Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Waterlooplein Market

Amsterdam’s largest and oldest daily flea market, Waterlooplein market has a vibrant history dating back to 1893 and remains one of the city’s liveliest markets, sprawled between the Leprozengracht and Houtgracht canals. Held from Monday to Saturday ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

It was good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Using the bus itself was fairly easy and worthwhile. My main issue was the lack of information given by the tour operator concerning the canal boat tour, my printed ticket said I would need to use bus stop 5 or 6, listing one of the companies as 'the Blue Boat tour' when in actual fact, after asking a tour guide due to the lack of tour boats at stops 5 and 6, we needed to get off at bus stop 1 and find the boat company called 'Lovers'.

You are also told what there is to see and do when you arrive at each stop, but depending upon the tour guide on the bus, you sometimes do not get told which direction you would need to head or what you should exactly be looking for.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Good way to see the city.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Not much information / history given by the pre recorded commentary - could be more. Very very crowded.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

It is best when you land in amsterdam to take the hop on and hop off so your get an idea of the city

Kathleen Mary E
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Disappointed with the booking procedure, had to ring head office in Las Vegas to find out why we couldn't book 4 pensioners. Had to book 3 pensioners and 1 adult !!! Did send an email regarding this but received no reply.
Instruction for redeeming voucher for hop on hop off bus very unclear, and boarding instruction for canal cruise was totally incorrect.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Watch out for the older female driver, she is crazy and drives that way. Scary! Some waits were as long as an hour, irradic schedules

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

On the 1st day we went to do the hop on hop off, no address as to where to pick up the tickets ! asked a couple of tourist shops but kept getting sent to others very disstressing. We finally got out tickets on the bus. Tour its self was very good, got off at Anne Franks house to a hour que, get jump the que tickets. Got off at the heiniken experience, excellent would highly recommend this.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Did the full round without getting off which was good to get my bearings. The stop at Gassan Diamonds was unexpected as I had already been there on the half day tour. I followed this up with the canal cruise which was excellent, particularly as the sun came out. The guide was very good with some great stories about the houses, their owners and in some cases their peculiarities.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

same as canal cruise tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

The trip on the bus was find. We had no problem with the trip. The problem was with where to get the ticket for the trip. It took us 1 1/2 hours to find where to get the trip ticket. We had the papers from the email, went to the bus and was told it was not the right bus. We then went to 4 other places trying to find the right ticket place. A nice woman called and finally told us the correct place to go. Please in the future write on the email papers the correct place to exchange it for the ticket.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Enjoyed the tour. But 1) the driver did not stop at each location. 2) He did not always announce the stop and 3) we could not hear the announcements he did make on the upper level of the bus. 4) tour hours are too short for the summer hours

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

I was a tad disappointed in this particular tour bus company. First, my friend and I mistakenly choose different Hop on Hop Off tour bus companies. It appeared with the tour company she choose, she was able to see more than this particular company I had. Not only did she tour in the city of Amsterdam but she also toured outside the city to visit Windmills, which was something I wanted to see while in Amsterdam. Additionally, her tour company provided them with an inside tour to the diamond making museum. This was not offered in my tour. Next time, I will choose the other Hop on Hop Off bus tour company. It is the same price.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

When we arrived to Centraal Station, nobody knew where we could start our hop-on hop-off tour. Staff at the station and at the Tourist Information didn;t know and spent about 40 minutes trying to find out where the bus stop was. Luckily somebody directed us towards the bus stop and got the right bus.
As we bought the combin ticket (bus/canal cruise), the bus driver should have given us a grey ticket to be presented at the canal cruise office. As we didn't have it, we couldn't board the boat, so we had to wait for the next sightseeing bus to turn up, asked the driver for the grey tickets and then go back to the pier to wait for the next boat. Wasted lots of time and travelling with an elderly person was not the ideal experience. Sorry about this but hopefully there will be more information about this tour so no time is wasted, and drivers should give this tickets straight away as tourists won't know this.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message