The Acropolis (Akropolis) means "city on a hill" and dates from the 5th century BC. Dominated by its main temple, the Parthenon, the Acropolis can be seen from all around the city of Athens. In 510 BC, the Delphic Oracle told Pericles that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great because most of it was in an air conditioned bus. We were able to hit the main attractions that were top on our list, the Parthenon, the Acropolis and the Temple of Zeus as well as the stadium from the 1896 Olympics. I highly recommend this tour if you are in Athens and want to see part of history that is spoken about in the Bible as one can not only see, but also go on top of Mar's Hill which is right next to the Acropolis. Mar's hill is where Paul preached to the Athenian people about the Unknown God in the book of Acts.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an exciting day I was concerned for my wife as she has problems with her knee and walking but we were able to make it to the top of the Acropolis although it was very windy and cold that day just unbelievable this is a and it is must for anyone visiting Athens, then onto the New Acropolis Museum with our guide who was so informative and understanding of our silly questions, there are a great deal of things to see here it is a pity that you are not allow to take photos throughout the museum but that means we may have to go back. The Greek Dinner was spectacular full 3 course à la carte type meal and in a great location so good that we went back the next evening. We would recommend this to all those interested in seeing a part of Athens, from the old to the new.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great tour of the Parthenon and Acropolis! Loved the changing of the guards that the tomb of unknown soldiers!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent: Despina was an extraordinary tour guide. One of the best tour guides that we have had in 20 years. The Acropolis/Parthenon is a must for any visitor to Athens. The museum is world class and is and should be an integral part of this tour.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Pick up at hotel right on time. Great tour with everything important. Be sure to wear sinceable walking shoes at the Acropolis .Highly recommend. RNK Ohio

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide, Despina Savvidou, was the best! The tour started immediately right inside the train station were we met with incredible artifacts unearthed during the station's construction. Despina kept us on schedule and made sure we were at the right place at the right time...like seeing the changing of the guard at the Greek Parliament House. Our walk through the "gardens" was very pleasant and enjoyable. Despina's knowledge about the area and ancient customs made everything come alive. Seeing the Acropolis was incredible, but walking the other areas (like Zeus Temple), rounded out the experience and made for an excellent tour. I would highly recommend this walking tour which feels more like a leisurely stroll that takes you into the Acropolis via "the back door".

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our private walking tour of the Acropolis was excellent. Our guide, Aristotle, an archaeologist, did a terrific job explaining the sites and putting everything in historical context. I have a background in ancient history; the others in our small group did not, but we were all equally impressed.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: The Acropolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A fantastic tour! Our guide Kostas was amazingly knowledgeable and engaging. We ended up caught in a deluge of rain and he extended the tour by more than an hour to take us through the Acropolis museum first where we could stay dry and then headed onto the Acropolis when the rain stopped. I also enjoyed seeing the changing of the guards and the Temple of Zeus.

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very knowledgeable guide. A very comprehensive and organized way to visit the Acropolis and other top Athens sights.

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide was knowledgeable on all the places on this tour -Temple of Zeus, Parthenon, Acropolis amongst others. She was friendly and humorous too. this tour entails a bit of walk, so make sure you know the weather before you head out.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing. It's set up for small groups and in our case there was just the 2 of us. It's lead by a qualified archeologist/ historian and the information provided and the ability to discuss, explore and understand is fantastic. We spent as much time as we needed at the acropolis then the museum.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

this tour was great! even though we had to walk a lot, we went all the way up to the Acropolis. Our tour guide was excellent ! he was very knowledgeable and his English was excellent and very clear. the only thing I didn't like is that at the end of the tour you had to find your way back to the departing point

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide, could give us the history of the Parthenon and Acropolis, with information on the architecture, art, and art trends throughout the years. Lots of walking, but very informative. The museum was a great follow up to the Acropolis, and promoted further understanding of the history and meaning of this site to Ancient and modern Greeks.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were delighted with our tour guide and tour. Despina not only shared Athens' antiquities, but also brought us into modern Greece for a deeper appreciation of the country and its struggles throughout history. The pace of the tour worked well for us and we were especially appreciative of the timing of our arrival at the Acropolis. Many of our fellow cruise mates were very displeased by the huge crowds they encountered. The only thing I would add would be the modern Archeological Museum. We had wanted to see it, but had trouble finding it after our tour. We are happy to recommend the Acropolis Walking tour to our friends.

