• USD ($)
  • English

Antigua ATTRACTIONS See all

Cathedral of San Francisco (Iglesia de San Francisco)

Originally constructed in the 1500s, Iglesia de San Francisco, today, has mostly been reconstructed, thanks to age and earthquake damage. However, that's not the draw to this attraction. Both locals and visitors come to this old, baroque church to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Having had a previous positive experience using Viator, I booked the day tour of Antiqua and could not have been more pleased. Our guide, Mirko, was fabulous. The tour provided an invaluable orientation to the history and sites of this amazing city.

Doing what: Antigua City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The itinerary is well designed. Every place is worth visiting. All the drivers and guilds always showed up on time. We didn't feel unsafe at all throughout the trip. Camino Real Antigua and Hotel Atitlan are very good accommodation choices. But there are some problems with their trip quality assurance:
1) Our guide didn't take us to Santo Domingo Monastery in Antigua. We spent more time in Azotea Coffee Farm watching video.
2) Our guide didn't take us to Santiago de Atitlan. He took us to Santa Catarina and Santa Antonio.
3) Our guide didn't take to Iximché.
4) Our local guide at Tikal explained a lot about other acropolis, temples...but didn't explain anything at the most seen Grand Plaza.
5) Hotel Peten Esplendido was not as nice as other accommodations.
6) Not agency's issue...it's a nice hike onto the top of Pacaya Volcano, but we didn't get to see any lava flowing.

And I want to say our local guide at Yaxha did a great job. Too bad I forgot his name.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

This tour was a big disappointment. I have seen the ruins of Mexico including the Sun and Moon pyramids, Palenque, Uxma and Chitza-Itza. Those ruins are fairly well preserved and restored, many with some of the original colorings and reliefs intact. Tikal was ok, but had none of the original colors and reliefs. Our guide there spoke great English but he didn't tell us anything about the traditions and rituals of the Mayan people who lived there. Yaxha was not interesting and Ixhimche wasn't worth going to at all. The only thing I enjoyed was our hotel in Antigua, its proximity to the market place, the boat ride across the lake and the Pacaya Volcano. Our tour guide that we had for the first 4 days was only 50% intelligible. We had to work very hard to understand him, unfortunately. I have taken many trips and have never felt like I wasted my money until now. It just was not worth the cost.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very nice trip with stop in local coffee-plantage. Same nice guide as in Copan.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

It was a wonderful day. The guide was so sweet :)

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Beautiful city, a must see. Coffee plantation is also very interesting and informative.

Doing what: Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

the ruims were excellent guided and explained ,the antigua city tourhowever went completely in the mist

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

very pleasant and professional staff,the day was perfect
l

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message