One of the earliest temples in the region, Bakong was built in tiers within a strict geometric matrix, a style recognizable in the later Angkor Wat. Though significantly smaller than that complex, Bakong has a charm all its own. The central ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked this tour for our myself, my husband and my two grown children first trip to Cambodia. We enjoyed the tour immensely! Our tour guide, Mr. Sokvichet Chet Chin was very friendly and courteous. He was very knowledgeable and spoke English well. He patiently acquainted us with the symbolism and history of the Khmer Empire while we toured the ruins. You can tell that he is extremely proud of his country and its past history. We visited the Bayon and Baphoun temples, Terrace of the Elephant/Leper King, Angkor Wat and Ta Prohm. Chet was quick to inform us that our admission ticket covers the entire site so we could pick and choose where to start our tour. It was extremely hot during our visit! The temperature topped 100 degrees in the mid-afternoon we later found out that from April to June its the dry season! The one plus is the fact that there are less visitors and we were able to take our time touring the sites and savoring the wonderful surroundings. Our driver was extremely nice as well -- handing us cold bottles of water and towels after every sojourn into the hot Cambodian sun! We had an enjoyable lunch at an open-air restaurant with good food and attentive staff. I highly recommend this tour and ask for Chet if you go!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The highest marks for the guide and driver. Unbelievable experience but you'll need a second pair of legs - there's so much to see. Also, the lunch was mediocre, make sure to have a good breakfast.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a good tour. Our guide was very knowledgable. If you don't want to think too much about how to get there and which temple to see, I would recommend this.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This trip was inspiring, breathtaking, our guide Sun was very knowledgeable, we both enjoyed it immensely and would recommend the tour and your company. An absolute must

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was operated by the local tour company and included a dedicated driver and personal guide. The tour provided an extensive walk through the spectacular ruined temples of Angkor. Our guide provided historical perspective and was well prepared to answer questions about the ancient culture, temples and other landscape features. Angkor stretches over a vast area so the tour does not include every ruin but does encompass what is considered to be the most significant ones. The guide allowed us to progress at our own pace including plenty of time for photography and refreshment breaks it was extremely hot on the day of our tour. Angkor is a must see for any visitor to Cambodia, and this tour is good value for money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was a private 1:1 tour. I got a tour of the famous surrounding temples, and then got to see Angkor Wat last. The tour guide spoke fluent English, and was very informative. Any question I asked, he had an answer for me right away. I learned a lot about Cambodian culture through the guide's stories, and facts. He also had a sense of humour to lighten up the mood. As a solo traveler, I always struggled with taking pictures of myself. However, the tour guide was kind enough to take many many pictures of me. I am really thankful for that, because now I can look through the photos and enjoy my memories.

The temples were very beautiful. I have never seen anything this grand in my life. I really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour itself was great, our tour guide had very good English. It did say a full day tour but we're picked up at 8:30 (was meant to be 8am) and were dropped off at our hotel at about 2:30pm.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Guide picked us up on time. Van was very nice, clean and cool. Itinerary was in a different order than advertised, and included Ta Prohm ("Tomb Raider" temple) which was not on the written itinerary. I'm glad we saw it, but I had scheduled a separate tour of this temple another day because I thought we would not see it. Guide was very knowledgeable and English was good. Especially helpful was that he knew the best vantage points for good photos. Lunch was good. We had time to ride an elephant! Every time we got in the van the driver offered cold water and cold wet towlette - Heaven! 10 hour tour took us only 8.5 hours but we had seen plenty.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Tour guide took so many good photos!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

WHAT A DAY...BREATHE TAKING .KNEW IT WAS GOING TO BE SPECTACULAR BUT SO MUCH MORE;;
UNBELIEVABLE CARVINGS.THE WHOLE THING WAS MAGICAL..
WONDERFUL PEOPLE ALL AROUND,LOCAL'S and TOURIST'S.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Our guide and driver were good, but it was a lot shorter than 10 hours. We were picked up at 8:30am and we were back at our hotel by 2pm... I do not think this tour is priced correctly, very overpriced for what you receive. Our lunch was a preset menu, no choices for us, take it or leave it. I would not suggest to anyone to book this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Matched the description perfectly. I am not a good tourist and this fit me perfectly, not drawn out and as much detail as I wanted. Great tour guide (Chet) could answer every question in very good English.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great guide and went by our own schedule although the tour was pricey compared to the 30 or 40 dollar local private tours!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour was absolutely amazing. Our guide was so knowledgable not only about the Angkor Wat Temple Complex, but about Cambodian society and politics as a whole. The included lunch was excellent; a quaint little restaurant in the complex, authentic Cambodian food and a very private setting, since we were the only people there. I definitely learned a lot during my tour, not only about the temples themselves, but about the past, rich history of Cambodia as a whole as a Kingdom and as it is now. This tour is a definite must do and I highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

Stephen L
Singapore

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Tour was personal1:1. The only disappointment was that I booked a whole day tour (10 hrs) so that I could see the SunSet. However, the guide, although very knowledgeable kept saying there was mix up on the itinerary and that although I wanted to see the "temple of doom' it wasn't included in the cost and I would have to rebook. We ended up back at the hotel at 2pm with me being at a loss for the what to do for the rest of the day. What I did see was fantastic but was left feeling cheated. My first disappointment with Viator as previous trips have been 1st class!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat Ancient Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Absolutely great tour!! Recommend it to anyone! Our guide was wonderful!! He took time to take pictures for us, and had great history and info all along the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat Ancient Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

Vojtech C
Czech Republic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

In a first minute Mr Heap, our private guide recognised sensitively our needs, adjusted the overall schedule and enable us to see the most valuable monuments, enjoy the trip without being exhausted, tired or “over travelled”. He carefully planned for breaks, took care of each of us individually and with a great success arranged very specific events (VIP theatre visit for example). His knowledge of both the sites, history and society, all of great interest for us, was pristine and deep. He is also very sensitive and sustainable companion keeping high level of smooth and friendly relationship with us, something of a high value for a longer period staying with visitors (we did have some bad experience in the past, for example in Bangkok where after few days the guide acted “too aggressively”). His service was above our expectations at all angles. We highly appreciated also his companion, the driver – the car was always in a very clean and perfect condition – which is highly important and rather difficult in tropic areas. His car was always with sufficient water and other important items available, he was always on time and his driving style was of top class, very smooth, professional. Highly recommended for high value, high demand private travelers, couples, single person (both genders).

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat Ancient Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

Vojtech C
Czech Republic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

see also the review under Private Tour: Angkor Wat Ancient Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable and responsive to every question asked a very worthwhile trip

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great tour, great guide, recommended
Actually visited angkor Wat and angkor thom along with the "tomb raider" temple the day before on our own but was more enjoyable with the guide on the private tour

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat Ancient Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

wonderful day trip in Angkor wat. very well organised and very professional guide

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Travelled with our two older children 16 and 20 and was concerned the temples would not be all they were cracked up to be. Fortunately this was not the case the friendly guide was well informed and took time to explain the history, religious and architectural but didn't over do this and kept the flow going. The guide we had was called Vutha, he was attentive and ensured we were comfortable and well watered throughout. The stunning views and the majesty of the temples is a must for all travelling in the region.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat Ancient Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message