Ever wondered what life was like in 17th and 18th century Netherlands? The Zaanse Schans, 15km north of Amsterdam, is the kind of museum that shows rather than tells and it’s the perfect place to immerse yourself in all things traditionally Dutch. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2783 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was the perfect day trip to acquaint us with the best of Holland! The tulips were breathtaking! The wind mills and the shoe factory were so interesting and unique! Danielle was so enjoyable as our guide!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very informative tour. The windmills and wooden clogs demonstration were great but the cheese was the best part.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Okay since this is two tours in one, I will rate as such. We did windmills in am and delft in pm

Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken, etc AN ABSOLUTE MUST during a trip to Amsterdam.
Epitomy of Dutch life. Absolutely loved.

Delta and the Hague . Complete disappointment. The Delft pottery tour was good, but mostly a rare shopping opportunity. We lost time in traffic etc so we only had 30 minutes in delft to wander.
The Hague was a joke as you drove by it was look at this and look at that as we drove by at 35 miles an hour. I believe that had it of not been the early evening it might have been better.

Note star rating is 5 for windmills and 3 stars being nice for afternoon

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was very well done and really gave you a feel for the Netherlands. However, it felt intrusive walking past people's private homes. And I'd have liked a little more time to shop!! I'd rather support the small villages who are inconvenienced by these tours with my purchases.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Giving 3 star only because the placesZaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam were good. The guide was very poor. His 'don't care' attitude was baffling. Usually, all viator selected tours are great. But in this one, even though there were 40 people inside a group, there were no radio devices or any other such mean. No-one could hear what the guide was saying at all, while out on the tour. Also, almost whole time he didn't care who is in the group, who's not. Upon visit to a small musuem in Volendam, he just sat outside and sent all people in. At Zaanse Schans, he just stayed outside of the windmill. Only the experts at the winmill and show factory told us something new and interesting about the place. Guide's helper a girl was quite helpful thoughshe was the only one keeping track of people etc..

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very fun outing. Excellent guide. Particularly enjoyed Vollendam cheese tasting and having a beer in a very picturesque cafe on the waterfront.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wie in jeder anderen Stadt auch lohnt es sich immer eine City-card zu kaufen. Wir haben wieder sehr viel gesehen und uns eine Menge Geld gespart.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I have gotten one the last two times ive been so worth it! Just the fact that you can use the metro none stop alone is worth it!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I Amsterdam pass brilliant. Free tram travel and admission to museums. Definateley worth buying. Saved a lot of money with it

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is an amazing tour! Our tour guide, Edgar, was very engaging, informative and humorous. He shared interesting details about all of the locations that we visited as well as everything in between. He kept us entertained the entire time. Although we were a. few weeks early to see ALL of the flowers in bloom at the Keukenhof, it was still so beautiful to see the early blooms. The Windmills were impressive as it was a very, very windy day and all of the mills were in action. The Wooden Shoe maker was also very entertaining. You'll need to make room in your luggage for the vast cheese selections at the factory in Volendam...You will end up taking some home!!! This is definitely one of the best tours we have experienced in all of our travels...

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A good way to get away from Amsterdam city and see some Dutch countryside and hear about the importance of water management.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message