Amsterdam has all the offerings of a major world capital, yet the atmosphere is more akin to a village with tree-lined canals, art museums and a strong café culture. This city offers so much to see and do it's best to point yourself toward ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 366 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent tour of Amsterdam!

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great way to view Amsterdam if limited of time. Bus tour was approx 1hr and canal ride was 1hr 45m. Excellent value.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a great time cycling around Amsterdam with the bike company. Got to see parts of the city that we wouldn't just by walking around, and had a nice break in the park mid-way through the tour. The guide, Lise, was friendly and knowledgeable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best walking tour we have ever had! We learned more with Terry in 3 hours than we did in 5 days on our previous trip to Amsterdam several years ago. Terry tailored the tour to fit our interests. He is a wealth of information and has a great Irish sense of humor. Would highly recommend this tour - you won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

TERRY WAS BETTER THAN EXPECTED!!!!!!!! We had a small group 11, which apparently is normal. We met Terry in the plaza and immediately were enjoying ourselves. He was VERY knowledgeable of the entire area and felt we got a GREAT overview with some very detailed stops and never felt rushed or like we couldn't ask questions. He even took the time at the end of the tour to show us some local places that were not real touristy and we could buy local goods. We will CERTAINLY use this tour again if we come to town with people who have never been to Amsterdam. ALSO, if he tells you to not take pictures, DON'T, if he tells you to watch your step, WATCH!!! He was so thoughtful and watched out for everyone at all times and made sure we were safe! Also, enjoy the coffee on your pit stop, but if you need a cold drink, walk across the street. THANKS TERRY FROM LOUISIANA!!!!!!!!! You are the BEST tour guide we have EVER had!!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Dinner Cooked On Board

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is the perfect way to see the city through the canals, especially as the sun sets and the lights glimmer off of the water. Dinner was delicious and the service staff was very hospitable. You have your own table but you sit close to another couple but it was still romantic. If you are in Amsterdam for more than a day, try to book this tour on your last night in the city. The reason is because once you get to know the city by foot, it is really cool to see the city from the perspective of the water canals.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Dinner Cooked On Board

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour of canals especially when being new to Amsterdam has many challenges with trying to avoid being hit by bicycle! No problem with online booking.

Doing what: Highlights of Amsterdam Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This ended up being a candlelight canal and harbor cruise as we never did get off the boat to go see the Red Light District. However, my husband and I had a great time and would book this again if ever in Amsterdam. The larger groups were loaded first so they were in the back of the boat. Us and another couple got the two front booths all to ourselves so we could easily hear the captain and tour guide. They were both informative and funny and we learned a great deal about the history of the area. The meat/cheese/snack platter was quite nice and our wine glasses were never empty for very long. Seeing the sun set over the canals and the lights sparkle on the harbor was a highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Yellow Bike tour of Amsterdam was outstanding. We loved it! Our guide, Paulina, did a fantastic job providing information about the sites and she was very friendly.

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best tour we did our entire two week trip to Paris, Amsterdam and Spain. Terry is AWESOME. Tour was fun and knowledgeable. All around excellent.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Liz F
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Only open a few weeks a year. If you are lucky enough to be in Amsterdam during the season, do not miss this tour.

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Guided Flower Fields Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really liked this tour. I liked the countryside of amsterdam. Exposure of the Dutch culture is better seen in this kind of tour. I liked the different kinds of cheese esp. The red pepper cheese. Pastries and orher goodies were superb.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Carlos was the best - funny, informative, and very knowledgable. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a very good tour. We had a very good tour of Amsterdam with a very good tour guide.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The tour is worth while and takes you to interesting areas in amsterdam (off the beaten path) and every history she explained on each destination was thorough and not once did i seem uninterest. Amazing tour :) will do it again!

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was lovely. A MUST do in Amsterdam. The Boat trip is way more interesting and gives more info, but you also see more. The bus tour is ok, as a combo ticket is worth doing it, as it also have 16 languages to listen to.
Overall I think it's a great tour!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour guide Juliette and this is a must see when in Amsterdam. Beautiful !

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Guided Flower Fields Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really exceptional experience.Excellent meal and tour of Amsterdame.Highly recommend

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Dinner Cooked On Board

Jan M
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an excellent tour with an excellent tour guide, Wout. He made the information exciting and detailed and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. This is an excellent way to learn about Amsterdam. We added the 1 hour canal tour which gave us a different perspective and was also excellent.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very good. There is actually not that much to see architecturally from a bus ride in central Amsterdam but the commentary in English and Spanish on Amsterdam in general was very informative and amusing. We did go outside the built-up area to see a windmill famously painted by Rembrant but the highlight for me was a visit to a diamond merchant/factory and the opportunity to see some really expensive, sparkling diamonds. After the bus tour we went on a one hour canal boat tour but the timing for this is flexible so you don't have to go straight away.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was great way to gain access to the museums and public transportation service reps were great and very informative when I went to redeem the tickets. The Dutch -- at least in Amsterdam-- know how to manage tourism. Would recommend the Amsterdam card to friends and family!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our Irish tour guide, Terry, was informative and knowledgeable about Amsterdam's history and culture. He happily answered any questions our small group asked of him. Terry took us to sights that were significant in Amsterdam's history. The tour lasted 3 hours with one short break. This tour was a worthwhile way to get an introduction to the city.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Would definitely do this again next time I go to Amsterdam! The Heineken Experience was great fun, and the canal was a brilliant way to see the city on our first night. The staff were very friendly and the food and drink throughout the tour was lovely. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

i really have nothing bad to say about this tour, the service was of the high the captain / driver was great craic even if he was a bit hard to understand and the food was the best ive tasted in a long, in fact the whole trip to amsterdam was fantastic and i would advise any and every one to go but especially to take a trip on this fantastic cruise. well done to all who were involved.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Dinner Cooked On Board

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Superb tour led by Terry O'Leary!! We saw many highlights and Terry was extremely knowledgeable. Highly recommend booking this tour which gives a geographical and historical overview of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message