Ever wondered what life was like in 17th and 18th century Netherlands? The Zaanse Schans, 15km north of Amsterdam, is the kind of museum that shows rather than tells, and is the perfect place to immerse yourself in all things traditionally Dutch. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 281 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Caroline C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

It could have been a great itinerary but we stayed more than two hours in Volendam with limited things to do but focus on the fish street food and harbor view, aside from the cheese factory - which is really awesome! We then had to rush to go to Marken and then less than hour to rush in the Windmills as the tour guide said, Amsterdam tour is waiting for the rest of the tourists. We wanted to spend more time in Zaanse Schans, the weather didn't allow us to stay back. We could have done this trip using the awesome public transportation in the country while enjoying our free time for the half day.

Also, the number of tourists for this tour is huge for everybody's comfort.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

CesKa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This day trip was lovely and so was our guide Astrid... such a lovely and kind smart lady! the tour was very interesting and what we liked most is that we saw a number of places in 1 day! get wrapped up and wear tick clothing especially when visiting Zaanse Shanc as it is quite cold and very windy... Loved It!!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Carla s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

firstly the tour was easy to book and the pick up point easy to find quite important for 2 map reading challenged english ladies - Bart, our tour operator was great - he is a local resident of Zaanse and worked there as a guide before setting up his own tour company - not only is he knowledgable and easy to commmunicate with but he knows all the demonstrators personally and that shows we certainly felt that we got special treatment and that he was respected by the employees of the windmill/ factory and shops we visited.. the tour was interesting without being too long.. would definitely recommend the tour and the tour operator again.

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

Janice A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great way to spend a day in Amsterdam and see so many sights. It was nice to get out of the crowds of Amsterdam and see the beautiful country side. I would have liked more time at Zaanse Schans Windmills. I felt we were rushed thru. But, I understand we had a lot to fit in one day. Twice our bus driver was late getting back to the bus, so this did take away from our sight seeing time. I would still highly recommend this tour. We had plenty of time at Keukenhof to enjoy the beautiful flowers.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Jessica B W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our family two adults, two children aged 6 and 8 really enjoyed this day trip. We were wowed by the windmills in Zaanse Schans, loved Volendam and its charm, the ferry ride to Marken and spending time on the island. We loved watching the clogs being made, the city tour was super informative and we opted for the canal ride as well, which was a nice, slower pace. All in all a great day, with a fantastic guide and would recommend.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

mylifecompleted

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a wonderful day this was! We had the unfortunate timing of arriving in Amsterdam moments after the Brussels attacks in 2016. This threw our entire vacation into chaos and things were very stressful. This trip gave us a few hours of peace and we loved every minute of it! Our guide was wonderful and very engaging. We headed to Zaanse Schans first thing in the morning and saw the beautiful Windmills. It was amazing getting to talk to the Miller and watch this mill work. He explained how he uses the mill to make oil and after allowed us to climb up to the top of the Windmill. The views were fantastic! We had some free time to take pictures around the Windmill and the little village. We headed back to the bus and made our way to Marken for our wooden shoe demonstration. The shoe maker was really funny and ran the machines to make a shoe for us. After we had a few minutes to try them on and shop before we took a beautiful walk through the village. We headed to a covered boat for a 30 minute ride to Volendam where we made our way into the cheese factory. We had a 5 minute demonstration followed by a TON of cheese tastings! We then took a little walk to our final meeting point and had about an hour to wander on our own. It was a beautiful town and we had a gorgeous day! The tour was the perfect length and we really enjoyed ourselves!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an awesome half day tour. It is a great way to see the countryside. In Zaanse Schans, we were able to go inside a working windmill and given a tour of how it works, and then given some free time to explore the small town and see all the windmills. In Volendam we were given a tour of the cheese making process and in Marken we watched a demonstration of clog making. Overall it was a great day and I would do it again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Erin T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour was lovely, with a few exceptions. We would have liked more time at Zaanse Schans, because we practically had to run back to the bus and had no time to do anything except walk to the windmill and see a short demonstration and then walk back however, we spent too much time at the clog maker in Marken -- lots of standing around with no clear directions on what time we were leaving or where we should be. The tour guides/bus left a group at Zaanse Schans who were late, which made us very nervous about being on time, but at the very next location, we weren't given clear directions and we went to ask the guides, but they were on Facetime in the gift shop and seemed to be too busy to address us right away. We spent quite a long time in Voldendam, but were directed to a particular restaurant, and everything else in the town was closed because of the time. So, it seemed like the time should have been more evenly distributed throughout the rest of the tour, because all we could do at the end was sit around and drink a coffee, rather than seeing or doing something at one of the sites. Finally, the listing said we would receive a complimentary bulb plant, but that did not happen. I don't know when or where that was supposed to happen, but it was never offered to us, nor mentioned. All of these things aside, the sites were beautiful, the weather was better than expected, and we had a nice time!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Vincent T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour was pretty much as advertised. Overall, we enjoyed it very much. The tour guide Daniella and the driver were very professional and tried very hard to accommodate our needs. The duration of the tour to Keukenhof was about right. However, the tour to Zaanse Schans was a little rushed 15 minutes more of free time at each stop would be nice for us to take more pictures.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Terrianne L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Keukenhof gardens were spectacular! Enjoyed the time spent there!
The Zaanse Schans Windmills - we walked to the last Windmill for a brief talk therefore had no time to look around the town. Volendam was a nice town and enjoyed free time walking around. Marken was a great site to visit. Never saw anything like it before

