour. The tour guide was excellent - entertaining and interesting! We took the longer tour (6.5 hours) I worried that it was going to be too long but it certainly wasn't - I think the shorter tour must be a bit of a rush! Daanse Schans is beautiful. It's was a bit of a walk to the windmill that we went to visit - but worth it - it was very interesting! It would have been nice to have more time to look around the village. We enjoyed the visit to Volendam. We visited a small folk museum, a shop where they made cheese and had time to look around before getting the boat to Marken. We loved the clog factory - the clog maker was very amusing! A super day out - well worth the money! The trip involves quite a bit of walking - if you are a bit slow on your feet you might have trouble keeping up.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The later part of the tour covering the windmills, Volendam and Marken was very good except for the city tour. The city tour lasted about 2.5 hours but 1 hour was spent in a diamond shop/centre which was a total waste of time. This time could be better spent showing more of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We had a great day out. We particularly enjoyed the Zaanse Schans, Volendam and Marken Day Trip. Fantastic way to see the countryside outside Amsterdam. These sights were fantastic; very pretty, lots to see and a snapshot of regional/coastal Holland. Would certainly recommend the day trip.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A great day outside of the city! Took many beautiful pictures. The villages were all very quaint and beautiful. This tour is low-key and quiet- kids may not enjoy it. You are given apple pie and coffee on the ferry to Volendam, the lunch provided was actually huge and tastey--choice of an appetizer and a large entree (for example: pork/fish, potatoes, and other veggies). One downfall is that the people in Markam were quite rude- our tour guide even expressed to us that they don't like tourists--this was unfortunate to learn.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I had a wonderful tour of Zaanse Schans, Delft and The Hague - My favorite part was visiting Volendam and going to the cheese factory!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I recommend this trip to everyone who would like to see the dutch countryside. Unfortunately it rained on the day we went but it didn't dampen our appreciation of the day. The Zaanse Schans Windmills very interesting, the commentary on the coach informative and we just loved Volendam the fishing village with its obviously much loved and very well-kept houses. A wonderful, if wet, day.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Of the three tours we took in Holland, this was the best of the three. The trip through the country side was great and got to see a lot of the sites. We stopped at a wooden shoe makers shop and got to see how they made the shoes. There were lots of shoes there to purchase if you wanted them (sizes were marked with the different shoe sized from the different areas of the world. The windmills were beautiful and it was great to be able to see them inside and how they work. The lunch in Volendam was good. After this part of the tour the trip to Keukenhof Gardens was what we really went on this tour for. We had been to the gardens over 40 years ago and wanted to see how they had changed. Our tour was late in the season and many of the flowers had lost their blooms. Keukenhof Gardens and planted additional tulips throughout the garden so we could see the different types of tulips. We were there just 3 days before the gardens closed this year around May 18th. The size of the gardens had more than doubled since the last time we were there.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a very full day and I thoroughly enjoyed all three places - a great way to learn about the "old Holland" we were taught about as kids. The gardens were absolutely beautiful, the windmills tour and demonstration about making wooden shoes were very interesting and I don't think I have ever seen a more pristine town than Volendam, would have liked more time there.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour was fabulous. All four of 7s really enjoyed it. The tour was very well run, Very informative Enjoyed the windmills, Volendam, Marken. Everything was perfect. thank you

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Allan V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Good value and certainly epitomises what "Holland" was like in the early days.Windmills were a sensational sight! More time in Volendam would be nice.Cheesemaking demonstration was PATHETIC.More like a comedy sketch!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The bus was suffocating when we were waiting for everyone to show up, but it was fine when we were actually traveling. Our guide, Astrid, was fun and quite competent. The trip itself was to fascinating, picturesque parts of the Netherlands which I highly recommend. We loved the wooden-shoe-making demonstration particularly, as well as the visit to the industrial windmill where lumber is processed. The little museum at Volendam was interesting, too.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour was fantastic. The city tour in the morning was very informative and our guide was amazing. We loved the windmills in Zaanse Schans. Volendam and Marken were peaceful, quaint, and we wanted to spend more time there. The shoe maker was great! Afternoon tour guide could have been nicer.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Took the bus trip through the very green Dutch countryside and over to the island of Marken. A young man by the name of Joel showed us how wooden clogs are made. Walked through this old fishing village and then had a pleasant ferry ride back to Volendam, a very picturesque village. Walked through the town to a cheese factory and had a brief, but interesting demonstration on the making of cheese. Then onto Zaanse Schans to see the windmills, some of which are still in use. The countryside of the Netherlands is very colourful at this time of the year.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It was a great thing to do on a horribly rainy day - and likely a lot of fun on any day. The guide was excellent as were the sites we were taken to. We would have enjoyed spending more time in Volendam had it not been raining but it was perfect considering the weather. We were pretty much rained out by the time we got to the windmills so didn't get full appreciation of that portion. Delft and The Hague both were most interesting but the two trips back to back did make for a long 11 hour day.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message