The Acropolis (Akropolis) means "city on a hill" and dates from the 5th century BC. Dominated by its main temple, the Parthenon, the Acropolis can be seen from all around the city of Athens. In 510 BC, the Delphic Oracle told Pericles that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 222 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an exciting day I was concerned for my wife as she has problems with her knee and walking but we were able to make it to the top of the Acropolis although it was very windy and cold that day just unbelievable this is a and it is must for anyone visiting Athens, then onto the New Acropolis Museum with our guide who was so informative and understanding of our silly questions, there are a great deal of things to see here it is a pity that you are not allow to take photos throughout the museum but that means we may have to go back. The Greek Dinner was spectacular full 3 course à la carte type meal and in a great location so good that we went back the next evening. We would recommend this to all those interested in seeing a part of Athens, from the old to the new.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great tour of the Parthenon and Acropolis! Loved the changing of the guards that the tomb of unknown soldiers!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent: Despina was an extraordinary tour guide. One of the best tour guides that we have had in 20 years. The Acropolis/Parthenon is a must for any visitor to Athens. The museum is world class and is and should be an integral part of this tour.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Pick up at hotel right on time. Great tour with everything important. Be sure to wear sinceable walking shoes at the Acropolis .Highly recommend. RNK Ohio

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide, Despina Savvidou, was the best! The tour started immediately right inside the train station were we met with incredible artifacts unearthed during the station's construction. Despina kept us on schedule and made sure we were at the right place at the right time...like seeing the changing of the guard at the Greek Parliament House. Our walk through the "gardens" was very pleasant and enjoyable. Despina's knowledge about the area and ancient customs made everything come alive. Seeing the Acropolis was incredible, but walking the other areas (like Zeus Temple), rounded out the experience and made for an excellent tour. I would highly recommend this walking tour which feels more like a leisurely stroll that takes you into the Acropolis via "the back door".

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our private walking tour of the Acropolis was excellent. Our guide, Aristotle, an archaeologist, did a terrific job explaining the sites and putting everything in historical context. I have a background in ancient history; the others in our small group did not, but we were all equally impressed.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: The Acropolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A fantastic tour! Our guide Kostas was amazingly knowledgeable and engaging. We ended up caught in a deluge of rain and he extended the tour by more than an hour to take us through the Acropolis museum first where we could stay dry and then headed onto the Acropolis when the rain stopped. I also enjoyed seeing the changing of the guards and the Temple of Zeus.

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very knowledgeable guide. A very comprehensive and organized way to visit the Acropolis and other top Athens sights.

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide was knowledgeable on all the places on this tour -Temple of Zeus, Parthenon, Acropolis amongst others. She was friendly and humorous too. this tour entails a bit of walk, so make sure you know the weather before you head out.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing. It's set up for small groups and in our case there was just the 2 of us. It's lead by a qualified archeologist/ historian and the information provided and the ability to discuss, explore and understand is fantastic. We spent as much time as we needed at the acropolis then the museum.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

this tour was great! even though we had to walk a lot, we went all the way up to the Acropolis. Our tour guide was excellent ! he was very knowledgeable and his English was excellent and very clear. the only thing I didn't like is that at the end of the tour you had to find your way back to the departing point

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide, could give us the history of the Parthenon and Acropolis, with information on the architecture, art, and art trends throughout the years. Lots of walking, but very informative. The museum was a great follow up to the Acropolis, and promoted further understanding of the history and meaning of this site to Ancient and modern Greeks.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were delighted with our tour guide and tour. Despina not only shared Athens' antiquities, but also brought us into modern Greece for a deeper appreciation of the country and its struggles throughout history. The pace of the tour worked well for us and we were especially appreciative of the timing of our arrival at the Acropolis. Many of our fellow cruise mates were very displeased by the huge crowds they encountered. The only thing I would add would be the modern Archeological Museum. We had wanted to see it, but had trouble finding it after our tour. We are happy to recommend the Acropolis Walking tour to our friends.

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous, our guide Costas was wonderful. I loved his passion for the Acropolis site . Highly recommended.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had the good fortune of having Sandra of Siva Travel as our guide for this tour and couldn't have been happier! Her English was very good, she moved at a pace that was perfect for our group of 4 and her knowledge of Greek history, Athens and the Acropolis was accurate and thorough, offering us insight into an ancient world. This was by far the best tour we took on our entire Mediterranean cruise!

Doing what: Private Tour: Athens City Highlights Including the Acropolis of Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message