Antalya ATTRACTIONS See all

Hierapolis & Pammukkale

Hierapolis is an ancient city of the Lycus River valley famed for its sacred hot springs. Its ruins are a popular day trip from Antalya as are the spectacular white cliffs of Pamukkale. As you near the ancient city ruins of Hierapolis, you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great value tour which was organised very well. Hotel pick up and drop off was done smoothly with mini buses taking us to the main coach. We got sufficient time to look around by ourselves in tourist areas and were explained main aspects by the tour guide. We had regular stops every 3 hours or so to use restrooms and stop at convenience stores to buy water/snacks. The lunch stops we had were all affordable and decent food. The hotels were all really good however in one we did have to pay a small fee for wifi but other than that they were all good quality hotels. One thing to note is that drinks at these hotels to have with dinner can be a little pricey but that is expected with buffet style dinners. There was plenty of choice for dinners, a lot of salad options and a good selection of vegetarian and meat dishes.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Had a guide that new everything there was to know about Ancient Turkey. He also looked identical to Jerramy Clarkson. It was a small group tour and were we surprised about the quality of the hotels we stayed in! Beautiful. All meals were buffay and included in the price.
If you are looking to party this is not the tour for you. However if you love history and want to see different ages of Turkey then its for you. Thanks for everything I will never forget my time in Turkey.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Tour was fantastic, however somewhere between Viator and the local company, they stuffed us up and did not have the correct itenerary, which would have left us stranded in Marmaris. The guide was as helpful as he could be, and eventually arranged to drive us back to Istanbul.
Other than that, the tour was great, Gallipoli and Ephesus being the highlights.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

The trip from Bodrum is much longer than is listed: we left at 06.00 in the morning and returned at 21.30h in the evening. The drive took up more than 5 hours to get there and 4 hours to return. At the site we didn't have enough time to visit the terraces, hierapolis and the thermal baths. We had to choose. Our guide pushed us into the baths, without any explanation about the terraces or hierapolis. We ended up visiting the terraces and saw a small part of hierapolis, since we only had 2 hours of time at the site.
Breakfast was expensive and early, somewhere around 09.00h. Lunch however was horrible: we ate at 16.00h, way to late is you haven't eaten since 09.00h. We had only 20 minutes to finish and the food was cold and had been in the trays for way to long.
Our guide was an unpleasant man who didn't speak English very well. He was rude towards his group and complained a lot about not getting tipped enough. He spoke about Istanbul for 15 minutes and then rambled on about Turkey for another 30 minutes. All of this was not relevant towards the site we were visiting. Everything I learned from hierapolis and pamukkale comes from my traveling guidebook. I don't remember anything from what he said.

I defenitly would not do this trip again, and I don't recommend any one to do so!

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was absolutely incredible! Definitely recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything things was great, loved the tour and our guide was amazing. Only thing I would have to mention is the supposed 5 star hotel was my least favourite. there was only one entrance to the hotel which was the front door, all other doors didnt have any handles. It wasnt airconditioned. The prices of drinks there were much more than what wed been paying at other places. I enjoyed the other hotels alot more and would rate them better.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was operated by a big reputable Turkish Tour company. Our guide Can was excellent, his knowledge and enthusiasm was outstanding, he had so much information on every site we visited that it saved me hours and hours of research. The driver was also excellent, very safe and polite. The sites were all the big sites I wanted to see, we were delivered to the doorstop, tickets were pre-purchased, no waiting. The accommodation varied from good to terrible. The Iris was adequate, the Marina in Kusadasi was good, the Colossale in Pamukkale was old and tired and too far out of town and the BurcuKaya in Cappadocia was not a bad hotel but we got the worst rooms there. Dirty, dark, small, not acceptable. The buffet breakfasts and dinners were adequate, the lunches at the rest stops were better, fresh local, well priced lunches with clean toilets. My one criticism of the tour was the HARD SELL stops we had. The carpet tour was interesting but incredibly Hard Sell, the Leather tour was long, a waste of valuable time and Hard Sell of extremely overpriced coats, the wine tasting was OK, not too long, the ceramics show was another very overpriced Hard Sell as was the turquoise showroom. Fez travel must be getting some serious kickbacks from these places. Overall the tour was enjoyable and informative, as a single woman travelling on my own it was fantastic and safe. I would highly recommend the tour and thought it was good value.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A great tour if you want to see some of the sights of Western Turkey with the convenience of starting and ending in Istanbul and without having to fly. Our guide was very helpful whilst still giving us plenty of space and free time, he seemed genuinely interested to tell us about the history and politics of Turkey and clearly very proud of his country which made all the sites very interesting. Highlights were the carpet co-operative, Ephesus and Pergamum with the only lowlight the fashion show at the leather factory which just wasn't appropriate for our group. The hotels and facilities on the bus were excellent and Turkey in general felt very safe and comfortable for a single female traveller.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great mix of the historical, cultural and social. I feel like I got to see and experience a great deal of Turkey within a week. Everything was planned well. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was 1 of the best value tour I've bought on Viator.com or any other sites. My best friend and I were on this tour in May of 2015 and we both loved it. There were some minor issues but considering the value that we got for the price paid, it was an excellent deal.

