Delphi is the second-most important archeological site in Greece (after the Acropolis in Athens). In ancient times Delphi was considered the place where heaven and earth met so the gods were close-by. Established around the 7th century BC, Delphi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 277 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! Saw so much in 4 days. Corinth Canal, Mycenae, Epidaurus, Olympia, Delphi, Thermopylae, Meteora. Katherina our tour guide did an outstanding job explaining to us the significance of what we were seeing at each site. We had a small amount of time at each location to explore. We opted for First Class Accomodations and they were good. Porters at each hotel did a great job unloading and loading our suitcases. So glad we did the 4-day trip to see Meteora. There was a lot of walking around on this tour and we had some older and physically challenged people - they hung in there for most of the tours but sometimes they had to wait while we climbed further. Several museums to visit at Epidaurus, Olympia, and Delphi. This 4 day tour gave us a much broader perspective and exposure to Greece beyond our stay in Athens.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A great deal.It is a long day, but we did stop for lunch and the tour guide did stop anytime somebody had to use the toilet, which I thought was nice. The drive was beautiful. When we got to Delphi, the guide was telling us the history of Delphi, but if you just want to go up and see the ruins, you can, just be back when the bus leaves. I was very glad I did it.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was excellent. I would suggest 1 hour longer at the Delphi ruins. It felt a bit rushed by everyone. I would gladly do it again and recommend it to others.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Its a long tour but well worth it. We were dropped off and picked up at our hotel. Its about a three hour journey each way, but they do stop about halfway for a break. Once you're at Delphi you spend about two hours there. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and took her time explaining things to us. One of the best guides Ive had.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic experience at fantastic value. Our guide Irini was able to take us back through the millennia and seamlessly give us a real feel for current trends and issues - we were looking at bronze age burial sites and talking about Mrs. George Clooney trying to get back the Parthenon monuments!
This is great if you are interested in getting to know about history and you enjoy story telling and factual detail. If you are looking for memorable views and natural beauty you wont get much of that - although when the weather is good the sea views were lovely, as were the rock formations in Meteora.
You need to expect between 3 to 4 hours bus travel per day - that's how long it takes to get around and there isn't time to wander around on your own at every sites - especially the museums.
The bus was comfortable, the Amalia hotel rooms were comfortable not luxurious - a good nights' sleep assured . The breakfast and lunch buffets were ok- better in Olympia, average in Delphi and Meteora - but with a wide enough choice, no complaints.
Our group was lovely - very friendly and a great mix of people from all over the world who had a lot in common!

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The hotel pickup was great ! The guide Kathrina was amazing she explained all of the Greek Mythology and the modern day Greece ! The bus ride to Delphi is around 2.5 hours from athens with a breakfast stop (30 mins) while going, lunch stop of one hour and quick pitstop of 10-15 minutes while coming up. In all very well arranged time wise, very comfortable ride in air conditioned bus. Though Delphi by itself wouldn't be intresting untill and unless a guide like Kathrina explains what the stone remains mean !

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Although a long bus ride to get to Delphi, the site was more than worth the drive! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and shared many interesting facts and photos. It would have been nice to add even a half hour to do some shopping at one of the small towns near Delphi. Only negative comment is that when we booked the tour on-line we were allowed to select the Athens hotel we were staying at as one of the pick-up / drop-off points. But, turns out that was incorrect. We had to make our own way to the departure location. Maybe some tweaking of the website should be made.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour of Delphi with sufficient time to explore the ruins. Our guide was very knowledgeable and provide the mythology and historical background of Delphi.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Trip was great! Tour guide was awesome! Would love to stay overnight in Delphi and spend more time at the ruins with even more discussion/lecture about the site.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We took the 2 day tour as I read on the web time was needed to see Delphi
Our tour guide Dimitra was very good and wove info on modern Greek life into the Classical Greek narrative
However, a number of people with us on the one day tour were clearly disappointed at the time available at the site and museum - it was quite short
We were able to spend hours at the site and museum next day before joining another one day trip back to Athens
The people on this trip were clearly annoyed at the time available AND the guide who was hard to understand and quite 'wooden' in his narrative. We got the impression that this bus load couldn't wait to bail out in Athens - and they did as soon as they could

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi from Athens

JCYK
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Joyce was our tour guide and she told the stories of Delphi very well - in both English and French. The tour bus was comfortable. The bus picks up at various hotel in Athens and that can take up to 30 - 45 mins alone if you are the first hotel to be picked up at. If you are too late to be picked up then chances are you may not get a window seat. So consider the location where you would like to be picked up at. The lunch at the hotel was decent (no wine), given that you only need to at 10 EURs.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I enjoyed this tour having previously taken the 3 day classical tour back in 2008 and deciding that I really wanted to do the 4th day which involves a travel from Delphi to Meteora to see the wonderful monasteries perched up high on the cliffs. I found the tour guide (Irenee) to be very knowledgeable about ancient Greece and archaeology. Our bus driver was a very safe driver and I never felt endangered on the whole trip which involves a lot of driving sometimes on narrow windy roads. The Amelia hotels that we stayed at were mostly adequate and far from the worst I've experienced on other bus tours elsewhere. The only small complaint was the bus itself was a bit cramped for space and seemed to need some maintenance with some seats faulty and some leaks in the roof when it rained. The actual tour itself is fantastic and well worth it :-)

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Unfortunately, the weather was awful, but the atmosphere of Delphi was still magnificent

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

In the morning trip, the coach AC did not work well and was repaired when we were going around in Acropolis. The guide was excellent and very professional. I wish the tour included a few more sites, all it covered was the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum ( which was rushed ) and a few minutes at a very modern amphitheatre . Other sights were pointed out from the bus itself. Perhaps more time should be allotted to this trip and more sights covered , including for example, the temple of Zeus. The drive to Cape Sounion was pictureseque and wonderfully scenic. As usual the bus and guide were both excellent. There is not much to see at the Cape except the temple of Poseidon which is impressive, but about an hour stay there is more than enough. Reached hotel only at 7.40 pm as I was the last to be dropped off and the traffic can be horrendous.

The Delphi trip, you must remember, is a long drive taking three hours each way including a halt for coffee and toilets. Travelling up and down six hours and spending about one and half hours at the site itself makes you think if it is really worth it. The site is mostly in ruins considering its age, though one can make out the splendour of the place as it must have been those days. Remember that these sires are much older than the Roman Forum or the Colosseum in Rome and therefore nowhere near as well preserved, you must use your imagination . A few pats of the Delphi site are in slightly better condition , the museum is good but not enough time really considering the time to be spent travelling up and down.

The three course lunch is excellent value , worth paying for in advance. Do remember that you are taken straight to the lunch hotel and there are no other options where you can eat, so you must either have the fixed menu or the a la carte at the hotel itself

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Delphi itself was amazing, loved it! My biggest problem with this trip was lunch...we didn't arrive at Delphi until almost noon, after touring the site we were then taken on a tour of the museum....both were great but we were starving! It was almost 3 by the time we ate and the meal was very mediocre....really we should have had lunch first before we toured. I'd have been much happier to bring my own food, eat it on the bus, and just come straight back to Athens after the tours. Was still very glad to have made the trip and see the sites.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message