Ever wondered what life was like in 17th and 18th century Netherlands? The Zaanse Schans, 15km north of Amsterdam, is the kind of museum that shows rather than tells, and is the perfect place to immerse yourself in all things traditionally Dutch. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 298 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cassie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed going to Zaanse Schans! Very interesting to see the windmills and especially the inside of the windmills and learn how they work. Such a pretty setting, it was everything you think of when you think of Holland! Our guide was good and knowledgable, able to answer all our questions and even take our picture. The cheese and clog factories were also fun. I would have liked to have a little more time to browse afterwards and go back to the stores of my choice.

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

wenstuy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much to see and do in this tour, definitely a good one. Our guide was wonderful giving us pleanty of information. The windmills at Zaanse Schans was like stepping back in time so interesting and the atmosphere was peaceful. we could have spent a lot more time here but there was more to see. Next stop Volendam a fishing village, here we saw how cheese was made and had a chance to sample some. There was time here to have a wander and some lunch. Then onwards on a ferry this time to Marken a small village were we saw clogs being made. This was a great tour and would recommend it to all

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

YEW SOON T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic, a good Dutch experience! Unfortunate that it was raining when we visited the windmills. Would welcome more time at Zaanse Schans for some shopping.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time ! Bart made sure we got to see everything and experience all that Zaanse Schans has to offer.

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

Clara Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I really wish we had a longer time in Zaanse Schans.I suggest that you don and #39;t go to the guided tour in one of the windmills. It and #39;s a 10min walk from the busstop and you could see other stuff in that time. Also in Volendam, I wanted to try the seafood but there and #39;s not enough time. Overall, it was great

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

kmschehl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great overview tour of the area. We got to see so many things including the wind mill area, cheese making and wooden shoe factory, fishing town and even a boat ride. We were fascinated by the wind mills in Zaanse Schans so we went back the next day in order to spend more time there.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Rob W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide for both the City Tour and the Zaanse/Voldendam/Marken trips were knowledgeable and helpful. There were plenty of toilet breaks, a good itinerary with sufficient free time. My only gripes are a little too much time devoted to gift shops, and a little bit of organizational confusion by the tour company it felt like there were loads of different combo tours, so everyone was quite confused about who was going where.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Marie H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Unfortunately our tour was late in starting because the tour bus was late coming back from a morning tour of Keukenhof Gardens. The meeting up with the tour was a bit confusing because we weren't sure whether we were looking for a tour guide or a tour bus. Then we were caught in a terrible traffic jam on the motorway and as a consequence we were very late getting to Zaanse Schans. Our tour guide gave us extra time to make up for the late arrival but the village was closing down before our extra time was up. The Windmills were closed by the time we arrived but we did enjoy seeing the clog making demonstration and the cheese making demonstration and tasting. We also enjoyed walking along the dike to the Windmills and around the village. Overall we were glad we went on the tour to Zaanse Schans and our tour guide was very good.

Doing what: Amsterdam Half-Day Tour to Zaanse Schans: Windmills, Clog Museum and Cheese Farm

Calvin Chong

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Overall very rush, could be better if can spend more time at Zaanse Schans. Hope the tour operator could take this feedback seriously.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Timothy C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

We did not enjoy these tours. The Zaanse Schans area is worth exploring, but we felt as though we should have done it on our own. Transportation is easy enough to figure out in the Amsterdam area. We would have been happier getting a train out to the countryside ourselves and exploring on our own. The time we spent in the different destinations felt rushed. You have free time and meet back up with the group at a set time. The guide was not able to handle such a large group. He was confusing perhaps because he was giving the tour in English and Spanish? and we missed out on the opportunity to visit the cheese shop because of his misdirections. The fishing villages were cute, but again, we felt entirely too rushed and did not have a chance to properly enjoy them.

The afternoon tour to the Hague was a complete waste of time, in our opinion. We did not enjoy it. The Delft museum is neat and worth a visit if you are in the area, but not worth going out of your way unless you are really into china. With that being said, it was the highlight of our afternoon excursion which says a lot. The tour of the Hague if you could even call it that was us riding around in the bus, on the way to Madurodam, with the guide pointing out and explaining each of the foreign embassy buildings. Honestly, I couldn't care a less about those buildings. We did not get to see anything else that the Hague had to offer, with the exception of a 20 min. break in a square. We felt rushed again, as we barely had time to enjoy our coffees. The mini Holland experience at Madurodam was ok, but once again- not worth our time. We would have rather spent our afternoon exploring Holland in a different manner. Unless you are here for a month or so, I wouldn't waste my time going to these stops.

