Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Acropolis Museum

Until the 17th century, the Acropolis survived largely intact but since then a gunpowder accident, a Venetian bombing and tourists have taken their toll. After the creation of the Greek State, it was decided that a museum was needed to protect the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

You can't visit Athens without visiting the Acropolis, and you shouldn't miss the New Acropolis Museum, which is very well done. Doing those things with the Vaitor guide made it all the more rewarding, as she was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We were a little skeptical about the post-tour dinner, but we were wrong! Great restaurant with a fabulous view of the Acropolis and a waitstaff and menu that did not make you feel like you were a tourist, just like you happened to be dining on wonderful food next to one of the world's great archeological treasures.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Thankis (spelling?) provided us with an excellent experience with history, mythology and current life in Greece. He adapted the our to allow for warm coffee in the Acropolis Museum as the weather was unseasonably cold-very appreciated.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The title of this tour is a bit of a misnomer but the photo of the Acropolis is appropriate. While the tour bus does drive around Athens for a bit of an orientation, there are really only two stops --- a short 15 minutes at the marble Panatheneic Stadium, site of the first modern Olympiad in 1896 and still in use, and the Acropolis including the New Acropolis Museum . So, if you want to stop at other places, this tour may not be for you.

The tour is handled by CHAT Tours and our morning tour was led by Vicky. She was wonderful -- dedicated to imparting information, passionate about her love of Athens and its history, willing to help with the usual logistics issues of tourists and happy to answer multiple questions. Most importantly, she was able to condense the long, impressive history of the Athenian Greeks who gave democracy to the world into a summary that was both short enough and understandable enough for tourists with time constraints.

This tour should be done first since the Acropolis ticket that you get costs 12 Euros (in 2013) and can be used over a 4 day period to see 5 other ancient Greek monuments. Also, try not to have other plans for right after the tour since the ticket to the New Acropolis Museum is a group entrance so once you leave you cannot re-enter and the guided part of the tour only lasts about 1 hour. The museum is very interesting and deserves more time. It should also be noted that, if you do wish to stay at the New Acropolis Museum for more than 1 1/2 hours total, you will not get a lift back to your hotel with the tour bus.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Viator contracted Athens Walks for our tour and it was among the best tours we have ever experienced! Our tour guide was like a walking encyclopedia who knew everything about the Acropolis Museum, the history of Athens and Greece, and was so well versed that we didn't want the tour to end. The Acropolis Museum in and of itself is one of the best archaeological and art museums combined and it is designed in the most creative way. A must see when in Athens.
Our tour was also supposed to include the actual Acropolis, but the workers were on strike that day and the site was closed. Kostas at Athens Walks diligently tried to contact me beforehand to let me know and offer an alternative, but my phone was not working.
Kostas, of Athens Walks, made sure I was reimbursed the portion of the Acropolis admission, and was very apologetic, even though this was entirely out of his control. He insisted on treating to drinks at a local cafe and also invited us on a Food Tour of Athens he was running the following morning, at NO CHARGE.

The dinner portion of the tour was adequate but unnecessary. Frankly I prefer to choose my own restaurant, and there was a tiny bit of confusion once at the restaurant because our guide was no longer with us.

All in all this tour was phenomenal. We were very lucky that Viator booked ours through Athens Walks because we got the best possible guide ever!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I really enjoyed this tour for its ability to put the Parthenon and other temples of the Acropolis into context, with the Acropolis Museum as a great complement. Our guide and archaeology expert Thanasis had all kinds of interesting stories and facts about Ancient Athens to tell us as we walked around the museum. He was great at going beyond the descriptions already at the museum, providing us with more in-depth information. The museum sets the scene for going to the Acropolis itself, which we visited just before sunset. It was a bit cooler at that time of day (although still very warm!) and the light was really nice, especially for taking photos of the temples with Athens sprawled out below. Dinner was at a restaurant very near the Acropolis -- it was a short walk -- and the food (traditional Greek) was excellent. I know if I had done the museum and the Acropolis on my own, I wouldn't have nearly the knowledge of Ancient Athens that I have now, after seeing it with an expert guide.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Leah
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We did this tour our first day in Athens and it was the perfect choice to see the Acropolis. The tour takes place in the evening, which is really nice for fewer crowds and cooler temperatures. Our archaeologist guide was amazing -- she showed us the highlights of the Acropolis Museum, giving us all kinds of interesting history and facts about the relics and artifacts from the Acropolis. We felt like she really cared that we were having a good time and learning something. We got to the Acropolis at a great time -- the sun was just starting to set, creating a beautiful glow on the Parthenon and other temples. Our guide walked us around the Parthenon, pointing out architectural details and telling us about the restoration going on today. Then we walked back down the hill to the restaurant, which had a rooftop terrace with a great view of the Parthenon. The food was really good -- even better than I expected. The set menu included salad, a starter, main course and dessert. We had a table on the edge of the terrace, giving us a clear view of the Parthenon lighting up as it got dark. All in all, this was a fabulous experience. Highly recommended if you want to get as much out of the historic sights as possible, especially if you're into history or archaeology.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent tour. Pickup arrangements in rush hour went very smoothly, tour guide excellent and easy to understand, and the sights are breath-taking. The Acropolis Museum is a must-do add-on to this tour and well worthwhile. No complaints whatsoever.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a brilliant tour and our guide, Joy, was wonderful. It was well-paced and so informative as to the history and significance of the locations we visited. The Acropolis was magnificent, as was the new Acropolis Museum we visited afterwards. Our guide was fabulous to direct people to their preferred destinations following the tour and we would recommend this without hesistation for anyone short on time in Athens.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

You can't go to Athens and not get a tour of the Acropolis. Sure you can do it on your own but its so much better to have a knowledgeable and friendly person taking you through the Acropolis and its awesome museum and really explaining things in detail. Our guide was super friendly and excited to answer our questions and dig deeper into Ancient Greece and all of her wonders and history. She took us to the Panathenaic Stadium first and a short tour around the inner section of Athens, then we went up to the Acropolis and spent plenty of time there to get a good history of the site and take plenty of photos with the amazing views on top of the rock. We ended the tour in the Acropolis Museum which was spectacular and much better having someone explain what we were looking at in great deal. I couldn't recommend this tour more highly for people visiting Athens.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

More than perfect to have an idea about history and how to explore the whole area. Don't miss Acropolis Museum.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Lynnette P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We enjoyed this tour very much. The guide was informative and told the history of Athens and the sights we were seeing in a concise and entertaining manner. The Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum were amazing and well worth seeing.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

It was simply amazing, the whole museum was packed full with statues and other historical items. The gift shops had many nice things to buy and were quite educational. The cafes had a nice view and an outside area, great for summer. The tickets were fairly priced and you could read about each historical item in English as well as Greek. Museum was so new and design was simply unbelievable, I will definitely go there again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Wonderful tour with an informative guide who spoke English perfectly. She kept our interest throughout and made the day go by in a positive and lasting way. We saw Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum (which was an option that I highly recommend). If you have to take one tour in Athens, this should be it! Pleasingly informative and enjoyable!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This was a very useful tour for the first time visitor, as it provided orientation of the main city sights aboard the coach, as well as extensive visits to the Acropolis and the new Acropolis Museum. Our guide was very well-informed about all aspects of the tour, and provided fascinating detail during the visits to the Acropolis and the Museum.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Our tour guide was very knowledgable about the ancient sites. The tour of the acropolis, the Parthenon and the new Acropolis museum was amazing! The bus picked us up at our hotel and was on time.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message