Aswan ATTRACTIONS See all

Abu Simbel Temple

The two temples at Abu Simbel are perhaps the best known and most visited ancient sites in Egypt after the Pyramids of Giza. Built by Ramesses II in the 13th century BC to commemorate himself and his wife Nefertiti, the temples are huge stone ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 69 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Long journey but worth it, amazing to see
Guide was great

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My son characterized this exhibit as the Mount Rushmore of Egypt. He is correct. This is a amazing tour and the statues are along the back of a breathtaking lake. The whole scene is quite picturesque.
** It is a long commute from Aswan to Abu Simbel. 3 hours + / - You drive through the desert with a caravan of other tour vehicles for safety. Bring water and borrow the pillow from your hotel room :-)

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Abu Simbel is amazing. But don't pay for the private tour. We were with the "group" the entire time and the private guide didn't give us anything that the Lonely planet travel guide didn't offer. But definitely a must see on your trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My guide (Michael) and driver (Peter) were both professional and on time. The drive is roughly 3 hours (I left with the early 4 a.m. convoy). Michael spoke fluent English, and upon arrival at the site we walked to the front of the massive mountain monuments. Michael explained both momuments and their interiors (Guides are not permitted inside) for perhaps 20 minutes before giving me a full 2 hours and 15 minutes to explore by myself. This is an amazing place and a must see. Just make sure you grab a drink as soon as you step out of the car because after about 10 minutes alone I walked backed to the parking lot to buy a drink.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This is a must see. The only drawback is you spend the extra money to shorten the day by flying instead of travelling by road but spend some 3 hrs at both airports.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The trip was great experience

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

I had an exceptional experience with my tour through Viator, especially being a woman traveling alone to Egypt. A representative (Hedra) picked me up from my ship in Aswan, got my boarding pass for me at the airport, and sent me off. There were 2 more representatives who helped me during my tour at Abu Simbel which was awesome. There were barely any other tourists there so I felt I had the place to myself (good for me, not good for Egypt). Hedra was waiting for me back at the airport in Aswan and took me to my hotel (and waited while all my accommodations were arranged). Everyone was extremely kind and made the trip easy and enjoyable for me.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Expensive but worth the trip. Personal pick-up and assistance the entire way made the trip very easy.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The local agency met us at our boat when we arrived in Aswan and made arrangements to met us the next day at 3:45 am. The boat provided a box breakfast and coffee/tea. My son and I were the only participants, so we basically had a private tour. We went in a car with driver and guide. Abu Simbel is well worth the long drive and early morning departure. Afterwards they took us to our hotel in Aswan and arranged for transportation to the airport the next morning. Very impressed with the service and highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The service provided by South Sinai Travel was excellent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

My only critic: Once the flight is e-booked and confirmation received, no information is given re exact flight times and e-communication with Viator is slow. Otherwise, no-nonsense, helpful and attentive local staff in Aswan and Abu Simbel, good logistics and timing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

absolutely brlliant. the trip, although long, was very comfortable with just the two of us..the actual time for looking at the temples was only one hour. i thought that was not enough time to see them.i was aware that we had to go in convoy but i felt we could have gone an hour later.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Tour went well, a bit rushed at the site however. Guide should stay with customer longer I feel. Generally good.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Excellent and efficient - guide included. A personal tour, all excellent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Viator was fabulous! Very professional. Picked us up at airport, dressed in suits with ties, transported in very nice, clean car to Abu Simbel. After our tour with local guide, our Viator guide was there waiting for us to take us back to the airport. Helped check us in at airport. He spoke excellent English and was genuinely concerned about our happiness. Highly recommend Viator.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The site is so awesome and spectacular that any rating is colored positively. Unfortunately our two and one quarter hours were cut to one and half hours at the site. This was because the flight information Viator sent us was totally wrong. We left almost two hours earlier than what we booked on a regularly scheduled Egypt Air flight. It was a little late,, but the real cause of the delay was unforeseen military exercises at the Aswan airport which delayed us a further 45 minutes (beyond anyone's control). The guide was not great, but not bad either--he bravely tried to compress everything he had to say into a shorter time. We were fortunately I think that other than our group there were no other people there. That allowed us some elbow room. Still Abu Simbel was the highlight of our trip to Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Great trip to Abu Simbel. The facilitator in Aswan was a great help!

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Overall a good tour - the guide was excellent, the vehicle was comfortable and the on-board ice-box was appreciated. The second half of the return trip in darkness was a bit hairy since the driver was reluctant to use his headlights!

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

On time and as advertised, would love to have more time at the temples but the tour guide wanted to go to the papyrus shops which i didn't want to go to. So we just waited for a while until the convoy was ready to go. Overall, a good experience

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Guide was wonderful, and we enjoyed the trip. Our driver was a little crazy, but we made it there and back just fine.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Visiting the temple rates a 6 star, but transit & content rate a 3-4. The guide was very helpful and well informed, but it would have been better facilitation to provide content during other opportunities, not when standing in full 107 degree sun for 20 minutes to go over details. If we had known about return options we would have elected gettting an earlier convoy for the return journey. However we had a great guide, willing to help with photos and anything we asked. The 4am, 4 hour trek through the desert would have been much better in an a/c spacious bus than our little fur-rugged, windows opened and 3 guys sleeping small van. But the driver was very nice.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

The whole tour worked liked clockwork! We were picked up from the hotel, checked in at the airport, met the other end, had a good guide and almost enough time (another half hour would have been better, but the time was determined by Egypt Air timetable). You need to be aware that Viator may not be able to confirm your booking until a few weeks before the flight. Viator handled this delay as best as they could. I think that is because Egyptair only schedule the flights when they know the demand. There are cheaper ways of visiting Abu Simbel but these involve 6 hour coach trips in convoys and you then go round the temples with thousands of others. We just had one plane load.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

We had a great day with Mark and the drivers. Mark is a wonderful young man, well-educated in Egyptology and a lot of fun! We were amazed at the size and color of the Temples. We dare you to find the seams where modern work moved the Temples to above the dam! The convoy was a problem - they were very disorganized & wasted a lot time making the convoy turn around to start another way. We were so delayed that we only had about 1:15 to see the Temples. Mark made a yeoman's effort to give us all the info we needed in the Temples. Folks, the problem is w the gov't convoy system - NOT with Viator. DON'T MISS these wonderful Temples because of the convoy. We suspect that some days it'd work great & others it'd have problems. An additional idea - try to get to the Nubian Museum - these people were displaced as were the Temples by the dam & their story is amazing. Just above the museum is Nubian House. Whether you stop there for the hibiscus drinks, tea, cakes & fried doughnuts which were great or just get near there, the view is the most beautiful we saw in Egypt. We got there because of a taxi driver we hired to take us to the Museum. In Luxor Viator had told us not to miss the Aswan sunset - we merely mentioned it & the driver zoomed up to the House. At first we felt a little hijacked, not surprising in Egypt - the cabbies are trying to make extra money in a poor economy - be firm if you don't want something - but this time it was a gift!

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message