For a glimpse into the past, and a drive along the low-lying fields and windmills of North Holland, Volendam is an ideal day trip destination from Amsterdam. Too cute to be true, the quaint fishing village surrounds a picture-postcard harbor lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 235 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great experience to explore The Windmills, Marken and Volendam even in Winter.
It is so beautiful.
We really enjoyed seeing the windmills, wooden shoe making, and learn how the cheese is made.
It was freezing, but everything went on as planned and so glad we chose this sightseeing.
The guide was friendly and gave many information throughout the journey .
We really enjoyed the "Dutch Countryside" and customs.
Would definitely recommend it to all my friends.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Vanzen
Uruguay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour! The bus trip is not very long and the guide was constantly giving us insight about the area before we arrived so it was very enjoyable.

The Windmills, Marken and Volendam are all great experiences. I liked the windmills the most but the rest was very good also. The cheese factory is a bit simple, they do not actually show you how they make the cheese but rather tell you about, its more like a sales pitch than an experience but it is good nonetheless.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The city tour was better than the hop-on-hop-off tour. The windmills, Marken and Volendam were all very scenic, even in December. Fourtunately, we were able to find a halal restaurant in Volendam to have dinner. It was located near the docking site.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Weather was very inclement, after a sunny day before and after this day-we got snow, wind, rain, and extremely cold temperatures.
the boat did not even run us to Volendam, but we took the bus.
Nevertheless Myarna [?] our stunning blonde dutch guide was bubbly, knowledgeable, and accommodating with helpful tips and information.
Sad i had my wife with me, as i would have asked her out to dinner she was that pleasant!! .:-]
we learnt a lot and saw a lot in the short time we had, so i rate this 4 out of 5.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

very good tour and the areas we visited were nice. Our tour guide was ok but was silent most of the times. The Volendam area was very nice..

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Any trip to Amsterdam can't be complete without visiting the windmills. This tour is the perfect way to see so much. It combines a city tour, the windmills, Volendam and Marken into one day trip. Our guide was very informative, cordial, and helpful - thanks Viator!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Highly Recommended, especially Volendam. Pity that 1 hour free and easy at Volendam too short. After you eat the fresh fishes (recommend the herring fish, Euro$2 per small fish), too short time to walk around.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Covered a lot in 6 hours
Loved the boat trip
Demonstrations very informative and fun
Tour guide pleasant
Would have liked to spend more time at the volendam museum

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent trip! Volendam was nice. Should spend more time there!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Superb. If only we have more time in Volendam before it gets dark it will be fulfilling.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Lucy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

You have just enough ime in eah of the places.
The guide was knowledgeable and very friendly. She spoke six languages.
The coach was very comfortable and included audio.
We loved volendam. It was so pretty. Even in the cold winter.
It does involve a bit if walking but it was worth it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

If you have 6+ hours to spare - DO THIS TOUR! Marken Island, Volendam harbor, immerse you in the dutch countryside. Our tour guides Alma was pleasant, gracious and informative. You get to walk through a lot of the little villages to get to your destinations, which is nice. Wish we had a little more time in Zaanse Schans, but it worked out perfectly in the end. Glad we picked the extended tour versus the shorter one.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Organized tour, great guide (Astrid). Meet up place easy to find.
Zaanse Schans and Volendam are worth it. Marken is small, not much too see and the ferry to go to Marken is boring. There was some background given about the windmills at the actual windmill site which reduced the time for picture taking. Although they don't prevent you from roaming around but you will get drawn to the discussion/demo and later you will realize you don't have much time left.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very well organised trip,every experience is to be cherished from this tour whether it be the zaanse schans windmills,marken or volendam,the fishing village was beautiful and the fish and chips restaurant was great all of us had some sumptous fish dish which was their speciality.The learning experience at shoe factory and cheese factory was also a visual treat,me and my wife thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful 6 hours out in the countryside. Zaanse Schans is lovely. We stopped there for about an hour which is just about right. Took lots of photos and bought souvenirs. Volendam is just about 30-40 minutes away. We visited the Volendam fishing museum which is small and not really very much to see. Then we took a walk to the 'town' to the cheese shop. We had a lady show us how cheese is made. We got to sample different cheeses after that. We then had a late lunch on our own. Next was a boat ride to Marken. Picturesque. We visited a clog place and saw how clogs are made.
We need to mention our guide Edgar. The tour could have been just so-so but Edgar put fun and character into the program. It was obvious that he enjoys his work and he is really good at it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message