If you’re visiting Amsterdam, there are various destinations in nearby Belgium to make a great day trip. Bruges, for instance. Like Amsterdam, this compact city in Belgium’s north is built on canals, and its centuries as a major European trading ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

M Ling
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide shared good info about where to eat or where to go in Bruges. He was helpful in providing an opportunity to ask him more info if required while the group was in Bruges by having a meeting point during our walkabout time. He also provided lots of info about the history of Netherlands and Belgium during the coach drive. One tip about the chocolates. Check due dates as chocolate truffles tend not to keep too long unlike regular chocolates

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The entire family really enjoyed this tour. It was about a 3 hour bus ride to Brussels and the multi lingual guide filled the time by sharing information about the Netherlands and Belgium making the time fly by. About 1.5 hours into the trip they make a stop at a service plaza that has a convenience store, some small cafeteria type restaurants and bathrooms. After that you travel for another hour and arrive for a picture stop at the Atomium and then do a short bus tour through the city. After the bus tour the guide takes you down to the main square and you then have a few hours to roam the city on your own. There will be a number of chocolate shops, waffle restaurants and places to shop at to keep you busy for quite some time. We enjoyed the time in Brussels so much we are planning to return so we can spend more time exploring this wonderful city.

Doing what: Brussels Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My husband and I originally didn't know if we wanted to spend 6 hours round trip on a bus to go to Bruges but we had a free day in Amsterdam we are so glad we did. Bruges is an amazing medieval city. It was like stepping back centuries in time. We went to two churches, one held the blood of Christ. We toured the town and had lunch at a lovely restaurant. Had some Belgium beer and waffles from street vendors. Also ate plenty of Belgium chocolates. It was a fantastic day . The tour guide talked all the way from Amsterdam to Bruges. First in English then repeating in Spanish. She gave us very interesting facts about Amsterdam and Belgium that I was interested to learn. On the way back she was quiet so everyone could just rest and relax after a long day. The trip was well worth the visit to Bruges and I would highly recommend it. The only negative thing I could say is that there were 4 children about 8 to 10 years old at the front of the bus who were playing and yelling and extremely loud and the parents did nothing to ask them to be a little quiet. I have kids and love to be around children but being closed up in a bus for three hours it made the return ride back to Amsterdam a bit unpleasant. At one point when the tour guide was trying to say something she had to ask the kids to be quiet and listen.

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour is really worth the bus ride to get there. What a charming old town, just to be able to walk through the streets is worth the trip. Had Belgium waffles with wonderful chocolate syrup and fresh whip cream and sat outside and enjoyed the old town. Very nice day tour!

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An excellent opportunity to see this beautiful town. I have been to many places in Europe, Bruges is definitely one of my favorites. The town has a good mix of history, beautiful landscape and modern amenities. Residents must look after their properties because the whole town and all homes are cleaned and tidy, with no grafitis. You can sample great beers, and taste amazing waffle and chocolate. It's a 3-hour drive (one-way) from Amsterdam. We had about 4.5 hours free time to enjoy Bruges. I would definitely visit Bruges again ... may arrange a trip to first visit Brussels and then to Bruges ... a shorter drive. In any case, the guide was informative and professional. If you want to see Belgium, don't miss out a visit to Bruges. After all the main square in Brussels is similar to many in Europe. But Bruges is unique.

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour - just at the right level! Learned a lot about Belgium history through our very pleasant and knowledgeable tour guide. Added Belgium to our next European trip!!

Thanks!
John

Doing what: Brussels Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time. Belgium is a beautiful country. The guide was very nice and she had some great facts too:)

Doing what: Brussels Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Really loved this excursion out of Amsterdam to Bruges. This quaint little hamlet was full of surprises, The Town Square, the cobbled roads and laneways, the imposing Cathedrals, the shopping, the colourful flowers, the wonderful canal cruise, those old bridges, the chocolate waffles, the Belgium Beer, and the chocolates all contributed to an amazing day. Of course the weather could not have been kinder. Our Tour Guide was also very knowledgeable and greatly assisted in making this a great experience.

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

DAN L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It takes 3 hours on the air conditioned bus to get to Bruges but believe you me is worth it.Is a city from a fairy tale with medieval buildings that gives the place a special feeling.
At arrival we took a walking tour ,followed by a canal boat ride(superb, is a must) before we had our lunch at a beautiful small restaurant.
Belgium is famous for its chocolate and waffles so you'll get your chance to taste the originals.
I took plenty of photos and to me was the highlight of my holiday in Amsterdam.

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Bruges is absolutely amazing... I would highly recommend going when the weather is right. We were fortunate to have fantastic weather, which made the boat ride unforgettable.

Viator.com did a great job of managing everything. They made a relatively full day, with lots of bus travel, very enjoyable. They knew exactly what to show us, which is sometimes a key to enjoying a new city. We very much appreciated our tour guide, bus, and how organized everything was.

While in Bruges, make sure to have the Mussels and Belgium Fries. Also, if you like beer, you must stop by a pub and have at least one beer. Also, you must try the chocolate. I had the Waffle with Ice Cream, drizzled with Chocolate, plus almond shavings and whipped cream. It was delicious...

We had such a fairy tale day there. We will be back some day soon, but in the meantime, we got our feel of Bruges, thanks to this tour.

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great way to do a quick day trip to Bruges from Amsterdam. We could have taken the optional walking tour, but we decided to explore on our own - mostly to eat! You arrive in time for lunch - and we went right to Poules Moules for awesome mussels. Then, we explored the amazing chocolate stores. Belgium is "beer heaven" and we had drinks at Brasserie Cambrinus, which has a beer menu that looks like a dictionary! Bruges is a very walkable city and I think the tour provided just the right of time for a day trip - and a final dining stop at Carpe Diem for waffles on the way back to the bus. The only thing that might have made it better would have been wifi on the bus.

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Definitely the way to go if you want to sneak a look at Belgium certainly a good taster thankyou

Doing what: Brussels Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I loved Belgium and this was a really cool way to see it. There was minimal time in Antwerp but since it was smaller that was ok. Lots of time in Brussels to enjoy yourself and shop. Some advice: buy the Belgium chocolates in Antwerp as they are cheaper and the same or better quality it just does not have the tourist markup!

Doing what: Brussels Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Although I have been to Brussels and Antwerp several times, it was interesting for my wife which was her first time to Belgium. The tour was enjoyable.

Doing what: Brussels Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Best day ever! Wish it would have been longer but every minute was worth the ride to Belgium!thank you TINA! You were wonderful!

Doing what: Brussels Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message