Ankara ATTRACTIONS See all

Ataturk Mausoleum (Anit Kabir)

The Ataturk Maouselum, part of the Anıt Kabir (literally "memorial tomb"), is the mausoleum of Mustaga Kemal Ataturk, the leader of the Turkish War of Independence and the founder and first president of the Republic of Turkey. The Anit ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maryan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I highly recommend this tour. I enjoyed it so much that I can't stop talking about this tour. The local tour agency that handled this wonderful great experience of Turkey. Ergun Akkan our tour leader is a jewel of this trip and for the company. He is an intelligent, loving, caring and knowledgeable and who truly loves his country. Our group are so lucky to have toured with him in explaining the history, the people of Turkey. Of course Gokhan our captain driver of the entire 7 day journey kept us very safe and on time schedule. He is as nice as Ergun. I would encourage everyone to join this tour when in Turkey to truly see the beauty of Turkey not just staying in Istanbul. I will definitely go back cause we were not able to do the hot air balloon ride due to strong wind situation. Keep it up Viator and the local tour operator. I have gained friends in this trip.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations in both content and value for money. A large modern and comfortable bus was provided for our transportation and it was driven safely and gently at all times by our driver Gorkan.

Our guide Ergun demonstrated a rare ability to communicate freely in English and, at the same time, convey the passion and pride that he felt for his country as a Turk. His enthusiasm led us into areas we never expected to as he conveyed the history of Turkey to us. It was always appropriate to the location and particularly interesting.

We were fortunate to have a small group of travellers who bonded well and communicated freely throughout the seven days. The Australians in particular were quite moved during the visit to the Gallipoli Peninsula. Each of the other sites were fantastic in both historic content and visual impact. The contrast between the ancient history of Troy, the natural beauty of Pamukkale and the fairy chimneys of Cappadocia was truly amazing.

The accomodation provided was not five star but each location was different in theme and more than adequate for any traveller's needs. Despite the current spectre of security in Turkey, at no time did we feel unsafe or threatened.

Overall, an excellent tour managed by a most capable and entertaining guide.

John

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Donald A D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was fabulous. My husband and I were a little nervous about touring turkey but the US state department said to go-just avoid the Syrian border. Off we went and were so pleased. Turkey is just an amazing country and this tour gives you a taste of the history from ancient, to byzantine and ottoman. Our tour guide Charmon was 5 star. He knew and explained the history and had a knack to find out of the way places for lunch in this gourmet country. Thank you
Gretchen Deresz

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Kimberley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour covering the highlights of Turkey. Amazingly knowledable guide (Cagman) and OMG the FOOD!!! Included meals were great and varied and our guide took us to great (cheap and varied) places for lunches. Accommodation was generally good.
Overall unbeatable value for money.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Sing Chow L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Generally speaking, this tour is a good one and the areas covered are rather extensive for a regular tourist. I have 2 suggestions for Viator and the tour company operator.
1. Local tour operator: offer travelers an option to have lunch separate from the group. We almost felt like pressured to have lunch together everyday.
2. Viator says tips are optional. the local tour operator gave us a package which suggests US35 per person. I would like Viator to make this very clear on its web page. No surprises please.
One suggestion for tourist participants: IF POSSIBLE, DO NOT ACCEPT THE OFFER FROM COMPANY TO CUT ANKARA and go back to Istanbul sooner. Ankara is a place you want to see and Mustafa Kemal Atatürk was Turkey's national hero. His memorial is a MUST SEE.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Helen M F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip exceeded out expectations, our guide was well organised informative and spoke very good english, we say so many interesting sites , and our accommodation was excellent, overall it was very enjoyable and excellent value. Would have no hesitation in recommending this trip.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Pui Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

I had the worst tour guide experience EVER. His name was Cagman. He appeared to be very knowledgeable about the history of Turkey. However, his attitude, tone of voice, and facial expression were absolutely unacceptable. Anytime, if one of us asked him a question, he would unmistakably let you know that you were annoying him.. It got to be a point that we were all pretty quiet during the 7-days trip. Two of the young ladies got a tongue lashing by Cagman because they cancelled their booking for the hot air balloon ride. He yelled at me in the van in front of everyone for not going on the hot air balloon ride stating that it was a bad decision. He also took us to two of his recommended restaurants to taste home style Turkish food. The first one was okay, but the second one absolutely terrible.

