Delphi is the second-most important archeological site in Greece (after the Acropolis in Athens). In ancient times Delphi was considered the place where heaven and earth met so the gods were close-by. Established around the 7th century BC, Delphi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 291 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Megan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What an incredible place. We walked all the way to the stadium and had incredible views of the beautiful countryside. Our guide was fantastic and made the ride to Delphi enjoyable. We opted for our own lunch and were pleasantly surprised in the town of Delphi. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

laurentrueman

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a good tour if you want to see Delphi, our tour leader Leila was very knowledgeable, although she was at times somewhat frazzled by the amount of tourists around, however she was overall a good guide. Delphi is a great thing to see, however a lot of this tour is spent driving and if you only have a few days in Athens I would prioritize other sites over Delphi.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Chelsey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Comfortable bus for the 2.5-3 hr drive out with some commentary on the way. Rest stop each way for snacks and bathroom break. Delphi tour of site and museum was fantastic. Plus a short stop at a nearby cute ski town was great to pick up a small trinket. Our tour guide Joy was absolutely amazing and knowledgeable!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Whidden F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Trip was beyond amazing. Maria our guide had a degree in archeology so she was not only passionate about what she was showing us, she knew every aspect of culture, history, and art. Not only did we learn an incredible amount, she maneuvered us around all the large swarms of crowds so we even got some private time sitting with the ruins at Delphi. Lunch was amazing, even the ride was amazing! Well worth the price to see it privately. I'd go back and do it all again anytime!

Doing what: Private Tour: Delphi Day Trip from Athens Including Lunch

Adam S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Delphi is beautiful and worth the drive to see.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Lori M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Delphi is a great place to visit and having a bus take you there is very helpful. For our family the tours did not give us enough time at the locations neither the historical site nor the museum.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Rolf P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Outstanding trip. The tour guide was exceptional and the time allotted to each site was just right. Highly recommend this trip to anyone who wants to Delphi while visiting Athens.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

LisaLoo19

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The guide wasn't as great for our Athens tour as the Delphi tour. However, both tours were enjoyable. I would recommend getting the lunch in Delphi - it was really tasty. Be prepared for a 3 hour ride to Delphi bring an iPod or something, though the guide will give you some tidbits of information along the way.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Athens Sightseeing Tour plus Delphi Day Trip

Stephen C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

good all-round experience , from pickup to lunch at a local hotel in Delphi and informative guide so would definetly recommend

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Adam L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great way to see Delphi which is a must. Only thing I would have changed is I would not have chosen the included lunch. There weren't any options to chose from however the meal we were provided was good. Other than that no issues, knowlagable tour guide, not rushed and hotel pickup and drop off.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Timothy N

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This day trip from Athens is a must. Not only is Delphi a beautiful place, but the information provided by the knowledgeable guide was substantial and often sprinkled with humor. The brief stop in Arachova was also interesting. Lunch is a set menu at the Amalia Hotel near Delphi. For those who don't want that, the guide made arrangements to drop them off in the town and then pick them up after the group lunch at the hotel which was a nice gesture.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Sivaji K United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

not at all well planned. Useless toilet breaks for every 1 hr. There was a toilet break right after lunch at a place just 12kms from delphi. Moreover guide's accent was bad and always she was mocking up greek myth while telling the history. For god sake guide, its your history so stop making fun of it and show some respect as people all around spending money and coming to your country to see and learn things not to listen your jokes. Pity her. More than a delphi tour its a athens-delphi motorway toilet visiting tour

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A long day in the bus. A great amount of history and mythology throughout the trip. Passed through very nice villages. Delphi was incredibly interesting. Make sure you hike to the stadium at the top of the ruins. I would spend longer at the site 'living history' rather than the museum. Lunch was very filling with views over the Gulf. A long trip back with Athens traffic but the day was worth it.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Joseph B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The tour guide wasn't that great. In my opinion she was rude and very monotone showing little to no excitement or personality. My recommendation would be to pay for the tour, get a book about the history of Delphi and spend the time there climbing the mountain. It will be one of the most beautiful places you will probably ever see in your life. Dress cool because the climb up the mountain isn't a joke. It has steps and a trail to take and in my opinion, go to the top. There is an ancient prize waiting!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Michelle Y Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Tour was great but I would suggest staying in the beautiful town of Delphi for lunch . Other than lunch the whole tour was exceptional with outstanding sights and a great chance to view the country side .

