Ever wondered what life was like in 17th and 18th century Netherlands? The Zaanse Schans, 15km north of Amsterdam, is the kind of museum that shows rather than tells and it’s the perfect place to immerse yourself in all things traditionally Dutch. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3559 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carolina Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Definitely a five stars tour! The guide was excellent and even though it was raining we had a great time. The meal was good, the cheese and wine tasting was good, too. The tour was well organized and we had free time in every place we visited, which was very good.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Tara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was great to go out and experience the countryside. I felt like I really learned a lot about the history and culture of the Netherlands.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Samara Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

great tour....great insight into dutch history and culture! absolutely loved it.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

barrystr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A bargain... incl bus/tram fares, one free boat trip on the canals, free entry to some museums, and discount to others... but just a reminder, only valid for busses and trams within the city limit...

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Yolande M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I packed 10 visits to attractions into 3 days and was very surprised at how much I was able to do. It was definitely worth doing! That was afternoons only because of jet lag I had trouble getting out and about before noon. I'd never heard of Micropia and was really surprised and excited about that museum. It was so innovative! The classic Amsterdam museums are all worth a visit and I hope to do more on another trip I will take later in the year! This card is a terrific resource!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Rachel Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Quick tour to see the icons of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

David A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our time in the Dutch countryside seeing the windmills at Zaanse Schans, the cheese factory and shops in Volendam, and the wooden shoe factory in Market. Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Julie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour ,both of my children aged 12 and 14 also enjoyed the day .

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Janice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was very friendly. Tour was punctual but could have had a little more time at the windmills. Boat trip to Volendam was good.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Stephanie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was excellent, which made the trip even more interesting

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Sara Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great service - lovely tour. Very knowledgeable and friendly tour guide. Thank you!

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

Nicole M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour. I recommend getting there about 30 minutes early to secure a decent seat we had a double-decker bus, or you're stuck facing the back with no view. There was a driver and a separate speaker/guide, as well as the headset system where you could pick your language for the times when the guide wasn't talking. Listening through the headphones was nice and clear and to be used when the guide wasn't speaking. The Dutch countryside is lovely, and the small fishing villages and windmills were really cool. Be sure to go to the top, well, just because you can and should. There wasn't really time for shopping or exploring in Zaanse Schans but that was fine with me. The boat ride from Volendam to Marken was really cool too - you could get food, snacks, and beverages including beer on the boat and that was neat. The cheese factory and clog-maker were really interesting as well. There are not too many places to eat in Marken but the guide recommended a place so everyone went there. You only get about 1 hour to explore there after the cheese factory, so in the interest of time, we walked a little bit down the way and picked a place that nobody else on the boat went to so we could get done faster and have a bit of extra time before meeting back to jump back on the bus. I definitely recommend this tour to get out of the city and see the countryside.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Firoz S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Beautiful scenery and it was really interesting to see the windmills and how they work. Also had a chance to see the cheese factory and shoe factory. I would've liked a little more time to wander around at your own leisure my opinion but you do get time to do this. The hosts were every friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Such a beautiful place and very interesting, but we are always wanting more time!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Brian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This trip is excellent. Sit back relax and enjoy the scenery, the people and the activities.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Kim D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour scenery was beautiful, guides were really lovely. Wish we had more time at the windmills!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Kim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A fantastic way to get a taste of the real Netherlands. Fantastic, knowledgeable tour guide and comfortable coach. A great day jam-packed with wonderful experiences

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

ARETHA ANN L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a perfect tour of rate windmills, the clog factory and the cheese. And it helped that our guide had a personal perspective of the history of the windmills. The made us experience the place with a more personalized touch. Thank you!

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

Bruce B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was really great. I highly recommend this tour. Our Guide was friendly and knowledgeable. I learned a lot about The Netherlands, much more than I thought I would. The bus was comfortable too. The tour included lunch which was very tasty. As well as a nice desert. There was a wide variety of stops on this tour, something for everyone.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Frances M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great time! The scenery was stunning, great guides and presentations at the windmill, clog factory and cheese factory...and amazing cheese! :

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

travelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An excellent value! In about 5 1/2 hours, we really saw a lot. A very personable guide that spoke fluent English and Spanish. We got to go inside one of the windmills that is used for sawing lumber and see how it operated. Also, we visited the factory where the wooden shoes are made and watched the process. On to Volendam next by ferry where we visited a cheese factory and watched cheese being made. Then had lunch at a nearby restaurant. The bus ride and commentary were also nice and informative, especially for a first time visitor like myself.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message