Ancient treasures, Nubian culture and the mighty Nile await you in the southern Egyptian city of Aswan. Day 1: Central Aswan Aswan has been a trading city for millennia, so a visit to the excellent souk is a fitting start. Then head for the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a wonderful time in the cruise. Our guide: Michael Samy Shehata was exceptional courteous, professional. I highly recommend to have a private guide so you don't have to rush on the sites and you can learn more and take advantage of your time.
The boat was standard, the cabin could be better, but the food was excellent. Our boat was Mirage 1.
The trip from Aswan to Luxor made our trip to Egypt complete. Just Cairo wouldn't been enough to have a clear image of the Antique Civilization.
Now I want to visit Abu Simbel .

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful experience, no complaints at all. Just spectacular...

Our private guide Mustafa was incredibly knowledgable and very friendly. Really enjoyed our time with him.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

the internet support before the tour was excelent, all the schudules about pick up and drop off workied really well. The rooms are in a really good size, no smell, great tours and great staff.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

From best to worst:
- GUIDE: The personal guide was amazing! Mohamed was very nice and truly an expert on Egypt. He explained everything to us and had the answers for all our questions. Also he was very nice and made us comfortable every time he had a chance.
- FOOD: The food on the boat was very delicious and gave us nothing to complain about it. Completely satisfied.
- BEVERAGES: The price was a little high, as it is in any other cruise, but they should at least offer free water during the meals, which was not the case. If you want to drink anything (during a meal or after a long tour), you have to buy it.
- ROOM: It was ok and comfortable, but they could give more attention on cleaning. The floor under the bed was a little dusty and even with some hair from previous passengers. Nothing really gross, but if you drop something under the bed, you're in for a surprise.
- MAINTENANCE: The boat itself is nice and big. A little run down in some parts (like the chairs of the upper deck) but those were just details. The service on the upper deck could be better, though. For most of the time there wasn't anyone from the crew there to clean the tables or to take orders for beverages and drinks.

And now, the worst and most concerning part for us:
The Itinerary was changed and the overall time span of the cruise was extended.
On day two, the departure from Aswan was delayed until after lunch. Leaving the itinerary as it follows:
Day 2 (B, L, D): Sail to Kom Ombo and visit of Kom Ombo Temple / Sail to Edfu/ Overnight in Edfu
Day 3 (B, L, D): Morning visit to the Temple of Horus, Sail to Luxor, Overnight in Luxor
Day 4 (B): Visit the West Bank

But the worst part was the last day:
The West Bank that supposed to be on day 3, was actually after the check-out on day 4. So we lost a morning on a very tight schedule because accumulative changes on the itinerary forced to leave this great tour in a day that we already had other activities planned on our own.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We highly recommend this cruise and tour company to see the ancient Egyptian sites on the Nile. The crew was exceedingly helpful, from the administration to the doormen and room cleaners. The food was served buffet style and was delicious The room was very comfortable and clean and had an adjoining bathroom with a tub and shower. Every night we were surprised to return to the room and find an animal creation made from towels. Very imaginative and creative! The crew appeared to number as many as the passengers and we felt very well cared for. At the end a group tip was suggested which we were more than happy to fund because of the superior performance of everyone. Also booking was easy through the internet and with a NY phone number for questions. The touring was done by Adel Eldesouki who was excellent. He had a degree in Egyptology, spoke good English, and was knowledgeable about everything we asked about. He had a wonderful sense of humor and when we dragged behind, he gently told us, help me help you. At the beginning and the end, we were met by professional staff who escorted us from and to the airport. Everything went like clockwork. We highly recommend Viator.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

It was not exactly what I expected from a 5 star cruise.
Food was awful, personnel not nice.
The schedule was not respected and that is why we missed some of the temples and places we planned to see in Luxor.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Abu Simbel is amazing. But don't pay for the private tour. We were with the "group" the entire time and the private guide didn't give us anything that the Lonely planet travel guide didn't offer. But definitely a must see on your trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Exceptional cruise. Far more than expected. The staff is wonderful and the service is impeccable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We originally booked on the M/Y Mirage but, as numbers were low, we ended up on the M/S Amarco, which we were told was an upgrade. We were very happy with the Amarco; the cabin was wood-panelled and very comfortable, the meals were very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We took the cruise from Aswan to Luxor, which matched our dates but which meant there was only one day actually cruising. Our main aim was to see the ancient sites, so this wasn't a problems for us, but we thoroughly enjoyed the cruising, so regretted only having one day of it. It was well worth paying a little extra to have a private guide for our party of four. Our guide did an excellent job, sharing a wealth of information with us as we visited the Aswan High Dam, the temples at Philae, Kom Ombo and Edfu, as well as the Valley of the Kings. He also ensured that all aspects of the trip went smoothly, including the various mini-buses, the felucca at Aswan, the caleche to get to the temple at Edfu. The whole experience was wonderful!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

Although we enjoyed the cruise very much (the ship, the food and the friendly staff), I was not satisfied with the assigned personal guide. I´m utterly disappointed with his guide, he took us to shops where they offered us drinks and made us believed that whatever they sold it was worth it at the price they asked, especially our guide. Little did we know that guides take commission on whatever we/tourists spend. This was evident in our last day when after a purchase the owner took a calculator and told him his commission!!. If I knew this was going to happen I will certainly wouldn’t hire a private guide that will rip us off. It is a shame because the places we visited were wonderful and as I say before the cruise was great.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

very nice staff, clean ship. Only few guests do to political circumstances. organization of all trips was perfect.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

