For a glimpse into the past, and a drive along the low-lying fields and windmills of North Holland, Volendam is an ideal day trip destination from Amsterdam. Too cute to be true, the quaint fishing village surrounds a picture-postcard harbor lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 222 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very well organised trip,every experience is to be cherished from this tour whether it be the zaanse schans windmills,marken or volendam,the fishing village was beautiful and the fish and chips restaurant was great all of us had some sumptous fish dish which was their speciality.The learning experience at shoe factory and cheese factory was also a visual treat,me and my wife thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful 6 hours out in the countryside. Zaanse Schans is lovely. We stopped there for about an hour which is just about right. Took lots of photos and bought souvenirs. Volendam is just about 30-40 minutes away. We visited the Volendam fishing museum which is small and not really very much to see. Then we took a walk to the 'town' to the cheese shop. We had a lady show us how cheese is made. We got to sample different cheeses after that. We then had a late lunch on our own. Next was a boat ride to Marken. Picturesque. We visited a clog place and saw how clogs are made.
We need to mention our guide Edgar. The tour could have been just so-so but Edgar put fun and character into the program. It was obvious that he enjoys his work and he is really good at it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was Jaime who was very helpful and we enjoyed our tour very much. I think if you are in Amsterdam for a visit it really isn't complete without the windmills and that adorable town Volendam. Very fascinating place and you learn a lot about how instrumental the windmills were in early European economy.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Informative commentary and plenty of visits to interesting locations packed into an afternoon. Very grateful for the time to enjoy lunch and a quiet drink at Volendam.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good trip we both enjoyed it immensely, informative and fun although maybe to long at Volendam. The cheese factory did not make cheese only showed a video and lunch may have been better in Amsterdam. It was a fairly long walk from meeting spot to the bus in Amsterdam. Both guides were good. Windmills the highlight and worth going on this tour.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

What a wonderful way to experience the beauty of the region! You get to see all the "touristy" things that perhaps locals only take visiting family to see. Loved the Zaane Schans tour, and walking in Volendam, the boat ride was chilly but delightful, and the orator in Marken was a hoot - happy birthday to the lathe!! Our tour guide spoke so many languages it was fun just listening! Thank you so much!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Zaanse Schans, Marken, and Volendam were picturesque and not worth missing while on your vacation. During the bus ride to each location a pre-recorded audio tour plays via headphones and was available in many different languages. Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. The tour group is large - a packed coach bus - and at times it was difficult to stay ahead of the pack to hear the tour guide. At times during the tour we felt rushed and not able to completely take in the scenery or visit the many shops at each location. The Volendam Cheese Factory and the clog factory felt like tourist traps but were interesting and informative nonetheless. Overall, this tour is a great way to experience the countryside If you don't have the time and/or means of transportation while visiting Amsterdam.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Duration: 5.5 hours (9 AM - 2:30 PM)
Boarding: Opposite Amsterdam Centraal (also de-boarding)
Locations: Countryside - Volendam (Fishing village, Cheese museum), Marken (ferry ride, Cloggs shop) and Zaanse Schans (Wind mills)
Transport: Double decker, 2X2 Vanhool bus, Comfortable enough. Could leave stuff in the bus while checking out places
Schedule: Daniela managed the timetable pretty well, without hurrying us
Languages spoken: She's a polyglot! English, Italian, French and I think German too. We got to learn some Dutch words too.
Do we get food on the trip: we stopped at Volendam for 30 - 45 mins for tea / coffee / food (no, not complementary in the tour)
Price: EU 40 per head
Can you leave anything out: would recommend no. a longer tour will be even better :-)
Would I recommend the tour: Absolutely, without question!
Suggestion: Understandably, its a pleasure tour. I would have loved even more if there was more information available (even in written format) on where we are going - history, local information. This is strictly for the lazy travellers, which I became in this trip :(

Have to mention the tour guide - Daniela, who was absolutely engaging and uber-sweet! We loved you :-)

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I definitely recommend this day trip from Amsterdam. We also did the Holland in One Day Sightseeing tour, which I do not recommend. This tour is a fun filled day, but there is actually NO cheese tasting in Edam. Viator definitely shouldn't mislead people. The tasting was just at a tourist cheese shop in Volendam. Our guide told us that cheese isn't even made in Edam. They simply named the cheese after it. There are some great authentic cheese shops in Amsterdam so seek those out where you can buy the cheese from local farms and where chefs were buying cheeses for their restaurants. Edam is a quiet little town. It was exciting to be there on their festival weekend when everyone in town was out on the streets having fun. Seeing the countryside and getting to explore a working windmill was extraordinary.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

For the price, this half day whirlwind tour of the countryside was fantastic. You never know showing up to a bus tour what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised to find all of the following to be true:
On time departure / comfortable transportation / friendly staff and guides / practical narration that was interesting / great suggestions during the tour on where to eat in Volendam. My wife and I had a great time and would highly recommend this trip as it is worth its weight in Holland Cheese!!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Highly recommend this trip whilst staying in Amsterdam. The visit to the three sites was informative and enjoyable giving an insight into the lives of the Dutch people. Particular enjoyable was Volendam which is a pretty waterfront town which was followed by an enjoyable boat trip to Marken.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable trip, loved the wooden shoe shop in Marken, the boat trip to Volendam, the cheese shop and cathedral in Edam, and the windmills of Zanse Shans. Only negative was lunch in Volendam -- the soup as OK but the entrée was tough, inedible meat. Our guide was very good and accommodating-- since I use a walker, she arranged with the bus driver to drop us off closer to the cheese shop in Edam so I could avoid the 20 minute walk. The bus driver was wonderful - he took us on a personal guided trip through the cathedral and served us the cheese at the cheese shop.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Enjoyed the tour. Good value for the price. Our tour guide for the Windmills, Volendam and Marken Trip was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The afternoon tour (Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken) was outstanding. We really enjoyed seeing the Holland countryside and experiencing all of these beautiful places, could has spent a whole day touring these three locations. On the morning city tour, we did not appreciate being dropped off at a diamond factory for about an hour. At the factory we were locked in a room with the intent of trying to get us to buy something. We felt that there were other more interesting things we could have been seeing in Amsterdam instead of spending 1/3 of the tour in the diamond factory.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was fantastic especially the windmills, Volendam and Marken day trip.....I will surely recommend the tour to my friends

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message