Philae was a holy island in the Nile River where the ancient Egyptians built a temple to the goddess Isis. With the projects to dam the Nile - first with the Aswan Dam, then later in the 1960s with the High Aswan Dam - the island became ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 110 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We have booked more day trips, tours and transfers than I can remember with Viator and so far all have gone like clock work, this one included. The cruise is a must as you get to see much of the country side along with tours off the ship and at the end of the day thank god for the pool and bar, it can be hot here.The feel of the ship is classical and very clean, well serviced and good food. Had a great time.

Doing what: 5-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Exceptional cruise. Far more than expected. The staff is wonderful and the service is impeccable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Although Aswan was quiet I was stunned that the entire sound and light show, including private transfer and boat crossing, was arranged for just the five in our party. Yes, that's right, the entire temple just for five interested travellers. If there is any doubt that the Egyptians are keen to regain their tourist trade then surely this must be it! An excellent show, better than the slightly garish effort at the pyramids, does intermingle myth and historical fact in its spiel but gives an insight into the history and development of this site, including to transfer to the island during the flooding from the formation of Lake Nasser. Don't miss it!

Doing what: Philae Temple Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We originally booked on the M/Y Mirage but, as numbers were low, we ended up on the M/S Amarco, which we were told was an upgrade. We were very happy with the Amarco; the cabin was wood-panelled and very comfortable, the meals were very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We took the cruise from Aswan to Luxor, which matched our dates but which meant there was only one day actually cruising. Our main aim was to see the ancient sites, so this wasn't a problems for us, but we thoroughly enjoyed the cruising, so regretted only having one day of it. It was well worth paying a little extra to have a private guide for our party of four. Our guide did an excellent job, sharing a wealth of information with us as we visited the Aswan High Dam, the temples at Philae, Kom Ombo and Edfu, as well as the Valley of the Kings. He also ensured that all aspects of the trip went smoothly, including the various mini-buses, the felucca at Aswan, the caleche to get to the temple at Edfu. The whole experience was wonderful!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great cruise. We had a very knowledgable guide and his brilliance made our experience incredible. AWESOME!!!!!!

Doing what: 8-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

I really enjoyed this cruise. There is a lot of free time and you can choose what you would like to do on excursions. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. There were not many passengers onboard for our trip, and we had the same guide for our group of five the whole time. Food was great!

Doing what: 8-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

Although we enjoyed the cruise very much (the ship, the food and the friendly staff), I was not satisfied with the assigned personal guide. I´m utterly disappointed with his guide, he took us to shops where they offered us drinks and made us believed that whatever they sold it was worth it at the price they asked, especially our guide. Little did we know that guides take commission on whatever we/tourists spend. This was evident in our last day when after a purchase the owner took a calculator and told him his commission!!. If I knew this was going to happen I will certainly wouldn’t hire a private guide that will rip us off. It is a shame because the places we visited were wonderful and as I say before the cruise was great.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

very nice staff, clean ship. Only few guests do to political circumstances. organization of all trips was perfect.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

A very good relaxing tour. I would recommend this to anybody. I wouldn't say the boat is 5* luxury but it was very nice and comfortable. Same with the food, very good but not wow! Overall well worth the money and a great trip, go to Egypt and have a nile cruise!!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

I paid for the mirage cruise boat I got a old run down boat instead. Terrible food and accomadation I told the rep from the tour operator about this problem he told me the mirage only had 12 people booked on it so they couldn't sail it So they put me on a 2 star boat They lied

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Amazing value !!! A very relaxing and super informative tour. You will miss a lot if you just stay in Cairo and visit the pyramids. Lots of temples and Valley of the Kings !!!. Ship and crew where wonderful. Our tours where conducted by the local Viator agent South Sinai Travel. They make sure you are escorted when you leave the ship. Our local guide "Moe" who stayed with us in the cruise is a very qualified Egyptologist from Cairo University who gave us a very comprehensive background on egyptian mythology and history. So if you rather do the photography thing than learning egyptology, make sure to inform him so that he can talk less and give you more photo time !!! I recommend to take the optional Abu Simbel tour. Definitely better than the pyramids !!!

Word of warning !! Egypt has no oil and is a poor country. Lots of people depends on the tourist trade so do not freak out if there are hordes of vendors trying to sell you some tourist trinkets. They will not accept a "No thank you". Just don't make I contact and smile and say No and go on your way. Avoid private taxi tours or horse carriage rides beacuse they will bring you to their own perfume shops and egyptian dress shops and if you don't buy anything, they will demand a bigger tip aside from the agreed fare.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Christopher G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The only dissapointment here is that the MY Mirage we thought we were booked on hasn't been in service for 10 months and we were actually booked on the Nile Princess. You have to remember that 5 star in Egypt is barely 3 star in most European country's. The bathroom wasn't particularly clean and the cost of the Wi-Fi was LE33 for 30 minutes so a bit expensive I'd say and one service we didn't make use of. Also when it says 4 Day Cruise this isn't strictly true either as on the first day of boarding you don't 'cruise' or sail anywhere and the last day is the day of disembarkation so in truth you only sail for two days!! Apart from that the service, the friendliness of all the staff and the sheer pleasure of watching the world gently float by your window as you (eventually) sail down the Nile is an experience not easily forgotten.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent show and excellent guide!!

Doing what: Philae Temple Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Travel really cool, amazing places. The ship is comfortable, the food is good and the service was great (guide, transfers, officials of the ship). Viator is always very efficient and has quality services.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message