Antalya ATTRACTIONS See all

Hierapolis & Pammukkale

Hierapolis is an ancient city of the Lycus River valley famed for its sacred hot springs. Its ruins are a popular day trip from Antalya as are the spectacular white cliffs of Pamukkale. As you near the ancient city ruins of Hierapolis, you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 123 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ibis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

the tour was wonderful. very comprehensive with plenty of time in each location. the bus was super clean and the driver was nice. also the tour guide was very nice and caring about the passengers. loved the stop in kusadasi at the family restaurant. very authentic. the hotel in canakkale was 3* the most. all hotels had plenty of food for breakfast and dinner. in Summary: very relaxing and don't need anything else to enjoy Turkey. "TeCheKur".

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Mik S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It's very difficult to put in to words how amazing this tour was. From Gallipoli to Pamukkale, every single moment was sensational. The in depth discussions about every place visited to the food we were eating at each stop was great. Charma sp? the guide was out of this world awesome and incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about Turkey. I highly highly recommend this to anyone wanting to see the awesome sites of Turkey, but definitely look at going for the 7 day tour to get even more.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Helen M F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip exceeded out expectations, our guide was well organised informative and spoke very good english, we say so many interesting sites , and our accommodation was excellent, overall it was very enjoyable and excellent value. Would have no hesitation in recommending this trip.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fez travel provided a superb driver and an outstanding tour guide Mahmet. My wife and I considered it the absolute highlight of our two weeks in Turkey

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

His

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good company of Aussies and Kiwis which makes this trip excellent. Not to forget a couple of South Africans. Hotel choices were good enough and we visited all the relevant historical sites.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Stephen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was my first trip to Turkey and having spent a week in Istanbul I was keen to try more and took the 6 day small group tour which was very successful and highly recommended. Organisation, including pickups, transfers, guides, and hotel selection worked very well. It was a really good way to get a snapshot of the highlights. Ephesus was a great start with well preserved Roman ruins, and Pamukkale was spectacular with it's salt cliffs, travertine pools and the sheer scale of the site which would have been enormous originally. Cappadocia was must-see and am glad we spent several days there - definitely worth it. The hike was different than advertised Love Valley just me and the guide, very easy and peaceful. The rock formations, the Open Museum in Goreme is an incredible experience as was The Underground City, and my guide was able to get me into the hot air ballooning at short notice and was a complete knockout, well worth the high price. If time is limited, you want to see the highlights well without a rush and very comfortably, you won't regret it.

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

Steve M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

An excellent tour that covers the main attractions in western Turkey hitting all the major attractions. Excellent hotels at all destinations. The tour guide was really friendly and helpful always took us to places that weren't tourist traps to eat and shop. Wished we spent more time in Bursa but it seemed like we were rushing at the end. Also the ferry from Bursa to Istanbul at the end should be covered by the cost of the tour. Otherwise, overall good tour.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

Pui Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

I had the worst tour guide experience EVER. His name was Cagman. He appeared to be very knowledgeable about the history of Turkey. However, his attitude, tone of voice, and facial expression were absolutely unacceptable. Anytime, if one of us asked him a question, he would unmistakably let you know that you were annoying him.. It got to be a point that we were all pretty quiet during the 7-days trip. Two of the young ladies got a tongue lashing by Cagman because they cancelled their booking for the hot air balloon ride. He yelled at me in the van in front of everyone for not going on the hot air balloon ride stating that it was a bad decision. He also took us to two of his recommended restaurants to taste home style Turkish food. The first one was okay, but the second one absolutely terrible.

