Insider's Guide to Arenal Volcano National Park

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The majestic gray cone of Costa Rica’s most famous volcano, Arenal, has the frustrating habit of veiling itself in thick clouds about 80% of the time. That’s why clever travelers plan to spend a few days in the region, patiently waiting for the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Torn Review...
There are pros and cons to everything and I understand visiting another country (2nd trip) animals are treated differently. As a paying customer and animal lover, I expect animals to be treated with the best treatment, especially hauling horses.
The ride was great. Our guide, was good until we headed back to the ranch. I noticed that some of the horses were missing their shoes on the way to the waterfall and I mentioned it.
His response: 'It's not my job!'. Are you kidding me?!
My response: 'how would you like walking on rocks, cobblestone, and rough terrain all day?'
His response: 'ehhh- it wouldn't bother me'.
Yeah right. I did not appreciate his response and more importantly how the animals are treated. Horses are an attraction of Costa Rica and help provide jobs for locals. Mis-treating animals infuriates, saddens, and makes me feel guilty for paying a company that does not take care of their animals.

On a positive, the waterfall was awesome-- an amazing creation. I would not recommend for anyone not in shape or with bad knees due to the .70 mile stair hike (I tracked the distance).

Overall, this was a great experience, but I would recommend another outlet with healthier horses.

Doing what: Horseback Riding to La Fortuna Waterfall

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

superb ,profesional knowledge guía

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great tour. The guide was very knowledgable on the volcano and its history. The hot springs resort is beautiful! Very relaxing!!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Relaxing easy day. Tabacon is beautiful.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great day trip! Good transportation and guide. The food was excellent. Definitely do Tabacon Hot Springs!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Ricardo was very helpful guide. Due to weather we couldn't see Arenal volcano, only a fog. But surrounding scenery was nice. Tabacon hot springs is a very good choice. The dinner is open buffet and very good.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The tour was good but the tour guide English was not very good. It actually made the time on the bus annoying at times. The time spent at Hot Springs was amazing but the trip was tiring I would like to suggest to spend the night in Fortuna spend a few more hours in the hot springs and head back the next day.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Beautiful area. As usual, couldn't see the peak of Arenal, but still very impressive. Hot springs at Tabacon also very relaxng, and both meals were very good. Long ride there and back, and the first bus had a problem with AC, so we had to switch buses. Good drivers. Good guide (Galvin?)

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved the view of the volcano. We were able to take some awesome pictures. The TABACON Hot Springs was so worth it. This was the best hit springs I ever been to. We took our two kids and they loved it to. After working hard at work all year trust my husband and I needed this. It was greet!!!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was well worth the money. We saw beautiful scenery along the way and the volcano was magnificent. Our guide Hugo was very nice and knowledgeable. The hot springs were simply awesome. Great trip!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

ºGreat Experience!!! Our guide was a really good guy and took us to nice places. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Costa Rica ATV Adventure Tour from Arenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

George was a great driver and Max was a great host with a nice sense of humor. He was informative about the background of the things we were seeing along the way and history of the area. Arenal Volcano has not been an active volcano since Oct 2010. The weather determines whether or not you can see the top of the volcano. The area and sights are beautiful and unforgettable. Tabacon Hot Springs were amazing. My sister is very well traveled and lists this as as one of the best, most unusually wonderful things she has ever experienced. I agree. Many hot waterfalls and variety of hidden warm water pools and trails with gorgeous foliage in a natural setting. The water has a high mineral content and is very soothing and refreshing.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

awesome drenched in rain

Doing what: Costa Rica ATV Adventure Tour from Arenal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

didn't get to see any animal

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

be advised: it's not a real climb to the volcano, and not 'real' hot springs! Still an unbelievable experience, but you're seeing volcano from a distance (rain forest = clouds!), and the 'hot-springs' is an artificial one, within a hotel's water park…

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message