Beer- and cheese-lovers are right at home in Amsterdam, where Dutch cheeses like Gouda, Edam and Leiden make up a healthy part of the cuisine and Dutch lagers are consumed heartily. To get the full cheese experience, head to a cheese market like ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 587 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gauths Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time on this tour. The pace and timing was great, we had a wonderful guide and bus driver, and got our fill of 'traditional' Dutch. We even did a tacky tourist photo in Edam in traditional Dutch costume! Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Luis Esteban A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Increiblemente precioso, cada detalle los lugares y la administracion del tour, de los mejores que he hecho en mi vida!!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jean R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a wonderful day full of new experiences which we really enjoyed. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Mona L B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an excellent tour and the guide was very good and even though we went to three different locations, we still saw a lot and had lunch included. That was a bit rushed but the tour was well worth it.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Judy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Even though the downtown Heineken location no longer brews the beer at this site, it was great! We enjoyed all of the tour from beginning to the end. I especially enjoyed the 3D theater in which we could feel the experience of becoming a beer through the brewing process. Great fun!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

Peter T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The guide and driver were great as was the scenery. Highly recommended

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic day. Sun/Clouds/sleet did not affect our day.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Monia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great fun! I spent a great night with new international friends! What else?

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

geoffrey.smith.1988

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Heineken Experience is fun, and the canal buses are a fun way to get around.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

geoffrey.smith.1988

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fun time, you will enjoy.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Bernadette B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We would highly recommend this tour, you will not be disappointed. Our guide,Peter was very good and knowledgeable about the area. We tasted many authentic food of Amsterdam and the Netherlands.
We started with poffertjes small sweet pancakes and had haring and kibbelings, sausages, cheeses,chocolate, bitterbollen, and of course, beer. It moved along well and we covered quite a distance with stops to tell us history of the Jordaan neighbourhood.

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

noelmcgarry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A real sampling of The Netherlands experience visiting three towns in the country each with its own unique history. The tour included lunch, cheese tasting, wine, boat ride, windmills all showcasing Holland. Well worth the cost for a closer encounter with this country.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Teresa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A very interesting and fun tour of the Alkmaar cheese market - well worth the visit.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Ervira R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Enjoyed so much the farms. Holland are so colorful, and beautiful. Breathtaking green farms, and a pleasant local people. Jaime was a very nice guide. We've seen a lot within one day, like almost seen the whole country. Great tour :

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Kiana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a beautiful introduction to the Netherlands! I HIGHLY recommend this tour as it covers all the basics that we know and love about Holland. It is a beautiful drive out to the countryside and then walking tours through the most quaint little towns you will ever see. Trust me, you will want to move there immediately! There is also wine and cheese tasting which is delicious, a boat ride, a visit to a wooden shoe factory complete with demonstration of how they make klompen wooden shoes. The gal who did our demonstration was so funny! After the wooden shoe factory we were off to Zaans Schaans which is so beautiful with all the old windmills dotting the countryside. It is quintessential Dutch. If anything though, I do wish we would have had more time in Zaans Schaans. It was a full day but everything was excellent.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

theclarkclan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Josie made the day excellent, she had a great sense of humour and was very knowledgable. It was a good way to find out about the 'real' Amsterdam. We got to visit many villages and even have a boat ride to a lovely restaurant with a superb meal at a very timely break. The wine and cheese tasting was also very good. Visiting windmills was very interesting. All the points of interest were well chosen. it gave me a great insight into Holland. there were lots of times out of the bus which was great. a concise informative fun tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Elizabeth K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour at Heineken, you need to give yourself at least 2 hours though to fully enjoy it. Boat trip was amazing and buying the joint ticket in advance costs less money than buying each ticket individually in Amsterdam. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

Wendy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this very flexible way to tour Amsterdam and as the weather was pants a welcome refuge from the elements too. The Heineken Tour was great, interactive,fun topped off with free beers, who could ask for more, you can earn extra freebies during a fun little quiz at the bar... Nice little touches were photos posing with Heineken signs and videos signing tulips from Amsterdam very funny entertaining tour. I would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

Linda D C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a relaxing day. Great way to see the area around Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Martin O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent way to get a real flavour of the Netherlands. Even though the weather was wet all day, our guide kept our spirits up and gave us a great experience.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Gary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Gorgeous variety of locations! would highly recommend it

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A really wonderful day seeing the countryside with a delightful tour hostess and bus driver. Thank you both so much!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Kenneth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour covering many aspects of typical Dutch life.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall- a great day trip outside the city of Amsterdam. Short visits to Edam, Volendam, and Maarken. You are taken on a short guided walk around the town of Edam. Cheese Tasting is not done in Edam-instead you visit a cheese factory in Volendam and have wine with various cheeses which was very nice. A lunch break is taken in Maarken good food. Visited a working sawmill windmill which was interesting but felt we would have used a little more time at the windmills to take it all in and take some more pictures.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message