It is important for a guide to be knowledgeable, but the most important quality is, no doubt, good people skill. Cagman definitely is in the wrong line of work.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback, we have heard back about this review from our tour operator, their response follows: Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with us. We were surprised to hear your experience with this particular guide as he typically receives excellent reviews and feedback. However, the reality is that your experience was different, and I am sincerely sorry that for you this was the case. While an apology doesn’t alter the outcome of your experience, we do offer it with all sincerity. You can be assured that we take feedback very seriously, and we have systems in place to investigate complaints and counsel staff accordingly. We have used your feedback as part of our performance management processes. We do expect our staff to make our guests aware of any optional activities that are available to round out their trip to Turkey, however guests should never feel pressured to sign up to these. Your experience highlights to us the importance of making sure that all of our guides are sensitive to this, and so this issue will be raised during future staff training. We have also followed up on the issue that you have raised regarding the standard of meals during your tour, and thank you for alerting us to this. Thank you again for raising these issues with us – quality is very important to us, and we appreciate it when our guests let us know when something isn’t right. Best wishes.

teddie p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour is amazing, The best way to see the country and the sites, which are very busy. Our tour guide was Metin Pehlivan and he was amazing, very nice and knowledgeable and helpful and just a funny guy. Busses are clean and comfortable with lots of pit stops, Hotels were above average with the last Everen stone house being amazing!! Food was good, mostly buffets which is good, something for everyone, The sites were amazing!! So incredible!!! This is the best tour we have done and if you have the means book the hot air balloon over Cappadocia it is worth the money and just breathtaking!!!!!!!!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Outstanding, great places to visit, wonderful guide and driver

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Heather S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Had a fabulous time on this tour. We had a comfy bus and the tour guide was always telling you something about the history of turkey. Hotels were a great standard. Beware the 'great' recommended places to eat. One meal was totally inedible and was suppose to be just how his 'mum' cooked. Recommend this tour

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Polly S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Overall, the tour went well. Armand our guide at ephesus was pleasant, knew a lot, and spoke good english. The guide on our pamukkale leg had a heavy accent so it was a bit hard to understand her. We had quite a bad experience with regard to our pickup at the airport for our cappadocia leg.

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

Paul B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The tour went to a lot of great destinations however the amount of driving on the last day was too much. Bursa was not worth the extra hours on the bus. Our tour guide, while extremely knowledgable on the history of Turkey, seemed impatient and and agitated most of the tour which discouraged interaction and made the trip less fun. A couple of the hotels were also sub-par. Overall I don't regret doing the tour however it is unlikely I would do another with this tour group or recommend it to others.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

DONNA M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

By far the worst tour I have ever been on. We booked this tour to see Pamukkale and the Hierapolis. We spent a total of 2 hours at this location. We did however spend almost an hour at an onyx factory that sold way over priced onyx junk and another hour at a leather factory that included a fashion show featuring our rude tour guide, that we did not want to see at all. Two hours that could have been spent at the Hierapolis were spent fending off high pressure sales people pushing their overpriced wares. Breakfast was at what amounted to a truck stop with old hard boiled eggs, semi rancid cheese and tasteless olives. My husband took a roll and was charged 5, they called it apple pie. The bathrooms were also an extra charge. We finally arrived at the Hierapolis at 12:25 and we were told it takes one hour to walk down from the top to the lunch restaurant by 2:45. Lunch was the worst slop at a dirty restaurant that charges USD 10 for a soda and bottle of water. On top of everything else the tour guide was absolutely the rudest man I have ever encountered on a tour. His first move after breakfast was to try to leave behind two women at the truck stop. He said, if they are shopping I will leave them behind. What delayed them was the fact that they had to go get change for the bathroom door keeper to be let into the bathroom. This was pretty much how the entire day went with the man. The only thing he had an interest in was taking us to the shopping. He told everyone you need to get money. Then pressured some women to withdraw money from an ATM he made a special stop at for just this purpose. Another thing we did not like was the bus driver started picking up people at 5:30 AM and was evidently very tired on the ride home. All said and done we could have rented a car, left the hotel by 8 AM, arrived by 11AM and had an entire day seeing what we wanted to see instead of wasting time at overpriced souvenir shops with a rude tour guide.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Marmaris with Breakfast and Lunch

Prakash B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

very nice , the tour was awesome, Punctual and the location of the hotel at Kusadasi was excellent very close to the Marina

Doing what: 3-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Izmir: Kusadasi and Ephesus

