Ever wondered what life was like in 17th and 18th century Netherlands? The Zaanse Schans, 15km north of Amsterdam, is the kind of museum that shows rather than tells and it’s the perfect place to immerse yourself in all things traditionally Dutch. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3276 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent itinerary with ample time to visit the windmills, Delft and The Hague. New and clean bus. Friendly well knowledge guide who spoke both English and Spanish. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent way to see Amsterdam. It meant we didn't have to worry about fares and having cash and for the Van Gogh museum we skipped a long line. What we really appreciated was that it saved us time as much as money.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We really enjoyed our tour. It had a little bit of everything and our guide was fantastic. The only confusing part was where to meet the bus by the church. The stop was actually in front of the grocery store.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Such a fun day out!! Booked last minute and was so happy that I did. The windmills were amazing and the boat trip across to Volendam was great, as was the cheese!! The Delft pottery was quite interesting, the only downside was the visit to the Hague was quite brief.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I really enjoyed it a lot! It was very well organized. I'm would have like a little longer time, perhaps 1 hour more, at the windmills. It was fascinating and beautiful!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Would highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting a part day out of Amsterdam.
My family of 6 went together for this day trip which was nicely timed and you had enough time and space to explore the areas you were taken to see. You got to try some great cheeses at the cheese museum and taken to Maarken by boat where you could have lunch we found a poffertjes stand dutch pancakes and they were delicious. Also, you get to see how clogs are made and get to try some on and buy some if you desire. Finally the working windmills in Zaanse Schans were very neat to see and learn about. Overall a great half day trip, well worth it!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyed the trip! However, the cheese tasting was actually in Voldendam not Edam so you might want to change this in the title as its misleading... Windmills were fantastic.. Also, the guide did a great job of explaining everything in English and Spanish. I'd recommend the trip!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It's a great short trip away from the city. Everything went smooth from start of the tour to finish. Our guide was amazing, even though there are a few people who doesnt seem to care to be right on time, he was still very patient and all smiling. The rest of the staff are also extremely friendly. The trip also is magnificent, you get to see the nearby Dutch countryside of Marken and Volendam. For the money we've spent its well worth the trip, even for a half day. I just wished we've had more time to explore by ourselves, nevertheless tour is still amazing!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was SUCH a great tour - we had time in each location and our guide was excellent.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great half day trip. You see a lot in a short time. I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I booked this tour after reading the reviews from other tourist in Viator and I must say wasn't let down . It was well worth the money and time spent. This tour was the first thing on our itinerary as we landed in Amsterdam and we didnt get time to leave our luggage first, however the Lindberg travel agent was kind enough to offer to keep our stuff, highly appreciated that. The bus ride was comfortable and our guide gave explanation in both english and spanish. we also had quite an entertaining bus driver : I liked how the tour was paced giving sufficient time though not enough at various stops to make it an efficient half day out trip. Loved the cheese tasting, food by the harbour, strolling through lovely village of Zaanse Schans, overall highly recommended tour, would love to come back for the Tulip seasons.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a great tour for those who have limited time. We were able to see many different things within the day. The timing was good and the logistics were well executed. The guide was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed ourselves and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Made my travel a lot easier. They include a great map.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent day trip. very well looked after by the driver and the Guide. Would recommend to anyone looking for day outside Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great experience love it and the guider was great.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Too many people in the double decker bus and one guide only, not much of personal touch.
Over all the tour was worth going except for the above.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic experience and lovely scenery!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was brilliant. Were able to use the trams all over the city and we went to extra museums that we normally wouldn't have consider, Easily covered the cost and the convenient was great.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good tour guide and very good demonstrations at all 3 venues. Good to have extra information through earphones on coach as well. The only slight downside was the amount of free time given at the second stop as there was not enough time to actually eat anything in comfort as the cafes were all so busy. Really recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day was had visiting the small villages of Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam with tour guide Monique and bus driver Ari.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Kenneth H
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Terrific guide. She was very knowledgeable and entertaining. I recommend the trip.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message