Antigua ATTRACTIONS See all

Cathedral of San Francisco (Iglesia de San Francisco)

Originally constructed in the 1500s, Iglesia de San Francisco, today, has mostly been reconstructed, thanks to age and earthquake damage. However, that's not the draw to this attraction. Both locals and visitors come to this old, baroque church to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We just got back from our trip and it was excellent, whoever organized and designed this trip did an excellent job, we got to see some of the most beautiful places in the country. When I first found this trip I was a little nervous because Viator doesn't have the best reviews so I did my research, called them a couple times to understand everything, and once I booked it I contacted the tour guides in Guatemala to be sure everything was arranged as planned and it was, everything went just as planned and we couldn't be happier. The hotels were way beyond what we expected, they were beautiful, romantic, had good food and great service. The tours were wonderful, we saw amazing things way beyond our imagination and it was nice not to have to worry about transportation. Our guides were wonderful, the one we had the most in Antigua was always on time, had a great personality, and was easy to work with. My only disappointment was the day in Tikal, it just wasn't enough time to explore and our guide talked way too much, he would stop us and give us a 5-10 minute lecture and then breeze by the structures when all I really wanted to do was see and explore as much as I could, I didn't want to feel like I was in school, so that was my only complaint. If you are interested in visiting Guatemala definitely book this trip, it was well worth it!!!

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

An easy drive from Guatemala City. Interesting historic town but watch out for the very uneven cobble-stone streets and pavements. Be prepared for a lot of walking. The views from Cerro de la Cruz are lovely. The coffee museum is interesting. In their gift shop they sell a coffee liquore - it is really good. A lot of choice in handicrafts. Of course do bargain. Our guide, Armando, knows the town and its history very well and kept us engaged and interested throughout. Overall a nice trip but the walking over the cobbled stones really tired us out. The tour part as organized by Viator was good.

Doing what: Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very interesting tour made even more enjoyable by the very knowledgeable driver/guide. He patiently answered all the questions we posed and never once did he rush us through the tour. Well done Belisario!

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very interesting tour made even more enjoyable by the very knowledgeable driver/guide. He patiently answered all the questions we posed and never once did he rush us through the tour. Well done Belisario!

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Interesting tour. Lunch was good despite the appearance of it. Our tour guide Armando was deaf and did not fully understand English so none of our questions were fully answered. Wish we had a different tour guide.

Doing what: Antigua City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Having had a previous positive experience using Viator, I booked the day tour of Antiqua and could not have been more pleased. Our guide, Mirko, was fabulous. The tour provided an invaluable orientation to the history and sites of this amazing city.

Doing what: Antigua City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The itinerary is well designed. Every place is worth visiting. All the drivers and guilds always showed up on time. We didn't feel unsafe at all throughout the trip. Camino Real Antigua and Hotel Atitlan are very good accommodation choices. But there are some problems with their trip quality assurance:
1) Our guide didn't take us to Santo Domingo Monastery in Antigua. We spent more time in Azotea Coffee Farm watching video.
2) Our guide didn't take us to Santiago de Atitlan. He took us to Santa Catarina and Santa Antonio.
3) Our guide didn't take to Iximché.
4) Our local guide at Tikal explained a lot about other acropolis, temples...but didn't explain anything at the most seen Grand Plaza.
5) Hotel Peten Esplendido was not as nice as other accommodations.
6) Not agency's issue...it's a nice hike onto the top of Pacaya Volcano, but we didn't get to see any lava flowing.

And I want to say our local guide at Yaxha did a great job. Too bad I forgot his name.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

This tour was a big disappointment. I have seen the ruins of Mexico including the Sun and Moon pyramids, Palenque, Uxma and Chitza-Itza. Those ruins are fairly well preserved and restored, many with some of the original colorings and reliefs intact. Tikal was ok, but had none of the original colors and reliefs. Our guide there spoke great English but he didn't tell us anything about the traditions and rituals of the Mayan people who lived there. Yaxha was not interesting and Ixhimche wasn't worth going to at all. The only thing I enjoyed was our hotel in Antigua, its proximity to the market place, the boat ride across the lake and the Pacaya Volcano. Our tour guide that we had for the first 4 days was only 50% intelligible. We had to work very hard to understand him, unfortunately. I have taken many trips and have never felt like I wasted my money until now. It just was not worth the cost.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very nice trip with stop in local coffee-plantage. Same nice guide as in Copan.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

It was a wonderful day. The guide was so sweet :)

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Beautiful city, a must see. Coffee plantation is also very interesting and informative.

Doing what: Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

the ruims were excellent guided and explained ,the antigua city tourhowever went completely in the mist

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

very pleasant and professional staff,the day was perfect
l

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message