Antalya ATTRACTIONS See all

Hierapolis & Pammukkale

Hierapolis is an ancient city of the Lycus River valley famed for its sacred hot springs. Its ruins are a popular day trip from Antalya as are the spectacular white cliffs of Pamukkale. As you near the ancient city ruins of Hierapolis, you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 94 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great mix of the historical, cultural and social. I feel like I got to see and experience a great deal of Turkey within a week. Everything was planned well. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was 1 of the best value tour I've bought on Viator.com or any other sites. My best friend and I were on this tour in May of 2015 and we both loved it. There were some minor issues but considering the value that we got for the price paid, it was an excellent deal.

The pros:
Breakfasts and dinners were included on most days - all were buffet style where after getting your food, you'll sit at 2-3 big tables and get to know your other tour members. For the most part, the food were quite good - especially the vegetarian and salad options.
There were about 20 tour members in our tour group - from all over the world - all of whom you'll get to know quite well by the tour's end.
For a medium sized tour group like ours, we had a pretty good tour guide Ahmet and an excellent driver. We toured around in a big, white, clean bus that was air-conditioned, lots of space and had free WI-FI. Yes... free wi-fi! Granted, the wi-fi can be slow and not always reliable but it was still nice to have!
At the start, you'll receive a welcome package with the schedule and other useful information. BTW, tips for the tour guide and driver are not included and so, save some Turkish Lira for their fine efforts - the welcome kit will have some suggested amount to tip.

The cons:
If you're a meat eater, the included meals might disappoint you in terms of average quality and lack of variety of meat dishes available. For us, the great vegetarian dishes more than made up for it and we didn't miss the meat dishes as much.
Although the hotels were rated 4 or 5 stars, I would say that the hotels were more like 3 to 4 stars on a scale of 1 to 5 stars. Just adjust your expectations like we did and you'll be fine too.
You're on a schedule and won't get too much time at any 1 spot. The tour guide will bring you inside all attractions and provide some background with some free time to wander around.

In summary, many historical and beautiful sites on a wonderful tour!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

When I saw the price for the tour, I said that cannot be true its probably a scam. However I booked for it and it was not a scam. I was really surprised and amazed by the tour we took during the last week of May 2015. The tour was composed of about 20 people between 17 to over 65 years old from the entire world. The bus was big so every person was able to have two seats for himself. I had the best tour guide I have ever had in my entire travelling life. She was amazing and she was very nice. Her name is Perihan aka Perri. We visited most of Turkeys wonders. She took us to other places not listed on the schedule which is nice from her. She has a lot of knowledge about Turkeys history, culture, climate, resources and religion. She knows her country very well. She answers any questions you ask her, so dont be shy to ask. She was always positive. She was adventurous because she would go everywhere despite her pregnancy. The tour was more than what I initially expected. The price was not very high for everything we did and got. The hot air balloon ride in Cappadoccia and Pamukkale are the highlights of my trip. The hotels we were in for the nights were 4 and 5 star hotels that had amazing services such as breakfast and dinner. We had long bus rides, but the bus was comfortable. The only advice I would give you is to bring a pillow with you and a small blanket in order to be fully comfortable. Finally, the price, the bus, the service, the driver, the guide and the tour is totally recommended for anyone seeking to visit the beauty of Turkey in 7 days. On a side note, the tour does not include a visit to Istanbul so you should reserve at least 2-3 days to visit it. If you have more time in Turkey, you can go to Antalya and visit its beauty such as Aspendos, Perge, Side , water falls I was in Turkey for two weeks but they were not enough.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent guide Hussein Aray. Well organised well informed. Great driver Shalid. Powered through 7 days but gained so much in our time at important cultural and historical sites. Hotels were well chosen. Lunch stops were also well chosen. So glad I did this tour.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour of Turkey. Our guide was excellent and I really feel I learned so much about the history, culture and heritage of this beautiful country. The only recommendation I would have is to have one free afternoon to chill and do some shopping at some stage, perhaps on the last day. Otherwise great and very comprehensive tour.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Time tunnel to the ancient Anatolia.. Everyting in the prescriped itineries fits nicely as scheduled. Recommended for those hunger for histories.

