Ankara ATTRACTIONS See all

Ataturk Mausoleum (Anit Kabir)

The Ataturk Maouselum, part of the Anıt Kabir (literally "memorial tomb"), is the mausoleum of Mustaga Kemal Ataturk, the leader of the Turkish War of Independence and the founder and first president of the Republic of Turkey. The Anit ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was absolutely incredible! Definitely recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything things was great, loved the tour and our guide was amazing. Only thing I would have to mention is the supposed 5 star hotel was my least favourite. there was only one entrance to the hotel which was the front door, all other doors didnt have any handles. It wasnt airconditioned. The prices of drinks there were much more than what wed been paying at other places. I enjoyed the other hotels alot more and would rate them better.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was operated by a big reputable Turkish Tour company. Our guide Can was excellent, his knowledge and enthusiasm was outstanding, he had so much information on every site we visited that it saved me hours and hours of research. The driver was also excellent, very safe and polite. The sites were all the big sites I wanted to see, we were delivered to the doorstop, tickets were pre-purchased, no waiting. The accommodation varied from good to terrible. The Iris was adequate, the Marina in Kusadasi was good, the Colossale in Pamukkale was old and tired and too far out of town and the BurcuKaya in Cappadocia was not a bad hotel but we got the worst rooms there. Dirty, dark, small, not acceptable. The buffet breakfasts and dinners were adequate, the lunches at the rest stops were better, fresh local, well priced lunches with clean toilets. My one criticism of the tour was the HARD SELL stops we had. The carpet tour was interesting but incredibly Hard Sell, the Leather tour was long, a waste of valuable time and Hard Sell of extremely overpriced coats, the wine tasting was OK, not too long, the ceramics show was another very overpriced Hard Sell as was the turquoise showroom. Fez travel must be getting some serious kickbacks from these places. Overall the tour was enjoyable and informative, as a single woman travelling on my own it was fantastic and safe. I would highly recommend the tour and thought it was good value.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great mix of the historical, cultural and social. I feel like I got to see and experience a great deal of Turkey within a week. Everything was planned well. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was 1 of the best value tour I've bought on Viator.com or any other sites. My best friend and I were on this tour in May of 2015 and we both loved it. There were some minor issues but considering the value that we got for the price paid, it was an excellent deal.

The pros:
Breakfasts and dinners were included on most days - all were buffet style where after getting your food, you'll sit at 2-3 big tables and get to know your other tour members. For the most part, the food were quite good - especially the vegetarian and salad options.
There were about 20 tour members in our tour group - from all over the world - all of whom you'll get to know quite well by the tour's end.
For a medium sized tour group like ours, we had a pretty good tour guide Ahmet and an excellent driver. We toured around in a big, white, clean bus that was air-conditioned, lots of space and had free WI-FI. Yes... free wi-fi! Granted, the wi-fi can be slow and not always reliable but it was still nice to have!
At the start, you'll receive a welcome package with the schedule and other useful information. BTW, tips for the tour guide and driver are not included and so, save some Turkish Lira for their fine efforts - the welcome kit will have some suggested amount to tip.

The cons:
If you're a meat eater, the included meals might disappoint you in terms of average quality and lack of variety of meat dishes available. For us, the great vegetarian dishes more than made up for it and we didn't miss the meat dishes as much.
Although the hotels were rated 4 or 5 stars, I would say that the hotels were more like 3 to 4 stars on a scale of 1 to 5 stars. Just adjust your expectations like we did and you'll be fine too.
You're on a schedule and won't get too much time at any 1 spot. The tour guide will bring you inside all attractions and provide some background with some free time to wander around.

In summary, many historical and beautiful sites on a wonderful tour!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

