Aswan ATTRACTIONS See all

Abu Simbel Temple

The two temples at Abu Simbel are perhaps the best known and most visited ancient sites in Egypt after the Pyramids of Giza. Built by Ramesses II in the 13th century BC to commemorate himself and his wife Nefertiti, the temples are huge stone ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 123 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Abu Simbel is amazing. But don't pay for the private tour. We were with the "group" the entire time and the private guide didn't give us anything that the Lonely planet travel guide didn't offer. But definitely a must see on your trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

Gregory J
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

A good experience with some security concerns for tourists. After our guide negotiated our entry into the museum we had to pass many tanks, soldiers and police. My daughter who is a pretty blonde girl who dress appropriately for Egypt was leered at by all security personnel which made her very uncomfortable. Once inside the Museum we had the place virtually to ourselves so much so that we were the only two in the Tutankhamen mask room. The guide was very knowledgeable to the extent we had to ask for free time to take things in by ourselves. You must pay extra for the Mummy rooms. I don't know if its really worth the money as we found it a bit creepy.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My guide (Michael) and driver (Peter) were both professional and on time. The drive is roughly 3 hours (I left with the early 4 a.m. convoy). Michael spoke fluent English, and upon arrival at the site we walked to the front of the massive mountain monuments. Michael explained both momuments and their interiors (Guides are not permitted inside) for perhaps 20 minutes before giving me a full 2 hours and 15 minutes to explore by myself. This is an amazing place and a must see. Just make sure you grab a drink as soon as you step out of the car because after about 10 minutes alone I walked backed to the parking lot to buy a drink.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

One of the best museums I have ever scene with a one of the best guides. A must!! I would have done this a few times if I had more time there. My Egyptoligist(Nader) was full of passion for history!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Would have liked more time at the museum but the help of the guide was appreciated.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Guide was great. Professional, punctual, and had great knowledge about Egyptian history.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Lucy G
Romania

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Interesting artefacts inside the museum. The guide (Aladin) was funny but remain focused on the purpose (explanation)

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I would highly recommend this tour if you have limited time in Cairo. I had a brilliant guide, Ahmed, and he guided me around the museum and showed, and explained, all the major artefacts. There was plenty of time to ask questions and learn more about what you were looking at. Another great tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent tour with a fabulous guide. Well done again

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

It was very informative. A must see

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

It was very informative. A must see

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Our guide was excellent. He certainly appeared to really know his stuff. We had limited time to see the museum and he tailored the tour to fit in that time frame in a logical and interesting manner and each exhibit built on the last. Watching other visitors wander seemingly randomly around I can not recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

The tour felt incredibly rushed, only had about an hour in the museum itself. We spent longer travelling back and fourth to the museum than actually inside. Were given no free time to actually look around on our own and was rushed out once the organised tour was over.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message