A very good relaxing tour. I would recommend this to anybody. I wouldn't say the boat is 5* luxury but it was very nice and comfortable. Same with the food, very good but not wow! Overall well worth the money and a great trip, go to Egypt and have a nile cruise!!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

I paid for the mirage cruise boat I got a old run down boat instead. Terrible food and accomadation I told the rep from the tour operator about this problem he told me the mirage only had 12 people booked on it so they couldn't sail it So they put me on a 2 star boat They lied

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Amazing value !!! A very relaxing and super informative tour. You will miss a lot if you just stay in Cairo and visit the pyramids. Lots of temples and Valley of the Kings !!!. Ship and crew where wonderful. Our tours where conducted by the local Viator agent South Sinai Travel. They make sure you are escorted when you leave the ship. Our local guide "Moe" who stayed with us in the cruise is a very qualified Egyptologist from Cairo University who gave us a very comprehensive background on egyptian mythology and history. So if you rather do the photography thing than learning egyptology, make sure to inform him so that he can talk less and give you more photo time !!! I recommend to take the optional Abu Simbel tour. Definitely better than the pyramids !!!

Word of warning !! Egypt has no oil and is a poor country. Lots of people depends on the tourist trade so do not freak out if there are hordes of vendors trying to sell you some tourist trinkets. They will not accept a "No thank you". Just don't make I contact and smile and say No and go on your way. Avoid private taxi tours or horse carriage rides beacuse they will bring you to their own perfume shops and egyptian dress shops and if you don't buy anything, they will demand a bigger tip aside from the agreed fare.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Christopher G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The only dissapointment here is that the MY Mirage we thought we were booked on hasn't been in service for 10 months and we were actually booked on the Nile Princess. You have to remember that 5 star in Egypt is barely 3 star in most European country's. The bathroom wasn't particularly clean and the cost of the Wi-Fi was LE33 for 30 minutes so a bit expensive I'd say and one service we didn't make use of. Also when it says 4 Day Cruise this isn't strictly true either as on the first day of boarding you don't 'cruise' or sail anywhere and the last day is the day of disembarkation so in truth you only sail for two days!! Apart from that the service, the friendliness of all the staff and the sheer pleasure of watching the world gently float by your window as you (eventually) sail down the Nile is an experience not easily forgotten.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Travel really cool, amazing places. The ship is comfortable, the food is good and the service was great (guide, transfers, officials of the ship). Viator is always very efficient and has quality services.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This is a must see. The only drawback is you spend the extra money to shorten the day by flying instead of travelling by road but spend some 3 hrs at both airports.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Just brilliant! We were a little worried about making such a tour booking online, but from our meeting at the airport in Aswan, until our farewell in Luxor, we were treated very well and felt safe all the way. Food was top notch, the pool on the top deck bliss, and our rooms were better than we expected. There were only 14 guests on our boat, which actually holds 120, so we were very spoilt for space. Our guide Mustafa was a real gentleman, gave us all the history/stories/real life of Egypt. My biggest tip for future travellers would be to take US$50 in one dollar bills to use for tipping, since we found it very difficult to get small Egyptian Pound notes anywhere. Also take 50 + pens to give to children, since many were asking! Best day on the cruise was the 8 hour journey between temples, during the day, since we really got a great view of the Nile from the pool deck. Boat did not have any snack foods on board, so take your own, or buy on the street. Finally, we made specific room requests via Viator (2 x twin + 1 x double) and this was passed onto the boat operator. Very happy all around!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Philae Temple has such a great location and the whole tour was very relaxing. Unfinished obelisk was awesome. But the high dam is just a dam...

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

I had an exceptional experience with my tour through Viator, especially being a woman traveling alone to Egypt. A representative (Hedra) picked me up from my ship in Aswan, got my boarding pass for me at the airport, and sent me off. There were 2 more representatives who helped me during my tour at Abu Simbel which was awesome. There were barely any other tourists there so I felt I had the place to myself (good for me, not good for Egypt). Hedra was waiting for me back at the airport in Aswan and took me to my hotel (and waited while all my accommodations were arranged). Everyone was extremely kind and made the trip easy and enjoyable for me.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Absolutely fantastic trip! If you've thought about going to Egypt, go now! There are very few tourists and prices are great. I had many tombs and sites almost entirely to myself. My tour was excellent - especially my guide.
I only gave this four stars though because my original tour company was changed, which was no big problem except that the new boat had a different itinerary than the first and I was never notified. Originally my tour was supposed to end on Day 3, with just disembarkation on Day 4. The new tour ended at the end of Day 4. Luckily I had booked a late flight from Luxor but if it had been earlier I would have missed out on that day of touring because I wasn't notified of the change. I also wasn't notified of some optional trips, like a trip to Abu Simbel, offered by the new boat/company. I was able to arrange it, however. I'm sure this is a functioning of the collapsing tourism industry as they're consolidating bookings on different ships for efficiency, but customers definitely should be notified of schedule changes.
My other other very minor issue was with the food, which was more Indian than Middle Eastern. It wasn't terrible, but if I'm in the Middle East I want to eat Middle Eastern food. It's part of the experience.
Otherwise, the trip was absolutely wonderful and I couldn't ask for a better guide.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Highly recommended. Great experience.
The Cruise was good and the room was very comfortable . Excellent tours and our guide was very kind, friendly and informative.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Expensive but worth the trip. Personal pick-up and assistance the entire way made the trip very easy.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Cruise and facilities are very good- very good customer service and excellent food. Our guide did not really know what tours we were doing or what was happening- as if it were planned a day at a time which was annoying sometimes. Also it would be useful if a copy of itinerary or the full tour inclusions of the package were sent as a print out along with the voucher. Otherwise we enjoyed ourselves and would recommend to others.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message