Grasshopper

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Overall good tour. Driver and guide were very good, but felt very rushed at the ruins. Hotel in kusadasi Suhan hotel although we were supposed to stay in the Marina hotel adjacent which was much better in quality was terrible. Much of the second half of the tour started feeling like a tourist trap with constant visits to shops in order to sell you things with the guide and the shop owners playing a nice banter of guide getting you best deal when it was obvious it was prearranged and that he got a commission from the sales.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Lauren G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Pamukkale is spectacular and absolutely worth visiting, however I'm not sure I would recommend this trip...
While the tour guide was lovely, and very knowledgeable, I was a bit frustrated when we were told that we would be stopping not only at an onyx store, but also at a leather store. Not ideal.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch

sharon_2525

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great value tour which was organised very well. Hotel pick up and drop off was done smoothly with mini buses taking us to the main coach. We got sufficient time to look around by ourselves in tourist areas and were explained main aspects by the tour guide. We had regular stops every 3 hours or so to use restrooms and stop at convenience stores to buy water/snacks. The lunch stops we had were all affordable and decent food. The hotels were all really good however in one we did have to pay a small fee for wifi but other than that they were all good quality hotels. One thing to note is that drinks at these hotels to have with dinner can be a little pricey but that is expected with buffet style dinners. There was plenty of choice for dinners, a lot of salad options and a good selection of vegetarian and meat dishes.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

MIRIAM F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Had a guide that new everything there was to know about Ancient Turkey. He also looked identical to Jerramy Clarkson. It was a small group tour and were we surprised about the quality of the hotels we stayed in! Beautiful. All meals were buffay and included in the price.
If you are looking to party this is not the tour for you. However if you love history and want to see different ages of Turkey then its for you. Thanks for everything I will never forget my time in Turkey.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Rosalind c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide was brilliant, driver was very good, coach was very comfortable and only half - full meaning never felt crowded, and numbers at meals, tours, etc was very manageable. Excellent value for money and most interesting. Hotels were all fantastic. Hotel in Capadocia was great but too far from anywhere.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

MOHAMED A M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour. It exeded our expectations. Big air conditioned bus, prompt hotel pickup and return. Very professional wise driver who drove us hundreds of miles with smile on his face and no single mistake. The guide was very knowledgable and keen on every person and every detail of the tour program. She always gave advices and suggestions and was chosing the best resturants and best service stations on the road. The hotels were very comfortable and well chosen. This tour explored a huge no of tourist attractions along the western and southern coast of Turkey. Konya and Ankara were the ice on the already rich cake. Overall unforgetable experience!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

jemt81

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Tour was fantastic, however somewhere between Viator and the local company, they stuffed us up and did not have the correct itenerary, which would have left us stranded in Marmaris. The guide was as helpful as he could be, and eventually arranged to drive us back to Istanbul.
Other than that, the tour was great, Gallipoli and Ephesus being the highlights.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Melanie B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

The trip from Bodrum is much longer than is listed: we left at 06.00 in the morning and returned at 21.30h in the evening. The drive took up more than 5 hours to get there and 4 hours to return. At the site we didn't have enough time to visit the terraces, hierapolis and the thermal baths. We had to choose. Our guide pushed us into the baths, without any explanation about the terraces or hierapolis. We ended up visiting the terraces and saw a small part of hierapolis, since we only had 2 hours of time at the site.
Breakfast was expensive and early, somewhere around 09.00h. Lunch however was horrible: we ate at 16.00h, way to late is you haven't eaten since 09.00h. We had only 20 minutes to finish and the food was cold and had been in the trays for way to long.
Our guide was an unpleasant man who didn't speak English very well. He was rude towards his group and complained a lot about not getting tipped enough. He spoke about Istanbul for 15 minutes and then rambled on about Turkey for another 30 minutes. All of this was not relevant towards the site we were visiting. Everything I learned from hierapolis and pamukkale comes from my traveling guidebook. I don't remember anything from what he said.

I defenitly would not do this trip again, and I don't recommend any one to do so!

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message