• USD ($)
  • English
Windmills have always played an important part in the life of Holland and its inhabitants, forming a unique element in the Dutch landscape of wide plains, far horizons, glittering canals and floating clouds. The Dutch built windmills for many ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The bus was clean, the tour guide was friendly and informative. The windmills were amazing. The time spent in volendam was really nice. It was so lovely to see quaint holland away from the city.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Syyl
Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Good value for a 6 hour tour outside Amsterdam. The tour guide is knowledgable and give you just enough time to browse around. It's not too exhaustive, surprisingly good lunch (you pay you own) at Volden. Wish we could have slightly longer time at Zaanse Schans Windmills - there's much to see and we were rushing in the end. But it's good value which includes a comfortable bus ride, you see the sceneries, you understand a little bit more about Holland and it includes entry tickets. It takes you back to Amsterdam promptly at 3pm, give you enough time to browse around the city or hit another museum. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Enjoyed this trip so much, you get to see the real Holland and the windmill stop is really cute! A long trip if you double up on 2 days, I would really recommend just doing this tour :)

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour gives newcomers to Holland a great overview of the countryside, traditions, and small villages. We learned about building dikes, polders, and the work of windmills. The wooden shoe factory and cheese factory were also highlights. Since there are not many old windmills left in Holland, then this tour is a must.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Really good value for money. Really well organised. Great variety of sights to see from the cheese making, watching clogs being made, seeing the beautiful fishing villages, the short boat trip from one fishing village to the next and finally the windmills, just beautiful. There was no hard selling, all very relaxed and the Spainish tour guide was excellent! On a city tour to Amsterdam with two of my friends, we all agreed that it was a great way to see more of Holland by going 10km outside Amsterdam and escape the city for a few hours. This tour was five hours long and in general it didn't feel rushed at all. The only time my friends and I thought we could have had a little more time was at the windmills to take this fabulous sight in. Overall, I would highly recommend this trip and we are in the age bracket of 30-40.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

My mum and I nicknamed this tour "Cheese, Clogs and WIndmills". What a wonderful showcase of everything cliched we associate with Holland. From Amsterdam it was a coach ride through beautiful Dutch countryside, accompanied by informative and entertaining commentary. The tour included a boat trip from Marken to Volendam - two gorgeous little fishing villages. Try to make the time to have your photo taken in Volendam in traditional Dutch costume for a unique souveneir to take home. This was my second trip to Amsterdam and I was keen to get into the countryside this time. For a half-day tour, this was AWESOME! I would recommend this tour 100%.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This tour was great. We enjoyed the 'touristy' attractions in Zaanse Schans where we saw windmills aplenty and got a feel for little villages in Holland. We had a great meal break in Volendam where good restaurants abound, and had a pleasant boat trip over to Marken to see the cheese/clog factory. It is clearly a set of events set up for tourists, but we are tourists so it was a charming way to get a feel for the traditions of Holland before striking out on our own.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Hi, I took the Zaanse Schans trip and I really enjoyed it. You get earphones to hear tourist commentary. It's nice to get a drive around real Holland. Good windmill pics and enjoyed Marken (island) and fish and chips at Volendam. A half day is long enough. Thanks!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Rosemary
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

A good tour to see all things that Holland is well known for - cheese, clogs and windmills, plus The Hauge and a park with a miniature village. Good value but quite a tiring day.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Right from the start the tour guide was friendly and introduced herself. Once we were all on the bus she explained the various places and activities we would be visiting plus a little of the history surrounding the trips destinations. Unfortunately the heavens decided to open and we had quite a bit of rain, but the sun did eventually come out and helped with the tour. We arrived in Marken where we wandered around the small village being informed about it's history and its current state. We then had about 30 minutes to wander around ourselves and take in the sights and some photos. We also had something to eat and drink in the local hostelry before crossing the lake in the ferry. This was a pleasant journey and the sun came out just as we arrived at Volendam. This wonderful village had some lovely sights and we spent a while taking photos and looking for presents to take home. After this we all met up and walked through the older part of the village to the local museum which catalogued the history of Volendam, its participation in World War II and local life as it was. On the return to Amsterdam we stopped at a cheese farm where we saw how cheese was made, tasted the varieties and then moved to the shoemaking part. There were plenty of clogs to see and it was interesting to see how they were made. The last stop was to have a photo opportunity to see windmills as only the Dutch can do. Fantastic. On return to Amsterdam we disembarked and were given a pleasant farewll from the tour guide. I can thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone who is looking to capture Holland.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

I went with my husband and 2 teenage sons. We all loved the trip. Maria, our guide, was excellent. The boat trip to Volendam was wonderful, and we got lucky because the weather was very nice over there. The visit to the cheese farm was also very nice, and we loved seeing the windmills as well. I would strongly recommend this trip to anyone who wants to have a taste of Holland's countryside.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

For those with limited time this is an excellent tour as it takes you out of the city and gives you an idea of what Holland was like in days gone by. The commentary was informative and there was enough time at each of the venues to see what was on offer. We watched the clog making and the cheese making but instead of spending time in the gift shops we went out and looked around and were able to see the windmills at close range. The little fishing villages were great to visit and again there was enough time to enjoy them. I am sure you could spend more time at each venue, but it is only a half day tour and it was well worth the money.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Carlos L
Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

It is a hectic day, if you are not an adventurer, don't do it! This tour takes you through the main historical sites of the country. It is an encounter with windmills, heritage, beautiful buildings, and an incredible Gulliver view at Madurodam of Holland. Do not miss it, if you like to get the most for you money!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It certainly gave you a taste of Holland ..... windmills, clogs and cheese.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Fabulous tour. Provided an opportunity to visit the countryside and experience the Holland of old. Love the windmills!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message