Amsterdam has all the offerings of a major world capital, yet the atmosphere is more akin to a village with tree-lined canals, art museums and a strong café culture. This city offers so much to see and do it's best to point yourself toward ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 392 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Went to Heineken Experience in morning. Very good. Had lunch there which was a huge burger. Very tasty.

We went on the Canals Pizza Cruise in the evening. That was absolutely wonderful. We saw so much of Amsterdam that we didn't know about but the best bit was unlimited drinks. Really! Every time my wineglass emptied it was refilled. Excellent service. Pizza was great too. It was a wonderful tour and I would tell everyone to go and experience it, especially if you like a few drinks to relax with.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I have been to Amsterdam many times before but this was the first time we used the Holland Pass. It really is your best way to see the city. The buses were busy by mid morning so plan WAY ahead. I hope they add more soon. If you are looking for fun things to see and do.. this is the way to go. Id would use this again and would also recommend this to my friends visiting for the first time. You can not go wrong with the Holland Pass from VIATOR. The only problem we had was finding the right location to get the passes from if you buy online. We did a lot of walking and most of the different travel tours were not sure where the VIATOR location was.. Try putting the locations and signs for redemption where everyone could see find it.. we walked up and down Dem Square and even back to Central Station before we found it. Too many other tour bus and attraction companies to sort through. Once we got our passes we did everything we wanted and it was fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

There's no better way to start your history lesson on Amsterdam than by taking a walking tour through the older parts of the city, starting at Dam Square. Our tour guide, originally from Texas, was enthusiastic and knowledgeable, and answered all of our questions. We were even able to slip into a pub near the Rembrandt Museum for some coffee when it decided to rain on us...bring good walking shoes and don't be afraid to ask questions!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a perfect way to see all there is to see in Amsterdam! We did the bus first and then the canal. There were plenty of stops and the schedule worked perfectly. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant service to use. The buses and boats take you all around Amsterdam, there are many hop on hop off stops so you don't miss anything. Collecting the tickets using the e mail voucher was easy and we got an extra discount on another tour that we booked while collecting!

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Was a great tour, especially due to our very entertaining guide Steven. It did take 2 hours and was well worth it. Learned a great deal about the Amsterdam red light area. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide made it enjoyable. He got the difficult information across in a light hearted way. It was very entertaining and a part of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great tour with interesting information and attractive sights. And a great guide from Amsterdam! thank you!

Doing what: Rotterdam, Delft and The Hague Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Madurodam Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were able to board the canal tour directly across the road from our hotel and the stop for the bus only 3 mins walk away.We found the commentary very informative and the skipper on the canal boat was hilarious as well as knowledgeable.It was very easy to pick up our tickets at 26 Damrak and the young lady was very helpful and supplied us with lots of brochures etc.I wou7ld recommend this tour to anyone coming to Amsterdam even if they have been before.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This canal tour was one of me and my boyfriends favorite things we did while in Amsterdam! It was a great way to see the entire city and the food was yummy! You are sat at a private table with just your party! Our server Raul was great and made sure to keep our wine glasses full! We had a blast!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise Including Dinner and Onboard Commentary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very interesting and enjoyable walking tour of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent tour of Amsterdam!

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great way to view Amsterdam if limited of time. Bus tour was approx 1hr and canal ride was 1hr 45m. Excellent value.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a great time cycling around Amsterdam with the bike company. Got to see parts of the city that we wouldn't just by walking around, and had a nice break in the park mid-way through the tour. The guide, Lise, was friendly and knowledgeable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best walking tour we have ever had! We learned more with Terry in 3 hours than we did in 5 days on our previous trip to Amsterdam several years ago. Terry tailored the tour to fit our interests. He is a wealth of information and has a great Irish sense of humor. Would highly recommend this tour - you won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

TERRY WAS BETTER THAN EXPECTED!!!!!!!! We had a small group 11, which apparently is normal. We met Terry in the plaza and immediately were enjoying ourselves. He was VERY knowledgeable of the entire area and felt we got a GREAT overview with some very detailed stops and never felt rushed or like we couldn't ask questions. He even took the time at the end of the tour to show us some local places that were not real touristy and we could buy local goods. We will CERTAINLY use this tour again if we come to town with people who have never been to Amsterdam. ALSO, if he tells you to not take pictures, DON'T, if he tells you to watch your step, WATCH!!! He was so thoughtful and watched out for everyone at all times and made sure we were safe! Also, enjoy the coffee on your pit stop, but if you need a cold drink, walk across the street. THANKS TERRY FROM LOUISIANA!!!!!!!!! You are the BEST tour guide we have EVER had!!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Dinner Cooked On Board

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is the perfect way to see the city through the canals, especially as the sun sets and the lights glimmer off of the water. Dinner was delicious and the service staff was very hospitable. You have your own table but you sit close to another couple but it was still romantic. If you are in Amsterdam for more than a day, try to book this tour on your last night in the city. The reason is because once you get to know the city by foot, it is really cool to see the city from the perspective of the water canals.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Dinner Cooked On Board

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour of canals especially when being new to Amsterdam has many challenges with trying to avoid being hit by bicycle! No problem with online booking.

Doing what: Best Highlights of Amsterdam Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This ended up being a candlelight canal and harbor cruise as we never did get off the boat to go see the Red Light District. However, my husband and I had a great time and would book this again if ever in Amsterdam. The larger groups were loaded first so they were in the back of the boat. Us and another couple got the two front booths all to ourselves so we could easily hear the captain and tour guide. They were both informative and funny and we learned a great deal about the history of the area. The meat/cheese/snack platter was quite nice and our wine glasses were never empty for very long. Seeing the sun set over the canals and the lights sparkle on the harbor was a highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Best Guided Amsterdam Evening Canal Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Yellow Bike tour of Amsterdam was outstanding. We loved it! Our guide, Paulina, did a fantastic job providing information about the sites and she was very friendly.

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best tour we did our entire two week trip to Paris, Amsterdam and Spain. Terry is AWESOME. Tour was fun and knowledgeable. All around excellent.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Liz F
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Only open a few weeks a year. If you are lucky enough to be in Amsterdam during the season, do not miss this tour.

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Guided Flower Fields Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really liked this tour. I liked the countryside of amsterdam. Exposure of the Dutch culture is better seen in this kind of tour. I liked the different kinds of cheese esp. The red pepper cheese. Pastries and orher goodies were superb.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Carlos was the best - funny, informative, and very knowledgable. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a very good tour. We had a very good tour of Amsterdam with a very good tour guide.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message