Ever wondered what life was like in 17th and 18th century Netherlands? The Zaanse Schans, 15km north of Amsterdam, is the kind of museum that shows rather than tells and it’s the perfect place to immerse yourself in all things traditionally Dutch. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2604 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A very good package, good coordination by the agency. 1 day was never enough.
Too many interesting stop by that never actually spend a good time on each location.
Very beautiful country.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was an excellent tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and clued on to the needs of the whole group. Gave a great insight into life in the Netherlands. Strongly recommended to know the real Netherlands.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Lucy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

You have just enough ime in eah of the places.
The guide was knowledgeable and very friendly. She spoke six languages.
The coach was very comfortable and included audio.
We loved volendam. It was so pretty. Even in the cold winter.
It does involve a bit if walking but it was worth it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

If you have 6+ hours to spare - DO THIS TOUR! Marken Island, Volendam harbor, immerse you in the dutch countryside. Our tour guides Alma was pleasant, gracious and informative. You get to walk through a lot of the little villages to get to your destinations, which is nice. Wish we had a little more time in Zaanse Schans, but it worked out perfectly in the end. Glad we picked the extended tour versus the shorter one.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was amazing. Tour guide was awesome and the driver was great as well.
Highly recommended!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I did the tour with my 60yr old mother. Both she and I could not be happier. 10 out of 10 would recommend.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This is a must do trip for anyone visiting Netherlands as you get to enjoy the true beauty of this wonderful country.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was amazing , the tour guide and the driver where amazing as well


Highly recomended tour

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The most useful card! We used it for museums, transit, etc.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very good guide, interesting tour. I'd recommend it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Organized tour, great guide (Astrid). Meet up place easy to find.
Zaanse Schans and Volendam are worth it. Marken is small, not much too see and the ferry to go to Marken is boring. There was some background given about the windmills at the actual windmill site which reduced the time for picture taking. Although they don't prevent you from roaming around but you will get drawn to the discussion/demo and later you will realize you don't have much time left.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Enjoyed the countryside...nice contrast to the hustle in the city!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Tour was good. Some locals not very friendly towards tourists and didn't feel welcome in fish village.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The city tour was not worth it and far too long and going straight onto the next tour was not ideal. By the time we got to the windmills we were starving but were told we would be having free time in Volendam where we could get something to eat. Well that was between 3 and 4pm and we had been on the tour since 9.30am, so we got something to eat at a little cafe in Zaanse Schans in a rush so we wouldn't be late for the bus. This was not very well planned out. The windmills were amazing and there were so many of them, but we visited the second last one which was quite a long walk. We also learnt less about the windmill itself but what it was for; the milling of wood. We were there to see the windmills not hear about wood. (A tour we went on later in Kinderdijk was amazing and we got to see a windmill that people actually lived in and operated. That was what people wanted to see)The visit to the last 2 towns was very enjoyable. They were such absolutely beautiful towns and well worth visiting.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message