Delphi is the second-most important archeological site in Greece (after the Acropolis in Athens). In ancient times Delphi was considered the place where heaven and earth met so the gods were close-by. Established around the 7th century BC, Delphi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 298 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Audrey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My tour guide was amazing, the trip was comfortable ,and I couldn't imaging seeing ancient Delphi without the narrative. Thank you for a great day out of Athens!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Angel K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

the place is stunning and beautiful, the sun was shining and I had a chance to go enjoy a delicious lunch in the town of Delphi, if you go to Athens definitely book this tour!!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Christina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My trip was incredible! It was a small group -9 people. Her English was great! She taught me a lot. The tour was more of a hike than I expected, but I like hiking so was pretty excited to be hiking through the mountains of Delphi with breath taking views of the valley and ancient sites and temples!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Barbara G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The trip to Delphi was very well done. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and we had plenty of time to wander and look through the museum. We also enjoyed a lovely lunch at a local hotel/restaurant. All in, I was pleased with the trip and the stops on the way. I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Heppie

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Delphi is a lovely place and the trip up there was lovely. The only negative was that the tour guide went into too much detail about the history of Delphi especially in the museum which could have been shortened by twenty minutes therefore Having longer time for lunch which was a bit rushed and no time to see the town of Delphi itself.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

ankurfitzgibbons

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We were expecting this tour to be one of our favorites. Instead we left feeling as if we paid too much for what we got to do. We were picked up by the bus from our hotel and it took 3.5 hours to get to Delphi. We stopped at a small town along the way for a break. When we got to Delphi, our tour guide who was very knowledgable took us to the Temple of Apollo and then left us to go to the theater and stadium on our own. Unfortunately, it was a steep climb for many not suitable for older people or those with an injury and we had to see the rest on our own. We then we to the museum but it was a small museum and not worth it to be honest. They scheduled lunch for 2:30pm which is pretty late and the restaurant is REALLY BAD. As a vegetarian, all I got to eat was a cheese platter with some really hard bread. Honestly, the service and poor food left us feeling completely down. They did stop at a very cute town as we went back but wish we had more time. Honestly, put your money towards a different tour - and trust me there are a lot of other great tours viator offers from Athens.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Donald A D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

It started badly. We were picked up at our hotel at 7:30 am and the gentleman on the bus tried to send us to the wrong location. When we told him we were going to Delphi he went away. About an hour later we stopped at a pick up place and a woman got on. She said her name was Joy and I will refer to her as Joyless. She was not dressed professionally and later her tone was not professional. There was still little communication. About 9:30 am I suggested a bathroom stop as the 2 cups of coffee were kicking in. She said we could not stop until the designated stop which turned out to be at 10:45 am at which time I and others on the bus were near riotous. I suggested that she inform future travelers that perhaps they go the WC at the last pick up spot and she snapped at me that the gentleman should have told me that. Later in the tour we were dropped off at the hotel in Delphi. We had no idea we were on our own. The next day we had to check out of the hotel room and wait several hours before the bus returned. A little communication goes a long way and Joy-less is a terrible guide. I would give this tour no stars if I could and I am a high rater and experienced traveler.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi from Athens

Megan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What an incredible place. We walked all the way to the stadium and had incredible views of the beautiful countryside. Our guide was fantastic and made the ride to Delphi enjoyable. We opted for our own lunch and were pleasantly surprised in the town of Delphi. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

laurentrueman

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a good tour if you want to see Delphi, our tour leader Leila was very knowledgeable, although she was at times somewhat frazzled by the amount of tourists around, however she was overall a good guide. Delphi is a great thing to see, however a lot of this tour is spent driving and if you only have a few days in Athens I would prioritize other sites over Delphi.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Chelsey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Comfortable bus for the 2.5-3 hr drive out with some commentary on the way. Rest stop each way for snacks and bathroom break. Delphi tour of site and museum was fantastic. Plus a short stop at a nearby cute ski town was great to pick up a small trinket. Our tour guide Joy was absolutely amazing and knowledgeable!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Whidden F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Trip was beyond amazing. Maria our guide had a degree in archeology so she was not only passionate about what she was showing us, she knew every aspect of culture, history, and art. Not only did we learn an incredible amount, she maneuvered us around all the large swarms of crowds so we even got some private time sitting with the ruins at Delphi. Lunch was amazing, even the ride was amazing! Well worth the price to see it privately. I'd go back and do it all again anytime!

