Windmills have always played an important part in the life of Holland and its inhabitants, forming a unique element in the Dutch landscape of wide plains, far horizons, glittering canals and floating clouds. The Dutch built windmills for many ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I very much enjoyed this tour. It was comprehensive with windmills, wooden shoe making and cheese making demonstrations that were interesting and informative and gave us a feel for Holland. The tour guide was knowledgeable and personable and the lunch was delicious. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I definitely recommend this day trip from Amsterdam. We also did the Holland in One Day Sightseeing tour, which I do not recommend. This tour is a fun filled day, but there is actually NO cheese tasting in Edam. Viator definitely shouldn't mislead people. The tasting was just at a tourist cheese shop in Volendam. Our guide told us that cheese isn't even made in Edam. They simply named the cheese after it. There are some great authentic cheese shops in Amsterdam so seek those out where you can buy the cheese from local farms and where chefs were buying cheeses for their restaurants. Edam is a quiet little town. It was exciting to be there on their festival weekend when everyone in town was out on the streets having fun. Seeing the countryside and getting to explore a working windmill was extraordinary.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Highly Recommended Day Trip in Amsterdam! You get a good
taste of how beautiful Holland is.
The Trip is pleasant and not tiring at all. Wish we could have
more time in Zaanse Schans Windmills.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Allan V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Good value and certainly epitomises what "Holland" was like in the early days.Windmills were a sensational sight! More time in Volendam would be nice.Cheesemaking demonstration was PATHETIC.More like a comedy sketch!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Of the three tours we took in Holland, this was the best of the three. The trip through the country side was great and got to see a lot of the sites. We stopped at a wooden shoe makers shop and got to see how they made the shoes. There were lots of shoes there to purchase if you wanted them (sizes were marked with the different shoe sized from the different areas of the world. The windmills were beautiful and it was great to be able to see them inside and how they work. The lunch in Volendam was good. After this part of the tour the trip to Keukenhof Gardens was what we really went on this tour for. We had been to the gardens over 40 years ago and wanted to see how they had changed. Our tour was late in the season and many of the flowers had lost their blooms. Keukenhof Gardens and planted additional tulips throughout the garden so we could see the different types of tulips. We were there just 3 days before the gardens closed this year around May 18th. The size of the gardens had more than doubled since the last time we were there.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a very full day and I thoroughly enjoyed all three places - a great way to learn about the "old Holland" we were taught about as kids. The gardens were absolutely beautiful, the windmills tour and demonstration about making wooden shoes were very interesting and I don't think I have ever seen a more pristine town than Volendam, would have liked more time there.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was great from beginning to end one of the best things we did during our stay. If you want to see traditional holland you have to do this. Windmills are stunning, Bart the clog maker is so funny and Diana the tour guide was very informative and friendly

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The bus was clean, the tour guide was friendly and informative. The windmills were amazing. The time spent in volendam was really nice. It was so lovely to see quaint holland away from the city.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Syyl
Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Good value for a 6 hour tour outside Amsterdam. The tour guide is knowledgable and give you just enough time to browse around. It's not too exhaustive, surprisingly good lunch (you pay you own) at Volden. Wish we could have slightly longer time at Zaanse Schans Windmills - there's much to see and we were rushing in the end. But it's good value which includes a comfortable bus ride, you see the sceneries, you understand a little bit more about Holland and it includes entry tickets. It takes you back to Amsterdam promptly at 3pm, give you enough time to browse around the city or hit another museum. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Enjoyed this trip so much, you get to see the real Holland and the windmill stop is really cute! A long trip if you double up on 2 days, I would really recommend just doing this tour :)

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour gives newcomers to Holland a great overview of the countryside, traditions, and small villages. We learned about building dikes, polders, and the work of windmills. The wooden shoe factory and cheese factory were also highlights. Since there are not many old windmills left in Holland, then this tour is a must.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Really good value for money. Really well organised. Great variety of sights to see from the cheese making, watching clogs being made, seeing the beautiful fishing villages, the short boat trip from one fishing village to the next and finally the windmills, just beautiful. There was no hard selling, all very relaxed and the Spainish tour guide was excellent! On a city tour to Amsterdam with two of my friends, we all agreed that it was a great way to see more of Holland by going 10km outside Amsterdam and escape the city for a few hours. This tour was five hours long and in general it didn't feel rushed at all. The only time my friends and I thought we could have had a little more time was at the windmills to take this fabulous sight in. Overall, I would highly recommend this trip and we are in the age bracket of 30-40.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

