Aswan ATTRACTIONS See all

Unfinished Obelisk

The Unfinished Obelisk is a huge discarded granite obelisk. Three sides of the shaft, which is nearly 138 feet (42m) long, were completed except for the inscriptions. At 1,168 tonnes, the completed obelisk would have been the single heaviest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Philae Temple has such a great location and the whole tour was very relaxing. Unfinished obelisk was awesome. But the high dam is just a dam...

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Stunning, our guide Dina was wonderful. she knew what she was talking about and explained it in a way that we understood. Dina was brilliant by far the best guide we had (that is saying something as Nana in Cairo was pretty good too).

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

On-time pick-up. Guide treated us like we were idiots.

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Good overview of the Aswan, although the High Dam is a little anticlimatic. Philae Temple caps the trip, after seeing Giza, Sakkara, Luxor, Karnak, Abydos, and Dendara. Would have liked a little more time to explore on the island. Obelisk is incredible, although our guide gave us a short introduction and then left us to wander. We enjoyed the freedom, but did have additional questions and were immediately targeted by baksheesh-hungry tourist police. Well worth it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2009
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our guide was excellent and we loved Philae - a peaceful oasis after Abu Simbel.

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

We could have passed on the High Dam, but the Philae Temple is a must-see if visiting Aswan.

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

As a native to Aswan our guide loved showing us around the area. The Dam is just a dam but its pretty big and the history is interesting. The mind boggles at how anyone expected to move the unfinished obelisk and Philae Temple is one of the best temples in Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

High Dam not that interesting unless you are into engineering, but Philae Temple has such a great location and the whole tour was very relaxing. It's the least hassle to buy dodgy souvenirs you will get at any of the big sights in Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

Joanne D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Guide was excellent and very knowledgeable & friendly.

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2006

It was great to see the unfinished obelisk, and the temple was awesome. But the high dam is just a dam.

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message