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Lauren P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing day, beautiful drive up there with an amazing guide. When we got to Delphi, the tour was brilliant and so interesting! I opted out of lunch and brought my own, and had a great view whilst eating it. A must for any history lover!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Pres L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Joining the tour to Delphi is well worth it. The tour guide, Katerina is friendly and extremely knowledgeable. She took the time to answer the questions of travelers, and even gave recommendations for cool neighborhoods to check out in Athens. Delphi is a must-see when visiting Greece.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Kathleen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour to Delphi and surrounding area was amazing! Nor guide, Joy, was very knowledgable and clearly loved her work. The day was spent traveling to and from Athens, walking among the ruins and the site at Delphi, visiting the museum at the site, and even allowed for a brief stop at the ski mountain base village. We elected to have lunch apart from the trip and found a small restaurant with a gyro I will always remember!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Ness

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I first visited Delphi when I was only 15 years old, it's beauty has remained with me for.... a few more years! I really wanted to share that with my son and my fiancé. Our original plan was to hire a car and drive ourselves - however, having seen the way the Athenians drive, we decided a planned tour was the safer option!
We booked the trip the day before and were pleasantly surprised to receive confirmation very quickly, along with a phone call to confirm collection from our hotel. Previously I had only booked trips before leaving the UK.
The trip is advertised as being 10 hours, this is from the start time and not from the collection from your hotel. The trip was 12 hours and extremely long! It claims to be a two hour drive from Athens but, after leaving the final hotel, we were told it would be three and a half hours! This did include a stop off for a comfort break.
The long journey was made worth it once we arrived at Delphi. The sun shone although it was the end of October and the place, although there were plenty of visitors, was not as busy as the Athens Acropolis had been. Joy, our guide, was very informative and knowledgeable about the history of the site. There was plenty of time for us to view the site on our own before meeting at the museum. Joy's commentary was really interesting and informative.
We had opted to include lunch in our tour. The food was very tasty but the speed in which it was delivered didn't really give sufficient time to enjoy it! The four courses were probably served, and eaten within 30 minutes! Hardly enough time to swallow before the next course was delivered!
The obligatory stop at the 'souvenir' shop on the way back to Athens, along with another 'comfort' break delayed the return - resulting in the additional two hours on top of the 1.5 hours on the coach before the final pick up in the morning. A great day but very long. Would not advise if you have young children.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

dimple.bhandia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Excellent. My only issue was the waste of time at a souvenier shop for half an hour. It was outside of the small town on the way to Delphi. It would have been nicer if we had stopped in town.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Isabel E

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

As a fellow traveler: Do consider that this tour is about 2/3 drive, 1/3 actual tour. But I would say it is worth it. To cut off some travel time, I suggest to NOT go with the hotel pick up. We got picked up at 7:30am, but didn't leave Syntagma station until about 9am.
For the tour operators: The time in Delphi is very tightly timed, if one is not that fit, one won't make it all the way up and down in the given time. Also, we would have been curious to stop in the little ski town on the way out, maybe this can be incorporated.
In general: Helena was a knowledgeable tour guide, but hard to understand. I am not sure she went into as much detail as I would have liked, but then again maybe she said everything but I just didn't understand.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Andrea Nikki F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour. Guide was knowledgeable, interesting and funny! Delphi is a magical place. The museum is worthwhile and not too large. Even the included lunch was very good and the view from the restaurant was spectacular.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

scott t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Long drive through the country side to reach the ruins. It was very hot and there was little escape from the sun. Ruins are extensive and our guide Joy provided in depth information about the site and museum. The museum was amazing with ancient sculptures and other finds from the ruins at Delphi. We chose lunch on our own in town and had a delicious mousaka at To Patriko mas Tavern. Open air seating under a 200 year old mulberry tree over looking a view of the valley to the sea. Would have liked to linger but had to return to the bus for our ride back to Athens. If you only have time for one tour, this is the one to do.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

TERRY M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

In and of itself, Delphi is an impressive site. We enjoyed visiting the museum and ruins in conjunction with the information provided by our knowledgeable and pleasant tour guide. The bus ride to and from Delphi is long 3 hours each way, but it is a comfortable ride that includes a rest stop and commentary which makes the time pass quickly.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Marcia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is quite a long day tour but the experience of visiting the spectacular site at Delphi is not to be missed. The tour is well paced with rest breaks on both forward and return journeys.The guide was knowledgeable and answered all sorts of questions. Her guiding in the museum gave us a good insight into Greek art. The lunch stop was the least good aspect of the tour but there are few options for group dining in the area and in order to spend the maximum amount of time possible at the site, the choice of restaurant was quite understandable. Upon arrival back in Athens, the guide made sure that people were all dropped back to their separate hotels.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message