The most popular tourist city in Guatemala, Antigua is not only a great place to explore itself, but also provides a fantastic jumping off point for plenty of historic and cultural attractions outside its borders. From touring historic sites and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Nice tour, our guide was very nice. He did the best he could with what there was to see. He was very informative.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I had a fabulous day trip to Lake Atitlan and Santiago de Atitlan. The guide was extremely knowledgeable, solicitous, and went out of his way took extra time to stop in the leather-making village just north of Antigua on the way back. A great day - thank you!

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide, Carlos, was very knowledgeable not only about the ruins, but the Mayan medicines growing in the surrounding jungle.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour was great and all the staff that we worked with were very helpful. I have only two complaints:

1. There was a long rest stop at a gift shop on the trip between the airport at Flores and Tikal National Park. We were there for at least thirty minutes. It felt like a huge waste of time.

2. The return flight from Flores to Guatemala City was delayed by 1.5 hours. The staff at the airport did not communicate this delay at all and offered no compensation.

Otherwise, the national park itself and the tour were great.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome trip. A must do.
If you are staying in Antigua don't even think of driving or ride a bus.
A friend of ours did this trip a felt very sorry of his option.
The roads are narrow and not much safe and it is, at list, a 7 to 10 hours journey (one direction).
A little confusion at Tikal arrival airport and some delay, but all in all, everything went easy and smooth.
The guide (Vinicius) was nice, hellpfull and provided all the information we wanted to know.
The lunch is good and you can choose your prefered meal between meat, pasta, chicken or vegetarian.
Tikal is a awesome place. We couldn't be more amazed.
Recommended A+++

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour. We had a terrific guide and enjoyed a delicious lunch among the jungles of Tikal. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour makes for a long day, but is so worth it. Our guide, Erdo, was super knowledgeable about Mayan history as well as the flora/fauna of the jungle. The day was well-paced, the group was a great size, and it was a great way to spend my birthday. Lunch was great too.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our guide Michelangelo was VERY knowledgeable and an absolute delight to spend the day with. He took great care of us, taught us a lot about the area, and left us wanting to book a longer stay at Lake Atitlan.

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great climb. Very knowledgable guide and quite interesting. Would have like to get closer to the top, but doesn;t seem practical.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very complete and enjoyable day. 2 hours each way from Antigua, but worth the drive. We had a very knowledgable and pleasant tour guide. We had a chance to see the lake and enjoyed the shops and other sights in Santiago.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great trip up the volcano. Our local guide knew only a small amount of English but had a good sense and made it fun.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

What a disaster. Victor should be ashamed to subcontract a company like this.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

beautiful...saw so many animals...birds, snakes, army ants, monkeys, royal rats, tarantula, racoons native to the area. Temples are awesome. Rich in culture and history. Our guide was great, spoke English very very well and was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful day with Mike our tour guide. He took us to Chichicastenago first where we toured the town and the large market on a Sunday. Mike lead us through the very large crowded market and gave us a few tips on what items should sell for. Then he gave us some time to shop. Next we went to Panajachel for a late lunch and had fresh black sea bass. Then we explored the town, and went back to Antiqua with our treasures from the markets. Mike was an excellent guide with extensive knowledge of Guatamala and was an excellent driver.

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had a great trip - well organized and informative.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

beautiful scenery. Boat ride is about 45 mins each way and relaxing if you have been on the go-go-go. The trip to the Mayan village is ok. Just like anywhere else, the same souveniers and gifts are repetitve in nature. Really nothing else to do there except for browsing and maybe have a cup of coffee.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was wonderful with all of the knowledge about Guatemala. I learned so much that I would never had learned had we been on our own. Lake Atilan is absolutely gorgeous.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The hike was very physical so we ended up renting a horse to make the trip which made for a fun rest of the way. The guides were fun and very knowledgeable .

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The guide was very nice and made sure we had a great time. It rained for part of the trip but we made the best of it. The restaurant where we stopped at was the best ! It overlooked the lake. It was gorgeous.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It's a 3 hr drive to the towns. The roads are windy and long, if you get car sick

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Interesting tour. Lunch was good despite the appearance of it. Our tour guide Armando was deaf and did not fully understand English so none of our questions were fully answered. Wish we had a different tour guide.

Doing what: Antigua City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Brilliant - a really amazing day which exceeded my expectations. Everything went according to plan - really great guide and no delays. Definitely great value.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our trip was awesome! The tour was outstanding. Logistics upon arrival and at every single venue were spot on so we had the confidence of being cared for along the way to and from Antigua, the airport, the parks, and the hotel. Erdo, our guide simply made the trip! He was patient, informed, flexible to our needs, explained the Mayan history and culture with knowledge and pride, spoke English well, and was additionally an expert on birds, animals, and trees. To say the least, we learned a lot from Erdo.
Our night at the hotel Camino Real was great. We sampled the buffet of Guatemalan tipicos dishes and enjoyed the balmy night air along with the sounds of the woodlands around us.
As a frequent visitor to Guatemala, amid all the concerns regarding safety, I must say we never once felt any concern. This is in large part due to the confidence we had in the tight logistics. Someone always knew right where we were, and the arrangements were always in place: To pay the park fee, at our lunch stops, at the hotel reception, the early morning pickups. It means a lot to the traveler who may have heard of the safety concerns to have this kind of coordination. We were able to spend 100% of our time "taking it all in". I would say that a person looking for the jungle experience, needs to understand this is not Manhattan! Come prepared to walk, climb, and enjoy in "Guatemalan Time"! Many thanks to Viator for a spectacular experience!

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Having had a previous positive experience using Viator, I booked the day tour of Antiqua and could not have been more pleased. Our guide, Mirko, was fabulous. The tour provided an invaluable orientation to the history and sites of this amazing city.

Doing what: Antigua City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very physical, but worth it!!

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message