Doing what: Private Tour: Delphi Day Trip from Athens Including Lunch

Adam S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Delphi is beautiful and worth the drive to see.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Lori M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Delphi is a great place to visit and having a bus take you there is very helpful. For our family the tours did not give us enough time at the locations neither the historical site nor the museum.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Rolf P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Outstanding trip. The tour guide was exceptional and the time allotted to each site was just right. Highly recommend this trip to anyone who wants to Delphi while visiting Athens.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

LisaLoo19

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The guide wasn't as great for our Athens tour as the Delphi tour. However, both tours were enjoyable. I would recommend getting the lunch in Delphi - it was really tasty. Be prepared for a 3 hour ride to Delphi bring an iPod or something, though the guide will give you some tidbits of information along the way.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Athens Sightseeing Tour plus Delphi Day Trip

Stephen C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

good all-round experience , from pickup to lunch at a local hotel in Delphi and informative guide so would definetly recommend

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Adam L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great way to see Delphi which is a must. Only thing I would have changed is I would not have chosen the included lunch. There weren't any options to chose from however the meal we were provided was good. Other than that no issues, knowlagable tour guide, not rushed and hotel pickup and drop off.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Timothy N

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This day trip from Athens is a must. Not only is Delphi a beautiful place, but the information provided by the knowledgeable guide was substantial and often sprinkled with humor. The brief stop in Arachova was also interesting. Lunch is a set menu at the Amalia Hotel near Delphi. For those who don't want that, the guide made arrangements to drop them off in the town and then pick them up after the group lunch at the hotel which was a nice gesture.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Sivaji K United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

not at all well planned. Useless toilet breaks for every 1 hr. There was a toilet break right after lunch at a place just 12kms from delphi. Moreover guide's accent was bad and always she was mocking up greek myth while telling the history. For god sake guide, its your history so stop making fun of it and show some respect as people all around spending money and coming to your country to see and learn things not to listen your jokes. Pity her. More than a delphi tour its a athens-delphi motorway toilet visiting tour

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A long day in the bus. A great amount of history and mythology throughout the trip. Passed through very nice villages. Delphi was incredibly interesting. Make sure you hike to the stadium at the top of the ruins. I would spend longer at the site 'living history' rather than the museum. Lunch was very filling with views over the Gulf. A long trip back with Athens traffic but the day was worth it.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Joseph B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The tour guide wasn't that great. In my opinion she was rude and very monotone showing little to no excitement or personality. My recommendation would be to pay for the tour, get a book about the history of Delphi and spend the time there climbing the mountain. It will be one of the most beautiful places you will probably ever see in your life. Dress cool because the climb up the mountain isn't a joke. It has steps and a trail to take and in my opinion, go to the top. There is an ancient prize waiting!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Michelle Y Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Tour was great but I would suggest staying in the beautiful town of Delphi for lunch . Other than lunch the whole tour was exceptional with outstanding sights and a great chance to view the country side .

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Lauren P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing day, beautiful drive up there with an amazing guide. When we got to Delphi, the tour was brilliant and so interesting! I opted out of lunch and brought my own, and had a great view whilst eating it. A must for any history lover!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Pres L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Joining the tour to Delphi is well worth it. The tour guide, Katerina is friendly and extremely knowledgeable. She took the time to answer the questions of travelers, and even gave recommendations for cool neighborhoods to check out in Athens. Delphi is a must-see when visiting Greece.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Kathleen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour to Delphi and surrounding area was amazing! Nor guide, Joy, was very knowledgable and clearly loved her work. The day was spent traveling to and from Athens, walking among the ruins and the site at Delphi, visiting the museum at the site, and even allowed for a brief stop at the ski mountain base village. We elected to have lunch apart from the trip and found a small restaurant with a gyro I will always remember!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message