My mum and I nicknamed this tour "Cheese, Clogs and WIndmills". What a wonderful showcase of everything cliched we associate with Holland. From Amsterdam it was a coach ride through beautiful Dutch countryside, accompanied by informative and entertaining commentary. The tour included a boat trip from Marken to Volendam - two gorgeous little fishing villages. Try to make the time to have your photo taken in Volendam in traditional Dutch costume for a unique souveneir to take home. This was my second trip to Amsterdam and I was keen to get into the countryside this time. For a half-day tour, this was AWESOME! I would recommend this tour 100%.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This tour was great. We enjoyed the 'touristy' attractions in Zaanse Schans where we saw windmills aplenty and got a feel for little villages in Holland. We had a great meal break in Volendam where good restaurants abound, and had a pleasant boat trip over to Marken to see the cheese/clog factory. It is clearly a set of events set up for tourists, but we are tourists so it was a charming way to get a feel for the traditions of Holland before striking out on our own.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Hi, I took the Zaanse Schans trip and I really enjoyed it. You get earphones to hear tourist commentary. It's nice to get a drive around real Holland. Good windmill pics and enjoyed Marken (island) and fish and chips at Volendam. A half day is long enough. Thanks!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Rosemary
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

A good tour to see all things that Holland is well known for - cheese, clogs and windmills, plus The Hauge and a park with a miniature village. Good value but quite a tiring day.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Right from the start the tour guide was friendly and introduced herself. Once we were all on the bus she explained the various places and activities we would be visiting plus a little of the history surrounding the trips destinations. Unfortunately the heavens decided to open and we had quite a bit of rain, but the sun did eventually come out and helped with the tour. We arrived in Marken where we wandered around the small village being informed about it's history and its current state. We then had about 30 minutes to wander around ourselves and take in the sights and some photos. We also had something to eat and drink in the local hostelry before crossing the lake in the ferry. This was a pleasant journey and the sun came out just as we arrived at Volendam. This wonderful village had some lovely sights and we spent a while taking photos and looking for presents to take home. After this we all met up and walked through the older part of the village to the local museum which catalogued the history of Volendam, its participation in World War II and local life as it was. On the return to Amsterdam we stopped at a cheese farm where we saw how cheese was made, tasted the varieties and then moved to the shoemaking part. There were plenty of clogs to see and it was interesting to see how they were made. The last stop was to have a photo opportunity to see windmills as only the Dutch can do. Fantastic. On return to Amsterdam we disembarked and were given a pleasant farewll from the tour guide. I can thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone who is looking to capture Holland.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

I went with my husband and 2 teenage sons. We all loved the trip. Maria, our guide, was excellent. The boat trip to Volendam was wonderful, and we got lucky because the weather was very nice over there. The visit to the cheese farm was also very nice, and we loved seeing the windmills as well. I would strongly recommend this trip to anyone who wants to have a taste of Holland's countryside.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

For those with limited time this is an excellent tour as it takes you out of the city and gives you an idea of what Holland was like in days gone by. The commentary was informative and there was enough time at each of the venues to see what was on offer. We watched the clog making and the cheese making but instead of spending time in the gift shops we went out and looked around and were able to see the windmills at close range. The little fishing villages were great to visit and again there was enough time to enjoy them. I am sure you could spend more time at each venue, but it is only a half day tour and it was well worth the money.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Carlos L
Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

It is a hectic day, if you are not an adventurer, don't do it! This tour takes you through the main historical sites of the country. It is an encounter with windmills, heritage, beautiful buildings, and an incredible Gulliver view at Madurodam of Holland. Do not miss it, if you like to get the most for you money!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was a very convenient way to see the countryside outside of Amsterdam. Windmills, cheese, and wooden shoes are a part of everyone's picture of Holland and this meets the expectations. It should be noted that there is an extreme amount of walking on this tour and it should be included in the tour's description. Several elderly folks on this tour were struggling to keep up and probably should not have taken the tour do to mobility issues.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The afternoon tour (Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken) was outstanding. We really enjoyed seeing the Holland countryside and experiencing all of these beautiful places, could has spent a whole day touring these three locations. On the morning city tour, we did not appreciate being dropped off at a diamond factory for about an hour. At the factory we were locked in a room with the intent of trying to get us to buy something. We felt that there were other more interesting things we could have been seeing in Amsterdam instead of spending 1/3 of the tour in the diamond factory.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A must do! A real sense of experiencing Holland, and the windmills are beautiful. Would have liked a bit more time at the windmills, it was a bit of a rush to see everything but thoroughly enjoyed the day. The guy who showed us how to make clogs was a hard case but felt the cheese demonstration was a bit of a waste of time, really a bit of a hard sell for us to buy the cheeses but the village there was beautiful and there were some interesting shops to look at. Well worth the trip and I would encourage others to do it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Highly recommend this tour for those who like to explore a bit of countryside and enjoy scenic drive in Holland.Visited cheese factor in volendam followed by an half an hour boat trip to Marken. The highlight of the trip was Zaanse Schans windmill village. It would have been much nicer if we could spend more time in the windmill village.

The double decker deluxe bus which we travelled during this trip was extremely comfortable. Our tour manager Adrain was keen in sharing all history and local information. But he didn't even smile once in the whole 5.5hours. Would definitely appreciate if he could approach people with a smiling face and welcoming gesture.☺ ☺

I highly recommend this tour !

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It certainly gave you a taste of Holland ..... windmills, clogs and cheese.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message