Antalya ATTRACTIONS See all

Hierapolis & Pammukkale

Hierapolis is an ancient city of the Lycus River valley famed for its sacred hot springs. Its ruins are a popular day trip from Antalya as are the spectacular white cliffs of Pamukkale. As you near the ancient city ruins of Hierapolis, you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was excellent - thanks to the care and services provided by our guide Kivanc and driver Wasel. This was a continuing tour with the same guide, driver and tourist group.
The tour followed the itinerary advertised and Kivanc was always accommodating to any reasonable requests made regarding extra time at various locations (but not at the expense of time being lost at the next location). Additionally, he gave us more of his own time showing us extra points of interest not on the itinerary, eg Basilica Cistern, the spice market and the Bosphorus Cruise, Whirling Dervish ceremony at Pamukkale. Lunch/snack/toilet breaks were notified well in advance, (generally every 2-2 1/2 hours).
Kivanc also organised reasonably priced flights and transfers back to Istanbul and our hotels on the final day for those not wanting to endure 9 hours in the bus (6 of us took up this offer). This flight option back to Istanbul should probably be offered as an alternative in the official tour.
Istanbul was amazing and the free day (Day 1) should probably be used for more organised guided sightseeing. One day (Day 2) was really not enough.
Checkins for all of the hotels were efficient and quick (due to Kivanc's assistance). Breakfasts and dinners (buffet dinners) all provided were all satisfactory. Accommodation in Istanbul (Hotel Momento), Kusadasi and Pamukkale were all good, but the accommodation in Canakkale was ordinary (a nice lobby and dining area but basic old rooms - at least they were clean).
In summary - all of the sights in the itinerary were well covered in the tour. For us the highlights were the guide and driver and the group of people we travelled with all bonded to ensure a great tour. Kivanc also advised us on reasonable prices for purchases (leather, carpets and Silk Bazaar).
Turkey is an amazing place with many wonderful sights and the tour organised through the local tour company was flawless. We highly recommend this tour.
Brian and Mary - Melbourne Australia

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Travel with fez travel. Wonderful trip. Local hotels are snobbish, though, charge $5 for each device for wifi usage.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

I was very disappointed with this tour. I was not contacted prior to arrival to coordinate a pick up location or time. I reached out to the local tour company's phone # multiple times before excursion start and the line was always busy or no answer. If I did not need a local hotel pick up, the Bodrum meet up location was never communicated. As a traveler, tour companies should make this process less painful.

At the end of the tour, we were taken on a 90 minute leather fashion show attempting to sell us overpriced goods. We were held up waiting for the polish tour guide to buy goods. I found this to be completely unprofessional. This stop was not part of the tour we signed up for and a complete waste of our time.

I have been a loyal, repeat viator customer on excursions around the world and have never encountered such poor service.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Hotel in Istanbul was an issue. We paid for Momento, a four star property. We only stayed at Momento the first night. We were moved to a two star property, Baron, for the next night. Why were we subjected to this and not the new guests? While the hotel staff was 'nice at Momento', and physically moved our bags, no one at Fez tours, the guide or the initial person that came to greet us did anything to help the situation. This was most inconvenient and avoidable.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide, Ilker, was THE BEST guide we have ever experienced. He was skilled at making the stones of the monuments and temples come alive with history. He connected with the tour goers on a caring and personal level. What a gem! Ahmet our driver was invincible. One suggestion: drive through Pamukkale and on to Bursa. We needed more time to enjoy that lovely city. The Five Star hotel in Pamukkale was very disappointing.

Please don't miss Pergamum, Troy, and Ephesus. These were wonderful sites to visit! Thank you again Ilker!! - Inez and Jean

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable. Particularly liked Ephusus, Pamukkale and Bursa. Would have liked a full day exploring Pamukkale and more time in Bursa. Would benefit from better explanation and more detailed itinerary. Guide and driver particularly personable. Accommodation was all good and optional extras were highlights

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous, fabulous value for money, we would highly recommend this tour to anyone. It was jammed packed with site visits. The length of time spent at each site was enough. Our tour guide was a real character as well as being very informative - an added bonus. Typical of Turkish tours, the tour included several visits to shopping venues, some of which for us were tiresome. We had wished t times we could have spent the time at the historical sites but realize some of the others on the tour like these sorts of things. Overall the site visits and shopping stops were reasonably balanced.

