Amsterdam will come alive again over winter with its third Light Festival, which sees magical laser shows piercing the night sky and glinting off the canals over Christmas and through the New Year. Running from November 27 to Jan. 18, 2015, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Brilliant tour. Although we did wait in line to board the boat for like 50 minutes in the cold and we didn't receive our mulled wine. The tour was enjoyable and education. The boat does steam up so viewing does become a problem but we sat right at the back where the hot air vents kept out windows clear

Doing what: Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was our first canal cruise and it was terrific. The staff were wonderful, from checking in at the office to the captain on the boat. The boat was comfortable (we are very tall) and the audio quality was clear and informative. I highly recommend this company and encourage first timers to Amsterdam to take a cruise early during their stay. This is a great introduction to the city. Thank you!!

Doing what: Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Good commentary, quick trip on canal. You can open window if want to take pictures.

Doing what: Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Pretty and a warm way to see the lights and sights!

Doing what: Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

It was ordinary, nothing that special. Half the lights were off!!!! A walk around the pier became more interesting.The best part was the warm drinks at the start of the cruise.

Doing what: Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

It was a shame we couldn't sit at a table and had to sit at the rear of the boat. The rain drops on the glass hindered our view somewhat. That said, if you are going as a couple, make sure you get a table! The tour itself was very nice and informative with narrated scripts. The captain mentioned a few things now and again. We would next time do a day time trip instead of the evening trip. It was nice to get out of the rain for a hour or so and get warm again.

Doing what: Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

I thought the tour was Ok, I expected more creativity in terms of sculpture lights. It was difficult for me to take clear pictures since the boat windows were not very clean.

Doing what: Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

I purchased our tickets from the web site but when we get the location I hardy found how to get into the boat with my printed receipts. It was annoying because there was a long line and there is no one to guide us about what to do . But tour was fine and interesting. We enjoyed it.

Doing what: Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

The canal tour was fine, however the line and how it was handled to get to the tour was HORRIBLE! You really need a better way to handle the crowds. We already had tickets and still needed to wait in a LONG LINE.

Doing what: Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Not up to our expectations. The daytime canal boat cruise was much better.

Doing what: Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Tour was little short of what was advertised. Dish was served at the dock before the trip. This should have been identified in the description. Soup and Gluhwein was tasty but Spartan. little pricey for what is was.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Cruise from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge Including Dutch Snacks

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

This trip was very disappointing. The lights were not as spectacular as expected, in fact we found it pretty boring!! The cruise ship was fine, the mulled wine was nice, the commentary was good.

Doing what: Holiday Canal Cruise: Amsterdam Light Festival from a Glass-Topped Canal Barge

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message