The pros:
Breakfasts and dinners were included on most days - all were buffet style where after getting your food, you'll sit at 2-3 big tables and get to know your other tour members. For the most part, the food were quite good - especially the vegetarian and salad options.
There were about 20 tour members in our tour group - from all over the world - all of whom you'll get to know quite well by the tour's end.
For a medium sized tour group like ours, we had a pretty good tour guide Ahmet and an excellent driver. We toured around in a big, white, clean bus that was air-conditioned, lots of space and had free WI-FI. Yes... free wi-fi! Granted, the wi-fi can be slow and not always reliable but it was still nice to have!
At the start, you'll receive a welcome package with the schedule and other useful information. BTW, tips for the tour guide and driver are not included and so, save some Turkish Lira for their fine efforts - the welcome kit will have some suggested amount to tip.

The cons:
If you're a meat eater, the included meals might disappoint you in terms of average quality and lack of variety of meat dishes available. For us, the great vegetarian dishes more than made up for it and we didn't miss the meat dishes as much.
Although the hotels were rated 4 or 5 stars, I would say that the hotels were more like 3 to 4 stars on a scale of 1 to 5 stars. Just adjust your expectations like we did and you'll be fine too.
You're on a schedule and won't get too much time at any 1 spot. The tour guide will bring you inside all attractions and provide some background with some free time to wander around.

In summary, many historical and beautiful sites on a wonderful tour!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

When I saw the price for the tour, I said that cannot be true its probably a scam. However I booked for it and it was not a scam. I was really surprised and amazed by the tour we took during the last week of May 2015. The tour was composed of about 20 people between 17 to over 65 years old from the entire world. The bus was big so every person was able to have two seats for himself. I had the best tour guide I have ever had in my entire travelling life. She was amazing and she was very nice. Her name is Perihan aka Perri. We visited most of Turkeys wonders. She took us to other places not listed on the schedule which is nice from her. She has a lot of knowledge about Turkeys history, culture, climate, resources and religion. She knows her country very well. She answers any questions you ask her, so dont be shy to ask. She was always positive. She was adventurous because she would go everywhere despite her pregnancy. The tour was more than what I initially expected. The price was not very high for everything we did and got. The hot air balloon ride in Cappadoccia and Pamukkale are the highlights of my trip. The hotels we were in for the nights were 4 and 5 star hotels that had amazing services such as breakfast and dinner. We had long bus rides, but the bus was comfortable. The only advice I would give you is to bring a pillow with you and a small blanket in order to be fully comfortable. Finally, the price, the bus, the service, the driver, the guide and the tour is totally recommended for anyone seeking to visit the beauty of Turkey in 7 days. On a side note, the tour does not include a visit to Istanbul so you should reserve at least 2-3 days to visit it. If you have more time in Turkey, you can go to Antalya and visit its beauty such as Aspendos, Perge, Side , water falls I was in Turkey for two weeks but they were not enough.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent guide Hussein Aray. Well organised well informed. Great driver Shalid. Powered through 7 days but gained so much in our time at important cultural and historical sites. Hotels were well chosen. Lunch stops were also well chosen. So glad I did this tour.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour of Turkey. Our guide was excellent and I really feel I learned so much about the history, culture and heritage of this beautiful country. The only recommendation I would have is to have one free afternoon to chill and do some shopping at some stage, perhaps on the last day. Otherwise great and very comprehensive tour.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Time tunnel to the ancient Anatolia.. Everyting in the prescriped itineries fits nicely as scheduled. Recommended for those hunger for histories.

