Delphi is the second-most important archeological site in Greece (after the Acropolis in Athens). In ancient times Delphi was considered the place where heaven and earth met so the gods were close-by. Established around the 7th century BC, Delphi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 325 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent. The guide was very knowledgeable and also very good about making complex ancient history understandable. We were picked up on time from our hotel and the whole experience made our day in Delphi a highlight of our week in Athens.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The coach was comfortable and air conditioned and the guide was very efficient and knowledgeable. It is a long drive to get to Delphi but it is well worth it. The guide told us many interesting things and myths. The scenery on the journey is beautiful especially when you get into the mountains. We had chosen the lunch option in Delphi as we did not know what would be available but the three people who had not chosen this were dropped off in a very pretty little village where they had lunch and were able to explore. Although our lunch was ok we now feel we would have preferred to do this also. The ruins in Delphi are very interesting and we enjoyed touring the site very much.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was enthusiastic and friendly with good knowledge of the gods and Delphi itself. Organisation was brilliant despite the complexities of picking people up from all over Athens and other locations. Lunch in a good hotel was include in our ticket and I would recomm

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Knowledgeable guide, comfortable drive with a great driver, beautiful lunch . . . Delphi is breathtaking and well worth the long trip to and from Athens to experience this spiritual place.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Mark I
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was INSANELY ENTERTAINING AND INFORMATIVE. On the way to Delphi, he told us about the history of Greece and a very entertaining manner. Delphi is a nice place and you stop on the way back for a very beautiful spot for photos.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour to Delphi was enjoyable. The tour guide was accommodating and extremely knowledgable.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour to Delphi was a great experience. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. The bus was very comfortable with stops for coffee and snacks. The tour around the museum and sites of Delphi was very good with the tour guide giving lots of interesting facts that we would have missed without her. Would defiantly recommend!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide was extremely knowledgeable. Delphi was a nice excursion into other areas of Greece. Lunch was great.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very informative. The Delphi part was a bit too short though for such long travel. But the lunch was nice and it was a well organised trip.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Athens Sightseeing Tour plus Delphi Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was nice because it gives you a convenient way to get to Delphi, know where you are going and gives a brief on what you expect to see there. I did learn a lot from the tour, however I feel it was too touch and go, secondly although our tour guide was very well informed she was very rude and dismissive for someone you would imagine a tour guide to be Her name was Aphrodite. I think you should train your tour guides to be a little nicer and more friendly, that gives a very nice feel to the tour. Otherwise, money well spent! Lunch was at a very nice restaurant at some hotel but to be honest the guide told us so much about the village en route to delphi that we should have had a good traditional greek meal there and maybe a pitstop to buy souvenirs. Very limited free time, she expected us to climb all the way to the top and be back to the bus in 20 mins.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was nice because it gives you a convenient way to get to Delphi, know where you are going and gives a brief on what you expect to see there. I did learn a lot from the tour, however I feel it was too touch and go, secondly although our tour guide was very well informed she was very rude and dismissive for someone you would imagine a tour guide to be Her name was Aphrodite. I think you should train your tour guides to be a little nicer and more friendly, that gives a very nice feel to the tour. Otherwise, money well spent! Lunch was at a very nice restaurant at some hotel but to be honest the guide told us so much about the village en route to delphi that we should have had a good traditional greek meal there and maybe a pitstop to buy souvenirs. Very limited free time, she expected us to climb all the way to the top and be back to the bus in 20 mins.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Really wanted to give this a 5-star as Delphi was breathtaking but our tour guide was so-so. We actually overslept like 15 minutes, but was so relieved to see all the buses still waiting outside the hotel. However, we frantically were running around to see which bus was ours, until some lady from the tour company luckily helped us.

