Beer- and cheese-lovers are right at home in Amsterdam, where Dutch cheeses like Gouda, Edam and Leiden make up a healthy part of the cuisine and Dutch lagers are consumed heartily. To get the full cheese experience, head to a cheese market like ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 558 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Gorgeous variety of locations! would highly recommend it

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A really wonderful day seeing the countryside with a delightful tour hostess and bus driver. Thank you both so much!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Kenneth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour covering many aspects of typical Dutch life.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall- a great day trip outside the city of Amsterdam. Short visits to Edam, Volendam, and Maarken. You are taken on a short guided walk around the town of Edam. Cheese Tasting is not done in Edam-instead you visit a cheese factory in Volendam and have wine with various cheeses which was very nice. A lunch break is taken in Maarken good food. Visited a working sawmill windmill which was interesting but felt we would have used a little more time at the windmills to take it all in and take some more pictures.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

amypatrick24

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was fantastic! I wish we could have made time for it sooner, since we went on our last day in Amsterdam, only to discover so many lovely places to eat and shop. The guides gave a great mix of walking, history, and food stops. You won't leave hungry! It was great to experience the local food culture with someone there to show you what and how to order. I'd recommend this to any adventurous foodies.

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

Amy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A really great way to see a very cosy and interesting neigbourhood. A small group meant that it was easy to talk to everyone and get to know people. Our guide, Arlene, was super friendly and knowledgable. I felt very well looked after. There was a great variety of food stops and I learnt so much history as well! What an experience to sit in a 400 year old cafe eating the best apple pie in the world then finding out that Bill Clinton is a regular there!

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

Frederick B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was definitely a good tour and our guide Tina was EXCELLENT!! Tina interacted with the people on the bus and did a very good job switching from English to French. Tina made sure she talked to everyone and spoke clearly and gave a lot of information on the places we visited. This was definitely a very good trip and we were happy to be able to see what we did. What a nice informed guide Tina was.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

CesKa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This day trip was lovely and so was our guide Astrid... such a lovely and kind smart lady! the tour was very interesting and what we liked most is that we saw a number of places in 1 day! get wrapped up and wear tick clothing especially when visiting Zaanse Shanc as it is quite cold and very windy... Loved It!!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Kim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A fantastic day with a range of great experiences. Expert. knowledgeable hostess. Comfortable coach

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Brittany H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We really enjoyed our tour! Edgar was a fantastic tour guide, and he was able to keep both the Spanish and English guests informed. He was able to be both inclusive and efficient, which we found very impressive. The four towns each had their own atmosphere, and there was time to explore in each. Plus food to try at all four stops! This was a highlight of our Amsterdam vacation!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Paul T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Been on it twice now, for £13 it and was a steal, you drink £13 worth in the first bar. Well worth it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Sharon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Awesome trip...Diana was fabulous.
Windmills were so interesting and beautiful...great photo op!
So enjoyed the clog making demonstration.
Cheese samples were delicious.
Vollendam was gorgeous and free time and lunch was so fun.
Quick ride

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Leonell M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing! The group, the food and the guide! I was a single traveler and the guide was very accommodating. Her focus was on the group as a whole and being a single traveler I never felt alone.
The food! OMG! YUM! And the extra surprise was an exclusive canal tour in a luxury vessel once used by Royalty. Champagne and cheese!
I would recommend it to everyone!

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

JOHN V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A fabulous way to spend a day, such a varied program with interesting visits, and food and drink at more than one of the venues. Each stop was full of unique aspects of Dutch life, past and present. Well worth giving yourself a day away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Fransisca L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour and must have this tour if you want to know more about Holland. Love the view of windmills in countryside, And I enjoyed cheese tasting in Edam. I will recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Areca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was pretty awesome. We met them at the ticket office which is maybe a 5 minute walk from the train station, cashed in our e ticket and awaited our group to be called. We visited four locations. I recommend this your to anyone who is also interested in learning about Dutch history!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Virginia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent Tour. Our Tour Guide was incredible!!! We enjoyed very much this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Tara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great way to meet new people and truly experience Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Carolina Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Definitely a five stars tour! The guide was excellent and even though it was raining we had a great time. The meal was good, the cheese and wine tasting was good, too. The tour was well organized and we had free time in every place we visited, which was very good.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Bruce B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was really great. I highly recommend this tour. Our Guide was friendly and knowledgeable. I learned a lot about The Netherlands, much more than I thought I would. The bus was comfortable too. The tour included lunch which was very tasty. As well as a nice desert. There was a wide variety of stops on this tour, something for everyone.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic - great intro to the city center and so much fun - excellent value for the money.
I am 57, and thoroughly enjoyed this - for all those 18 who enjoy a drink or two or three while touring!

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Beer Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message