Ever wondered what life was like in 17th and 18th century Netherlands? The Zaanse Schans, 15km north of Amsterdam, is the kind of museum that shows rather than tells and it’s the perfect place to immerse yourself in all things traditionally Dutch. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3105 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely amazing experience, especially the first tour to the windmills etc which was very good value for money. Our guide for the first tour was so good, funny and friendly wish I could remember his name and he was so involved with every activity. The guide for the second part of the trip however rushed thru everything and was not very informative about the Kuekenhoff gardens before we arrived. We were left to ourselves for this visit which was good, but for instance it would have been useful to know that there is a boat trip at the gardens which takes you along the canal to get a better view of the tulip fields. When we realised this, we didn't have enough time. However, the gardens are breathtaking and well worth a visit. We went on April 15th and the tulip fields were not full by any means, so maybe a couple weeks later is better? Also, at the gardens we were not allowed to leave anything in the coach which many passengers found frustrating as we had all made purchases on the first trip, so therefore had to drag bags with us. Still gave a 5 rating because it was an overall wonderful experience.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was great, especially due to the amazing weather. The guide was knowledgeable in several languages and very helpful. The windmills, cheese and clog making were magnificent and all well done. The walk thru a village and the boat ride were a lot of fun as well. Would highly recommend to all.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour of the village and windmills! Wish we had more time to walk around.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great tour. Our guide was just superb. I'm sorry I missed his name but he handled a couple of situations, ie a miserable wench complaining about the sound system, with the skill of a clinical psychologist. The tour stops were interesting and informative. We're hooked. On our next trip we'll be booking with you.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great value and beautiful places to visit - especially Keukenhof at the height of the bulb display season.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was a lot of fun. we had a very knowledgable tour guide who took us from place to place and described everything we were seeing. Lunch was delicious, and because we went to four different places, I thought it was worthwhile to do this as part of a tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great Canal cruise
Easy to use for Trams ect

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had beautiful weather coupled with informative and entertaining guides and drivers. The windmills were truly amazing, as was Volendam and Marken. Absolutely spectacular is the only way I could describe the Keukenhof gardens tour, an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great way to cover a lot of territory in one day. Very enjoyable and informative. If you are in Amsterdam in April you must go to the Keukenhof gardens, the tulips and flowers are spectacular.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wow! Highly recommend this your !! You will not be disappointed!!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great experience, my wife and I really enjoyed it
It was well planned and we would recommend it
L. Cohen

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent ! Tour guide and assistants were very good To see the windmills was an experience.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was amazing and comfortable travels between stops and our guide Diana was great.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extremely well organized and delightful break from the city! The tour guide in particular was brilliant - with his mix of English and Spanish commentary in spurts.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

fantastic value, allowed me to see everything!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tulips were wonderful, and the trip to the windmills, shoe-making and cheese-making was worth the time, but beware of pickpocketers, theyre skillfull as well.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

WONDERFUL WONDERFUL, BUT DISAPPOINTED WE WERE ONLY THERE 2.5 HOURS. THOUGHT WE WOULD BE THERE MUCH MORE. i NEEDED TO PAINT. THAT WAS WHY WE WENT, BUT DIANA WA SUPERB AND WE LOVED ENTIRE DAY. VOLENDAM WAS SPECTACULAR
EVERYTHING WE HAD HOPED FOR IN A 10 HOUR TRIP.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide Ms.Diaana is fantastic.
The tour basically covers everything you wanted to see in Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour itself was amazing, love it very much. Word of ADVICE, get there early to the meeting space, we were scheduled to leave at 9 am, we left at 830! So get there early! Otherwise great tour!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message