Reykjavik ATTRACTIONS See all

Vatnajokull National Park

Covering an area of 12,000 square-kilometers and encompassing the former National Parks of Jökulsárgljúfur and Skaftafell, Vatnajokull National Park has been collecting superlatives since it was established in 2008. The park is now ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 285 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This most interesting and delightful tour was highlighted not just by Delphi itself, but by our excellent and thoroughly well-informed guide and commentator, Stathos (?). He went over and beyond the reponsibilities of his position to inform and explain, to respond considerately to the many questions asked of him and to take time to have one-on-one discussions with participants in the tour. Lunch at the adjacent Amalia Hotel was a pleasant addition and afforded the opportunity to chat with participants from other countries and backgrounds.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an amazing tour! Weather was great (you can't blame the tour company for the weather though), the guide kind and knew loads of stuff. We had some long bus rides, but trust me, the views from the seat was all worth it! Sunsets behind ranges of black mountains, spectacular cliffs and the deep blue sea. Most attractions were AMAZING, my favorite one was Epidaurus - it almost killed me! We stayed at 4 star hotels which was FANTASTIC, especially the Amelia hotel in Delphi took my breath away with it's views!

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This is an excellent day out despite a longish drive (with a break) from and back to Athens. Our Guide, Stathis, was excellent, and everyone loved his information. Delphi needs no recommendation it is one of the great sites of Greece and the world. The museum has a lot to recommend it lots of wonderful sculptures and artefacts which Stathis introduced us too. Stathis when we arrived at Delphi told us we were free to spend as much or as little time with him as we wished... I appreciated this and took 20 minutes out of the museum visit to spend alone at the Temple. Only for a sudden fall of rain I would have spent much more time there. True the museum is well worth your time but wandering among the ruins of Athens is simply unbeatable, and time alone there for reflection is priceless. I enjoyed the lunch which was ample, and gave time to get to know fellow day-trippers a little.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Even it was a rainy and chilly day, our tour guide bright it up with exciting tales about the Greek myths and detailed info about the Delphi Oracle.The site view is simply speechless!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour, except Cape Sounion which was a long drive for not much to see, especially compared to Delphi.

The Cape Sounion tour guide was not very enthustasitc.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was interesting and enjoyable. The guide was very knowledgeable and looked after us well. The coach was comfortable and we had about the right amount of time at Delphi. I didn't find the lunch anything special although acceptable and cheap and made up for by the splendid setting looking out over the sea. I would definitely recommend it as trouble free way to visit Delphi.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

An interesting and informative day trip to Delphi. The coach journey there and back was comfortable and pleasant. The lunch was well worth having, in a nice hotel in the mountains with splendid views over the pretty valley and bay. The guide was knowledgeable and explained, in an appropriate way, the history of Delphi and the other sights we passed. The Museum at Delphi was well laid out and worth visiting.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The tour was well organized. The bus picked us up at our hotel (Herodian) in Athens, right on time. It took about an hour to drive to the other hotels and pickup the rest of the tour members. The bus was mostly comfortable, except the person in front of me put their seat back all the way... this caused some anxiety for the 2 hour journey as I am a tall guy. However, on the way back, I made sure to find a better seat. The guide was knowledgeable and provided some great information. I particularly liked the fact that she covered the history and site details on the bus to the site, so we weren't missing out or trying to keep up while fighting through the crowds at Delphi. Overall, I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! Saw so much in 4 days. Corinth Canal, Mycenae, Epidaurus, Olympia, Delphi, Thermopylae, Meteora. Katherina our tour guide did an outstanding job explaining to us the significance of what we were seeing at each site. We had a small amount of time at each location to explore. We opted for First Class Accomodations and they were good. Porters at each hotel did a great job unloading and loading our suitcases. So glad we did the 4-day trip to see Meteora. There was a lot of walking around on this tour and we had some older and physically challenged people - they hung in there for most of the tours but sometimes they had to wait while we climbed further. Several museums to visit at Epidaurus, Olympia, and Delphi. This 4 day tour gave us a much broader perspective and exposure to Greece beyond our stay in Athens.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A great deal.It is a long day, but we did stop for lunch and the tour guide did stop anytime somebody had to use the toilet, which I thought was nice. The drive was beautiful. When we got to Delphi, the guide was telling us the history of Delphi, but if you just want to go up and see the ruins, you can, just be back when the bus leaves. I was very glad I did it.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was excellent. I would suggest 1 hour longer at the Delphi ruins. It felt a bit rushed by everyone. I would gladly do it again and recommend it to others.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Its a long tour but well worth it. We were dropped off and picked up at our hotel. Its about a three hour journey each way, but they do stop about halfway for a break. Once you're at Delphi you spend about two hours there. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and took her time explaining things to us. One of the best guides Ive had.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic experience at fantastic value. Our guide Irini was able to take us back through the millennia and seamlessly give us a real feel for current trends and issues - we were looking at bronze age burial sites and talking about Mrs. George Clooney trying to get back the Parthenon monuments!
This is great if you are interested in getting to know about history and you enjoy story telling and factual detail. If you are looking for memorable views and natural beauty you wont get much of that - although when the weather is good the sea views were lovely, as were the rock formations in Meteora.
You need to expect between 3 to 4 hours bus travel per day - that's how long it takes to get around and there isn't time to wander around on your own at every sites - especially the museums.
The bus was comfortable, the Amalia hotel rooms were comfortable not luxurious - a good nights' sleep assured . The breakfast and lunch buffets were ok- better in Olympia, average in Delphi and Meteora - but with a wide enough choice, no complaints.
Our group was lovely - very friendly and a great mix of people from all over the world who had a lot in common!

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The hotel pickup was great ! The guide Kathrina was amazing she explained all of the Greek Mythology and the modern day Greece ! The bus ride to Delphi is around 2.5 hours from athens with a breakfast stop (30 mins) while going, lunch stop of one hour and quick pitstop of 10-15 minutes while coming up. In all very well arranged time wise, very comfortable ride in air conditioned bus. Though Delphi by itself wouldn't be intresting untill and unless a guide like Kathrina explains what the stone remains mean !

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Although a long bus ride to get to Delphi, the site was more than worth the drive! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and shared many interesting facts and photos. It would have been nice to add even a half hour to do some shopping at one of the small towns near Delphi. Only negative comment is that when we booked the tour on-line we were allowed to select the Athens hotel we were staying at as one of the pick-up / drop-off points. But, turns out that was incorrect. We had to make our own way to the departure location. Maybe some tweaking of the website should be made.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message