When I saw the price for the tour, I said that cannot be true its probably a scam. However I booked for it and it was not a scam. I was really surprised and amazed by the tour we took during the last week of May 2015. The tour was composed of about 20 people between 17 to over 65 years old from the entire world. The bus was big so every person was able to have two seats for himself. I had the best tour guide I have ever had in my entire travelling life. She was amazing and she was very nice. Her name is Perihan aka Perri. We visited most of Turkeys wonders. She took us to other places not listed on the schedule which is nice from her. She has a lot of knowledge about Turkeys history, culture, climate, resources and religion. She knows her country very well. She answers any questions you ask her, so dont be shy to ask. She was always positive. She was adventurous because she would go everywhere despite her pregnancy. The tour was more than what I initially expected. The price was not very high for everything we did and got. The hot air balloon ride in Cappadoccia and Pamukkale are the highlights of my trip. The hotels we were in for the nights were 4 and 5 star hotels that had amazing services such as breakfast and dinner. We had long bus rides, but the bus was comfortable. The only advice I would give you is to bring a pillow with you and a small blanket in order to be fully comfortable. Finally, the price, the bus, the service, the driver, the guide and the tour is totally recommended for anyone seeking to visit the beauty of Turkey in 7 days. On a side note, the tour does not include a visit to Istanbul so you should reserve at least 2-3 days to visit it. If you have more time in Turkey, you can go to Antalya and visit its beauty such as Aspendos, Perge, Side , water falls I was in Turkey for two weeks but they were not enough.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent guide Hussein Aray. Well organised well informed. Great driver Shalid. Powered through 7 days but gained so much in our time at important cultural and historical sites. Hotels were well chosen. Lunch stops were also well chosen. So glad I did this tour.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic trip Turkey is amazing the tour was great saw more than what was on the itinerary our guide took us everywhere. Felt really safe and the people through out Turkey we really generous with their hospitality

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall the tour is very good. Top quality guide service from a guide whose name is Perihan.
Thngs to improve: time allocated for us to spend at Pamukkale is too limited, should be one hour more.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This trip was an incredible one given all of the locations visited and the price! There was so much to see and do. Our guide, Farukh, was friendly and knowledgable and the experience as a whole was lovely! :-

A few things to note-- There is a LOT of traveling involved and, although stops are made ever 2-3 hours, there is no bathroom on board the bus for emergencies. While lunch is at your own expense, and fairly cheap as well as delicious! it is still done as a communal experience and not truly on your own. The hotels may be 4 and 5 stars by Turkish standards, but not by most Western standards, and the ones chosen are often cheap, tourist hotels. There are also some out-of-place stops made where high-pressure salespeople will attempt to get you to purchase their wares. I wonder if the travel company gets a commission from the sales? Last, while I enjoyed our guide as a person, there were a lot of long-winded talks on both the bus and at each site. Then, he would often complain that we were the slowest group of the other travel companies visiting the same sites or wonder why we were all falling asleep.

All in all, a wonderful trip if you are looking to do a lot in a short amount of time! Also, please do consider doing the optional hot air balloon ride in Cappadocia! It is truly spectacular!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We saw so much. Hotels and food were all good. Leader had great inside knowledge. Driver - nerves of steel. Bus v large and comfy. Best value for money ever!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent service, amazing trip and experience. Highly recommended

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Very informative tour guide. Please be aware that you will also be taken to sites where you may be pressured to purchase an item.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

I chose this small group tour as others I have been on have encouraged absorption in local life and allowed free time to do so. Sadly this did not so I feel that I did not get the most out of the experience.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great trip. First, it had a guaranteed departure which is very important if you are traveling ftom far away. The hotels were good, the best was the one in Kusadasi. Out tour guide, Kivanc, was very accomodating, gave us a good insights into each place we visited. There were many highlights of the trip, Sirince, the old Greek village, was an unexpected treat; also Pergamon and Hierapolis were very imposing and memorable. Capadoccia was just fairy and very special, it is a place that you would like to stay at least a week... So much to explore...
There was a good pace to each day, as otherwise it would be very difficult to cover everything on the itinerary. Also, our guide took us to a inhabited rock chimney house which was an unique experience and a special moment to take away. I would highly recommend the tour as it covers many important sites and also lets you soak up a bit of the local culture. Also, i would have liked to have read a bit more on each place visited prior to the trip in order to be more aware of all the civilizarions and interesting stories about these places, but i did that at the end. For that I recommend the Traveller's Guide to Turkish History.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My tour guide, Mustafa, gave me a terrific private tour of Ankara. His insights into the city, its history, culture and personality, were wonderful. I also appreciated his willingness to dash through the rain with me so that I was able to experience all that Ankara had to offer. My private car was clean and always ready when we were moving on to our next location. Mustafa's English was wonderful. I felt comfortable asking questions, taking the time to look at the things I wanted to see, and asking for recommendations. As a single woman with a limited amount of time in which to tour, this was the best option I could find. I would definitely recommend this great service and would use Viator again based on this experience!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ankara Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We hit the major highlights of Ankara with our guide and because it was a private tour we were able to customize some and asked to be taken to a small neighborhood spice and fruit market. We also walked the neighborhood streets and visited local shops. Fun tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ankara Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

A must visit is the Anatolian museum. Attaturk's memorial is great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ankara Sightseeing

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Anatolian Museum and Ataturk memorial both well worth a visit.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ankara Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message