Divine in all senses of the word, Angkor Wat is the world's largest religious building. Built by King Suryavarman II in the early 12th century, his aim was to go bigger and better than his predecessors. In the high classical style of Khmer ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour, lots of walking and steep steps but was well worth it. Lots of amazing views and history. The guide was excellent and very friendly. Elephant rides are also an option.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

gerry
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Out of the 4 street food tours we have done in 3 countries on this trip, this was equal best with Hanoi. It is everything you want a food tour to be, mainly, a large variety of food, this didn't disappoint.
Along with the exotic fruits, BBQ'd meats and other delicious delicacies, there was the more unusual eats for the adventurous.
These included dung beetle, tarantula, stuffed frog, crickets and durian this is the first time I really enjoyed it
None of this is compulsory, but its not as bad as you expect, though the tarantula abdomen tasted a tad funky.
Our tour guide was great and made the evening interesting and enjoyable, it was all washed down with a can of local beer.
Recommended.

Doing what: Siem Reap Street Food Evening Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

great tour. the driver and guide were on hand on time and the day ran on a loose schedule that suited our tomings and where we wanted to spend more time. Our guide was very knowledgeable, but unfortunately fell a little ill, poor guy. but stayed with us and completed the tour. To be fair, it was so hot we sped up a little towards the end at our request and I'm sure to his relief.

He showed us back entrances to some of the temples avoiding crowds etc. Really well done!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We were the only Westerers in the market. However the Cambodians are just so full of hospitality we didn't notice until later. Certainly different to getting a meal at Pub Street and good fun and well as a broadening of the mind. It should be compulsory.

Doing what: Siem Reap Street Food Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Mr Chanmol was most informative and greatly helped to understand the Cambodian food and Daily lifestyle.
A bit confronting but worth the effort.
Encountered many food types not in our common western diet such as insects and innards.

Doing what: Siem Reap Street Food Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great programme. The day started with dawn viewing of Angkor Wat. Thousand of tourist making their way in the dark to get a good spot by the lake to see the sunrise. I wasn't too impressed with the sunrise but find the whole tourist ritual fascinating. Surely there are thousands of excellent photos in every angle and cloud and shape in existent on the net that one can easily download a good snap instead of sacrificing a good night sleep.
Breakfast picnic was lovely at a spot overlooking some tranquil Rice fields. Everyone was extremely attentive. Omelette, toasts, croissants, juice, fresh fruit and coffee was provided.
The guide was very obliging and was able to customise my itinerary departing from the normal schedule so that we can visit other temples since we have already visited the ones listed.
Cold water and cooling towels were provided after every stop.
Our helicopter flight was rescheduled for the following morning due to bad weather. The flight company provided free pick ups and drop offs.
Lunch and dinner were included and the set menus were good and just the right portion. Evening dinner was accompanied by traditional dancing.
The tour was expansive but very worthwhile. I would recommend the helicopter flight to everyone visiting this region.

Doing what: Angkor Wat Helicopter Flight with Private Tour of Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing and it was so great to be driven around and have our own guide. We learnt so much about the history of all the temples. If we had done this tour on our own we wouldn't have known what we were looking at. The driver and guide looked after us all day and at first when I booked I thought it was expensive but it was worth every cent to have the overall experience of Angkor Wat and all the Temples. Once in a lifetime experience!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Angkor Wat and the surrounding temples and sites are a must see. We spent a month in SE Asia, and this was one of our two favorites days. Chet was our tour guide and we really liked him. You should not tour these temples without a guide - there is just way too much to see, and without the context Chet provided I don't think we would have been able to appreciate the day nearly as much. Chet also understood what the crowds would be like and rearranged our day to have the least crowded visit to each site. We could tell that his assessment was correct, as people were pouring into one temple as we were leaving, having had a fairly uncrowded visit. We highly, highly recommend this tour. And ask for Chet!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked this tour for our myself, my husband and my two grown children first trip to Cambodia. We enjoyed the tour immensely! Our tour guide, Mr. Sokvichet Chet Chin was very friendly and courteous. He was very knowledgeable and spoke English well. He patiently acquainted us with the symbolism and history of the Khmer Empire while we toured the ruins. You can tell that he is extremely proud of his country and its past history. We visited the Bayon and Baphoun temples, Terrace of the Elephant/Leper King, Angkor Wat and Ta Prohm. Chet was quick to inform us that our admission ticket covers the entire site so we could pick and choose where to start our tour. It was extremely hot during our visit! The temperature topped 100 degrees in the mid-afternoon we later found out that from April to June its the dry season! The one plus is the fact that there are less visitors and we were able to take our time touring the sites and savoring the wonderful surroundings. Our driver was extremely nice as well -- handing us cold bottles of water and towels after every sojourn into the hot Cambodian sun! We had an enjoyable lunch at an open-air restaurant with good food and attentive staff. I highly recommend this tour and ask for Chet if you go!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The highest marks for the guide and driver. Unbelievable experience but you'll need a second pair of legs - there's so much to see. Also, the lunch was mediocre, make sure to have a good breakfast.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a good tour. Our guide was very knowledgable. If you don't want to think too much about how to get there and which temple to see, I would recommend this.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This trip was inspiring, breathtaking, our guide Sun was very knowledgeable, we both enjoyed it immensely and would recommend the tour and your company. An absolute must

