• USD ($)
  • English
Built in the 1960s, the Aswan High Dam was an engineering marvel at the time and changed the face of Egypt. It increased the cultivable land by 30% and doubled Egypt's available electricity supply. It also created Lake Nasser, at the time the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 81 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My guide (Michael) and driver (Peter) were both professional and on time. The drive is roughly 3 hours (I left with the early 4 a.m. convoy). Michael spoke fluent English, and upon arrival at the site we walked to the front of the massive mountain monuments. Michael explained both momuments and their interiors (Guides are not permitted inside) for perhaps 20 minutes before giving me a full 2 hours and 15 minutes to explore by myself. This is an amazing place and a must see. Just make sure you grab a drink as soon as you step out of the car because after about 10 minutes alone I walked backed to the parking lot to buy a drink.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This is a must see. The only drawback is you spend the extra money to shorten the day by flying instead of travelling by road but spend some 3 hrs at both airports.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Good to see and listen to the Nubian history and way of life to-day

Doing what: Private Tour: The Nubia Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The trip was great experience

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Philae Temple has such a great location and the whole tour was very relaxing. Unfinished obelisk was awesome. But the high dam is just a dam...

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

I had an exceptional experience with my tour through Viator, especially being a woman traveling alone to Egypt. A representative (Hedra) picked me up from my ship in Aswan, got my boarding pass for me at the airport, and sent me off. There were 2 more representatives who helped me during my tour at Abu Simbel which was awesome. There were barely any other tourists there so I felt I had the place to myself (good for me, not good for Egypt). Hedra was waiting for me back at the airport in Aswan and took me to my hotel (and waited while all my accommodations were arranged). Everyone was extremely kind and made the trip easy and enjoyable for me.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Expensive but worth the trip. Personal pick-up and assistance the entire way made the trip very easy.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The local agency met us at our boat when we arrived in Aswan and made arrangements to met us the next day at 3:45 am. The boat provided a box breakfast and coffee/tea. My son and I were the only participants, so we basically had a private tour. We went in a car with driver and guide. Abu Simbel is well worth the long drive and early morning departure. Afterwards they took us to our hotel in Aswan and arranged for transportation to the airport the next morning. Very impressed with the service and highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The service provided by South Sinai Travel was excellent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

My only critic: Once the flight is e-booked and confirmation received, no information is given re exact flight times and e-communication with Viator is slow. Otherwise, no-nonsense, helpful and attentive local staff in Aswan and Abu Simbel, good logistics and timing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

absolutely brlliant. the trip, although long, was very comfortable with just the two of us..the actual time for looking at the temples was only one hour. i thought that was not enough time to see them.i was aware that we had to go in convoy but i felt we could have gone an hour later.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Tour went well, a bit rushed at the site however. Guide should stay with customer longer I feel. Generally good.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Excellent and efficient - guide included. A personal tour, all excellent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message