Delphi is the second-most important archeological site in Greece (after the Acropolis in Athens). In ancient times Delphi was considered the place where heaven and earth met so the gods were close-by. Established around the 7th century BC, Delphi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 281 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour, except Cape Sounion which was a long drive for not much to see, especially compared to Delphi.

The Cape Sounion tour guide was not very enthustasitc.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was interesting and enjoyable. The guide was very knowledgeable and looked after us well. The coach was comfortable and we had about the right amount of time at Delphi. I didn't find the lunch anything special although acceptable and cheap and made up for by the splendid setting looking out over the sea. I would definitely recommend it as trouble free way to visit Delphi.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

An interesting and informative day trip to Delphi. The coach journey there and back was comfortable and pleasant. The lunch was well worth having, in a nice hotel in the mountains with splendid views over the pretty valley and bay. The guide was knowledgeable and explained, in an appropriate way, the history of Delphi and the other sights we passed. The Museum at Delphi was well laid out and worth visiting.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The tour was well organized. The bus picked us up at our hotel (Herodian) in Athens, right on time. It took about an hour to drive to the other hotels and pickup the rest of the tour members. The bus was mostly comfortable, except the person in front of me put their seat back all the way... this caused some anxiety for the 2 hour journey as I am a tall guy. However, on the way back, I made sure to find a better seat. The guide was knowledgeable and provided some great information. I particularly liked the fact that she covered the history and site details on the bus to the site, so we weren't missing out or trying to keep up while fighting through the crowds at Delphi. Overall, I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! Saw so much in 4 days. Corinth Canal, Mycenae, Epidaurus, Olympia, Delphi, Thermopylae, Meteora. Katherina our tour guide did an outstanding job explaining to us the significance of what we were seeing at each site. We had a small amount of time at each location to explore. We opted for First Class Accomodations and they were good. Porters at each hotel did a great job unloading and loading our suitcases. So glad we did the 4-day trip to see Meteora. There was a lot of walking around on this tour and we had some older and physically challenged people - they hung in there for most of the tours but sometimes they had to wait while we climbed further. Several museums to visit at Epidaurus, Olympia, and Delphi. This 4 day tour gave us a much broader perspective and exposure to Greece beyond our stay in Athens.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A great deal.It is a long day, but we did stop for lunch and the tour guide did stop anytime somebody had to use the toilet, which I thought was nice. The drive was beautiful. When we got to Delphi, the guide was telling us the history of Delphi, but if you just want to go up and see the ruins, you can, just be back when the bus leaves. I was very glad I did it.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was excellent. I would suggest 1 hour longer at the Delphi ruins. It felt a bit rushed by everyone. I would gladly do it again and recommend it to others.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Its a long tour but well worth it. We were dropped off and picked up at our hotel. Its about a three hour journey each way, but they do stop about halfway for a break. Once you're at Delphi you spend about two hours there. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and took her time explaining things to us. One of the best guides Ive had.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic experience at fantastic value. Our guide Irini was able to take us back through the millennia and seamlessly give us a real feel for current trends and issues - we were looking at bronze age burial sites and talking about Mrs. George Clooney trying to get back the Parthenon monuments!
This is great if you are interested in getting to know about history and you enjoy story telling and factual detail. If you are looking for memorable views and natural beauty you wont get much of that - although when the weather is good the sea views were lovely, as were the rock formations in Meteora.
You need to expect between 3 to 4 hours bus travel per day - that's how long it takes to get around and there isn't time to wander around on your own at every sites - especially the museums.
The bus was comfortable, the Amalia hotel rooms were comfortable not luxurious - a good nights' sleep assured . The breakfast and lunch buffets were ok- better in Olympia, average in Delphi and Meteora - but with a wide enough choice, no complaints.
Our group was lovely - very friendly and a great mix of people from all over the world who had a lot in common!

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The hotel pickup was great ! The guide Kathrina was amazing she explained all of the Greek Mythology and the modern day Greece ! The bus ride to Delphi is around 2.5 hours from athens with a breakfast stop (30 mins) while going, lunch stop of one hour and quick pitstop of 10-15 minutes while coming up. In all very well arranged time wise, very comfortable ride in air conditioned bus. Though Delphi by itself wouldn't be intresting untill and unless a guide like Kathrina explains what the stone remains mean !

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Although a long bus ride to get to Delphi, the site was more than worth the drive! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and shared many interesting facts and photos. It would have been nice to add even a half hour to do some shopping at one of the small towns near Delphi. Only negative comment is that when we booked the tour on-line we were allowed to select the Athens hotel we were staying at as one of the pick-up / drop-off points. But, turns out that was incorrect. We had to make our own way to the departure location. Maybe some tweaking of the website should be made.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour of Delphi with sufficient time to explore the ruins. Our guide was very knowledgeable and provide the mythology and historical background of Delphi.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Trip was great! Tour guide was awesome! Would love to stay overnight in Delphi and spend more time at the ruins with even more discussion/lecture about the site.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We took the 2 day tour as I read on the web time was needed to see Delphi
Our tour guide Dimitra was very good and wove info on modern Greek life into the Classical Greek narrative
However, a number of people with us on the one day tour were clearly disappointed at the time available at the site and museum - it was quite short
We were able to spend hours at the site and museum next day before joining another one day trip back to Athens
The people on this trip were clearly annoyed at the time available AND the guide who was hard to understand and quite 'wooden' in his narrative. We got the impression that this bus load couldn't wait to bail out in Athens - and they did as soon as they could

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi from Athens

JCYK
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Joyce was our tour guide and she told the stories of Delphi very well - in both English and French. The tour bus was comfortable. The bus picks up at various hotel in Athens and that can take up to 30 - 45 mins alone if you are the first hotel to be picked up at. If you are too late to be picked up then chances are you may not get a window seat. So consider the location where you would like to be picked up at. The lunch at the hotel was decent (no wine), given that you only need to at 10 EURs.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message