While Zaanse Schans and the fishing villages were cute, I cannot stress enough GOING TO VISIT THEM ON YOUR OWN. You will be happier, I promise. It was too rushed and not worth the frustration.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Diane N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

We enjoyed this tour, and our tour guide was very personable. However, we did not receive the comfort advertised by Viator, and I would reconsider taking another private tour with your company. Although you described comfortable travel in a minivan, we were transported in a tiny 2 door car. As an elderly person, I found it difficult to enter and exit the back seat. The Zaanse Schans windmills were very interesting, but I was very surprised that our guide did enter the windmill with us. Loved our walk through Edam--such a lovely village. We did not visit the cheese factory that was to have been part of our trip. We were deposited and picked up from Volendam, where I never saw a person in traditional Dutch dress. Where were they? We had taken our granddaughter on this trip to celebrate her recent college graduation and had spent quite a bit to make this a special day, and I was disappointed .

Doing what: Private Day Trip to Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Edam from Amsterdam

Barbara B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The only reason I gave this 1 star is because we enjoyed visiting Zaanse Schans. Other than that, I wish we had not taken the tour.

First of all, this is not a single tour, but two tours combined. The first part is Zaanse Schans, then a boat ride to Voldam, then a drive back to Amsterdam. This was a nice itinerary, and would have been a nice tour minus the below points.

Once back in Amsterdam, a new group of passengers boarded the bus and the second tour started late. Then we had to drive all the way past where we had been earlier in the day to get to Delft, The Hague, etc. The fact it was two separate tours was not made clear in the description, and the return to Amsterdam added 2 hours of driving to an already long day of touring. Had I known this, I would not have booked this tour.

In addition to the above, the following issues applied to both legs of the journey:

1 The tour was packed. Every seat on our double decker bus 90 people was filled. It made for a very ungainly group at each stop.
2 The bus was dirty, old and unkept. I expected better from a Viator tour.
3 A few of the passengers spoke Spanish. This prompted the guide to repeat everything she said in both Spanish and English. It got extremely monotonous. The problem was, the Spanish speakers spoke perfect English, so the dual narratives were unnecessary.
4 The bus had a pre-recorded narrative available that provided interesting facts about landmarks and the country as we passed. They passed out earpieces but the system didn't work. Narratives would start, just get interesting, then just stop. Every time. The guide apologized, but there was no attempt to rectify the issue or provide any other accommodation.

If I had to do it again, I would spend the day visiting Zaanse Schans and skip the rest. I was very disappointed in this tour and would advise people to avoid it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

gjgrabowski

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Very poor check-in at the local tour agency. Took more than a 1/2 hour to check-in paper copies of purchase receipts, to get another paper copy to go to the bus with. Don't understand why scanned copies of purchase documentation couldn't be used, along with wireless scanners, to speed up the process!! Also, very, very limited number of washrooms, for the volume of people. Zaanse Schans windmill stop was nice. Good to see authentic working windmill. Volendam cheese making was a waste of time. Only purpose was a front to sell cheese. The 'help' to lead us to the Viator approved restaurant seating for lunch was not necessary. Sort of overpriced. There are other available options. The boat ride to Marken was ok. It was a rainy day.. The Marken clog making demo was again only a front to corral everyone, in hopes to sell souvenirs. The afternoon trip to Keukenhof was ok. Remember that this is only a transfer to and from the gardens. The gardens themselves were good. Overall, not good value for what you spend!! Note to other travellers, please ensure when you are reviewing Viator reviews, to change from ' Traveler rating ' which gives all the great reviews first ' Most recent ' to get more of a balanced view of the product you are thinking of purchasing .

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Martin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The start at Victoria hotel is a bit chaotic, but the destination Zaanse Schans is really great.
Guide was very okay and also bus and driver were okay

Doing what: Amsterdam Half-Day Tour to Zaanse Schans: Windmills, Clog Museum and Cheese Farm

chrisblythe1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This would have been highlight of my trip! Both towns were wonderful each in their own way. Zaanse Schans was gorgeous. Unfortunately for me Mother nature was in a snit and hailed on me in April! On a nice day, I would have loved more time in each. Blythe N.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Andrew L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This is a whirlwind combined tour and you will see a lot of things taking the full day. It is a really great way to see a lot in a little time. We enjoyed the stops at Zaanse Schans and Marken the best, but everything was good overall. If your looking to spend a full day and see a lot, this tour is worth it. I would say that if you are deciding between the Zaanse Schans portion or the Delft portion I would choose Zaanse Schans.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

gligertwood Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The time at Keukenhof Gardens was too long, as it compressed the rest of the tour. Not enough time at Volendam and Zaanse Schans. Our guide , Ad ?, was good but didn't keep the group together well in the afternoon. Each attraction was great. Wish we had done them on separate days.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Caroline C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

It could have been a great itinerary but we stayed more than two hours in Volendam with limited things to do but focus on the fish street food and harbor view, aside from the cheese factory - which is really awesome! We then had to rush to go to Marken and then less than hour to rush in the Windmills as the tour guide said, Amsterdam tour is waiting for the rest of the tourists. We wanted to spend more time in Zaanse Schans, the weather didn't allow us to stay back. We could have done this trip using the awesome public transportation in the country while enjoying our free time for the half day.

