Ever wondered what life was like in 17th and 18th century Netherlands? The Zaanse Schans, 15km north of Amsterdam, is the kind of museum that shows rather than tells and it’s the perfect place to immerse yourself in all things traditionally Dutch. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2859 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Well worth the money visited many tourist attractions

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was the perfect day trip to acquaint us with the best of Holland! The tulips were breathtaking! The wind mills and the shoe factory were so interesting and unique! Danielle was so enjoyable as our guide!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Things go wrong. You can't help it. Its how it's dealt with. We didn't get our tickets at the office as we should and then we got on the wrong bus without tickets. They made it work for us and we got to see wonderful Keukenhof and windmills and all --- best service ever.

Recommended.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Buying the card up front was a great idea we were able to access it as soon as we arrived in Amsterdam station and start using the trams immediately. The free canal cruise was also excellent as it really helped you to get your bearings and see lots of the city. As we were intending to go to several galleries it really paid dividends to have it. Well worth the investment.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Diana, our tour guide was exceptional. She was very knowlegeable and made everything very interesting. We went at the right time of year. It was chilly but the flowers were in perfect bloom.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful and memorable day at all stops! Edgar, our tour guide did a great job explaining everything and was so gracious-many thanks!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I very much enjoyed this tour. It was comprehensive with windmills, wooden shoe making and cheese making demonstrations that were interesting and informative and gave us a feel for Holland. The tour guide was knowledgeable and personable and the lunch was delicious. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent Tour and guide. Out tour guide - Carolyn was very good and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was friendly and helpful. The stops were fascinating and informative. It was a great way to see the countryside.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is great! Showed us more about what the Netherlands is all about. Vollendam was super charming. Loved the boat ride to Marken. Zaanse Schans is just picturesque. Guides were super helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was great way to gain access to the museums and public transportation service reps were great and very informative when I went to redeem the tickets. The Dutch -- at least in Amsterdam-- know how to manage tourism. Would recommend the Amsterdam card to friends and family!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

good tour guide. she was funny and helpful
you should put fun loving tour guide.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

samorah1973
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Too short time, it should be in full day trip but in general good to have this trip and to be in Amsterdam province

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We did not use it as much as I had expected to because we had friends who showed us Amsterdam. When we did use it it was fine.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The staff was really helpful, we enjoy the trip along the way.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This trip was wonderful! The tour guide was so friendly and knowledgeable. The working windmills were so interesting and you could go into the top floor for a great view. The village was cute with lots of fun shops. The gardens were highly memorable. So vibrant and fragrant. Lots of cute gifts available and you get free bulbs as a gift! Voldendam is cute, right out of a fairy tale book. Great architecture and fish and chips!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wa had a very pleasant trip, very well organized.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

iAmsterdam Cards are great. Great idea and they are really useful for the trams and transport as you dont even need to think about buying a ticket. Gives you entry to some great attractions, but of course the most popular ones are really busy. Van Gogh museum is almost impossible to enter, but most others things are great. Warning the only place to activate your card is directly outside the central train station in Amsterdam. There is nowhere else in the city that is convenient to activate. So do the exchange when you get off the train and then use it when youre ready to, to save you the hassle of having to go back to the station.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message