• USD ($)
  • English
Located just below the Aswan Dam and Lake Nasser at the strategically vital narrows of the Nile River’s first cataracts, Aswan is the smallest of the three major tourist cities on the Nile, and by far the most laid-back. Being the furthest south, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

I had an exceptional experience with my tour through Viator, especially being a woman traveling alone to Egypt. A representative (Hedra) picked me up from my ship in Aswan, got my boarding pass for me at the airport, and sent me off. There were 2 more representatives who helped me during my tour at Abu Simbel which was awesome. There were barely any other tourists there so I felt I had the place to myself (good for me, not good for Egypt). Hedra was waiting for me back at the airport in Aswan and took me to my hotel (and waited while all my accommodations were arranged). Everyone was extremely kind and made the trip easy and enjoyable for me.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The local agency met us at our boat when we arrived in Aswan and made arrangements to met us the next day at 3:45 am. The boat provided a box breakfast and coffee/tea. My son and I were the only participants, so we basically had a private tour. We went in a car with driver and guide. Abu Simbel is well worth the long drive and early morning departure. Afterwards they took us to our hotel in Aswan and arranged for transportation to the airport the next morning. Very impressed with the service and highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Great trip to Abu Simbel. The facilitator in Aswan was a great help!

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

We had a great day with Mark and the drivers. Mark is a wonderful young man, well-educated in Egyptology and a lot of fun! We were amazed at the size and color of the Temples. We dare you to find the seams where modern work moved the Temples to above the dam! The convoy was a problem - they were very disorganized & wasted a lot time making the convoy turn around to start another way. We were so delayed that we only had about 1:15 to see the Temples. Mark made a yeoman's effort to give us all the info we needed in the Temples. Folks, the problem is w the gov't convoy system - NOT with Viator. DON'T MISS these wonderful Temples because of the convoy. We suspect that some days it'd work great & others it'd have problems. An additional idea - try to get to the Nubian Museum - these people were displaced as were the Temples by the dam & their story is amazing. Just above the museum is Nubian House. Whether you stop there for the hibiscus drinks, tea, cakes & fried doughnuts which were great or just get near there, the view is the most beautiful we saw in Egypt. We got there because of a taxi driver we hired to take us to the Museum. In Luxor Viator had told us not to miss the Aswan sunset - we merely mentioned it & the driver zoomed up to the House. At first we felt a little hijacked, not surprising in Egypt - the cabbies are trying to make extra money in a poor economy - be firm if you don't want something - but this time it was a gift!

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

My only critic: Once the flight is e-booked and confirmation received, no information is given re exact flight times and e-communication with Viator is slow. Otherwise, no-nonsense, helpful and attentive local staff in Aswan and Abu Simbel, good logistics and timing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The site is so awesome and spectacular that any rating is colored positively. Unfortunately our two and one quarter hours were cut to one and half hours at the site. This was because the flight information Viator sent us was totally wrong. We left almost two hours earlier than what we booked on a regularly scheduled Egypt Air flight. It was a little late,, but the real cause of the delay was unforeseen military exercises at the Aswan airport which delayed us a further 45 minutes (beyond anyone's control). The guide was not great, but not bad either--he bravely tried to compress everything he had to say into a shorter time. We were fortunately I think that other than our group there were no other people there. That allowed us some elbow room. Still Abu Simbel was the highlight of our trip to Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Very good service. The local travel agency was VERY attentive in assuring that all of the arrnagements were in place and understood. A representative came to our boat the day bedfore to meet with me. Greatly appreciated. That being said, the guide who traveled to Aswan with us was essentially useless. Spent most of the time in the van on her cell phone had only the most elementary knowldege of the site, with a folio of photographs to show but inability to answer even the most basic questions. Would have been happier to just have the drivers on the trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Good overview of the Aswan, although the High Dam is a little anticlimatic. Philae Temple caps the trip, after seeing Giza, Sakkara, Luxor, Karnak, Abydos, and Dendara. Would have liked a little more time to explore on the island. Obelisk is incredible, although our guide gave us a short introduction and then left us to wander. We enjoyed the freedom, but did have additional questions and were immediately targeted by baksheesh-hungry tourist police. Well worth it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

We could have passed on the High Dam, but the Philae Temple is a must-see if visiting Aswan.

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

Richard B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

You can do this trip by air but driving through the desert and watching the sun rise is something special. You start from Aswan in a convoy with about 100 other vehicles and drive at hectic pace for 3 hours to Abu Simbel where the temples are superb. We would have liked a bit more time at AB aprox 90 mins but this is due to the scheduling of the convoys not a restriction by the tour operator. South Sinai tours are very good indeed, we did 4 others with them.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

As a native to Aswan our guide loved showing us around the area. The Dam is just a dam but its pretty big and the history is interesting. The mind boggles at how anyone expected to move the unfinished obelisk and Philae Temple is one of the best temples in Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Abu Simbel was great. The guide was ok, but considering we spent hours with her, she gave us a 10 minute briefing we could have gotten from any tour book and that was it. They were gracious enough not to insist we stop at the Papyrus factory on the way back. It's a long drive, and while the private car was nice, we could have gotten one with a guide through our hotel for the same price that we paid for 1 person with Viator. We were concerned we wouldn't be able to get a tour for all 4 of us on the 1 day we were in Aswan, but once we arrived, it was clear we would have had no issues finding an alternative tour for much cheaper.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

We had high hopes for this tour, but ended with a disappointing trip. The feluccas weren't sailing, because of the lack of wind, and our tour of the sights was limited. We did not see much of the ancient village, and the Aswan Museum on the island is not worth visiting. We had a "row" from the dock to the island and a "float" back to the shore...nothing to write home about. Being on the Nile was fun, but this could have been a much better trip.

Doing what: Private Felucca Tour: Elephantine Island

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

The driver/guide picked us up on time. Viator was in touch and communicated with us as to what our responsibilities were. We enjoyed the early morning ride to Abu Simbel. The bus was OK. The guide slept on the back seat while we were in transit. Had hoped he might visit with us a bit more. When we arrived at the site, he hurried us to the temples and talked too fast to grasp easily all he was saying. We enjoyed seeing the temples. We wouldn't have wanted to miss them. We had some difficulty finding our van to return. Although we were not the last to arrive, we were the last van in the parking area and finally discovered where it was parked. As we got near to Aswan, our guide told us he was in the process of getting into the perfume-making business and wanted to take us to his factory as a side trip before delivering us to our destination, I do believe, he was just trying to sell fragrance for some company. It was OK, but it could have been better.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message