Ever wondered what life was like in 17th and 18th century Netherlands? The Zaanse Schans, 15km north of Amsterdam, is the kind of museum that shows rather than tells and it’s the perfect place to immerse yourself in all things traditionally Dutch. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2659 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Getting around Amsterdam was much easier on public transportation using the City Card. We enjoyed the included canal cruise and used the city card to travel all over the city. I would buy one again should we travel to Amsterdam again.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Dale C
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A very good tour of the country life. Enjoyed seeing the windmills, wooden shoe making, and the cheese factory. It was a cold windy day, but everything went on as planned so glad we could do this sightseeing. Would recommend this tour for sure.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was my favorite tour in the Netherlands! It was the most gorgeous countryside and everyone was so friendly. The windmill town of Zaanse Schans was my favorite! If you have a day in the Netherlands I would highly recommend! It gives you information both through a headset and local guide. Great!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Vanzen
Uruguay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour! The bus trip is not very long and the guide was constantly giving us insight about the area before we arrived so it was very enjoyable.

The Windmills, Marken and Volendam are all great experiences. I liked the windmills the most but the rest was very good also. The cheese factory is a bit simple, they do not actually show you how they make the cheese but rather tell you about, its more like a sales pitch than an experience but it is good nonetheless.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very nice tour to the Dutch countryside. The guide and driver were very entertaining. I recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very well run tour, with a good mix of fun demonstrations, history and scenery.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The city tour was better than the hop-on-hop-off tour. The windmills, Marken and Volendam were all very scenic, even in December. Fourtunately, we were able to find a halal restaurant in Volendam to have dinner. It was located near the docking site.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Great trip, and value for money. however the change in stop time was rubbish. 50 min lunch at 10.30am was not very useful.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Great tour however we spent too little time in zaanse schans. 1 hour is too little time to cover such a beautiful place.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Weather was very inclement, after a sunny day before and after this day-we got snow, wind, rain, and extremely cold temperatures.
the boat did not even run us to Volendam, but we took the bus.
Nevertheless Myarna [?] our stunning blonde dutch guide was bubbly, knowledgeable, and accommodating with helpful tips and information.
Sad i had my wife with me, as i would have asked her out to dinner she was that pleasant!! .:-]
we learnt a lot and saw a lot in the short time we had, so i rate this 4 out of 5.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

very good tour and the areas we visited were nice. Our tour guide was ok but was silent most of the times. The Volendam area was very nice..

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Not alot of interesting information from the tour guide who rushed us around to show us the sights again. Everything else was great though, nice to see a more traditional side of Holland.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message