Beer- and cheese-lovers are right at home in Amsterdam, where Dutch cheeses like Gouda, Edam and Leiden make up a healthy part of the cuisine and Dutch lagers are consumed heartily. To get the full cheese experience, head to a cheese market like ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 458 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

loved this no line up and got to see how its all made and became a world beer in 180 countries. got to drink a few glasses of wine up on the rooftop patio and see the sights of amsterdam would do it again!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I wish we had booked this tour earlier in our Amsterdam itinerary. Sean did a great job not just introducing us to local delicacies but also pointing out other attractions in the city. It was a fun couple of hours trying french fries, sausage, brined herring/eel which is actually quite good, and then rewarding ourselves with a stropwafel and ice cream and a drink at a local bar. It was fun, fast moving and very informative.

Doing what: Best Amsterdam Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We enjoyed it very much. It was laid back but in a good way.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Amsterdam Beer Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a great walking tour that takes you to a lot of different places about 9 in a 4-hour walking tour through the Joradaan. You'll visit a fabulous cheese shop, enjoy bitterballen with beer, and try Indonesian food, among lots of other more traditionally Dutch food such as herring, licorice candy, pannekoeken dutch pankcakes, apple pie it's true!, and sausages. There is a good amount of walking between the various stops, so it's possible to complete this tour without getting too too full, if you're very careful.

Doing what: Best Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

Kenneth H
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Terrific guide. She was very knowledgeable and entertaining. I recommend the trip.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an absolute fabulous time on this tour. It was organized and easy to meet up with the group. The directions were clear and precise. Astrid and David were an absolute delight to be on tour with. We loved all of the stops and everything from a timing perspective was well planned. We learned so much about each area we stopped at. Thank you this is a don't miss tour and be sure to try and do it with Astrid!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Easy to find starting location. Our guide was great and full of energy and lots of descriptions of the areas we were walking through as well as the background and history of the cultural reasons for the foods we were eating. We sampled foods from french fried potatoes, schnapps, cheese, herring, to hot dogs. No better way to learn the culture of a people than through their eating habits.

Doing what: Best Amsterdam Food Tour

Tara
Cayman Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent way to see Amsterdam - we loved the Heineken experience a real blast!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very informative and ineractive. Throughly enjoyed.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent day trip. very well looked after by the driver and the Guide. Would recommend to anyone looking for day outside Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyed the trip! However, the cheese tasting was actually in Voldendam not Edam so you might want to change this in the title as its misleading... Windmills were fantastic.. Also, the guide did a great job of explaining everything in English and Spanish. I'd recommend the trip!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Tour was fantastic - and carried on even while there was a hurricane. The bus driver was awesome - when we got back to Amsterdam after the storm we found out that there was no public transport to Schipol Airport - we were amazed that the driver said no problem and drove us back to the hotel at Schipol airport at no cost. What fantastic service.

Sincerely,

David Baxter

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Jaime was awesome, very knowledgeable, very informative. It was so much fun definitely was of the highlights of our entire week in The Netherlands!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to meet other travelers and explore the nightlife!

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My cousins and I all went on this. There were four of us ages 20 to 22. We absolutely loved this. We had so much fun. Met some nice people in our group that we met up with another day. A highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A very fun and safe pub crawl. the organizers were helpful, and accommodating.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful trip and great historical information from our travel guide.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent trip to know Holland country, just 50 kilometres from busy city of Amsterdam...half day full of traditions...it is amazing experience to see cheese trading! Really worth to go there. The g

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great. We saw a lot and our driver and guide were excellent. It was well worth it! We traveled with kids ages 8 and 12 and they really enjoyed it as well.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Just right, great walking tour. The guide provided even more than I expected. Not only good local food but conversation about houseboats, neighborhoods, and more.
The foods were just right, too. Holland had it's share of gourmet restaurants, but I was very interested in local, traditional foods.

Doing what: Best Amsterdam Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Astrid, was engaging, smart, fun, and full of interesting commentary during the tour. We felt the tour gave us a terrific sense of the local countryside and history. Very worthwhile.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message