Nothing symbolizes Dutch pragmatism better than the country’s drug policy. Rather than wage war on all drugs and drive them further underground with all the criminal, anti-social activity that brings, they take a different approach. Concentrating on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

KD

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was great! the tour guide was very knowledgable when it came to explaining the coffee shop culture and other aspects of the history of Amsterdam and did so in a way that made it fun. If you're worried about safety don't be, I felt safe the entire time and the guide got to know everyone on the tour which helped put everyone at ease as well as brought the whole group closer together. This tour was one of the highlights of my trip to Amsterdam and I highly suggest doing it!

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shop Culture And Local Food Sampling Walking Tour

Gloriana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Aichane Agut was great! Excellent tour guide. Knows everything about Amsterdam, LITERALLY! The tour was in Español but she knew many languages. Best tour of Amsterdam so far! On time, she carefully explained everything and with details. Thanks

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Ancella S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We really enjoyed this tour and learnt a great deal more about Amsterdam and it's culture from our tour guide Kendra than we read about online. This tour has a revamped itinerary of not only the coffee shops but also about the gradual openness and attitude one sees in Amsterdam. Kendra was wonderful as our guide and told us about the squatters, resilient citizens and the bicycle culture which defines Amsterdam. She also took us on a tour of the various coffee shops and how they came about to operate and the various regulations and etiquette which exists today.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Jason P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This trip is less about the places to smoke pot as it is the real history of why Amsterdam is the way it is. Kendra is awesome and really cool about answering questions about Amsterdam even when it is not about the tour topics like how to navigate the bus system

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

ERIN F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Kendra was our tour guide and was terrific. Funny and very informative. Although it's more than just coffee shops. It's actually a walking tour seeing different sites and imagery of the progressiveness of the city. Definitely worthwhile though. Just don't expect to stop in coffee shops.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Peter J M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Not a smoker but still found the tour rather interesting to get a bit of history on the coffee shops.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Joan H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Change the description! This was not accurate.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Julia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had the most amazing experience in Amsterdam and will strong recommend Tony as he was patient knowledgeable host I had yet. I saw Amsterdam from the lens of both a native and visitor which was attributed to how great of a job he did. I told him of the areas I wanted to visit and he obliged us. My husband was impressed as well as he is often the hard one to read or approve of things. I look forward to visiting Amsterdam again as I truly should have stayed longer and look forward to working with Tony on my next visit. I give this tour and his service the highest rating and then some!

Doing what: Private Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour Including Sex Museum Admission

Liesl K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great time seeing all the sites and listening to all the stories that Kendra told us. She was very knowledgeable and kept us interested and engaged with interesting bits of information. She was a courteous guide and is highly recommended.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Maria Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

First of all, the name of the tour is and #39;The alternative Amsterdam and #39;. The guide, Mark ( I hope I remember his name correctly), PhD student was fantastic! Very knowledgeable, whitty, eager to share information. It was the best guided tour I and #39;ve been for years! It wasn and #39;t only coffee shop tour either.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Robyn G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Loved this tour. Not just a coffee shop tour but a walking tour including lots of information we never got anywhere else during our visit. Graffiti, squatters, coffee etc. Kendra was a great guide.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Brendan D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The guide only show twould
coffee shops

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Thelma N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Never had a chance to visit this tour because our guide was not available for the tour. They offered the next day but we had another trip scheduled.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Jean C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What an incredible tour and fantastic guide. Another Amsterdam must do in Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

rose n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide was really fun and knowledgeable. He knew a lot about the social history of Amsterdam.
We all really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Nick T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an amazing day with Carlos. Our first time visiting a coffeeshop and Carlos told us everything we needed to know. The sex museum was also more fun than we expected. I have already recommended this tour to some friends that are going to Amsterdam but to ask specially for Carlos who made it such fun day. Thanks Carlos!

Doing what: Private Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour Including Sex Museum Admission

Monster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So this tour was a lot of fun. Found the meeting location at H and M easily and was welcomed by a friendly guide. There was a group of people , almost 18 I think from different countries around the world. Not all about smoking, had some cultural lessons, this is good for beginners and experts. Fun tour!

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shop Culture And Local Food Sampling Walking Tour

Gordon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A good down to earth practical tour of Amsterdam, the psyche of the residents and why Amsterdam is Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

tdrew79

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a FABULOUS tour of Coffee shops, history, legalities, and all the nuances of the coffee shop culture. Total time was about 3 hours, and our guide, Tim, was Outstanding!! He had great stories, knew his history, and was humorous and fun to be with. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TOUR!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Tina g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was very interesting and informative...the guide was very friendly and made us laugh at times great guy

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Newton G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour and fun guide.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Catherine C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The guide was great but it was more about the city then the different coffee shops.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Stephany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a terrific day with our tour guide Carlos, a young and enthusiastic guy with a lot of knowledge. Not only did he give us a lot of information but he also made us feel at ease. He answered all our questions and was very sociable. It was such a fun and exiting day and I highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Private Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour Including Sex Museum Admission

Cecilia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Lars is hilarious and gave great details about the history. A fun tour!

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Inna s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took a tour with Kor Noebe. He is a great very inspirational and professional guide. I would definitely recommend it at the beginning of your stay in AMS, just book it in advance!

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message