• USD ($)
  • English
Amsterdam in summer has lots of blue skies and a temperature of around 68°F (21°C), ideal for sitting in pavement cafés and trundling around the canals on open-top boats. The only problem is that everybody else agrees that this is the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great evening cruise that allowed us to see this city from the water canals. It was about an hour long and it basically circled the city. Some monuments are neon lit and look great, even from a distance and in the winter. In the summer, I would definitely recommend taking the water colors cruise also. This one was outstanding though, and the guide provided information about the city life and how it is run. Very informative. We passed by churches, monuments, and also the Anne Frank house. Highly recommend this cruise. It is basically a must.

Doing what: Highlights of Amsterdam Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Met the tour at the tour office. Left right on time on a double decker coach. Our guide (Diana?) was very informative both historically and geographically. First we drove over a dijk to Marken. Here we walked around houses in the small village, I did feel a bit uncomfortable as we were almost in their gardens. Then we went to the Clog factory and watched Bart make a clog. He too was very informative and funny. We spent time at the gift shop before walking down to the waterfront to catch the boat to Volendam. We were the last boat of the season to leave and this was an extra surprise as when booking the tour it said the day before was the last boat trip. The boat trip was quick, there are toilet and refreshment facilities on board. Volendam was beautiful I so wish we went in the summer and not on a windy, rainy November day. We went to the cheese factory and heard how cheese is made, I say heard as the lady just described the process however the woman in the room (behind glass) behind us was actually making cheese. We had about 3/4 hour free time hear to get lunch, there are numerous bars, restaurants and stalls selling food. We then walked to the coach and continued to Zaanse Schans. The first impression you get when you leave the coach is an overwhelming smell of chocolate !! There is a chocolate factory here. The first windmill is free to enter however you cannot climb up. There is a windmill that costs 3 eu and you can go to the top and outside. I will warn the steps are very steep. Here we had free time to walk around. There were plenty of photo opportunities. We then returned to Amsterdam. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Good value, it is probably worth taking the morning version of this trip, as the afternoon version was time affected , when we got to the windmills most of the other shops at the site etc were closed. This could well change in the summer months.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Very good trip ! nice experience though I prefer to take this tour in summer instead of late autumn

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I had beautiful time in a SUNNY Amsterdam! Was it you too? City card and the booklet were my guides, and made my first stay there comfortable. I'll be back in summer and I'll book I am card again. Thanks for the efficiency!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Had the most amazing time on the canal cruise, would recommend everyone to try it! made it even more special as i proprosed to the most amazing gorgeous and the love of my life and we are getting married summer 2012, never been happier and its all because of a girl whos names kirsty! Love you!xxxx

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

We participated in the Tulip and Windmills in winter tour and visited the tulip farm in Early Feb, though it was not the perfect season but with the vivid presentation and the reputation of being very hospitable (the colorful cakes, nice coffee and your well decorated guest-room), this could really compensate us with everything that we could miss. We do wish to visit again in SUMMER in short coming future.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The tour to Ghent and Bruges was a perfect way to take a break from walking around Amsterdam. The tour guide was very knowledgeable in the history of both cities. Unfortunately, there was a lot of road construction going on in the center of Ghent which didn't make for the prettiest of pictures but we managed to make the best of it. Bruges was another story, however. It was a very lovely, clean city and our guide recommended that we take the boat ride on the Bruges canals to get a real flavor of the city. And she was right on! We highly recommend that you not miss the opportunity to take this side trip to Bruges and Ghent where the construction is to be completed this summer.

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Very satisfied with the tour, only disappointment was seeing the Hague in the dark, if I had been on this tour in summer, would have still been in daylight. Perhaps some consideration could be to adapt the tour to hours of daylight.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Brugge is a gorgeous town but I feel more time is needed for exploring. We didnt depart amsterdam til 10am, this could have been much earlier for a summer trip which would give more time in Brugge. Unfortunately we hit a traffic jam which further delayed our time, all in all after the walk from bus to town and back we only managed 3.5 hrs there. Not nearly enough in my opinion. Our tour guide was Tina and she was excellent.

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Brussels is a beautiful city and one should spend a whole day there, however, be prepared to walk quite a bit and climb some steep hills (there are steps). Not for somebody who walks slowly or with difficulty. And be prepared to speak French - they frown when you do English.......It poured with rain when we reached Antwerp and my mother and I ducked into the first bar/coffeeshop and spent the afternoon playing cards until it was time to meet at the bus. Even so we were soaked and cold - I don't know how the rest of the tour coped. I would do this tour again in summer - it's worth the hours on the bus and the guide made the time go by quickly.

Doing what: Brussels Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Brussels is a beautiful city and one should spend a whole day there, however, be prepared to walk quite a bit and climb some steep hills (there are steps). Not for somebody who walks slowly or with difficulty. And be prepared to speak French - they frown when you do English.......It poured with rain when we reached Antwerp and my mother and I ducked into the first bar/coffeeshop and spent the afternoon playing cards until it was time to meet at the bus. Even so we were soaked and cold - I don't know how the rest of the tour coped. I would do this tour again in summer - it's worth the hours on the bus and the guide made the time go by quickly.

Doing what: Brussels Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

A wonderful way to spend my 60th birthday. Would love to repeat the experience but during the summer and in daylight so we could see more of the scenery.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Dinner Cooked On Board

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The cruise was excellent. There were lots of nuts and cheese as well as two bottles of wine per table, which I think is more than enough if you want to pay attention to what you see! The guide was really good. Perhaps it would be better, during summer, if the cruise started later. Although it was not candlelight it got dark at around 2230 I had a great time!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Would have been a romantic way to spend an evening in the summer nights when the weather is not so cold. The half hour walk through the red light district is also an eye opener.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message