• USD ($)
  • English
There is plenty to see in laid-back Amsterdam, from world-class museums to vintage markets and more canals than Venice. And if that is not enough, any of the suggestions below make a diverting day trip from the city of cool. Keukenhof Gardens If ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip. Maryanna was wonderful. She gave us a history as we drove out to Bruges, pointing out interesting sites as we made our way to the city. When we arrive in Bruges she took us on a short walking tour again pointing out sites of interest and providing little tips. The bus picked up on time and we arrived back in Amsterdam as promised. If you can only do a day trip to Bruges this is the best.

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

About an hour by bus from Amsterdam city centre. Gardens very impressive and very large (about 100 acres). Hundreds of flower beds in mature gardens with every coloured tulip you could imagine plus lots of other flower varieties. Many themed areas and lots of pavilions , shops and eateries. Windmill at one end of garden which you can climb and from which you get wonderful views across vast subfields. I am not a gardiner but really enjoyed our half day trip.

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields Tour from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great day trip from Amsterdam which samples some of the rest of the Netherlands. Despite an overcast and rainy day, we enjoyed the trip a lot. The guide was great with a continuous, informative description of not only the features at hand, but also life in the Netherlands. And, she did this in both English and Spanish, alternating without faltering. My Spanish is good enough to recognize her Spanish as excellent. Also, a good value as the a la carte admissions for the trip (three places: Euromast, Delft Experience, and Madurodam) were about 30 Euros...nearly half the cost of the entire trip.

Doing what: Holland in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This a great day trip from Amsterdam, you get plenty of time to roam and see a lot of Bruges, even tough you would need a lot more than 5 hours see this great city. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave great tips to what to do and were to go in Bruges and also in Amsterdam. She spoke English and Spanish very well. Highly recommend if you are in Amsterdam more that a day.

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great half day trip from Amsterdam. The cheese market was very interesting to see, only problem with the day we went was that it was a very cold, windy and wet day, so a bit miserable walking around the town. However, we were able to see how the cheese is sold, weighed etc.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great way to do a quick day trip to Bruges from Amsterdam. We could have taken the optional walking tour, but we decided to explore on our own - mostly to eat! You arrive in time for lunch - and we went right to Poules Moules for awesome mussels. Then, we explored the amazing chocolate stores. Belgium is "beer heaven" and we had drinks at Brasserie Cambrinus, which has a beer menu that looks like a dictionary! Bruges is a very walkable city and I think the tour provided just the right of time for a day trip - and a final dining stop at Carpe Diem for waffles on the way back to the bus. The only thing that might have made it better would have been wifi on the bus.

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I took the half day trip which was enough especially since it was cooler out and most of the flowers were not in bloom. The Willem-Alexander hot house was fantastic. Hundred of tulips and many other varieties were in full bloom. This is where most of the people were concentrated. I went in mid April and it was rainy and chilly. I understand that the flowers finally came out around the beginning of May. To get the full value of seeing the flowers in bloom you almost have to watch the weather around the Amsterdam to see if there has been a cold snap and then book your trip accordingly. I wish I had waited until the beginning of May because my whole trip to Amsterdam was centered around seeing the Gardens. The tour itself was nothing more than a ride from central Amsterdam to the Gardens and back with a few comments on the landscape from the guide. Certainly an easy way to get there and it included the entrance price. Coaches are typical European - clean and efficient. Love riding on the top deck - great views of the countryside. The half day tour was ok under these circumstances but if the Gardens were in full bloom a full day would be recommended. Lots of walking, nice shops, and a few pretty good places to eat and of course, the glorious flowers!

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields Tour from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What a wonderful day trip!! Would recommend this trip for everyone that wants to see the countryside of Amsterdam

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Excellent day trip from Amsterdam. Enough time to explore Bruges

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

jonathan c
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Excellent day trip. I would highly recommend, especially if you are in Amsterdam for a short time only. Good for all ages.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Nice day trip. We were delayed in traffic going into Brussels, but the driver and the tour guide didn't take away time from our tour. We still did everything and got back into Amsterdam shortly After our original time.

Doing what: Brussels Day Trip from Amsterdam

Abhi
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Great half day trip to see everything Amsterdam has to offer. Highly recommended, we had a great time right from the windmill to the shoe factory.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

This is without a doubt the best way to see Amsterdam during a short day trip the hop on hop off system and the museum pass allow you to compress as much of the Amsterdam experience into a few hours.Brilliant value for money and totaly relaxing and hassle free.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

This was a great one day trip from Amsterdam. Well worth it. the flowers and the whole pack were amazing. high recommended.

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields Tour from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Beautiful relaxing day trip in the country side, away from busy Amsterdam. Really enjoyed the Windmills, clog demonstration and cheese tasting. Marken and Volendam are pretty places. Boat trip was very relaxing.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message