• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Arenal Volcano National Park

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The majestic gray cone of Costa Rica’s most famous volcano, Arenal, has the frustrating habit of veiling itself in thick clouds about 80% of the time. That’s why clever travelers plan to spend a few days in the region, patiently waiting for the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

The promo is misleading. The drscription needs to be changed. I went for the hike and we barely walked an hour. Did not even do half the walk. The hot springs portion was too long. A little disappointed.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was a lovely, peaceful trip with beautiful scenrey, We saw lots of birds, monkeys, a sloth and sleeping bats! Our guide was pleasant, well informed and very helpful. The driver was equally friendly and helpful. All is all, a trip we will remember!

Doing what: Peñas Blancas Safari Boat Tour in Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour was fantastic! Outer guide was extremely knowledgeable and pointed out so many animals that we would have otherwise have missed...including a baby eyelash viper!!

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

January 29, 2014 Our guide was absolutely amazing and knowledgeable! We were a small group of four which allowed for more time having our questions answered. The bus to pick us up from our hotel arrived right on time. We even stopped to observe howler monkeys on our way to the hanging bridges. Overall, the best of all the tours we took on this trip.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

It was a very good tour. Only we didn't see a top of volcano. It was raining non stop. Everything else was good

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had the BEST guide he was very friendly and actually got out of the boat to stop us so he could show us while life. We got to see all kinds of animals and two dozen monkeys. This is a great trip to take.

Doing what: Peñas Blancas Safari Boat Tour in Arenal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

it was o, but could have been better if the guide would stop a few time for 30 seconds to let the guess take some pictures

Doing what: Horseback Riding to La Fortuna Waterfall

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The tour was great. The guides were knowledgeable and tried very hard to make nature cooperate with the tour. Our guide was funny, spoke English very well. However, the information on the website is incorrect as to the length of the tour. It would be help if at the end of the tour, the guides told us that if we enjoyed the trip, tips were accepted. We did not know this and our guide was a bit surly as we were leaving.

Doing what: Peñas Blancas Safari Boat Tour in Arenal

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The food was amazing! We stopped at a place called toad hill for lunch. It was the best meal I had my whole trip. The drive to the mountain was rough, some of us got car sick. The hike through the rain forest was nice but uneventful. We got to see some monkeys and plants. The volcano has been dormant since 2011 so we did not get to see a show during dinner. I wish we knew this because we probably would of done the shorter tour that didnt include the dinner. The hot springs were relaxing but we were bored of it after a hour and we had 4 hours there :(. The tour guide could of been better, he didn't talk much. Just said if you have questions ill answer them, then he slept for most of the ride there and back.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This was fun and our guide made very interesting; Jose' was very friendly and had the driver stop the van before we entered the park to make sure we saw a hanging sloth. He did his best to make sure everyone was able to see the monkeys, birds, and snakes along the paths; and he would point out the different flora and if used for medicinal purposes. The most difficult part of the trip was that some of the paths were very steep; so, some of us who are older were slowing down then and "huffing and puffing" our way up. Jose' made sure we didn't get too far behind, and it was still an enjoyable experience--even with the slight rain that began as we were finishing our tour.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Brian, the tour guide as great. Friendly, personable and knowledgable

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Beautiful drive! Toad hall food was amazing! Fish tacos. Jungle hike was awesome.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Be sure to wear thick soled walking shoes, as you end up walking on horribly designed and very uneven cement stepping stones they used for the path. Other than that, the tour was very nice and the guide was great.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

First of all, the ride from guanacaste is a 4 hour ride and parts of it are very windy and bumpy so brace yourself for the travelling portion. The lunch at toad hall was very authentic costa rican food and it was delicious. When we got to the park, the view of arenal volcano is wonderful. The hike through the rain forest was just ok...there wasn't much wildlife for us to see while there. But the trip to baldi hot springs afterwards was pretty great. At first I wanted to set up a trip with tabacon hot springs but I was impressed with Baldi. It was great. And to cap it off, we had a buffet dinner at the top of baldi springs overlooking the volcano so all in all, the trip was totally worth it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent trip. The guide takes great efforts to match everyone´s capability and ensures safety at all times. He was very patient with all. Highly recommend for all the spots visited as well.

Doing what: Costa Rica ATV Adventure Tour from Arenal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message