Windmills have always played an important part in the life of Holland and its inhabitants, forming a unique element in the Dutch landscape of wide plains, far horizons, glittering canals and floating clouds. The Dutch built windmills for many ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Janet C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I was so happy to do this tour, gets you out of the city into the countryside of beautiful Holland. The town where the Windmills are is so pretty, the Cheese Factory was amazing, you got to try the cheese and purchase them, wanted them all, the boat trip was fun which took you to the Clog making place, very interesting. I certainly recommend this tour when next in Amsterdam. :

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

beezee2000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The sites visited were all enjoyable and a lot of fun! To us it was a cultural experience that is typical to Holland- windmills, cheese, wooden shoes, costumes. The only thing missing were tulips! I recommend this day tour for a taste of Holland not far from Amsterdam

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Monticello L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fabulous mix of interesting Holland experiences for an afternoon. Unfortunately showery and gray that day so not the best for pics. My partner didn't think the guide was great because he was a bit hands off. However, we had onsite presenters at windmills, wooden shoes, and cheese. Well planned with a bit of time to shop and eat. Kept to schedule and delivered what was promised.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Tony V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent experience of older Holland

Loved it - seeing working windmills and how they harnessed the power of the wind

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Rhea H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice tour! Just what I wanted to see about Holland! Windmills and cheese and wooden shoes and fishing villages. Very informative guise. Loved talking to the man who ran the working windmill and the tour of it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Adriena O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Perfect day at Holland country - windmills, cheese factory with tasting cheese, lovely lunch at sea-shore village, boat trip and amazing experience at the clogs factory! And that was only morning....Delft is really nice, full of history...The Hague as well, with all historical buildings. Guide was excellent! Can only recommend for peole who love truly busy holliday

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Alister W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Although our tour was called Charm of Holland rather than the above, it seems to be the same. We enjoyed visiting the countryside including Edam, Volendaam and Marken in addition to cheese tasting, visiting a clog making factory and a working windmill. All the above gave us a good overview of the countryside and we packed a lot into 8 hours. Most enjoyable
Kay and Alister

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Nancy A S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I very much enjoyed this tour. It was comprehensive with windmills, wooden shoe making and cheese making demonstrations that were interesting and informative and gave us a feel for Holland. The tour guide was knowledgeable and personable and the lunch was delicious. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Nicole C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I definitely recommend this day trip from Amsterdam. We also did the Holland in One Day Sightseeing tour, which I do not recommend. This tour is a fun filled day, but there is actually NO cheese tasting in Edam. Viator definitely shouldn't mislead people. The tasting was just at a tourist cheese shop in Volendam. Our guide told us that cheese isn't even made in Edam. They simply named the cheese after it. There are some great authentic cheese shops in Amsterdam so seek those out where you can buy the cheese from local farms and where chefs were buying cheeses for their restaurants. Edam is a quiet little town. It was exciting to be there on their festival weekend when everyone in town was out on the streets having fun. Seeing the countryside and getting to explore a working windmill was extraordinary.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Dimitris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Highly Recommended Day Trip in Amsterdam! You get a good
taste of how beautiful Holland is.
The Trip is pleasant and not tiring at all. Wish we could have
more time in Zaanse Schans Windmills.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Allan V Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Good value and certainly epitomises what "Holland" was like in the early days.Windmills were a sensational sight! More time in Volendam would be nice.Cheesemaking demonstration was PATHETIC.More like a comedy sketch!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Of the three tours we took in Holland, this was the best of the three. The trip through the country side was great and got to see a lot of the sites. We stopped at a wooden shoe makers shop and got to see how they made the shoes. There were lots of shoes there to purchase if you wanted them (sizes were marked with the different shoe sized from the different areas of the world. The windmills were beautiful and it was great to be able to see them inside and how they work. The lunch in Volendam was good. After this part of the tour the trip to Keukenhof Gardens was what we really went on this tour for. We had been to the gardens over 40 years ago and wanted to see how they had changed. Our tour was late in the season and many of the flowers had lost their blooms. Keukenhof Gardens and planted additional tulips throughout the garden so we could see the different types of tulips. We were there just 3 days before the gardens closed this year around May 18th. The size of the gardens had more than doubled since the last time we were there.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Karin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a very full day and I thoroughly enjoyed all three places - a great way to learn about the "old Holland" we were taught about as kids. The gardens were absolutely beautiful, the windmills tour and demonstration about making wooden shoes were very interesting and I don't think I have ever seen a more pristine town than Volendam, would have liked more time there.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Claire M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was great from beginning to end one of the best things we did during our stay. If you want to see traditional holland you have to do this. Windmills are stunning, Bart the clog maker is so funny and Diana the tour guide was very informative and friendly

