Antalya ATTRACTIONS See all

Hierapolis & Pammukkale

Hierapolis is an ancient city of the Lycus River valley famed for its sacred hot springs. Its ruins are a popular day trip from Antalya as are the spectacular white cliffs of Pamukkale. As you near the ancient city ruins of Hierapolis, you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 55 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Not a great tour. When we were collected from our hotel in the morning we were not told anything about the schedule or even that we were being taken to a different location to join a much larger group before continuing on to Pamukkale. Additionally the tour guide couldnt give us any more information than I had already read in the guide books beforehand and although not mentioned in the tour particulars, we were taken to a leather store and forced to sit and watch a fashion show then listen to the sales peoples hard sell. I would have much rather have spent that additional time at Pamukkale as opposed to in a store. Lastly he bus broke down twice, on our way to the site and then on the way back meaning that we didn't arrive back to our hotel until midnight. Interestingly enough our guide thought it was still appropriate to remind us to provide a tip..... If you're thinking of booking this tour I suggest you keep looking for a better tour company.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

The sights were amazing! I just wish we did them on our own. The tour guide did the absolute minimum and complained most of the time. For example, when we did not wish to stop at the buffet on the side of the road for lunch he became grumpy and angry. I heard him sigh more than speak over the microphone. He lied to us on a number of occasions. I feel ripped off and I will never recommend this particular "tour guide" to anyone.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Tour from Kusadasi: Istanbul, Pamukkale, Ankara, Cappadocia and Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide and driver were professional and friendly. Hotels and food great. The sites were wonderful, great info from the guide , though we would have rather had another hour at Ephesus than endure the leather fashion parade! The carpet place in contrast was great. ( By the way your photo shop picture is a bit misleading to the novice!)
The hotel pick up was great service. You should let people know how good the hotel facilities are, pool, laundry, bars and belly dancing!
We took our 2 teenage boys and they were well accommodated and included by the guide in discussions and socially, they really enjoyed it,

The perfect whirlwind taster tour of Turkey, maybe a longer trip with you next year!

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful time. The great experience started when we booked the trip - the Viator staff were very helpful on the phone, and even helped us get in contact with the tour operator in Istanbul late on a Sunday afternoon. The tour group was small and the service was very personal. The accommodations were great and we only spent one night in a "tourist mill" hotel; every other hotel was charming. Our tour guide picked great places for us to sample local cuisine each day at lunch. I honestly can't say enough good things about the tour. We will ABSOLUTELY use Viator in the future.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

First personal experience in Turkey, discovering Ephesus and scenic Cappadocia. Hotels were excellent and the 2 guides, one in Kusadasi and one around Cappadocia had a good level of English and local knowledge. This was a great way to see major attractions in Turkey in a short time.

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Trip well thought of and very well organized, from the transportation to the hotels and up to the cultural aspect. From the Turkey of older times (roman sites and ottoman attractions), to today with its natural parks and inhabitants, this trip allowed me to discover unique scenery like Ephesus, Pamukkale pools, Hierapolis, the extraordinary chimneys of Goreme and Cappadoce, troglodyte villages...

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

6 days very well done, each new day as full as the previous ones! All very diverse and interesting. The first day at Ephesus was tough though, mostly due to a very hot weather. All hotels were very comfortable, all transfers between hotels, airports and guided visits were very well organized. The guides were well served into their topics, very friendly and patient. The visit to Pamukkale with its huge white and turquoise pools was amazing, Cappadocia was incredible and was everything I had read and saw in movies - the fairy chimneys, the troglodyte villages, the numerous churches carved into the rocks, underground city, and more!

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great trip experience, well organized, from pickups to guides to selection of hotels. It was the best way to see so much in a short period of time, and we had a blast. Ephesus was a great introduction to Roman time, and Pamukkale impressive by its travertine turquoise pools but also by the size of the site - try picturing it when all buildings were up, it must have been gigantic! Cappadocia was must-see and am glad we spent several days there - definitely worth it. The hike around Red / Pink Valleys was a nice surprise and is very easy. You have a couple of up and down, but nothing hard, and we took our time to get there. My father-in-law was very glad he did it. The most surprising though were all these churches carved in the rock formation, and we were amazed by the beautiful and vivid painting we saw - some very basic, and some as beautiful as some you would see in middle age painting in Europe. The Open Museum in Goreme hosts some of the most amazing ones - don't miss the Dark Church! A top notch tour, totally recommended to get a great view of Turkey!

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

first day is spent at the hotel provided using the pool and discovering kusadasi. second day you visit all the places mentioned, third day you are sent back to izmir. the third day doesnt really count, so its a 2 day tour because on the third day you are collected from the hotel at 10 am and sent back to izmir by 12pm.

Doing what: 3-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Izmir: Kusadasi and Ephesus

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The day excursions were well organized and the guides were very kind and prepared. Every site that we visited was amazing. The hotel in Kusadasi and in Cappadocia were both very beatiful and much more than we expected.
We are very satisfied of the tour, but there are few the things that we did not like:
- we had to take 2 flights to go from Izmir to Cappadocia instead of taking the direct one that was at the same time (6.25 am).
- we were not advised that we should take all the flights by ourselves (which is not a problem) but did not either have electronical tickets for no one flight (totally 2).
- the tour, especially for Cappadocia, has not been precisely followed as written here in the website. We think that maybe, once booked the tour, the local travel agency should be more in contact with us and send us a detailed program few days before the departure. Every day we were not sure of what would have happened the day after, and this was not only for us but also for the people that we meet during the trip.
Hope this suggestions could be helpful to improve the organization of the tour! ;)

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was fantastic and it was a history buffs dream come true. Our guide Hassan was really informative and helpful and Turkey is now in our hearts and we cannot wait to return. Everyone should go to Turkey and this is a great introductory tour

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Fine otherwise except for hotel standards of IRIS. Rooms and everything in Momento Hotel r small, tight, and just thrust in. Being asked to pay for water even during B/L/D is shattering in all the hotels.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Awesome trip. My guide Gizem aka gizmo, was really smart and well spoken. My driver was very funny as well. Great sights and a cool tour guide. Need I say more?

Doing what: 4-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Kusadasi: Pamukkale, Ephesus and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Had a good time on this trip and getting a chance to experience some of the Turkish culture, food, Istanbul and its car drivers and people. Everything went smoothly.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message