Our tour guide was nice and clearly explained everything ...almost too much. We got to the first stopping point and we were there for nearly 40 minutes. At this point, a couple of the group already left on their own to explore, as we had to be back by the museum by 1:30pm. Her English was fine but didn't seem too comfortable with it as she repeated herself many times, wasting our time. Some of the group asked questions, which was fine, but after a certain point, the guide really needed to consider the whole group and move on. We finally get to the Temple of Apollo and our tour guide kept rambling on. We were supposed to get some free time, but really didn't see this happening. She goes on to dissuade us from hiking further up to see the stadium, as all our free time would be wasted. At the point, boo and I, along with many others left the group to go see the stadium, as we didn't come all the way here to just see a picture of it. Besides, at the rate she was going, there was no free time and if there was, we already saw everything else, so it was baffling as to why we wouldn't explore all that Delphi has to offer. Stadium was worth it and we made it back to the museum in time, and the rest of the tour was fine. No selfies or posing in the museum! The slushies at the café were overly sweet.

The no-lunch option was a great decision, as we got to have more free time to roam around the town. The bus of course was late in picking us back up before heading into another town, which was awesome to briefly explore.

Overall, definitely worth it and at least you can make your own way, as the itinerary is clearly stated in the beginning.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The trip was great. It was the perfect amount of time for the Delphi area. The bus was comfortable and they stopped 1 time each way for a break and snack. The lunch at the hotel was excellent.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. Delphi is beautiful. The drive alone was just gorgeous! It was fun just to look out the window at the countryside. We even enjoyed the pit stops on the drive there and back. Our only complaint was that our tour guide didn't really try to involve our kids at all. They are very interested in all things Greek, which was why we took this trip, and I felt like she just sort of figured they wouldn't care and talked only to the adults. There was no attempt to include them or even to talk loud enough so we could all hear. Consequently we missed some key information about the meeting time after the museum and thought for a few minutes that the tour bus had left us! It was a little scary for a few minutes, but all was well in the end. Overall we really enjoyed the experience as a whole, we have just had other tours where the tour guides were much, much better.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide made Delphi come alive. Museum is definitely worth a visit too. Bring a book for the bus ride.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

the information about greece and the mythical history of delphi, we got on the way to delphi was great, but then the tour there was too slow-moving, so my party split off. overall good value for the trip there and the admission fees.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

For 6 to 8 hour journey buses r not comfortable. They are either not equipped with washrooms or don't let us use in bus. They are not luxury buses for sure. We were lucky to get good idea on day 1, however day 2 n 3 our guide didn't provide that much information. Also this trip can be done in 2 days if u don't have sufficient time. Delphi and Meteora were really beautiful. Hotels were not that great. Delphi hotel had beautiful view.

Doing what: 3-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This tour was aweful. You will spend twelve hours of your day on a bus to be rushed through Delphi in slightly more than 2 hours at Delphi. The guide provided, Dimitria was aweful. She was too lazy to walk through the whole archaeological site and stopped 1/3 in.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

It's cheaper to go to each site and pay for a tour guide. Also gives you control of your time. We had to be at the Hotel to meet at 820am but don't leave until 9am. Also Delphi day trip is 1:15min each way but your only there for 1 hr. Which is enough time to see everything but it's not worth it.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a great tour into the Delphi area. The tour guide and bus driver did a wonderful job.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great experience, very scenic ride in a comfortable Mercedes shuttle. Tour guide extremely knowledgeable and informative. Delphi itself was amazing to see.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We enjoyed everything about our trip and tour to Delphi. Our guide was amazing and very knowledgable. Everything was perfectly organized and the sights were awesome! Highly recommend it! Though the bus ride is rather long the delicious lunch made up for it!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Delphi was a great trip and as I knew my way about I was able to visit more than was on the official trip, Like the sanctuary of Athena. Some guests were disappointed at this as it is shown on the picture opposite but not visited.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Overall it was a great trip and you get to see some amazing sites. Our guide, Joy, was a wealth of knowledge which is both good and bad, the bad being that it would sometimes cut into your 'free' time at each location. The only other complaint would be that half of our group got rooms on the third floor with excellent views in Delphi, while the rest of us got stuck on the first floor with no view even though we had paid the same price.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It is always nice to get acquainted with a new city by doing a coach tour to get oriented. The guide was very informative and we felt we saw the highlights and could circle back to explore some places in more depth. Delphi was a great experience. The drive through the countryside was delightful. It gives a sense of the agricultural lifestyle. The archaeological site was fascinating. There is a bit of a hike up to the stadium, so wear comfortable shoes! The museum is terrific 9and air conditioned!.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Athens Sightseeing Tour plus Delphi Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message