The most popular tourist city in Guatemala, Antigua is not only a great place to explore itself, but also provides a fantastic jumping off point for plenty of historic and cultural attractions outside its borders. From touring historic sites and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

beautiful...saw so many animals...birds, snakes, army ants, monkeys, royal rats, tarantula, racoons native to the area. Temples are awesome. Rich in culture and history. Our guide was great, spoke English very very well and was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful day with Mike our tour guide. He took us to Chichicastenago first where we toured the town and the large market on a Sunday. Mike lead us through the very large crowded market and gave us a few tips on what items should sell for. Then he gave us some time to shop. Next we went to Panajachel for a late lunch and had fresh black sea bass. Then we explored the town, and went back to Antiqua with our treasures from the markets. Mike was an excellent guide with extensive knowledge of Guatamala and was an excellent driver.

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

beautiful scenery. Boat ride is about 45 mins each way and relaxing if you have been on the go-go-go. The trip to the Mayan village is ok. Just like anywhere else, the same souveniers and gifts are repetitve in nature. Really nothing else to do there except for browsing and maybe have a cup of coffee.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was wonderful with all of the knowledge about Guatemala. I learned so much that I would never had learned had we been on our own. Lake Atilan is absolutely gorgeous.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The hike was very physical so we ended up renting a horse to make the trip which made for a fun rest of the way. The guides were fun and very knowledgeable .

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The guide was very nice and made sure we had a great time. It rained for part of the trip but we made the best of it. The restaurant where we stopped at was the best ! It overlooked the lake. It was gorgeous.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It's a 3 hr drive to the towns. The roads are windy and long, if you get car sick

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Interesting tour. Lunch was good despite the appearance of it. Our tour guide Armando was deaf and did not fully understand English so none of our questions were fully answered. Wish we had a different tour guide.

Doing what: Antigua City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Brilliant - a really amazing day which exceeded my expectations. Everything went according to plan - really great guide and no delays. Definitely great value.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our trip was awesome! The tour was outstanding. Logistics upon arrival and at every single venue were spot on so we had the confidence of being cared for along the way to and from Antigua, the airport, the parks, and the hotel. Erdo, our guide simply made the trip! He was patient, informed, flexible to our needs, explained the Mayan history and culture with knowledge and pride, spoke English well, and was additionally an expert on birds, animals, and trees. To say the least, we learned a lot from Erdo.
Our night at the hotel Camino Real was great. We sampled the buffet of Guatemalan tipicos dishes and enjoyed the balmy night air along with the sounds of the woodlands around us.
As a frequent visitor to Guatemala, amid all the concerns regarding safety, I must say we never once felt any concern. This is in large part due to the confidence we had in the tight logistics. Someone always knew right where we were, and the arrangements were always in place: To pay the park fee, at our lunch stops, at the hotel reception, the early morning pickups. It means a lot to the traveler who may have heard of the safety concerns to have this kind of coordination. We were able to spend 100% of our time "taking it all in". I would say that a person looking for the jungle experience, needs to understand this is not Manhattan! Come prepared to walk, climb, and enjoy in "Guatemalan Time"! Many thanks to Viator for a spectacular experience!

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Having had a previous positive experience using Viator, I booked the day tour of Antiqua and could not have been more pleased. Our guide, Mirko, was fabulous. The tour provided an invaluable orientation to the history and sites of this amazing city.

Doing what: Antigua City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very physical, but worth it!!

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed the trip. Our tour guide "Henry" was cordial and informational. We were pleasantly surprised with the complimentary lunch. The guide gave us enough time to explore by ourselves. The pickup and drop were properly coordinated and executed. On the whole, I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour guide was very helpful and informative. We enjoyed our time on the Lake.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was an excellent tour,led by our English speaking guide, Miguel. His knowledge of the Mayan culture, history and archeology was immense. It did rain for almost the entire time, but somehow that didn't matter much to me. They sold cheap rain ponchos at the entry way to Tikal (20 Q). It is highly likely that I will return someday for a longer tour, and perhaps stay in Flores for several days, rather than try to squeeze it into one day. This was spectacular.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message