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very authentic and you'll be taken to the real local markets off the tourist track

Doing what: Siem Reap Street Food Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was operated by the local tour company and included a dedicated driver and personal guide. The tour provided an extensive walk through the spectacular ruined temples of Angkor. Our guide provided historical perspective and was well prepared to answer questions about the ancient culture, temples and other landscape features. Angkor stretches over a vast area so the tour does not include every ruin but does encompass what is considered to be the most significant ones. The guide allowed us to progress at our own pace including plenty of time for photography and refreshment breaks it was extremely hot on the day of our tour. Angkor is a must see for any visitor to Cambodia, and this tour is good value for money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Once again Hai was exceptionally good guide. This was almost the highlight of my trip, bit hard to beat Angkor Wat etc. I even tried local delicacies, my fav being Jack fruit.

Doing what: Siem Reap Street Food Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was a private 1:1 tour. I got a tour of the famous surrounding temples, and then got to see Angkor Wat last. The tour guide spoke fluent English, and was very informative. Any question I asked, he had an answer for me right away. I learned a lot about Cambodian culture through the guide's stories, and facts. He also had a sense of humour to lighten up the mood. As a solo traveler, I always struggled with taking pictures of myself. However, the tour guide was kind enough to take many many pictures of me. I am really thankful for that, because now I can look through the photos and enjoy my memories.

The temples were very beautiful. I have never seen anything this grand in my life. I really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour itself was great, our tour guide had very good English. It did say a full day tour but we're picked up at 8:30 (was meant to be 8am) and were dropped off at our hotel at about 2:30pm.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour. It was everything I hoped for. Our tour guide M spoke excellent English, was engaging, and knowledgeable. I'm so glad we did this tour and heartily recommend it. Personally I tried everything, including crickets, silk worms, and a water beetle. But even if you don't have an adventurous palate, there's still plenty of delicious fruits to try as well.

Doing what: Siem Reap Street Food Evening Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Guide picked us up on time. Van was very nice, clean and cool. Itinerary was in a different order than advertised, and included Ta Prohm ("Tomb Raider" temple) which was not on the written itinerary. I'm glad we saw it, but I had scheduled a separate tour of this temple another day because I thought we would not see it. Guide was very knowledgeable and English was good. Especially helpful was that he knew the best vantage points for good photos. Lunch was good. We had time to ride an elephant! Every time we got in the van the driver offered cold water and cold wet towlette - Heaven! 10 hour tour took us only 8.5 hours but we had seen plenty.

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

cant really rate this tour as on the day i was not feeling well, so did not have anything to eat
i imagine it is a great tour to do , if i ever come back to seim reap i would do it again

Doing what: Siem Reap Street Food Evening Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

The tour was interesting in that the guide took us to local fresh food markets and a local night food and shopping markets where the local people buy bbq food and picnic on mats by the side of the busy road. The unusual array of cooked food for sale including various bugs made for good photo moments but the restaurant dinner was boring and lacking in atmosphere. The tour overall was OK but it needed something more to jazz it up

Doing what: Siem Reap Street Food Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Tour guide took so many good photos!

Doing what: Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Amazing start with the sunrise, even for awful time had to rise. Well worth the effort and so much better to have aircon all day than on a tuk tuk. The guide was informative, and was more than willing to talk about more than just the temples. Watch out for the ultra steep stairs in Angkor wat, but worth getting over any fear to see the additional history and views from the top. My favourite is bayon temple though....but all great to see. Lunch was included as a set menu, and definitely no complaints...sat outside and was fun to watch the tourists being pestered to buy from the kids..

Doing what: Angkor Wat Helicopter Flight with Private Tour of Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Absolutely fabulous way to meet the locals. Our guide Lot was delightful showing us all the best spots in town. A great introduction to life in Siem Reap.

Doing what: Siem Reap Street Food Evening Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message