The most popular tourist city in Guatemala, Antigua is not only a great place to explore itself, but also provides a fantastic jumping off point for plenty of historic and cultural attractions outside its borders. From touring historic sites and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Laura U

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

This trip was wonderful, the driver was the best one we could have! He told us a lot of the history about Guatemala. He was an expert on driving besides it is a difficult road. The only thing we miss was our walk through Santander Street, we just went to it by car and that was it! We wonder why?

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Gabriele G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Just awful, not worth the money at all!

Doing what: Mixco Viejo Day Trip from Antigua

k.raghuveer007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour organized by Guatemalan adventure. Coffee tour is the best part. There was a misunderstanding of the places that we were taken compared to what was in the description. Contacted Lorena in the Guatemalan adventure was she was able to make it up by offering half day tour next day for free. Best customer service from Guatemalan adventure. Our tour guide Mirko Zea was nice too.

Doing what: Antigua City Sightseeing Tour

k.raghuveer007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Good tour from Guatemalan Adventure. Our guide Winston drove us to their and the local guide Marvin took us to the volcano. Winston was nice and he explained a lot of things about country and culture on our way. Best part was the marshmallows getting cooked due to the heat of the solid lava from last year. It is a long hike up and down the mountains so be prepared to walk. They also have horses which can take you back and forth the mountain for around 200 GTQ i believe. You wont be going to the actual Pacaya as it is active and is emitting harmful gasses but you will be close and walking on the lava from the previous eruptions.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

k.raghuveer007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour from Guatemalan adventure is excellent except for the expensive hotel that they put us is in Camino Real Tikkal. Dinner and drinks are expensive so be prepared if in case you are on a budget. But the hotel has nice view of the lake and it is very pretty with all the ammenties. You might have to pay for wifi. We were taken on time to the airport small one beside the La aurora airport - sharing the same run way in the morning. Airport is little small and it is chaotic so be prepared and flights usually don't run on time. Make sure to have your passport. Tikkal and Yaxha are a long drive from the airport and also from each other. Our guide in Tikkal was Lopez was he was good and explained a lot about the ruins and the forests. It was a wonderful experience seeing the Mayan ruins and walking through the rainforests and getting to see all different animals and birds. Lunch is Tikkal that was provided is ok and not authentic. Yaxha was totally different compared to Tikkal it is small but very calm and peaceful away from all the crowds. We stopped at an authentic resturant for lunch and it was pretty good. We had finished our tour early so our guide took us to flores to spend some time near the lake and it was very beautiful.

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Antigua

k.raghuveer007

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

This tour from Guatemalan adventure is ok. Market and Lake are a long drive from Antigua. Market I believe is almost 3 hrs and lake is around 1 - 1:30 hr from the Market and drive back from lake is around 3 hrs. Roads are windy and you might get sick driving up and down the hills. Traffic jams can be expected too. Market itself is nice and colorful. You can find lot of stuff to buy and you can negotiate the prices too. Our guide Ramirez I believe was a nice guy and very informative and kept us engaged throughout the trip. Lake is beatuiful surrounded by volcanoes but you wont have much time to spend at the lake. We had lunch near a lake side resturarant and spent around 15-20 mins and headed back. We couldn't find good place to walk around lake. More of resturants where we were stopped and it was dirty to walk.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

lalyblue61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A must for any trip, especially first trip, to Guate. Despite unforseen glitches, such as no light in the airport office, the guides and the drivers were punctual, absolutely attentive and very knowledgeable.
Thanks for coordinating such a great experience for us.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

mrakshys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well organized and great guide.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Eric G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We really enjoyed this tour the driver gave us lots of information about the region and the markets and plenty of time to explore and have lunch at our leisure, recommended.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Daniel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Awesome - Are tour guide Miguel was super knowledgeable, patient and everything else. The lake is stunning, the volcanos are super cool and the village that you visit with the church is very nice. Great tour!

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Daniel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Ridiculously cool one of my favorite tours ever. I would recommend just purchasing a walking stick for like 50 cents or a dollar, no need to bring any of your own. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and told us all about the different plants and their biological function. The volcano was a sight to see!

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Smooth travel arrangements, 2 delicious lunches, and 2 excellent guides. My only concern was that I would have liked to stay in Flores rather than in a hotel on the lake, a long distance away -- nonetheless, that hotel was lovely and relaxing after a strenuous day walking through Tikal.

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Antigua

Vidjaya R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you only have one day in Antigua, Guatemala this is a must! Excellent offering from Viator. Definitely provides a wonderful overview of this quaint, historical city. Mirko our guide was friendly, knowledgable and patient with our questions. Wear comfortable shoes as the majority of the city tour involves walking along the cobble stone streets of this fascinating city. The coffee plantation tour was a fantastic end to a wonderful day. Miguel the coffee estate guide was excellent! the overview of the festivals and instruments of the Mayans was an added treat! Highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Antigua City Sightseeing Tour

Liani S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It's a must! Our guide, Manuel Banos, was very thorough and knowledgeable of the history and facts of the Mayan civilization. It was definitely the highlight of our trip to Guatemala.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Liani S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great hike to the mountain. We could see the steam rise front the ground and we heard the mountain rumble. It was surreal. I recommend to do this trip during off season to avoid crowds.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

Liani S United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

It's a beautiful lake to visit. I recommend to visit during off season because you can enjoy a walk by the lake peacefully. But if you're members of younger crowds, perhaps July - August visit fits you better.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Julie

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Nice tour, our guide was very nice. He did the best he could with what there was to see. He was very informative.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Denise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I had a fabulous day trip to Lake Atitlan and Santiago de Atitlan. The guide was extremely knowledgeable, solicitous, and went out of his way took extra time to stop in the leather-making village just north of Antigua on the way back. A great day - thank you!

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Keith O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide, Carlos, was very knowledgeable not only about the ruins, but the Mayan medicines growing in the surrounding jungle.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Rob S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour was great and all the staff that we worked with were very helpful. I have only two complaints:

1. There was a long rest stop at a gift shop on the trip between the airport at Flores and Tikal National Park. We were there for at least thirty minutes. It felt like a huge waste of time.

2. The return flight from Flores to Guatemala City was delayed by 1.5 hours. The staff at the airport did not communicate this delay at all and offered no compensation.

Otherwise, the national park itself and the tour were great.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Carlos S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome trip. A must do.
If you are staying in Antigua don't even think of driving or ride a bus.
A friend of ours did this trip a felt very sorry of his option.
The roads are narrow and not much safe and it is, at list, a 7 to 10 hours journey (one direction).
A little confusion at Tikal arrival airport and some delay, but all in all, everything went easy and smooth.
The guide (Vinicius) was nice, hellpfull and provided all the information we wanted to know.
The lunch is good and you can choose your prefered meal between meat, pasta, chicken or vegetarian.
Tikal is a awesome place. We couldn't be more amazed.
Recommended A+++

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

geneanddora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour. We had a terrific guide and enjoyed a delicious lunch among the jungles of Tikal. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

maui_kazowee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour makes for a long day, but is so worth it. Our guide, Erdo, was super knowledgeable about Mayan history as well as the flora/fauna of the jungle. The day was well-paced, the group was a great size, and it was a great way to spend my birthday. Lunch was great too.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

maui_kazowee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our guide Michelangelo was VERY knowledgeable and an absolute delight to spend the day with. He took great care of us, taught us a lot about the area, and left us wanting to book a longer stay at Lake Atitlan.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message