Ancient treasures, Nubian culture and the mighty Nile await you in the southern Egyptian city of Aswan. Day 1: Central Aswan Aswan has been a trading city for millennia, so a visit to the excellent souk is a fitting start. Then head for the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We highly recommend this cruise and tour company to see the ancient Egyptian sites on the Nile. The crew was exceedingly helpful, from the administration to the doormen and room cleaners. The food was served buffet style and was delicious The room was very comfortable and clean and had an adjoining bathroom with a tub and shower. Every night we were surprised to return to the room and find an animal creation made from towels. Very imaginative and creative! The crew appeared to number as many as the passengers and we felt very well cared for. At the end a group tip was suggested which we were more than happy to fund because of the superior performance of everyone. Also booking was easy through the internet and with a NY phone number for questions. The touring was done by Adel Eldesouki who was excellent. He had a degree in Egyptology, spoke good English, and was knowledgeable about everything we asked about. He had a wonderful sense of humor and when we dragged behind, he gently told us, help me help you. At the beginning and the end, we were met by professional staff who escorted us from and to the airport. Everything went like clockwork. We highly recommend Viator.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

It was not exactly what I expected from a 5 star cruise.
Food was awful, personnel not nice.
The schedule was not respected and that is why we missed some of the temples and places we planned to see in Luxor.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Abu Simbel is amazing. But don't pay for the private tour. We were with the "group" the entire time and the private guide didn't give us anything that the Lonely planet travel guide didn't offer. But definitely a must see on your trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Exceptional cruise. Far more than expected. The staff is wonderful and the service is impeccable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We originally booked on the M/Y Mirage but, as numbers were low, we ended up on the M/S Amarco, which we were told was an upgrade. We were very happy with the Amarco; the cabin was wood-panelled and very comfortable, the meals were very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We took the cruise from Aswan to Luxor, which matched our dates but which meant there was only one day actually cruising. Our main aim was to see the ancient sites, so this wasn't a problems for us, but we thoroughly enjoyed the cruising, so regretted only having one day of it. It was well worth paying a little extra to have a private guide for our party of four. Our guide did an excellent job, sharing a wealth of information with us as we visited the Aswan High Dam, the temples at Philae, Kom Ombo and Edfu, as well as the Valley of the Kings. He also ensured that all aspects of the trip went smoothly, including the various mini-buses, the felucca at Aswan, the caleche to get to the temple at Edfu. The whole experience was wonderful!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

Although we enjoyed the cruise very much (the ship, the food and the friendly staff), I was not satisfied with the assigned personal guide. I´m utterly disappointed with his guide, he took us to shops where they offered us drinks and made us believed that whatever they sold it was worth it at the price they asked, especially our guide. Little did we know that guides take commission on whatever we/tourists spend. This was evident in our last day when after a purchase the owner took a calculator and told him his commission!!. If I knew this was going to happen I will certainly wouldn’t hire a private guide that will rip us off. It is a shame because the places we visited were wonderful and as I say before the cruise was great.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

very nice staff, clean ship. Only few guests do to political circumstances. organization of all trips was perfect.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

A very good relaxing tour. I would recommend this to anybody. I wouldn't say the boat is 5* luxury but it was very nice and comfortable. Same with the food, very good but not wow! Overall well worth the money and a great trip, go to Egypt and have a nile cruise!!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

I paid for the mirage cruise boat I got a old run down boat instead. Terrible food and accomadation I told the rep from the tour operator about this problem he told me the mirage only had 12 people booked on it so they couldn't sail it So they put me on a 2 star boat They lied

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Amazing value !!! A very relaxing and super informative tour. You will miss a lot if you just stay in Cairo and visit the pyramids. Lots of temples and Valley of the Kings !!!. Ship and crew where wonderful. Our tours where conducted by the local Viator agent South Sinai Travel. They make sure you are escorted when you leave the ship. Our local guide "Moe" who stayed with us in the cruise is a very qualified Egyptologist from Cairo University who gave us a very comprehensive background on egyptian mythology and history. So if you rather do the photography thing than learning egyptology, make sure to inform him so that he can talk less and give you more photo time !!! I recommend to take the optional Abu Simbel tour. Definitely better than the pyramids !!!

Word of warning !! Egypt has no oil and is a poor country. Lots of people depends on the tourist trade so do not freak out if there are hordes of vendors trying to sell you some tourist trinkets. They will not accept a "No thank you". Just don't make I contact and smile and say No and go on your way. Avoid private taxi tours or horse carriage rides beacuse they will bring you to their own perfume shops and egyptian dress shops and if you don't buy anything, they will demand a bigger tip aside from the agreed fare.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Christopher G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The only dissapointment here is that the MY Mirage we thought we were booked on hasn't been in service for 10 months and we were actually booked on the Nile Princess. You have to remember that 5 star in Egypt is barely 3 star in most European country's. The bathroom wasn't particularly clean and the cost of the Wi-Fi was LE33 for 30 minutes so a bit expensive I'd say and one service we didn't make use of. Also when it says 4 Day Cruise this isn't strictly true either as on the first day of boarding you don't 'cruise' or sail anywhere and the last day is the day of disembarkation so in truth you only sail for two days!! Apart from that the service, the friendliness of all the staff and the sheer pleasure of watching the world gently float by your window as you (eventually) sail down the Nile is an experience not easily forgotten.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Travel really cool, amazing places. The ship is comfortable, the food is good and the service was great (guide, transfers, officials of the ship). Viator is always very efficient and has quality services.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This is a must see. The only drawback is you spend the extra money to shorten the day by flying instead of travelling by road but spend some 3 hrs at both airports.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Just brilliant! We were a little worried about making such a tour booking online, but from our meeting at the airport in Aswan, until our farewell in Luxor, we were treated very well and felt safe all the way. Food was top notch, the pool on the top deck bliss, and our rooms were better than we expected. There were only 14 guests on our boat, which actually holds 120, so we were very spoilt for space. Our guide Mustafa was a real gentleman, gave us all the history/stories/real life of Egypt. My biggest tip for future travellers would be to take US$50 in one dollar bills to use for tipping, since we found it very difficult to get small Egyptian Pound notes anywhere. Also take 50 + pens to give to children, since many were asking! Best day on the cruise was the 8 hour journey between temples, during the day, since we really got a great view of the Nile from the pool deck. Boat did not have any snack foods on board, so take your own, or buy on the street. Finally, we made specific room requests via Viator (2 x twin + 1 x double) and this was passed onto the boat operator. Very happy all around!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Philae Temple has such a great location and the whole tour was very relaxing. Unfinished obelisk was awesome. But the high dam is just a dam...

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message