Insider's Guide to Arenal Volcano National Park

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The majestic gray cone of Costa Rica’s most famous volcano, Arenal, has the frustrating habit of veiling itself in thick clouds about 80% of the time. That’s why clever travelers plan to spend a few days in the region, patiently waiting for the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved the view of the volcano. We were able to take some awesome pictures. The TABACON Hot Springs was so worth it. This was the best hit springs I ever been to. We took our two kids and they loved it to. After working hard at work all year trust my husband and I needed this. It was greet!!!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was well worth the money. We saw beautiful scenery along the way and the volcano was magnificent. Our guide Hugo was very nice and knowledgeable. The hot springs were simply awesome. Great trip!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

ºGreat Experience!!! Our guide was a really good guy and took us to nice places. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Costa Rica ATV Adventure Tour from Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

George was a great driver and Max was a great host with a nice sense of humor. He was informative about the background of the things we were seeing along the way and history of the area. Arenal Volcano has not been an active volcano since Oct 2010. The weather determines whether or not you can see the top of the volcano. The area and sights are beautiful and unforgettable. Tabacon Hot Springs were amazing. My sister is very well traveled and lists this as as one of the best, most unusually wonderful things she has ever experienced. I agree. Many hot waterfalls and variety of hidden warm water pools and trails with gorgeous foliage in a natural setting. The water has a high mineral content and is very soothing and refreshing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

awesome drenched in rain

Doing what: Costa Rica ATV Adventure Tour from Arenal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

didn't get to see any animal

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

be advised: it's not a real climb to the volcano, and not 'real' hot springs! Still an unbelievable experience, but you're seeing volcano from a distance (rain forest = clouds!), and the 'hot-springs' is an artificial one, within a hotel's water park…

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide Freddie was excellent and showed us a lot of information that we would not have known about while walking through the rain forest. If I had to say something negative about the trip though it would be that we did not need to stay at the hot springs park we were brought to for 2.5 hours. That was way too long. Otherwise really could have asked for a better trip.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgable. I expected the Hot Springs to be in a more natural setting instead of at a resort so I was a little disappointed.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

This tour had a bad start from the very beginning. We we're suppose to be picked up from our resort on Monday morning and no one showed up. When called they said they didn't receive our reservation even though we had the confirmation number and did call to reconfirm on Sunday. After a long rough argument they booked us on next day with some other tour. Did not see any volcano or anything close to it. We saw some mountains far away and was told that's the volcano but covered with clouds. Certainly not worth wasting money with this company. They don't deliver what they write on their website. Big disappointment.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our experience was great! Our tour guide Rainer was very knowledgeable and provided an exceptional tour. It was a clear day so we could see the volcano.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The description of the trip needs to be changed. The volcano hasn't been active in 5 years, so don't plan on seeing a fiery show of lava or even hear thunder of it because it hasn't happened. That was the first thing the Tour guide told us. VERY DISAPPOINTING!! They shouldn't still be advertising this on this website. The hot springs are very nice man made pools at a hotel and spa, so if you are thinking you will get to encounter the hot springs in the natural state, again you will be disappointed. The springs area is nice, but again the description of this trip is very WRONG! It was very cloudy the day we went so we couldn't even see the base of the volcano, but that wasn't anyones fault. Still had a great day. Just be ready for a very bumpy, very scary ride because the drivers are a little crazy behind the wheel.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We took this tour with our nine year old. Our guide was Alfredo, he was amazing. We saw a lot of wildlife, we had time for pictures along the very mellow floating trip, the tour was just about 2hours with snacks at the load out point. We paddled the raft, but it was by no means onerous and make sure to have a waterproof bag for cameras. We had a tremendous time, saw amazing animals. This is the way to see the local flora and fauna - so much better in their natural habitat. Take only pictures, leave only footprints

Doing what: Peñas Blancas Safari Boat Tour in Arenal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

The promo is misleading. The drscription needs to be changed. I went for the hike and we barely walked an hour. Did not even do half the walk. The hot springs portion was too long. A little disappointed.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was a lovely, peaceful trip with beautiful scenrey, We saw lots of birds, monkeys, a sloth and sleeping bats! Our guide was pleasant, well informed and very helpful. The driver was equally friendly and helpful. All is all, a trip we will remember!

Doing what: Peñas Blancas Safari Boat Tour in Arenal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message