The Acropolis (Akropolis) means "city on a hill" and dates from the 5th century BC. Dominated by its main temple, the Parthenon, the Acropolis can be seen from all around the city of Athens. In 510 BC, the Delphic Oracle told Pericles that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 236 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jimbo United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Our Guide, Joy, was first class. Very passionate about Athens and the Acropolis. Joy's explanation of the history was totally fascinating, all information given was well paced and fully understood. Superb opportunities for photographs throughout.
Would highly recommend and if you are able to have Joy as your guide you will have a well informed, informative and enjoyable tour.
Definitely NOT to be missed.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Sarah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked our tour while in Athens after realizing we'd like a little more information to know what we were looking at and the history behind it. Our tour guide Hermes was amazing, he did not disappoint! We actually ended up with a private tour of the Acropolis museum where he was very attentive and patient with our 10 year old son. It was very I formative and a great way to spend the day.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Quanice F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I loved it!! There is a lot of walking involved. Got to see the Acropolis and the acropolis museum.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Julie A W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was well worth it: a great overview of the city. Joy had a really impressive knowledge of Greek culture-- it really helped having her explain the history of the Acropolis and lead us through the museum.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Joseph B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour guide was so amazing I would recommend her to anyone! She had such an amazing personality and she had such great knowledge. My wife had a little trouble keeping the pace once we got to the Acropolis and the tour guide tried everything she could to wait for us without keeping the others waiting and for that, I was very grateful. The tour began at the metro station at Syntagma Square. She walked us around the station and introduced us to Greek history by the artifacts encased. Then we saw the changing of the guard which was very interesting to see. From there we walked through the national gardens, followed by the Zappeion, then over to the Temple of Zeus and finally a walk to the Acropolis. It's a tour for any shape and size just prepare for a lot of walking and climbing up the steps and ensure you have your camera ready. It was so beautiful and full of so much history that it would be disappointing to have missed it. Make sure you head to the museum afterwards, you will see the Ancient City of Athens underneath!

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Derek M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Aristotle was fantastic. Courteous, knowledgeable, and great with questions. This was a fantastic walking tour and highly recommended. The new Acropolis Museum is absolutely amazing.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Mohammad Mehdi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I t was a nice half day tour of Athens. It is indeed worth going with a guide to visit Acropolis and its museum as you get a lot of information that easily take you back in time of antiquity and you will be drawn to the history and glorious days of the Athens.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Jun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is one of the best tours my wife and I have been on. I actually didn't realize that it was a private tour. I was expecting a small group of 4-6 but it was just the two of us with a wonderful guide, Thanakis. He's not just an archaeologist but a history professor at Geogetown. For something so significant and so rich with history, it's amazingly easy and affordable to visit the Acropolis and other archaeological sites in Athens. To make a visit to the Acropolis as special as it should be, visit it with a historian or an archaeologist. The insight, history, mythology, and rich information they can share will help you truly appreciate not only the ancient Greeks but the excruciatingly difficult work that goes into restoring the structures. I felt sorry for the majority of tourists who climbed the Acropolis just to take a selfie. It's so much more than that. I also suggest you visit the Acropolis museum AFTER you visit the Acropolis. They complement and enrich each other nicely. And a good guide can tell you the significance of the museum's architecture as well. This tour includes dinner and a bottle of wine at a nearby restaurant. The restaurant we went to was listed in 36 hours. Well done viator!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

nz_robyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour. Our tour guide was very informative and interesting. We started from syntagma square and gradually walked our way up to the Acropolis. An easy pace, we stopped along the way to view changing of the guards and the temple of Zeus and our guide pointed out many other local landmarks. She also made sure we were in the shade as she talked to us about the history and the sites we were seeing.
Walking up to the Acropolis was made easy as we stopped in the shade and listened to our guide explain various historical details about the sites.
We both found the tour informative, unhurried and our guide was wonderful.
I would highly recommend this tour .