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Sunny L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

If I were to pick the best two places that I visited, it would have to be the Zaanse Schans Windmills and The Hague including the Madurodam. I wasn't very interested in the cheese factory and the clogs.

The one thing I would have liked is some time to see the main square in The Hague where the palace and many consulates/embassies were located. If we had 30 min here and 30 min in Madurodam, it would have been much better.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Richard S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The time at Keukenhof was awesome. The gardens are beautiful and we had the right amount of time to visit everything. I think I took 300 photos! As far as Zaanse, it was a little disappointing. We had to travel all the way back to Amsterdam and let some people off the bus and then go back out to Zaanse. Zaanse itself was pretty but nothing that I would do again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Day-Trip Combo: Keukenhof Gardens and Zaanse Schans Windmill Village

David A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our time in the Dutch countryside seeing the windmills at Zaanse Schans, the cheese factory and shops in Volendam, and the wooden shoe factory in Market. Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Nicole M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour. I recommend getting there about 30 minutes early to secure a decent seat we had a double-decker bus, or you're stuck facing the back with no view. There was a driver and a separate speaker/guide, as well as the headset system where you could pick your language for the times when the guide wasn't talking. Listening through the headphones was nice and clear and to be used when the guide wasn't speaking. The Dutch countryside is lovely, and the small fishing villages and windmills were really cool. Be sure to go to the top, well, just because you can and should. There wasn't really time for shopping or exploring in Zaanse Schans but that was fine with me. The boat ride from Volendam to Marken was really cool too - you could get food, snacks, and beverages including beer on the boat and that was neat. The cheese factory and clog-maker were really interesting as well. There are not too many places to eat in Marken but the guide recommended a place so everyone went there. You only get about 1 hour to explore there after the cheese factory, so in the interest of time, we walked a little bit down the way and picked a place that nobody else on the boat went to so we could get done faster and have a bit of extra time before meeting back to jump back on the bus. I definitely recommend this tour to get out of the city and see the countryside.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Deborah J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was a lovely excursion, the guide was informative and friendly and the coach clean with an excellent driver! The only small downside was that at times it felt a bit rushed - we could have done with an extra 30 minutes at the Windmills in Zaanse Schans to explore the curio shops and museums, and maybe get to have a cup of hot chocolate. But apart from this is was a good morning out!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jonathan H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The guides were friendly and the scenery at Zaanse Schans is beautiful. However, I felt that the tour was a bit rushed, and the guides were always trying to get us to our next destination ASAP. Some members of the tour were even left behind by the bus when they weren't at the pick up point at the stated time! But overall, it was an enjoyable experience in the Amsterdam countryside.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

wei

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Zaanse Schans is nice, but the time allocated to explore is quite limited. The tour agent rather spent more time 'shopping' in both shoes factory and cheese factory. This seems like a shopping tour than really exploring.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Elissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great way to experience the country side and get out of Amsterdam for a while. Zaanse Schans was adorable but my favorite town was Volendam! Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

susan

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The tour was great. Wish we had more time in Zaanse Schans Windmill though.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Santosh M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very good tour guide in Ms. Juliet to give you an overview of Holland's history. Thoroughly enjoyed the half a day tour walk on the dyke, cheese making and the oil extraction process in windmills balanced by the countryside lifestyle Edam and Volendam.
What stood out most during the tour was the clog manufacturing process in Zaanse Schans and to finally get my hands on an authentic black forest wooden cuckoo clock!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Algis G

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We particularly enjoyed the Zaanse Schans, Volendam and Marken part of this tour. Would rather spend a full day visiting these places and having more time there, than adding the city tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Richard S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour had been the highlight of our trip to Amsterdam. Our guide was knowledgeable and was engaging enough to keep our interest up. Of all the places we've visited, Zaanse Schans had to be the best since that's where the windmills are. With such an idyllic scenery, it was made for picture taking. Going up the windmill afforded us with an elevated 360 views of the surrounding area. Learning about the windmill's inner workings was fascinating. I do wish that we were allowed more time to meander around the neighborhood and check out the shops. I feel that an hour give or take wasn't nearly enough.

The other portion of the tour at Edam, Volendam and Marken were also interesting. The lunch in Marken was surprisingly good. Normally, lunches included in tours are nothing to write home about. However, our lunch was pretty good if I say so myself.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour as it gave us an experience that was something that's totally different from the big city feel of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message