Beer- and cheese-lovers are right at home in Amsterdam, where Dutch cheeses like Gouda, Edam and Leiden make up a healthy part of the cuisine and Dutch lagers are consumed heartily. To get the full cheese experience, head to a cheese market like ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 424 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Interesting how a cheese market was organised in Holland in the last centuries ! We also tasted the different types of cheese and indeed - very tasty ! The trip to the windmills was so full of important information about how the Dutch people fought and are still fighting for every square inch of land. We had no idea before that the windmills were used mainly for making polder , for running lakes dry, in our land mills are used for grinding corn.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is really worth the price. The tour guide Viola is knowledgeable and fun and each stop was fun and informative. It was a joy to see so much of the beautiful country. The highlight for me was the oil mill and the beautiful chocolate and cheese shops in that area. I recommend this!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was replete with Dutch charm: windmills in operation, even seeing how peanut oil is still cranked out by windmill a clogs factory with demonstration of how clogs are carved out over the water to Vollendam where we enjoyed a cheese-tasting and a walking tour through quaint Edam. Highly recommended for the whole family.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fantastic and Aileen is a wonderful guide. She is very knowledgable, charming and has a sense of humor. A highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a fantastic tour and I would highly recommend this to everyone. Very beautiful places, tour guide was very informative, friendly and had a pleasant time to go around these small towns.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was so worth it. The best part about it was free beer at the end.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had an amazing time. The guides were super friendly and went out of their way to make sure that everyone was having a good time. Had a great time!! Would love to do it again!!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband LOVED the Heineken Experience - he is a beer lover - and I really enjoyed it as well, and I'm not a massive beer fan. Unfortunately, due to time constraints, we didn't get a chance to use the canal bus pass.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really good experience and trip. Canal bus is really handy to spend time seeing the city from the water but probably easier to walk if you are using this as a way to get round Amsterdam though as takes time to get from place to place

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Would definitely recommend but pick a quieter night as more fun and intimate to get to know people.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very interesting tour of the Amsterdam city and the Heineken factory. Enjoyed tasting freshly brewed beer.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very interesting tour of the Amsterdam city and the Heineken factory. Enjoyed tasting freshly brewed beer.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. Lovely young guide who made the experience fun

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Although our tour was called Charm of Holland rather than the above, it seems to be the same. We enjoyed visiting the countryside including Edam, Volendaam and Marken in addition to cheese tasting, visiting a clog making factory and a working windmill. All the above gave us a good overview of the countryside and we packed a lot into 8 hours. Most enjoyable
Kay and Alister

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very well organised trip in luxury coaches. Thanks for the wonderful informative trip. A special mention to our guide who shared lot of information and made sure we got a vegetarian meal for lunch

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great they even rearranged the night due to some of the group not arriving in Amsterdam on time met lots of fab people would defo recommend on the first night or to to find good local pubs

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an outstanding tour of the country side north of Amsterdam and I especially enjoyed the visit to the windmills and the tour inside to learn how the mill worked and the products that were produced peanut oil

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really a lot of fun - special thanks to our Aussie leader Mark! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Sean was friendly and very knowledgeable about Amsterdam, it's history, culture, and food. We didn't expect to eat as much as we did tip: don't eat beforehand. We tried all the local delicacies and discovered where the locals eat! There were only 4 of us and we had a ball.

Doing what: Amsterdam Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed the walking tour. Tasting all the different dishes and meeting some wonderful shop keepers. The guide was great, full of info. Would recommend.

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was a lot of fun. we had a very knowledgable tour guide who took us from place to place and described everything we were seeing. Lunch was delicious, and because we went to four different places, I thought it was worthwhile to do this as part of a tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message