Beer- and cheese-lovers are right at home in Amsterdam, where Dutch cheeses like Gouda, Edam and Leiden make up a healthy part of the cuisine and Dutch lagers are consumed heartily. To get the full cheese experience, head to a cheese market like ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 531 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great way to meet new people and truly experience Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Carolina Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Definitely a five stars tour! The guide was excellent and even though it was raining we had a great time. The meal was good, the cheese and wine tasting was good, too. The tour was well organized and we had free time in every place we visited, which was very good.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Bruce B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was really great. I highly recommend this tour. Our Guide was friendly and knowledgeable. I learned a lot about The Netherlands, much more than I thought I would. The bus was comfortable too. The tour included lunch which was very tasty. As well as a nice desert. There was a wide variety of stops on this tour, something for everyone.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic - great intro to the city center and so much fun - excellent value for the money.
I am 57, and thoroughly enjoyed this - for all those 18 who enjoy a drink or two or three while touring!

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Beer Tour

Neil B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Bought for my daughter and her friend when we visited Amsterdam over New Year. Had a fantastic time - didn't come back till 3:00 in the morning. Great way to meet people. Great value for money, felt safe and well looked after by the guide.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Julie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour ,both of my children aged 12 and 14 also enjoyed the day .

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Beverley O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We took this tour in mid October and had a fabulous time. Sean was a lot of fun. I'd definitely recommend this tour. All of the beers we tried were excellent.

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Beer Tour

Mrs A F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Sean was an excellent tour guide. We felt like we spent an afternoon with a friend who shared lots of information about eating in Amsterdam as well as more general information. Great tips on where to eat and shared nice food ending in a drink at a distillery. Good value too

Doing what: Amsterdam Food Tour

Andrew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Brilliant trip. Heineken was very good, lots to do and interesting and beer to taste! Canal bus was great also. Very informative and stops at the places you need.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

KBatista United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved this food tour. Although quite a bit of the foods we tried were free samples anyway, the tour guide was super knowledgeable. We went on our first full day of Amsterdam and learned a lot about the history, the areas we walked through, and of course the different foods!

Doing what: Amsterdam Food Tour

Meagan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Heineken does a great job blending cultures from around the world. I enjoyed the tour, games, and beer!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

Emily Fern Webb J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Sean from Wisconsin was a WONDERFUL Foodie Tour Guide. The conversation and the walk through Amsterdam was informative and enjoyable. The cheese is wonderful, the fries were wonderful the, smoked eel my husband loved, I loved the waffles, alcohol, and sausage. Sean even recommended places to eat out for dinner while in Amsterdam. We went to the Rosenboom in a cute little alley way. Hands down a great meal for a great price.

Doing what: Amsterdam Food Tour

Sam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

long day but totally worth it. cheese tasting was great. plenty of opportunities for shopping but not much free time.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Maureen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Well organised - safe way to see the city but have fun. Our groups were well balanced so everyone joined in. The hosts work very hard to make sure everyone has a great night and are available throughout.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour of the country. The towns, the windmills, the cheese, wine, lunch were all great.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very well organized and a great time!!!
You spend a good amount of time at each of the bars. The pub crawl leaders are super nice and friendly!
We met a lot of great people from all over the world! Would absolutely do it again - definitely worth the money and a highlight of our trip. We balanced out the touristy activities with fun ones!

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Me and my family went on this for my 21st birthday for a bit of a laugh. A great mix of people of all ages, cheap drinks, and there are free drinks included with the ticket plus a t-shirt for the ladies! It was really well organised, and the staff were so friendly and were up for a laugh

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Richard S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour had been the highlight of our trip to Amsterdam. Our guide was knowledgeable and was engaging enough to keep our interest up. Of all the places we've visited, Zaanse Schans had to be the best since that's where the windmills are. With such an idyllic scenery, it was made for picture taking. Going up the windmill afforded us with an elevated 360 views of the surrounding area. Learning about the windmill's inner workings was fascinating. I do wish that we were allowed more time to meander around the neighborhood and check out the shops. I feel that an hour give or take wasn't nearly enough.

The other portion of the tour at Edam, Volendam and Marken were also interesting. The lunch in Marken was surprisingly good. Normally, lunches included in tours are nothing to write home about. However, our lunch was pretty good if I say so myself.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour as it gave us an experience that was something that's totally different from the big city feel of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jesse A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very well done! A must do if you want to experience the culture in Amsterdam in a more intimate and memorable way!

Doing what: Amsterdam Food Tour

Kaye M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a perfect day! A little bit of everything that is so typically Dutch, and with a local who could explain what we were experiencing. A great way to see outside of the city centre and understand the waterways of the Lowlands.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Braden K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A wonderful way to spend the afternoon the the Jordaan. Our host was very kind, very accommodating, and a wealth of local information. We did this on our first day in Amsterdam, which was exactly the right time - a good primer, and were able to get lots of good recommendations about what else to do during our stay.

And the food - was delicious. thin pancakes with some fantastic cheeses.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local in Amsterdam: Traditional Dutch Meal in a Local Home

Debra O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was terrific. He showed us some great little food places and even walked us through the grocery store which was very interesting.

Doing what: Amsterdam Food Tour

Nicola S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message