Windmills have always played an important part in the life of Holland and its inhabitants, forming a unique element in the Dutch landscape of wide plains, far horizons, glittering canals and floating clouds. The Dutch built windmills for many ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I definitely recommend this day trip from Amsterdam. We also did the Holland in One Day Sightseeing tour, which I do not recommend. This tour is a fun filled day, but there is actually NO cheese tasting in Edam. Viator definitely shouldn't mislead people. The tasting was just at a tourist cheese shop in Volendam. Our guide told us that cheese isn't even made in Edam. They simply named the cheese after it. There are some great authentic cheese shops in Amsterdam so seek those out where you can buy the cheese from local farms and where chefs were buying cheeses for their restaurants. Edam is a quiet little town. It was exciting to be there on their festival weekend when everyone in town was out on the streets having fun. Seeing the countryside and getting to explore a working windmill was extraordinary.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Highly Recommended Day Trip in Amsterdam! You get a good
taste of how beautiful Holland is.
The Trip is pleasant and not tiring at all. Wish we could have
more time in Zaanse Schans Windmills.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Allan V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Good value and certainly epitomises what "Holland" was like in the early days.Windmills were a sensational sight! More time in Volendam would be nice.Cheesemaking demonstration was PATHETIC.More like a comedy sketch!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Of the three tours we took in Holland, this was the best of the three. The trip through the country side was great and got to see a lot of the sites. We stopped at a wooden shoe makers shop and got to see how they made the shoes. There were lots of shoes there to purchase if you wanted them (sizes were marked with the different shoe sized from the different areas of the world. The windmills were beautiful and it was great to be able to see them inside and how they work. The lunch in Volendam was good. After this part of the tour the trip to Keukenhof Gardens was what we really went on this tour for. We had been to the gardens over 40 years ago and wanted to see how they had changed. Our tour was late in the season and many of the flowers had lost their blooms. Keukenhof Gardens and planted additional tulips throughout the garden so we could see the different types of tulips. We were there just 3 days before the gardens closed this year around May 18th. The size of the gardens had more than doubled since the last time we were there.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a very full day and I thoroughly enjoyed all three places - a great way to learn about the "old Holland" we were taught about as kids. The gardens were absolutely beautiful, the windmills tour and demonstration about making wooden shoes were very interesting and I don't think I have ever seen a more pristine town than Volendam, would have liked more time there.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was great from beginning to end one of the best things we did during our stay. If you want to see traditional holland you have to do this. Windmills are stunning, Bart the clog maker is so funny and Diana the tour guide was very informative and friendly

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The bus was clean, the tour guide was friendly and informative. The windmills were amazing. The time spent in volendam was really nice. It was so lovely to see quaint holland away from the city.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Syyl
Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Good value for a 6 hour tour outside Amsterdam. The tour guide is knowledgable and give you just enough time to browse around. It's not too exhaustive, surprisingly good lunch (you pay you own) at Volden. Wish we could have slightly longer time at Zaanse Schans Windmills - there's much to see and we were rushing in the end. But it's good value which includes a comfortable bus ride, you see the sceneries, you understand a little bit more about Holland and it includes entry tickets. It takes you back to Amsterdam promptly at 3pm, give you enough time to browse around the city or hit another museum. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Enjoyed this trip so much, you get to see the real Holland and the windmill stop is really cute! A long trip if you double up on 2 days, I would really recommend just doing this tour :)

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour gives newcomers to Holland a great overview of the countryside, traditions, and small villages. We learned about building dikes, polders, and the work of windmills. The wooden shoe factory and cheese factory were also highlights. Since there are not many old windmills left in Holland, then this tour is a must.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Really good value for money. Really well organised. Great variety of sights to see from the cheese making, watching clogs being made, seeing the beautiful fishing villages, the short boat trip from one fishing village to the next and finally the windmills, just beautiful. There was no hard selling, all very relaxed and the Spainish tour guide was excellent! On a city tour to Amsterdam with two of my friends, we all agreed that it was a great way to see more of Holland by going 10km outside Amsterdam and escape the city for a few hours. This tour was five hours long and in general it didn't feel rushed at all. The only time my friends and I thought we could have had a little more time was at the windmills to take this fabulous sight in. Overall, I would highly recommend this trip and we are in the age bracket of 30-40.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

My mum and I nicknamed this tour "Cheese, Clogs and WIndmills". What a wonderful showcase of everything cliched we associate with Holland. From Amsterdam it was a coach ride through beautiful Dutch countryside, accompanied by informative and entertaining commentary. The tour included a boat trip from Marken to Volendam - two gorgeous little fishing villages. Try to make the time to have your photo taken in Volendam in traditional Dutch costume for a unique souveneir to take home. This was my second trip to Amsterdam and I was keen to get into the countryside this time. For a half-day tour, this was AWESOME! I would recommend this tour 100%.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This tour was great. We enjoyed the 'touristy' attractions in Zaanse Schans where we saw windmills aplenty and got a feel for little villages in Holland. We had a great meal break in Volendam where good restaurants abound, and had a pleasant boat trip over to Marken to see the cheese/clog factory. It is clearly a set of events set up for tourists, but we are tourists so it was a charming way to get a feel for the traditions of Holland before striking out on our own.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Hi, I took the Zaanse Schans trip and I really enjoyed it. You get earphones to hear tourist commentary. It's nice to get a drive around real Holland. Good windmill pics and enjoyed Marken (island) and fish and chips at Volendam. A half day is long enough. Thanks!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Rosemary
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

A good tour to see all things that Holland is well known for - cheese, clogs and windmills, plus The Hauge and a park with a miniature village. Good value but quite a tiring day.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message