Beer- and cheese-lovers are right at home in Amsterdam, where Dutch cheeses like Gouda, Edam and Leiden make up a healthy part of the cuisine and Dutch lagers are consumed heartily. To get the full cheese experience, head to a cheese market like ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 438 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Tour was fantastic - and carried on even while there was a hurricane. The bus driver was awesome - when we got back to Amsterdam after the storm we found out that there was no public transport to Schipol Airport - we were amazed that the driver said no problem and drove us back to the hotel at Schipol airport at no cost. What fantastic service.

Sincerely,

David Baxter

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Jaime was awesome, very knowledgeable, very informative. It was so much fun definitely was of the highlights of our entire week in The Netherlands!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to meet other travelers and explore the nightlife!

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My cousins and I all went on this. There were four of us ages 20 to 22. We absolutely loved this. We had so much fun. Met some nice people in our group that we met up with another day. A highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very fun and safe pub crawl. the organizers were helpful, and accommodating.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful trip and great historical information from our travel guide.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent trip to know Holland country, just 50 kilometres from busy city of Amsterdam...half day full of traditions...it is amazing experience to see cheese trading! Really worth to go there. The g

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great. We saw a lot and our driver and guide were excellent. It was well worth it! We traveled with kids ages 8 and 12 and they really enjoyed it as well.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Just right, great walking tour. The guide provided even more than I expected. Not only good local food but conversation about houseboats, neighborhoods, and more.
The foods were just right, too. Holland had it's share of gourmet restaurants, but I was very interested in local, traditional foods.

Doing what: Amsterdam Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Astrid, was engaging, smart, fun, and full of interesting commentary during the tour. We felt the tour gave us a terrific sense of the local countryside and history. Very worthwhile.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Interesting how a cheese market was organised in Holland in the last centuries ! We also tasted the different types of cheese and indeed - very tasty ! The trip to the windmills was so full of important information about how the Dutch people fought and are still fighting for every square inch of land. We had no idea before that the windmills were used mainly for making polder , for running lakes dry, in our land mills are used for grinding corn.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is really worth the price. The tour guide Viola is knowledgeable and fun and each stop was fun and informative. It was a joy to see so much of the beautiful country. The highlight for me was the oil mill and the beautiful chocolate and cheese shops in that area. I recommend this!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was replete with Dutch charm: windmills in operation, even seeing how peanut oil is still cranked out by windmill a clogs factory with demonstration of how clogs are carved out over the water to Vollendam where we enjoyed a cheese-tasting and a walking tour through quaint Edam. Highly recommended for the whole family.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fantastic and Aileen is a wonderful guide. She is very knowledgable, charming and has a sense of humor. A highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a fantastic tour and I would highly recommend this to everyone. Very beautiful places, tour guide was very informative, friendly and had a pleasant time to go around these small towns.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was so worth it. The best part about it was free beer at the end.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had an amazing time. The guides were super friendly and went out of their way to make sure that everyone was having a good time. Had a great time!! Would love to do it again!!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband LOVED the Heineken Experience - he is a beer lover - and I really enjoyed it as well, and I'm not a massive beer fan. Unfortunately, due to time constraints, we didn't get a chance to use the canal bus pass.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really good experience and trip. Canal bus is really handy to spend time seeing the city from the water but probably easier to walk if you are using this as a way to get round Amsterdam though as takes time to get from place to place

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Would definitely recommend but pick a quieter night as more fun and intimate to get to know people.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very interesting tour of the Amsterdam city and the Heineken factory. Enjoyed tasting freshly brewed beer.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very interesting tour of the Amsterdam city and the Heineken factory. Enjoyed tasting freshly brewed beer.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message