Doing what: 3-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Izmir: Kusadasi and Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic trip Turkey is amazing the tour was great saw more than what was on the itinerary our guide took us everywhere. Felt really safe and the people through out Turkey we really generous with their hospitality

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fabulous tour, nicely paced, good hotels and reasonable times to visit the sights. Gallipoli and Ephesus were the favourite sights

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall the tour is very good. Top quality guide service from a guide whose name is Perihan.
Thngs to improve: time allocated for us to spend at Pamukkale is too limited, should be one hour more.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This is a comprehensive trip covering a lot of the most popular sites around Western Turkey. For those with limited time, I would suggest this trip. There are a lot of older people on this tour and its not really an adventure or trekking type of vacation. The hotels are pretty good and the meals are too. I would suggest reading some books about ancient Anatolia before because there's a lot of history and it can be overwhelming.

Chagman is a good guide and knows a lot about Turkey. He is helpful and accommodating. Good value for the cost and covers a lot.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

With the exception of the 'hard sell' visits to the leather and carpet factories, this was a good tour, good value, well-chosen sights and good accommodation. The guide's English was sometimes a bit difficult to understand but he was otherwise good, and obliging.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Huseyin was a great tour guide which made the whole experience enjoyable. Good pace and coverage of the key areas. Disappointingly, our allocated hotel was switched at the last minute, and we were put up in quite a shabby hotel that was still undergoing construction.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Anne C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour and a wonderful guide, Huseyin, who went to great lengths to keep us informed and safe in the group.
However, it would have been good to have had better contact with Fez travel prior to trip for general information.
Disappointing substandard accommodations in Kusadasi at Royal Palace hotel.
Overall good value for money. Starting and end point at hotel Momento a bonus, very good location in old town with very helpful staff.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This trip was an incredible one given all of the locations visited and the price! There was so much to see and do. Our guide, Farukh, was friendly and knowledgable and the experience as a whole was lovely! :-

A few things to note-- There is a LOT of traveling involved and, although stops are made ever 2-3 hours, there is no bathroom on board the bus for emergencies. While lunch is at your own expense, and fairly cheap as well as delicious! it is still done as a communal experience and not truly on your own. The hotels may be 4 and 5 stars by Turkish standards, but not by most Western standards, and the ones chosen are often cheap, tourist hotels. There are also some out-of-place stops made where high-pressure salespeople will attempt to get you to purchase their wares. I wonder if the travel company gets a commission from the sales? Last, while I enjoyed our guide as a person, there were a lot of long-winded talks on both the bus and at each site. Then, he would often complain that we were the slowest group of the other travel companies visiting the same sites or wonder why we were all falling asleep.

All in all, a wonderful trip if you are looking to do a lot in a short amount of time! Also, please do consider doing the optional hot air balloon ride in Cappadocia! It is truly spectacular!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The air conditioning on the bus was not working .there was a burnt smell inside the bus .the guide was good .the group was ok

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This place is amazing. We were picked up from our hotel at 05.45 and returned to our hotel at 21.45. It was a very long day. Pammukkale itself was great. We had not previously been informed that there would be 2 trips to a leather and an Onyx factory. These did not add anything to the trip, in fact it made it too long. I would recommend that these be dropped. Breakfast, Lunch and afternoon stops were fine.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We saw so much. Hotels and food were all good. Leader had great inside knowledge. Driver - nerves of steel. Bus v large and comfy. Best value for money ever!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Happy with this tour. Good tour guide, sociable, acknowledged Hanuk of Fez travel.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour, the highlight being Ephesus. Well worth every penny.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour was good. We went to a lot of places. The scenery was beautiful.
The tour guide was good. The hotels were average. We had problems with the shower.
They fixed it. Too much time was spent on marketing at 3 places, carpet, leather and pottery which took up 6 hours of our time and we could have seen other places.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We took this tour in May 2015 and were overall very pleased with the experience. The hotels were nice and airport pick up and drop off was efficient and on time. We really loved Pamukkale and Cappadocia. Our hotel Sunak boutique hotel in Urgup Cappadocia was lovely while the hotel in Kusadasi was very conveniently located. The tours were informative and guides were polite. We will recommend this trip to everyone.

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Everything is good, just tired for long ride
The tour guide and driver is good. Except the driver to airport in last day, the driver is a careless driver

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent service, amazing trip and experience. Highly recommended

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Very informative tour guide. Please be aware that you will also be taken to sites where you may be pressured to purchase an item.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Fabulous sites and great guide but need better hotels and better gastronomic experiences!

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message