Insider's Guide to Angkor Wat

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The last capital of the Khmers is a stupendous complex on a stupefying scale; established in the 12th century on the site of an earlier capital, Angkor Thom dwarfs even nearby Angkor Wat. The city’s 7.5 miles (12 kilometers) of wall is ringed by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide, Dee, was fantastic. Her English was perfect, and she struck just the right balance between teaching us and allowing us to wander and roam free. A lot of tour guides just give you the Wikipedia version of the history and meaning of the place, but Dee was full of stories and details that really brought the place to life. Also unlike a lot of tours, this is not designed to get you to buy something at some market -- you get to see the temples (3 of them), you get a really fantastic lunch, and you get a guide who can answer seemingly any question. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Angkor Temples Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Really enjoyed it and our tour guide mr M was great and very knowledgable.

Doing what: Angkor Temples Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

WHAT A DAY...BREATHE TAKING .KNEW IT WAS GOING TO BE SPECTACULAR BUT SO MUCH MORE;;
UNBELIEVABLE CARVINGS.THE WHOLE THING WAS MAGICAL..
WONDERFUL PEOPLE ALL AROUND,LOCAL'S and TOURIST'S.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour, fantastic tour guide that was very well versed in the history of the sites, and was very savvy as to which to ones to explore in detail and which ones to just look over.

Doing what: 3-Day Siem Reap Tour: Angkor Wat, Ta Prohm, Bayon and Tonle Sap

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Insightful tour of the 3 temples. Just in awe .Local lunch was delightful and a timely break to also network with rest of the folks on this tour.

Doing what: Angkor Temples Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very knowledgeable. Learned a lot about temples. Wish we had more time to explore more.

Doing what: Angkor Temples Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour guide was great. Socom (?) knew tons about the country and each site we went too. The ride in the mini-van was easy. We had a great mid-day break and enjoyed eating by the lake. I would take this tour again if I had the choice.

Doing what: Angkor Temples Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing trip! The tour guide (Mr Vanny) knows everything about Angkor and its history, architecture etc., he even suggests photo opportunities.

Doing what: Angkor Temples Small-Group Tour

SY
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Good tour- there were only 4 of us (2 x 2 person groups) on the day which was nice, but we chose a very busy Saturday to go so the temples were crowded and slow moving at times which was made worse due to the intense humidity (even though it was "dry/cool" season- November). The guide was informative and spoke good English. The minibus had aircon which was a relief from the heat when moving between temples. Lunch was ok- plentiful choices of dishes in a nice air conditioned restaurant. Enjoyable tour but not for the fainthearted or those who can't function in the outside heat without air con.

Doing what: Angkor Temples Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a 1st class tour and worth every penny, the park admission on its own is 20 dollars, so when you consider you are getting transport, lunch, a fantastic guide etc. on top its pure quality.
Our guide Noun Vanny was excellent, both in terms of his knowledge and his character.
As my rating and review suggests, I would highly recommend this tour, a real trip into history at a great price.
Tim C

Doing what: Angkor Temples Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour. It was only a one-day trip covering the main temples, but it was a very fulfilling day, thanks to our friendly and knowledgeable guide, Chanmol. He has many stories to tell, and knows all the good spots for a photo-taking session. He also knows the "less-travelled" routes of this popular tourist spot, so that we get to avoid the places that are usually swarming with other tourists. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Angkor Temples Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Trip was as it said, small and very good. Enjoyed seeing the various temples. At times felt went little slow and group spread out so difficult for guide to keep us altogether. First part slow and too much time spent in temple one but then speeded up and allowed to explore little on our own within temple places. Nice it was small tour as not waiting for whole groups at times. Very good, worth the money. Lunch was very good too. Guide knowledgable.

Doing what: Angkor Temples Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

beautiful! twas a hot sunny day...but still enjoyed much :)

Doing what: Angkor Temples Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

wonderful tour, a must do.

Doing what: Angkor Temples Small-Group Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

My wife and I were fascinated by the temples at Angkor Wat but the tour given by our guide was less than stellar. Mr. Oeng Chhehai had a difficult time conveying what he had to say in a manner that easily understood. While other guides were offering insights into the lives of the king, teachers and their families we were only given the basic facts which were repeated over and over. On our previous tours we were offered water and given a bag. While a bag wasn't expected water would have been wonderful given the temperature and the length of the tour. I believe Mr Chhehai would be better suited in another tourism position besides a guide. I strongly recommend the temple tour because they are truly fascinating, but with another guide that would make them come to life!

Doing what: Angkor Temples Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message