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was excellent. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. The Acropolis is definitely a must see. We enjoyed the experience and would highly recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Suzanne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful tour ,a must. Extremely knowledgeable guide. Museum was amazing as was the Acropolis. This was a full day tour.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Marcia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour is a great orientation to the city. By walking this route, from inside the station at the Square, past the Parliament the walk is timed so that you get to see the changing of he guard you can understand something of the layout of the city and the relationship of the various precincts to one another. The guide was knowledgeable and interspersed his commentary with amusing anecdotes. He paced the tour well, making sure we had shade and, where possible, seating when he spoke to the group. His commentary on the Acropolis was interesting and entertaining and he managed to keep the group together and deliver his material even though the site was crowded.

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

For a half day trip we really maximized our time. The Acropolis was great. We had enough time to take pictures and wander on our own. We had the choice of taking the bus or walking to the museum. The museum was awesome also. Walk to the museum, or wander back up that direction after the museum. It was well worth it.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Dawn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Touring the Acropolis was an amazing experience! Only way to make the most of history.

Doing what: Private Tour: Athens City Highlights Including the Acropolis of Athens

Caitlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Interesting and informative way to see the main sites of the city with no more than 18 participants. The tour ends on the Acropolis which is handy as you can then spend as much time as you want there and nearby sites. Our tour guide Dorina was very good.

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Lynn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Do this tour the first day that you are in Athens! Not only were we guided by a licensed archaeologist, but we got a great overview of the Acropolis and heart of Athens! The tour included tickets to several other archaeological sites, allowing us to explore them for free on subsequent days. These sites included the Temple of Olympian Zeus, Keremeikos cemetery, the Roman Forum and the Greek Agora. A great way to be introduced to Athens!

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Andrea P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good. Nice overview of the city and nice tour of the Acropolis and Parthenon.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Shelley L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were pleasantly surprised to learn this tour entailed more than we expected. We visited a few other iconic Greek sites before the Acropolis, which were very interesting and informative. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and really kept a nice pace throughout the afternoon. We learned a lot, and found ourselves eager to do another tour!

Overall, taking the time to see the Acropolis is a MUST, especially with a guide. The insight and stories from our guide really enhanced the visit and made it more meaningful than if my husband and I just visited the Parthenon alone. It truly is breathtaking!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Flanice L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Even though the tour was only half-day, I saw all I needed to see in Athens. I included the museum option and got to see the statues from the Acropolis up close. It was totally worth it.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Filomena T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was fantastic. Our guide was so informative with all the history of the Acropolis and Greece, in general. I can't even believe she was able to keep all the facts and dates straight. Its a great way to see the city if you have limited time in Athens.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Stewart G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the highlight of our visit to Athens. Our tour guide met us at our hotel and during a short walk to our first stop she gave us the itinerary she had arranged in advance. Our tour was set up by the tour guide so we would visit the New Acropolis Museum before we climbed to the Acropolis. This allowed us to learn about the Acropolis prior to actually visiting the site. Our tour guide was extremely informative with dates, history, and information we had never before knew existed about the Acropolis. We finished our tour with a quiet dinner at a Athens restaurant where the food was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Iris P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Hermes was a great tour guide!!! It was super hot when I took the walking tour, but he always made sure everyone could stand in the shade when he would stop to talk about the different buildings in the Acropolis. He was pretty funny too, and knowledgeable and informative about the history of the Greeks. He was also very willing to answer questions and took an interest in getting to know the people on the tour. I would definitely recommend him and this tour! Bring water!!

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Mike A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Kostas was knowledgable and fun. We enjoyed the sights and the information and stories he told along the way. It was very hot the day we toured and he tried to get us in the shade as much as possible and to refill our water bottles. I would recommend not taking the museum tour immediately after as you only have 45 minutes between walking down from the Acropolis, having lunch and meeting him for the museum tour. We were tired and hot so we had a nice lunch nearby and then toured the museum on our own. I would highly recommend this tour and hope you get Kostas as your tour guide!

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Hanneke J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was agreat tour and our guid desbina was great. She had a terrific knowledge of all historical facts and myths and entertained us all the way to the Acropolis. She was very proud of her Greek heritage and you could see that in everything she said. I saw all the major sites of Athens and got more ideas on where else I might want to go. Very worthwhile.

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Veronica G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great walking tour and our tour guide was wonderful! I learned a lot. Plus, the Acropolis has so beautiful views!

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message