I have used Viator in the past and have been generally pleased with the service. This tour included travelers who booked through various agencies. Most had a detailed itinerary (14+ pages) and were disappointed that Viator hadn't provided this to us. However this is not in the least to diminish the experience of the tour in itself.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fantastic tour. We got to see much more than we would have if we had done the trip independently. We had a good size group (23) and our guide Metin had excellent knowledge of the history of Turkey. Highly recommended if you have one week in Turkey and are looking to get a feel for the country and its history.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great value for money, i recommend this tour to everyone who wants to see the best of Turkey, just like it promises.
Our first guide was very professional, had a great sense of humor and a lot of information about the historical sites.
Our driver was very friendly and managed to get us everywhere without problems or stress.
The hotels that were included, were very nice and adequate, thumbs up for the Colossae Thermal Hotel in Pammukkale ( excellent ) and thumbs down for the Marina Hotel in Kusadasi ( first our room was already booked, then the keycard did not work for our next room and then i had to call reception 3 times to get the ac working in the room ).
We joined a second group, traveling from Pamukkale, Bursa back to Istanbul and although we were together for only a short period, this was also a very positive experience.
Our second guide arranged a dervish show and the restaurant she showed us the next afternoon served the best turkish style kebab i ever had.
The weather was great and very high temperatures from time to time, so sunscreen and head gear are no unnecessary luxury.
When you book this tour, be prepared to get up early and to travel long distances by minivan.
The earliest we had to wake up was 5.30 am and the travel from Pamukkale to Istanbul took 10 hours.
Recommended !

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Because of the distances between historical sites, it meant enduring long hours on the bus, which was no fault of Viator. Unfortunately our guide was quite difficult to understand and hear at times when at various sites, where a personal microphone may have improved the situation.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Tour was great, amazing sights, informative guide who let us have free to time to explore ourselves too. A lot of driving in the coach but it is a big country so that's inevitable. Hotels were all very high standard with a pool, hot tub etc.

However next time I would recommend going directly to the local company (here Fez Travel). Viator were awful to deal with on the phone. We had to call back several days in a row because no one was able to contact the local office/ didn't know how to, requiring us to explain ourselves to 4 different people. We were left for long periods on hold and one occasion just cut off after 20 minutes. If you want to book with Viator just do it through the website, don't bother with the phone support.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

izzi
Saudi Arabia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

We only saw Pamukalle but ALL the pools were dry, and there was a water hose filling up a small area, unlike what is advertised about the location. The tour guide spoke poor English (when he did) and spoke mostly in Italian. The lunch was horrible. Anything else was alright.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Not a great tour. When we were collected from our hotel in the morning we were not told anything about the schedule or even that we were being taken to a different location to join a much larger group before continuing on to Pamukkale. Additionally the tour guide couldnt give us any more information than I had already read in the guide books beforehand and although not mentioned in the tour particulars, we were taken to a leather store and forced to sit and watch a fashion show then listen to the sales peoples hard sell. I would have much rather have spent that additional time at Pamukkale as opposed to in a store. Lastly he bus broke down twice, on our way to the site and then on the way back meaning that we didn't arrive back to our hotel until midnight. Interestingly enough our guide thought it was still appropriate to remind us to provide a tip..... If you're thinking of booking this tour I suggest you keep looking for a better tour company.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Our experience of the tour was not very pleasent. The tour bus broken down quite a few times both ways while coming and going.Due to this a lot of our time got wasted. We missed our dinner and show at the hotel that we pre-paid for. we reached the hotel quite late aound 12:15 pm instead of 8 / 9 pm. Also the shuttle bus that was supposed to drop us back to the hotel told us because the bus was big so it cant go down to our hotel and hence dropped us way away from our hotel Royal Arena near ghumbet. We had to then take a taxi back to the hotel and also had to seperately spend for our dinner even though we already prepaid for it at our hotel, because we were late. It caused us sheer inconvenience.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message