• USD ($)
  • English
The Acropolis (Akropolis) means 'city on a hill' and dates from the 5th century BC. Dominated by its main temple, the Parthenon, the Acropolis can be seen from all around the city of Athens. In 510 BC, the Delphic Oracle told Pericles that this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 153 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour guide who is an archeologist so had much information. Very informative. Lots of walking uphill at Acropolis.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a good tour but should be done on the first day. We did on the second day and we had already seen some of the sites. However the visit to the Acropolis was spectacular and our guide was amazing and so very knowledgeable. The new museum is an amazing building, so light and airy and the guide made it come alive for us. We would urge folk to check wether they really need to be picked up from their hotel or are happy to walk to starting hotel. We opted for pick up and had to be up nearly an hour before we needed, when we realized the start hotel was only a 10 minute walk from us. Thanks Di and George

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour surpassed our expectations. Vicki spent almost 4 hours with us and the climb to the top of the Acropolis was very managable because we took it in small portions. I loved walking through the National Gardens and seeing the changing of the guard. This was money well spent.

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide, Marissa, was very delightful and knowledgable. Touring Acropolis/Museum with a graduate archeologist was incredible good fortune! This tour was the BEST six hours of our 14 day trip. We will use Viator everywhere based on this experience. Well done!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our Acropolis of Athens tour was a everything we could have asked for with the unexpected "extra" of our delightful guide, Maritzia (spelling?). It is hard to absorb all the history of the Acropolis, but Maritzia gave us a thread of continuity with her insightful presentation. She then made connections from what we had seen on the hill to what was exhibited in the museum. As there were only four of us, we felt like favored relatives who had come to visit as she commandeered a taxi to take us to our delicious Greek dinner. I whole heartedly endorse this tour for anyone who wants to both tour the
Acropolis and have a special evening enjoying Greek hospitality.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Thankis (spelling?) provided us with an excellent experience with history, mythology and current life in Greece. He adapted the our to allow for warm coffee in the Acropolis Museum as the weather was unseasonably cold-very appreciated.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

These tours were actually two individual tours. The morning tour was the Acropolis Walking Tour and the Cape Sounion Tour was in the afternoon.
The Acropolis walking tour was very interesting visiting a number of old temples, culminating in walking up the Acropolis to see the Parthenon. The guide was very knowledgeable and explained facts very clearly referring to visual aids from time to time. Can recommend very much.

The Cape Sounion Tour was also very interesting seeing the Temple Of Poseidon and also the views from it. The coach journey was about 1 3/4 hours each way. Maybe this tour could be combined with another to form a full day tour, since 75% of the tour time was taken up in travelling.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The title of this tour is a bit of a misnomer but the photo of the Acropolis is appropriate. While the tour bus does drive around Athens for a bit of an orientation, there are really only two stops --- a short 15 minutes at the marble Panatheneic Stadium, site of the first modern Olympiad in 1896 and still in use, and the Acropolis including the New Acropolis Museum . So, if you want to stop at other places, this tour may not be for you.

The tour is handled by CHAT Tours and our morning tour was led by Vicky. She was wonderful -- dedicated to imparting information, passionate about her love of Athens and its history, willing to help with the usual logistics issues of tourists and happy to answer multiple questions. Most importantly, she was able to condense the long, impressive history of the Athenian Greeks who gave democracy to the world into a summary that was both short enough and understandable enough for tourists with time constraints.

This tour should be done first since the Acropolis ticket that you get costs 12 Euros (in 2013) and can be used over a 4 day period to see 5 other ancient Greek monuments. Also, try not to have other plans for right after the tour since the ticket to the New Acropolis Museum is a group entrance so once you leave you cannot re-enter and the guided part of the tour only lasts about 1 hour. The museum is very interesting and deserves more time. It should also be noted that, if you do wish to stay at the New Acropolis Museum for more than 1 1/2 hours total, you will not get a lift back to your hotel with the tour bus.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Another fantastic tour through Viator and again very lucky to have Dimitra the Tour Guide for a third time!! Athens, while not being the prettiest city makes up for it with it's amazing and fascinating history!!! You'll get to see where the first Modern Olympics was held, the Temple of Zeus and one of the most amazing places you'll ever see The Parthenon perched perfectly atop the Acropolis!!! You will not be disappointed by this or any of the other tours!!!!!!!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide Kostas was amazing. He was intelligent, funny, well-informed, and did a great job of dragging us through a surprisingly large slice of the city. We started out on the Acropolis tour, and were so impressed that we bought tickets for the museum tour afterward. I would recommend the combination to anyone interested in art, history, mythology, engineering, theater, or architecture.

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour for the price. We visited the Acropolis and Parthenon, toured the museum, learned a lot about the history. At end of tour, we were able to stay in Plaka and tour shops, eat and take in more sites. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave good history.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My tour was upgraded to the tour of the Acropolis and the New Acropolis museum, then I was switched to the afternoon Cape Sounion tour. Both guides were very knowledgeable and thorough. I would recommend these tours.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Viator contracted Athens Walks for our tour and it was among the best tours we have ever experienced! Our tour guide was like a walking encyclopedia who knew everything about the Acropolis Museum, the history of Athens and Greece, and was so well versed that we didn't want the tour to end. The Acropolis Museum in and of itself is one of the best archaeological and art museums combined and it is designed in the most creative way. A must see when in Athens.
Our tour was also supposed to include the actual Acropolis, but the workers were on strike that day and the site was closed. Kostas at Athens Walks diligently tried to contact me beforehand to let me know and offer an alternative, but my phone was not working.
Kostas, of Athens Walks, made sure I was reimbursed the portion of the Acropolis admission, and was very apologetic, even though this was entirely out of his control. He insisted on treating to drinks at a local cafe and also invited us on a Food Tour of Athens he was running the following morning, at NO CHARGE.

The dinner portion of the tour was adequate but unnecessary. Frankly I prefer to choose my own restaurant, and there was a tiny bit of confusion once at the restaurant because our guide was no longer with us.

All in all this tour was phenomenal. We were very lucky that Viator booked ours through Athens Walks because we got the best possible guide ever!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

First tour walking to Acropolis was interesting, the guide (sorry I didn't catch her name) was informative and knowledgeable. The afternoon trip to cape Sounion was really good, it was interesting to see all the villas in the suburbs, the beaches and so on. Good guide Daphne, gave us all the informations on the way.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Not enough people signed up for the Acropolis walking tour so they upgraded me to the Athens sightseeing tour which included more. It turned out great, Daphne, my tour guide was outstanding. She also did Cape Sounion which was actually relaxing after seeing so much of Athens in the morning.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message