Beer- and cheese-lovers are right at home in Amsterdam, where Dutch cheeses like Gouda, Edam and Leiden make up a healthy part of the cuisine and Dutch lagers are consumed heartily. To get the full cheese experience, head to a cheese market like ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 645 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the funnest days we had in the Netherlands. Our tour guide was excellent, and every part of the day was great. The windmill tour was spectacular, the tiny villages we visited were great, the boat ride was very enjoyable, and the restaurant was very good. I was skeptical initially about booking this tour, but it seriously ended up being one of the best memories of our two weeks in Europe. Also, learning about the history of the Netherlands, and the intricacy of the entire dam and levee network was fascinating.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

CHEONG WAI Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very well planned and spaced tour schedule. The lunch was great and the Cheese and clog factory visit was very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Wto2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful tour of the countryside including Edem, a cheese factory and wooden shoe maker in Vilderdam, and windmills in Zaanse Schans. Very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Duncan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent value for money with terrific professional guide and driver.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

kstove23

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This countryside tour was really amazing. Worth the time and money. Tour guide was nice and knowledgable too. Very organized.
Wish, however, that we could have spent time exploring Edam rather than just walking through it.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

melisaleunghx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely love the itinerary and the pace of the tour! Amazing Tour guide, Mary Ann is eloquent in spanish, english and french, provides interesting insights of Amsterdam history of the places covered. We have time for photos and shopping at each locations. Lunch at Marken was delicious and serves fast in good portions. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Craig J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour of the small villages in the country side of the Netherlands was very refreshing and was a good change from the urban sights of Amsterdam. The villages of Edam and Marken were exceptionally picturesque. The villages had many small canals with stone bridges, water side trees, and cottages in the background. Almost at every turn, we were presented with a post card view. It was a thrill to climb up into the working windmills at Zaanse Schans and see the gears and screws turning. We had cheese tasting at Volendam and then took a boat ride to Marken where we had a great lunch and were given a demonstration on the making of Dutch shoes.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Prabhakar T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sean was phenomenal

Doing what: Amsterdam Food Tour

Cecile A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Un tour des spécialités hollandaises dans un quartier animé avec un guide très disponible et intéressant. Un très bon moment de culture et surtout de gourmandises. Je recommande vivement !

Doing what: Food Walking Tour of Amsterdam

jnhart6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was excellent - enjoyed the food and learning about the area. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

Abby E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I loved our tour guide, Charlie. It was really organized and I didn and #39;t lose my friends so that was a plus!

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Cheri L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well paced and interesting tour. The area round Amsterdam is beautiful

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

eliorivero

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent to meet new friends!

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

diamondtravelagencie ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I highly recommend this tour. The food was very delicious and diverse, especially the Stroopwafel. What really made the tour in the end was our guide, Zohair. He knew Amsterdam very well and gave us many ideas for activities in the following days. I recommend this tour with Zohair 100

Doing what: Amsterdam's Favorite Food Tour with a Local

Nicholas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best night I had in Amsterdam. The guides were awesome, funny, and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this pub crawl.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Shawn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was well worth the money. It was a short ride from Amsterdam to Alkmaar. Our tour guide was full of information and funny as well. Alkmaar was a cute little town to stroll once you saw the cheese market. The windmills were amazing to look at! Such history!

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Sarah A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed are food tour very much! The tasting ranged from a local beer to waffles to some unique delicacies. Most of all, our guide had lived in the city for many years and had a unique perspective on its growth and culture.

Doing what: Amsterdam's Favorite Food Tour with a Local

DFur United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best tour of our entire trip 7 tours in 4 countries. The guide, Daniella, and bus driver were amazing. Enough time was given to all the visited locations, and extra effort was taken to ensure each visit was personalized with an individualized group tour exclusive windmill tour, exclusive cheese tour, exclusive wooden shoe tour, etc. Boat ride was beautiful. Lunch location was perfect - great service and excellent food. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Michael Benj Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great Guide Rudolph excellent knowledge of area and history. starting with profertjes and then working our way through the area with mnay stops for history talk and food stops it was interesting informative and lovely tasting .. Do not eat breakfast before this one its a lot to eat and pace yourself.

There is good long breaks and walking breaks between each stop. It was interesting for us to do this and compare against the one in the De Pijp area to get a view on different areas within Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

First class your, very well led by the tour guide, very witty and informative

Doing what: Amsterdam Food Tour

Lana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic opportunity to see the beautiful countryside in the Netherlands.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

ROBERTO R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Spectacular Tour!!! Great value and great places. We will make sure to use Viator a lot more in the future.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message