Baphuon began life in the 11th century as a Hindu temple meant to represent mystical Mount Meru, like most temples in the region. It was later rededicated to Buddha but hasn’t weathered the intervening years as well as its neighbors, with much of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing and it was so great to be driven around and have our own guide. We learnt so much about the history of all the temples. If we had done this tour on our own we wouldn't have known what we were looking at. The driver and guide looked after us all day and at first when I booked I thought it was expensive but it was worth every cent to have the overall experience of Angkor Wat and all the Temples. Once in a lifetime experience!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Angkor Wat and the surrounding temples and sites are a must see. We spent a month in SE Asia, and this was one of our two favorites days. Chet was our tour guide and we really liked him. You should not tour these temples without a guide - there is just way too much to see, and without the context Chet provided I don't think we would have been able to appreciate the day nearly as much. Chet also understood what the crowds would be like and rearranged our day to have the least crowded visit to each site. We could tell that his assessment was correct, as people were pouring into one temple as we were leaving, having had a fairly uncrowded visit. We highly, highly recommend this tour. And ask for Chet!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked this tour for our myself, my husband and my two grown children first trip to Cambodia. We enjoyed the tour immensely! Our tour guide, Mr. Sokvichet Chet Chin was very friendly and courteous. He was very knowledgeable and spoke English well. He patiently acquainted us with the symbolism and history of the Khmer Empire while we toured the ruins. You can tell that he is extremely proud of his country and its past history. We visited the Bayon and Baphoun temples, Terrace of the Elephant/Leper King, Angkor Wat and Ta Prohm. Chet was quick to inform us that our admission ticket covers the entire site so we could pick and choose where to start our tour. It was extremely hot during our visit! The temperature topped 100 degrees in the mid-afternoon we later found out that from April to June its the dry season! The one plus is the fact that there are less visitors and we were able to take our time touring the sites and savoring the wonderful surroundings. Our driver was extremely nice as well -- handing us cold bottles of water and towels after every sojourn into the hot Cambodian sun! We had an enjoyable lunch at an open-air restaurant with good food and attentive staff. I highly recommend this tour and ask for Chet if you go!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The highest marks for the guide and driver. Unbelievable experience but you'll need a second pair of legs - there's so much to see. Also, the lunch was mediocre, make sure to have a good breakfast.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a good tour. Our guide was very knowledgable. If you don't want to think too much about how to get there and which temple to see, I would recommend this.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This trip was inspiring, breathtaking, our guide Sun was very knowledgeable, we both enjoyed it immensely and would recommend the tour and your company. An absolute must

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was operated by the local tour company and included a dedicated driver and personal guide. The tour provided an extensive walk through the spectacular ruined temples of Angkor. Our guide provided historical perspective and was well prepared to answer questions about the ancient culture, temples and other landscape features. Angkor stretches over a vast area so the tour does not include every ruin but does encompass what is considered to be the most significant ones. The guide allowed us to progress at our own pace including plenty of time for photography and refreshment breaks it was extremely hot on the day of our tour. Angkor is a must see for any visitor to Cambodia, and this tour is good value for money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was a private 1:1 tour. I got a tour of the famous surrounding temples, and then got to see Angkor Wat last. The tour guide spoke fluent English, and was very informative. Any question I asked, he had an answer for me right away. I learned a lot about Cambodian culture through the guide's stories, and facts. He also had a sense of humour to lighten up the mood. As a solo traveler, I always struggled with taking pictures of myself. However, the tour guide was kind enough to take many many pictures of me. I am really thankful for that, because now I can look through the photos and enjoy my memories.

The temples were very beautiful. I have never seen anything this grand in my life. I really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour itself was great, our tour guide had very good English. It did say a full day tour but we're picked up at 8:30 (was meant to be 8am) and were dropped off at our hotel at about 2:30pm.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Guide picked us up on time. Van was very nice, clean and cool. Itinerary was in a different order than advertised, and included Ta Prohm ("Tomb Raider" temple) which was not on the written itinerary. I'm glad we saw it, but I had scheduled a separate tour of this temple another day because I thought we would not see it. Guide was very knowledgeable and English was good. Especially helpful was that he knew the best vantage points for good photos. Lunch was good. We had time to ride an elephant! Every time we got in the van the driver offered cold water and cold wet towlette - Heaven! 10 hour tour took us only 8.5 hours but we had seen plenty.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Tour guide took so many good photos!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

WHAT A DAY...BREATHE TAKING .KNEW IT WAS GOING TO BE SPECTACULAR BUT SO MUCH MORE;;
UNBELIEVABLE CARVINGS.THE WHOLE THING WAS MAGICAL..
WONDERFUL PEOPLE ALL AROUND,LOCAL'S and TOURIST'S.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Our guide and driver were good, but it was a lot shorter than 10 hours. We were picked up at 8:30am and we were back at our hotel by 2pm... I do not think this tour is priced correctly, very overpriced for what you receive. Our lunch was a preset menu, no choices for us, take it or leave it. I would not suggest to anyone to book this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Matched the description perfectly. I am not a good tourist and this fit me perfectly, not drawn out and as much detail as I wanted. Great tour guide (Chet) could answer every question in very good English.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great guide and went by our own schedule although the tour was pricey compared to the 30 or 40 dollar local private tours!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour was absolutely amazing. Our guide was so knowledgable not only about the Angkor Wat Temple Complex, but about Cambodian society and politics as a whole. The included lunch was excellent; a quaint little restaurant in the complex, authentic Cambodian food and a very private setting, since we were the only people there. I definitely learned a lot during my tour, not only about the temples themselves, but about the past, rich history of Cambodia as a whole as a Kingdom and as it is now. This tour is a definite must do and I highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

Vojtech C
Czech Republic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

see also the review under Private Tour: Angkor Wat Ancient Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable and responsive to every question asked a very worthwhile trip

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

wonderful day trip in Angkor wat. very well organised and very professional guide

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

Ian H
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent private your with very knowledgeable English speaking guide. Only issue was my wife and I went down with very severe 24hr gastro following the lunch at the Blue Pumpkin @ Anghor Wat. Hardly Buffalo tours fault and certianly didnt ruin our trip!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

Rachel
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Added an additional USD20 for 2 to go for the sunrise. It was beautiful!! Love the private tour and our guide was so knowledgeable and friendly!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The tour guide was the easiest guy to spend the day with. Very informative, enthusiastic about sharing the tour with us and was patient and caring the entire day. We feel gratitude. Thank you.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

My guide, Sear, picked me up from my hotel at 0830. From there he took me to the Angkor Wat temple complex. The pace of the tour was great. Sear is certainly very knowledgeable of the history, not just of the temples but also the history of the country. A must do/see in Siem Reap.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message