• USD ($)
  • English
Delphi is the second-most important archeological site in Greece (after the Acropolis in Athens). In ancient times Delphi was considered the place where heaven and earth met so the gods were close-by. Established around the 7th century BC, Delphi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 212 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Delphi is incredible and it is good to get out of the city to see the stunning countryside on the way to Mt Parnassus. Our guide worked very hard having to commentate in both English and French and kept up an interesting running commentary on the way.
We had a good amount of time in Delphi to explore on our own as well as good information by our guide.
less time was available at the museum but it was very worthwhile to go there with the guide as well to add to the live outdoor experience.
The hotel lunch was very nice but I would opt to stay in town next time to be able to eat more casually and look around the shops to buy some souvenirs. Otherwise a 20 minute stop after the hotel lunch would have been appreciated to do the same. Bus was very comfortable and we were lucky to be travelling in March so temperatures were pleasant and no crowds to deal with other than really noisy but happy primary school children. The only downside to the trip after feeling very blissed out by Delphi was the horrible encounter I had with the guys at the cafe we stopped in on the way home. All i wanted was a cup of tea 0 they were rude and hostile and actually made me cry - i recommend finding another place for us to spend our tourist dollar ( NZD doesn't go far in Euro!) Also make sure you have cash as the pit stop on the way to Delphi had some nice souvenirs but didn't take cards. A very special day - don't miss out or let the early start put you off!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Loved this day trip. Our guide was fantastic, giving us just great information not only about Delphi, but history and geography of Greece. It's a long drive, but worth it. If you have difficulty walking, this would be a hard place to visit.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The area is quite beautiful, in the mountains, and the guide was very informative and a great storyteller. However, for over 4 hours in a bus, we expected to see more. There was a a quaint ski resort town we passed through on the way there, which would be nice to stop at for an hour or so on the way back. Additionally, we enjoyed the exhibits at the Delphi museum, but there could be less guide explanations and more time to look around on our own. Overall, though, pleased with the trip.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a fantastic tour. I had read previous reviews that said it was too long on the bus and not enough time in Delphi. I disagree. The timing was perfect. We were able to see everything we wanted to see and the tour guide gave us great information on the trip there and during the tour. She spoke English very well and was very friendly. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was very well organized. My wife and I were picked up from our hotel at the designated time. Our tour guide, Lyla was excellent. She spoke good English and was very knowledgeable of all the historical events. She kept on narrating the history throughout our bus ride also. The bus driver was excellent. He negotiated the complex hair-pin bends so very well. We stayed in Amalia (4 star) hotels on both nights and they were excellent. The Amalia hotel in Delphi was on the hilltop, and provided breathtaking views of the ocean and hills. I wish we had stayed in that hotel several days to enjoy the natural beauty. Also we didn't have enough time to enjoy their beautiful pool and Zacuzzi. Buffet dinner and breakfast at both these hotels were excellent. However, there were couple of downside aspects also. It would be better if the tour guide informs us about some difficult walkways and hiking needs at the sites. Only downside was,that we had to walk about a block or so to get into the bus, as our hotelwas in a narrow street.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoyed our tour to Delphi. The hotel was very nice and the dinner was excellent. Delphi ruins are wonderful and the little town is delightful.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The Delphi Day Trip from Athens was great!
- The tour guide gal (I forget her name) was very informative and had interesting commentary on what we were seeing.
- The bus was new, clean, and in good working order.
- The valley that the historical site sits in is totally gorgeous. It was a sunny and clear day, so it was great to hike around the site.
- It is a full day getting out there, touring the site, and getting back. I thought the lunch (after you tour the site) and stop in the nearby town (after lunch), could be combined. This would shorted then trip a bit.

I had a great experience and am glad I booked this tour!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This is a great day trip. The tour guide was lovely. She was informative and very friendly. We had perfect weather which was great for winter. Delphi is amazing to visit and well worth the trip. The views are spectacular. The lunch was fabulous with a great view and good service. This is a must for anyone visiting Greece.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Delphi is always amazing, but when you have a tour guide like Stathis, who is not only extremely knowledgeable but has a wonderful way of injecting both humor and meaning into his discussions, it adds a great deal to the experience. When my daughter was not feeling well in the museum, he was understanding and guided us to the entrance where we could meet the group after they'd finished the tour. Lunch was quite generous and delicious at the Amalia Hotel, with a lovely view of the valley and water beyond.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour is an absolute MUST! Delphi truly is an amazing site with breathtaking views. Our guide was absolutely lovely and extremely informative. While it took awhile to get there, it was definitely worth it.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We very much enjoyed our Delphi tour.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A 4 day "course" in the history of ancient and classical Greece. At each stop there are numerous ruins and interesting small museums but I have put the most impressive ruins of each site in parentheses. The places visited are the ruins of Mycenae (the burial ring) , Epidaurus (the theatre of the Asklepion), Olympia (the Stadium), Delphi (the sanctuary of Athena and the Temple of Apollo), and the monasteries of Meteora high up on rocky cliffs. All are amazing in their own way.

There are also pleasant and/or interesting quick stops in the romantic town of Nafplio, at the Thermopylae monument, the Rio-Antirrio bridge, the town of Nafpaktos, and the town of Kalambaka in the shadow of Meteora.

The first class hotels are all in the Amalia chain which is associated with CHAT tours that does this tour. The accommodations and food are fine and this tour is a "must do" for those interested in ancient and classical Greece.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great fun, fantastic intro to classical Greece with a guide who was incredibly informative. Epidaurus and Delphi the highlights - just wonderful.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We did the full day tour to Delphi from Athens. Our bus arrived at our hotel promptly to pick us up, and the coach was comfortable with good air-conditioning. Our tour guide Daphne was fabulous, she regaled us all day long with tales of Greek mythology, and I don't think anyone asked a question she couldn't answer! Lunch at a local hotel was nice, and the Delphi site and museum were very interesting indeed. Just a note of warning as to how much walking (some of it up stairs and slopes) was involved. It was fine for us but some of the older members of our group struggled a little. Still, I think everyone had a great time overall. Thank you CHAT tours and Daphne for a great day out!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed this lovely day trip in the beautiful countryside of Greece. Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and presented the history of Delphi in a very interesting way. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message