Also, the number of tourists for this tour is huge for everybody's comfort.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Barbara Z

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Our guide was terrible. She didn't give us any additional information about the places as we traveled to them. She also had a monotone voice. She was always giving us very short times to visit the places so we had no time to enjoy the surrounding or wander around and meet people or go into any other stores other than the ones that she directed us into. Zaanse Schans the windmills were interesting, but no time to visit the other stores. The walk was long and took the entire time. My husband could not make it and stayed at the entrance and visited a wooden shoe maker who explained about all the different wooden shoes and had ones intricately carved. The hot chocolate at the first windmill was the best thing. In Volendam we were hustled into a small cheese factory where we heard a 10 minute lecture n cheese making and then were allowed to sample sever different cheeses. The cheese was very good....given only 15 minutes there, hustle hustle hustle. Next she wanted us to go to her restaurant of choice as they would serve us fast. My husband and I slipped away and had waffles and I bought a few trinkets. We met them in 50 minutes for the boat ride to Marken. Marken was one long walk. My husband had great difficulty keeping up and we gave up. To bad we never had time to explore the village or the shops. When we arrived the clog maker he showed us how he made wooden shoes with a machine and a mold...oh so interesting and then graciously let us buy thing in his shop. Before leaving I need to point out that they were double the price of the same items that I had bought in Volendam. When I showed him my coupon from the Amsterdam one book they were hesitant to honor it as I was with a group..but eventually they did. Also, bring change, he charges .50 to use bathroom. All in all I would not recommend the tour. To much to do in one day. You don't get to see anything but the tourist traps and we had the feeling that we were supporting their local friends.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

CesKa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This day trip was lovely and so was our guide Astrid... such a lovely and kind smart lady! the tour was very interesting and what we liked most is that we saw a number of places in 1 day! get wrapped up and wear tick clothing especially when visiting Zaanse Shanc as it is quite cold and very windy... Loved It!!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Carla s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

firstly the tour was easy to book and the pick up point easy to find quite important for 2 map reading challenged english ladies - Bart, our tour operator was great - he is a local resident of Zaanse and worked there as a guide before setting up his own tour company - not only is he knowledgable and easy to commmunicate with but he knows all the demonstrators personally and that shows we certainly felt that we got special treatment and that he was respected by the employees of the windmill/ factory and shops we visited.. the tour was interesting without being too long.. would definitely recommend the tour and the tour operator again.

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

Janice A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great way to spend a day in Amsterdam and see so many sights. It was nice to get out of the crowds of Amsterdam and see the beautiful country side. I would have liked more time at Zaanse Schans Windmills. I felt we were rushed thru. But, I understand we had a lot to fit in one day. Twice our bus driver was late getting back to the bus, so this did take away from our sight seeing time. I would still highly recommend this tour. We had plenty of time at Keukenhof to enjoy the beautiful flowers.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Jessica B W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our family two adults, two children aged 6 and 8 really enjoyed this day trip. We were wowed by the windmills in Zaanse Schans, loved Volendam and its charm, the ferry ride to Marken and spending time on the island. We loved watching the clogs being made, the city tour was super informative and we opted for the canal ride as well, which was a nice, slower pace. All in all a great day, with a fantastic guide and would recommend.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

mylifecompleted

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a wonderful day this was! We had the unfortunate timing of arriving in Amsterdam moments after the Brussels attacks in 2016. This threw our entire vacation into chaos and things were very stressful. This trip gave us a few hours of peace and we loved every minute of it! Our guide was wonderful and very engaging. We headed to Zaanse Schans first thing in the morning and saw the beautiful Windmills. It was amazing getting to talk to the Miller and watch this mill work. He explained how he uses the mill to make oil and after allowed us to climb up to the top of the Windmill. The views were fantastic! We had some free time to take pictures around the Windmill and the little village. We headed back to the bus and made our way to Marken for our wooden shoe demonstration. The shoe maker was really funny and ran the machines to make a shoe for us. After we had a few minutes to try them on and shop before we took a beautiful walk through the village. We headed to a covered boat for a 30 minute ride to Volendam where we made our way into the cheese factory. We had a 5 minute demonstration followed by a TON of cheese tastings! We then took a little walk to our final meeting point and had about an hour to wander on our own. It was a beautiful town and we had a gorgeous day! The tour was the perfect length and we really enjoyed ourselves!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an awesome half day tour. It is a great way to see the countryside. In Zaanse Schans, we were able to go inside a working windmill and given a tour of how it works, and then given some free time to explore the small town and see all the windmills. In Volendam we were given a tour of the cheese making process and in Marken we watched a demonstration of clog making. Overall it was a great day and I would do it again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message