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

mrs l a l S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The bus was clean, the tour guide was friendly and informative. The windmills were amazing. The time spent in volendam was really nice. It was so lovely to see quaint holland away from the city.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Syyl Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Good value for a 6 hour tour outside Amsterdam. The tour guide is knowledgable and give you just enough time to browse around. It's not too exhaustive, surprisingly good lunch (you pay you own) at Volden. Wish we could have slightly longer time at Zaanse Schans Windmills - there's much to see and we were rushing in the end. But it's good value which includes a comfortable bus ride, you see the sceneries, you understand a little bit more about Holland and it includes entry tickets. It takes you back to Amsterdam promptly at 3pm, give you enough time to browse around the city or hit another museum. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Kathryn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Enjoyed this trip so much, you get to see the real Holland and the windmill stop is really cute! A long trip if you double up on 2 days, I would really recommend just doing this tour :)

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour gives newcomers to Holland a great overview of the countryside, traditions, and small villages. We learned about building dikes, polders, and the work of windmills. The wooden shoe factory and cheese factory were also highlights. Since there are not many old windmills left in Holland, then this tour is a must.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Rachael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Really good value for money. Really well organised. Great variety of sights to see from the cheese making, watching clogs being made, seeing the beautiful fishing villages, the short boat trip from one fishing village to the next and finally the windmills, just beautiful. There was no hard selling, all very relaxed and the Spainish tour guide was excellent! On a city tour to Amsterdam with two of my friends, we all agreed that it was a great way to see more of Holland by going 10km outside Amsterdam and escape the city for a few hours. This tour was five hours long and in general it didn't feel rushed at all. The only time my friends and I thought we could have had a little more time was at the windmills to take this fabulous sight in. Overall, I would highly recommend this trip and we are in the age bracket of 30-40.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Carolyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

My mum and I nicknamed this tour "Cheese, Clogs and WIndmills". What a wonderful showcase of everything cliched we associate with Holland. From Amsterdam it was a coach ride through beautiful Dutch countryside, accompanied by informative and entertaining commentary. The tour included a boat trip from Marken to Volendam - two gorgeous little fishing villages. Try to make the time to have your photo taken in Volendam in traditional Dutch costume for a unique souveneir to take home. This was my second trip to Amsterdam and I was keen to get into the countryside this time. For a half-day tour, this was AWESOME! I would recommend this tour 100%.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Tricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This tour was great. We enjoyed the 'touristy' attractions in Zaanse Schans where we saw windmills aplenty and got a feel for little villages in Holland. We had a great meal break in Volendam where good restaurants abound, and had a pleasant boat trip over to Marken to see the cheese/clog factory. It is clearly a set of events set up for tourists, but we are tourists so it was a charming way to get a feel for the traditions of Holland before striking out on our own.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Bob P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Hi, I took the Zaanse Schans trip and I really enjoyed it. You get earphones to hear tourist commentary. It's nice to get a drive around real Holland. Good windmill pics and enjoyed Marken (island) and fish and chips at Volendam. A half day is long enough. Thanks!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Rosemary United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

A good tour to see all things that Holland is well known for - cheese, clogs and windmills, plus The Hauge and a park with a miniature village. Good value but quite a tiring day.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message