It is important for a guide to be knowledgeable, but the most important quality is, no doubt, good people skill. Cagman definitely is in the wrong line of work.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback, we have heard back about this review from our tour operator, their response follows: Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with us. We were surprised to hear your experience with this particular guide as he typically receives excellent reviews and feedback. However, the reality is that your experience was different, and I am sincerely sorry that for you this was the case. While an apology doesn’t alter the outcome of your experience, we do offer it with all sincerity. You can be assured that we take feedback very seriously, and we have systems in place to investigate complaints and counsel staff accordingly. We have used your feedback as part of our performance management processes. We do expect our staff to make our guests aware of any optional activities that are available to round out their trip to Turkey, however guests should never feel pressured to sign up to these. Your experience highlights to us the importance of making sure that all of our guides are sensitive to this, and so this issue will be raised during future staff training. We have also followed up on the issue that you have raised regarding the standard of meals during your tour, and thank you for alerting us to this. Thank you again for raising these issues with us – quality is very important to us, and we appreciate it when our guests let us know when something isn’t right. Best wishes.

teddie p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour is amazing, The best way to see the country and the sites, which are very busy. Our tour guide was Metin Pehlivan and he was amazing, very nice and knowledgeable and helpful and just a funny guy. Busses are clean and comfortable with lots of pit stops, Hotels were above average with the last Everen stone house being amazing!! Food was good, mostly buffets which is good, something for everyone, The sites were amazing!! So incredible!!! This is the best tour we have done and if you have the means book the hot air balloon over Cappadocia it is worth the money and just breathtaking!!!!!!!!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Outstanding, great places to visit, wonderful guide and driver

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

sharon_2525

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great value tour which was organised very well. Hotel pick up and drop off was done smoothly with mini buses taking us to the main coach. We got sufficient time to look around by ourselves in tourist areas and were explained main aspects by the tour guide. We had regular stops every 3 hours or so to use restrooms and stop at convenience stores to buy water/snacks. The lunch stops we had were all affordable and decent food. The hotels were all really good however in one we did have to pay a small fee for wifi but other than that they were all good quality hotels. One thing to note is that drinks at these hotels to have with dinner can be a little pricey but that is expected with buffet style dinners. There was plenty of choice for dinners, a lot of salad options and a good selection of vegetarian and meat dishes.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Rosalind c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide was brilliant, driver was very good, coach was very comfortable and only half - full meaning never felt crowded, and numbers at meals, tours, etc was very manageable. Excellent value for money and most interesting. Hotels were all fantastic. Hotel in Capadocia was great but too far from anywhere.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

MOHAMED A M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour. It exeded our expectations. Big air conditioned bus, prompt hotel pickup and return. Very professional wise driver who drove us hundreds of miles with smile on his face and no single mistake. The guide was very knowledgable and keen on every person and every detail of the tour program. She always gave advices and suggestions and was chosing the best resturants and best service stations on the road. The hotels were very comfortable and well chosen. This tour explored a huge no of tourist attractions along the western and southern coast of Turkey. Konya and Ankara were the ice on the already rich cake. Overall unforgetable experience!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Lisa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was absolutely incredible! Definitely recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

shane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything things was great, loved the tour and our guide was amazing. Only thing I would have to mention is the supposed 5 star hotel was my least favourite. there was only one entrance to the hotel which was the front door, all other doors didnt have any handles. It wasnt airconditioned. The prices of drinks there were much more than what wed been paying at other places. I enjoyed the other hotels alot more and would rate them better.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Susan Travel

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was operated by a big reputable Turkish Tour company. Our guide Can was excellent, his knowledge and enthusiasm was outstanding, he had so much information on every site we visited that it saved me hours and hours of research. The driver was also excellent, very safe and polite. The sites were all the big sites I wanted to see, we were delivered to the doorstop, tickets were pre-purchased, no waiting. The accommodation varied from good to terrible. The Iris was adequate, the Marina in Kusadasi was good, the Colossale in Pamukkale was old and tired and too far out of town and the BurcuKaya in Cappadocia was not a bad hotel but we got the worst rooms there. Dirty, dark, small, not acceptable. The buffet breakfasts and dinners were adequate, the lunches at the rest stops were better, fresh local, well priced lunches with clean toilets. My one criticism of the tour was the HARD SELL stops we had. The carpet tour was interesting but incredibly Hard Sell, the Leather tour was long, a waste of valuable time and Hard Sell of extremely overpriced coats, the wine tasting was OK, not too long, the ceramics show was another very overpriced Hard Sell as was the turquoise showroom. Fez travel must be getting some serious kickbacks from these places. Overall the tour was enjoyable and informative, as a single woman travelling on my own it was fantastic and safe. I would highly recommend the tour and thought it was good value.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great mix of the historical, cultural and social. I feel like I got to see and experience a great deal of Turkey within a week. Everything was planned well. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Live 4 Sights USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was 1 of the best value tour I've bought on Viator.com or any other sites. My best friend and I were on this tour in May of 2015 and we both loved it. There were some minor issues but considering the value that we got for the price paid, it was an excellent deal.

