Amsterdam will come alive again over winter with its third Light Festival, which sees magical laser shows piercing the night sky and glinting off the canals over Christmas and through the New Year. Running from November 27 to Jan. 18, 2015, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was pretty, especially at Christmas time to see the lights at night and from the water. The boat was spacious and comfortable. Had a great time. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I would highly recommend this trip; it was gorgeous and very interesting. My only complaint was the continual queuing, as the Viator ticket needed to be exchanged for one of the tour operators own. This took ages and it would've been just as easy to queue and buy one on site.

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Brilliant tour. Although we did wait in line to board the boat for like 50 minutes in the cold and we didn't receive our mulled wine. The tour was enjoyable and education. The boat does steam up so viewing does become a problem but we sat right at the back where the hot air vents kept out windows clear

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was our first canal cruise and it was terrific. The staff were wonderful, from checking in at the office to the captain on the boat. The boat was comfortable (we are very tall) and the audio quality was clear and informative. I highly recommend this company and encourage first timers to Amsterdam to take a cruise early during their stay. This is a great introduction to the city. Thank you!!

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Good commentary, quick trip on canal. You can open window if want to take pictures.

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The trip was great with interesting commentary and no waiting to get on the boat (we went approx. 6.15pm on a friday). we had hoped to see a few more light sculptures but enjoyed the ones there.

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. The representative quickly took our confirmation ticket and issued us with the tickets. The refreshments were basic but tasty and good value when you think these were included in the tour.
The trip lasted over an hour and we loved the lights. One slight niggle was the commentary was not on the head phones and all listened to the same one and as this covered several languages at times you had passed the item they were talking about.

All in all really enjoyed friendly staff would recommend

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Cruise from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge Including Dutch Snacks

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Pretty and a warm way to see the lights and sights!

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

It was ordinary, nothing that special. Half the lights were off!!!! A walk around the pier became more interesting.The best part was the warm drinks at the start of the cruise.

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

It was a shame we couldn't sit at a table and had to sit at the rear of the boat. The rain drops on the glass hindered our view somewhat. That said, if you are going as a couple, make sure you get a table! The tour itself was very nice and informative with narrated scripts. The captain mentioned a few things now and again. We would next time do a day time trip instead of the evening trip. It was nice to get out of the rain for a hour or so and get warm again.

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

I thought the tour was Ok, I expected more creativity in terms of sculpture lights. It was difficult for me to take clear pictures since the boat windows were not very clean.

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

I purchased our tickets from the web site but when we get the location I hardy found how to get into the boat with my printed receipts. It was annoying because there was a long line and there is no one to guide us about what to do . But tour was fine and interesting. We enjoyed it.

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

The canal tour was fine, however the line and how it was handled to get to the tour was HORRIBLE! You really need a better way to handle the crowds. We already had tickets and still needed to wait in a LONG LINE.

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Not up to our expectations. The daytime canal boat cruise was much better.

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Tour was little short of what was advertised. Dish was served at the dock before the trip. This should have been identified in the description. Soup and Gluhwein was tasty but Spartan. little pricey for what is was.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Cruise from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge Including Dutch Snacks

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

This trip was very disappointing. The lights were not as spectacular as expected, in fact we found it pretty boring!! The cruise ship was fine, the mulled wine was nice, the commentary was good.

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Noisy, the tour guide would discuss things on the right or left and you never knew if it was his right or left or yours. Very confusing.

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The tour is fine but I am not happy about the Viator deal we got here. The tickets cost 5eur more on this site than at the terminal and with the voucher you still have to join the ridiculous queue like everyone else without tickets. We waited more than an hour and people with tickets kept pushing in in front of us all the time.

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

I was deply disappointed in this trip. The food was horrible, you don't have time to eat it and you are not allowed with it in the boat. I was expecting something completely different. It's just a tourist trap.... Deply deply disappointed

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Cruise from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge Including Dutch Snacks

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

This was a dis-appointing tour! We understood that we would be having the meal on the boat as we cruised the canals. Instead, we had the soup and bread at the start and then cruised around. The Light Festival was disappointing - and nothing like what we were expecting. Money not well spent.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Cruise from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge Including Dutch Snacks

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

Terrible for the value. Paid for a trip that was supposed to be 75 minutes long, lasted under 60 minutes. There was no mulled wine or signature Dutch dish, 10 light sculptures (not the 30 advertised), the glass in the boat fogged up and because of the garland on the top of the boat, it was not easy to see. I had a better canal ride from the Heinekin Brewery to Central Amsterdam and that was FREE. Not sure I'd use Viatour again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Cruise from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge Including Dutch Snacks

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

Don't walk, RUN as fast as you can away form this tour. It was the most poroly organized and frustrating experience I have had traveling in a long time. We pre-booked tickets and were easily able to exchange our voucer for the tickets but there is no set time for your tour so we found ourselves in rain with no shelter, miserable and cold standing in lines that were poorly managed for over one hour. People that arrived after us walked to the front of the queue. None of the staff watched nor cared. An empty boat pulled to the dock behind us in the queue, and they began to board passengers form the middle of the line. There were actually familes with young children (3 yrs?) pushing an shoving to gain a position.

See the lights. Just don't go with with this cruise company...

Doing what: Best Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message