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous, our guide Costas was wonderful. I loved his passion for the Acropolis site . Highly recommended.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had the good fortune of having Sandra of Siva Travel as our guide for this tour and couldn't have been happier! Her English was very good, she moved at a pace that was perfect for our group of 4 and her knowledge of Greek history, Athens and the Acropolis was accurate and thorough, offering us insight into an ancient world. This was by far the best tour we took on our entire Mediterranean cruise!

Doing what: Private Tour: Athens City Highlights Including the Acropolis of Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Costos our tour guide was amazing. He was extremely knowledgeable about greek history and the sites. It was well worth the walking in the hot sun. The walk up to Acropolis is steep but once you get there it's worth it!

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I and my wife had a very good time in our honeymoon during this tour. Acropolis is amazing as well as Cape Sounion (Poseidon Temple)!!! The road sight to Cape Sounion is very beautiful... So, we enjoyed too much this trip! The time inside the Acropolis museum was quite long for us, then we left there before the group. Anyway, this is a very good tour to do when visiting Athens!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was fabulous , his comments, pace of tour, the information provided and his manner were professional while still remaing approachable and informal. The tour was a good length and also a good introduction to Athens. We did the tour on our first day, and were then able to use points of interest from the Acropolis tour as reference points to locate ourselves in the city. I rate the acropolis tour very highly and recommend it to anyone visiting Athens

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is good for those who have a short time in Athens. It gives a very good overview of the City's main attractions even though most of the time is spent at the Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum if you include it in your tour. We were picked up at the hotel on time and Angelina who met us in the hotel lobby was very sweet and pleasant to be with. The guide (Eustaf (?), I think) was knowledgeable, professional and passionate about the City of Athens and its sights. He was extremely sensitive to the needs of each person in the group and this made us quite relaxed to actually enjoy the sights. I have physical health issues and was apprehensive about doing this tour but he made it quite easy for me to take my time and I did not miss out on anything, especially when climbing up the hill to the Acropolis. I was somewhat disappointed that we were not able to stop at some of the other sights for a few minutes to take pictures since the coach was moving at quite a fast pace when passing some of these sights. It felt more like an Acropolis tour instead of a Sightseeing tour of Athens. It is what it says :"Sightseeing" so if you want to stop at these attractions do so on your own. Wear proper shoes for the climb up to the Acropolis because many of the stones get very slippery on the way up. If not, watch where you place your feet as you go up the hill. My friend and I got very tired by the time we got to the Museum and we had to sit outside and wait for the group to get our ride back to the hotel. If you are not physically fit, do the museum tour separate. Nevertheless, I would recommend this tour. It is worth the money and Viator always delivers. Viator, you made my trip to Athens a pleasurable and stress free vacation, I was always able to reach one of your agents by phone, whether in Canada, the United Kingdom or in Athens. The tour company was very helpful and delivered. Thanks again. Looking forward to my next vacation with your tours.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was excellent! The tour was very informative and we LOVED the new Acropolis museum.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour! Mariana was a very informative guide, would recommend the tour to anyone planning on visiting the Acropolis.

Doing what: Small-Group Acropolis of Athens and City Highlights Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My family and I had a great time in Athens! Our guide, an archaeologist, historian and thespian, was extremely knowledgeable and presented information at the museum that would have been difficult to discern on our own. The museum tour set the stage for the early evening Acropolis visit which occurred at a perfect time of day, not too hot. The meal at the selected restaurant was a great way to end the evening as we all talked about the great things we experienced earlier in the day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

morning tour of the various sights downtown including the acropolis was just great, had excellent tour guide who was more an archiologist than tour guide as he incredible depth of knowledge, was able interrelate each ruin wtih what was happening in the world, in the city, in the culture. Museum as last stop which was a great way to close...amazing sites, doable as long as it is not too hot, find the shade any time you can, and water...afternoon bus tour was good, hard to keep new information coming as it takes and hour or so to get to the ruin. the drive along the coast is amazing. once there, very rewarding. very good way to get a taste ot athens in a day...

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The bus collected us from our hotel and the guide was excellent and was very knowledgeable about the Acropolis, and surrounding area. We were delivered back to the hotel after the tour.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message