The pros:
Breakfasts and dinners were included on most days - all were buffet style where after getting your food, you'll sit at 2-3 big tables and get to know your other tour members. For the most part, the food were quite good - especially the vegetarian and salad options.
There were about 20 tour members in our tour group - from all over the world - all of whom you'll get to know quite well by the tour's end.
For a medium sized tour group like ours, we had a pretty good tour guide Ahmet and an excellent driver. We toured around in a big, white, clean bus that was air-conditioned, lots of space and had free WI-FI. Yes... free wi-fi! Granted, the wi-fi can be slow and not always reliable but it was still nice to have!
At the start, you'll receive a welcome package with the schedule and other useful information. BTW, tips for the tour guide and driver are not included and so, save some Turkish Lira for their fine efforts - the welcome kit will have some suggested amount to tip.

The cons:
If you're a meat eater, the included meals might disappoint you in terms of average quality and lack of variety of meat dishes available. For us, the great vegetarian dishes more than made up for it and we didn't miss the meat dishes as much.
Although the hotels were rated 4 or 5 stars, I would say that the hotels were more like 3 to 4 stars on a scale of 1 to 5 stars. Just adjust your expectations like we did and you'll be fine too.
You're on a schedule and won't get too much time at any 1 spot. The tour guide will bring you inside all attractions and provide some background with some free time to wander around.

In summary, many historical and beautiful sites on a wonderful tour!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Abdullah E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

When I saw the price for the tour, I said that cannot be true its probably a scam. However I booked for it and it was not a scam. I was really surprised and amazed by the tour we took during the last week of May 2015. The tour was composed of about 20 people between 17 to over 65 years old from the entire world. The bus was big so every person was able to have two seats for himself. I had the best tour guide I have ever had in my entire travelling life. She was amazing and she was very nice. Her name is Perihan aka Perri. We visited most of Turkeys wonders. She took us to other places not listed on the schedule which is nice from her. She has a lot of knowledge about Turkeys history, culture, climate, resources and religion. She knows her country very well. She answers any questions you ask her, so dont be shy to ask. She was always positive. She was adventurous because she would go everywhere despite her pregnancy. The tour was more than what I initially expected. The price was not very high for everything we did and got. The hot air balloon ride in Cappadoccia and Pamukkale are the highlights of my trip. The hotels we were in for the nights were 4 and 5 star hotels that had amazing services such as breakfast and dinner. We had long bus rides, but the bus was comfortable. The only advice I would give you is to bring a pillow with you and a small blanket in order to be fully comfortable. Finally, the price, the bus, the service, the driver, the guide and the tour is totally recommended for anyone seeking to visit the beauty of Turkey in 7 days. On a side note, the tour does not include a visit to Istanbul so you should reserve at least 2-3 days to visit it. If you have more time in Turkey, you can go to Antalya and visit its beauty such as Aspendos, Perge, Side , water falls I was in Turkey for two weeks but they were not enough.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Marie Justine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent guide Hussein Aray. Well organised well informed. Great driver Shalid. Powered through 7 days but gained so much in our time at important cultural and historical sites. Hotels were well chosen. Lunch stops were also well chosen. So glad I did this tour.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Carolyn Rita T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic trip Turkey is amazing the tour was great saw more than what was on the itinerary our guide took us everywhere. Felt really safe and the people through out Turkey we really generous with their hospitality

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Guang L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall the tour is very good. Top quality guide service from a guide whose name is Perihan.
Thngs to improve: time allocated for us to spend at Pamukkale is too limited, should be one hour more.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Joslyn R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This trip was an incredible one given all of the locations visited and the price! There was so much to see and do. Our guide, Farukh, was friendly and knowledgable and the experience as a whole was lovely! :-

A few things to note-- There is a LOT of traveling involved and, although stops are made ever 2-3 hours, there is no bathroom on board the bus for emergencies. While lunch is at your own expense, and fairly cheap as well as delicious! it is still done as a communal experience and not truly on your own. The hotels may be 4 and 5 stars by Turkish standards, but not by most Western standards, and the ones chosen are often cheap, tourist hotels. There are also some out-of-place stops made where high-pressure salespeople will attempt to get you to purchase their wares. I wonder if the travel company gets a commission from the sales? Last, while I enjoyed our guide as a person, there were a lot of long-winded talks on both the bus and at each site. Then, he would often complain that we were the slowest group of the other travel companies visiting the same sites or wonder why we were all falling asleep.

All in all, a wonderful trip if you are looking to do a lot in a short amount of time! Also, please do consider doing the optional hot air balloon ride in Cappadocia! It is truly spectacular!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Christinegillan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We saw so much. Hotels and food were all good. Leader had great inside knowledge. Driver - nerves of steel. Bus v large and comfy. Best value for money ever!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Ega R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent service, amazing trip and experience. Highly recommended

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message