Ever wondered what life was like in 17th and 18th century Netherlands? The Zaanse Schans, 15km north of Amsterdam, is the kind of museum that shows rather than tells and it’s the perfect place to immerse yourself in all things traditionally Dutch. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3186 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very well organized. Met my expectations. Was enough to have a highlight of the region. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is really worth the price. The tour guide Viola is knowledgeable and fun and each stop was fun and informative. It was a joy to see so much of the beautiful country. The highlight for me was the oil mill and the beautiful chocolate and cheese shops in that area. I recommend this!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We couldn't fault this tour. Varied, organised and highly entertaining. Thank you.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This card is great! Allowed me and my friends to travel on the trams and night bus, and got us into all the museums we wanted plus a lovely boat tour which we probably wouldn't have done without the card. Also had a useful map! Great savings and well worth it!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great. We saw a lot and our driver and guide were excellent. It was well worth it! We traveled with kids ages 8 and 12 and they really enjoyed it as well.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

we had a wonderful experience. Hoped for less time on lunch/food snacks as we wasted nearly 2 hours in a short 5.5 hours trip on halting for a quick bite.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic half day tour with an enthusiastic, informative host. It was lovely to see some of the countryside outside of Amsterdam - very pretty and interesting places with the windmills dating back centuries and cheese factor being the highlights. Thanks Ruth.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

it was verry intresting but we didnt hve time for photos and souvenirs

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Bart is the best! His roots are in the Zaanse area for several generations. He is very knowledgable, personable and passionate! He is just starting his tour service so we had a very small group. I saw 40 or so from another tour company and I was so very glad we had Bart instead. You will have a great and informative visit with Bart as your host!

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Time well spent for a half day tour we were back to the city by 1:30PM to visit 3 great places in the outskirts of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A wonderful trip with so much packed in, only fault is it would have been lovely to have had more time in all of the places. A very helpful guide who was very willing to answer any extra questions we had and tell us something extra about the country. Particularly loved the fishing village and the boat trip, however we had a beautiful day with lovely sunshine which made it all so much more pleasant.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour was good value, the bus driver and tour guide were great

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Astrid, was engaging, smart, fun, and full of interesting commentary during the tour. We felt the tour gave us a terrific sense of the local countryside and history. Very worthwhile.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I love Amsterdam! I have been 3 times for different lengths of time and always feel like there is so much I am still yet to do! The I amsterdam city card is something I purchase every time I visit, a free canal trip is always nice and I learn new things each time. I do not have to worry about using the trams or getting lost and spending a fortune on travel to get back. It is a great way of exploring Amsterdam further then the central area and finding places of the main track. 100 recommend and will 100 be getting another when I go back next year...and the year after that!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding. I would use the Iamsterdam card again. Great value for money, great way to explore Amsterdam!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A must for first time travellers to the Netherlands. At 5.5 hours it's just the right amount of time.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved everything about this tour and highly recommend it. There was plenty of time in each location and the bus was clean and comfortable. Our tour guide was fabulous. I think his name was Eduardo. I recommend getting your tickets a day early and arrive early for your tour. They are very prompt and you don't want to be the last one on the bus and have to search for a seat.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip, very informative guide, who did a. Good Job on a very hort day.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour guides were awesome and sights were wonderful!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message