Doing what: 3-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Izmir: Kusadasi and Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic trip Turkey is amazing the tour was great saw more than what was on the itinerary our guide took us everywhere. Felt really safe and the people through out Turkey we really generous with their hospitality

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fabulous tour, nicely paced, good hotels and reasonable times to visit the sights. Gallipoli and Ephesus were the favourite sights

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall the tour is very good. Top quality guide service from a guide whose name is Perihan.
Thngs to improve: time allocated for us to spend at Pamukkale is too limited, should be one hour more.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This is a comprehensive trip covering a lot of the most popular sites around Western Turkey. For those with limited time, I would suggest this trip. There are a lot of older people on this tour and its not really an adventure or trekking type of vacation. The hotels are pretty good and the meals are too. I would suggest reading some books about ancient Anatolia before because there's a lot of history and it can be overwhelming.

Chagman is a good guide and knows a lot about Turkey. He is helpful and accommodating. Good value for the cost and covers a lot.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

With the exception of the 'hard sell' visits to the leather and carpet factories, this was a good tour, good value, well-chosen sights and good accommodation. The guide's English was sometimes a bit difficult to understand but he was otherwise good, and obliging.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Huseyin was a great tour guide which made the whole experience enjoyable. Good pace and coverage of the key areas. Disappointingly, our allocated hotel was switched at the last minute, and we were put up in quite a shabby hotel that was still undergoing construction.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Anne C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour and a wonderful guide, Huseyin, who went to great lengths to keep us informed and safe in the group.
However, it would have been good to have had better contact with Fez travel prior to trip for general information.
Disappointing substandard accommodations in Kusadasi at Royal Palace hotel.
Overall good value for money. Starting and end point at hotel Momento a bonus, very good location in old town with very helpful staff.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This trip was an incredible one given all of the locations visited and the price! There was so much to see and do. Our guide, Farukh, was friendly and knowledgable and the experience as a whole was lovely! :-

A few things to note-- There is a LOT of traveling involved and, although stops are made ever 2-3 hours, there is no bathroom on board the bus for emergencies. While lunch is at your own expense, and fairly cheap as well as delicious! it is still done as a communal experience and not truly on your own. The hotels may be 4 and 5 stars by Turkish standards, but not by most Western standards, and the ones chosen are often cheap, tourist hotels. There are also some out-of-place stops made where high-pressure salespeople will attempt to get you to purchase their wares. I wonder if the travel company gets a commission from the sales? Last, while I enjoyed our guide as a person, there were a lot of long-winded talks on both the bus and at each site. Then, he would often complain that we were the slowest group of the other travel companies visiting the same sites or wonder why we were all falling asleep.

All in all, a wonderful trip if you are looking to do a lot in a short amount of time! Also, please do consider doing the optional hot air balloon ride in Cappadocia! It is truly spectacular!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The air conditioning on the bus was not working .there was a burnt smell inside the bus .the guide was good .the group was ok

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This place is amazing. We were picked up from our hotel at 05.45 and returned to our hotel at 21.45. It was a very long day. Pammukkale itself was great. We had not previously been informed that there would be 2 trips to a leather and an Onyx factory. These did not add anything to the trip, in fact it made it too long. I would recommend that these be dropped. Breakfast, Lunch and afternoon stops were fine.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We saw so much. Hotels and food were all good. Leader had great inside knowledge. Driver - nerves of steel. Bus v large and comfy. Best value for money ever!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message