Delphi is the second-most important archeological site in Greece (after the Acropolis in Athens). In ancient times Delphi was considered the place where heaven and earth met so the gods were close-by. Established around the 7th century BC, Delphi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 238 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour, due both to the places it took us and especially because our guide, Emilios, was a highly educated and thoughtful man (he was trained as an engineer but has been a guide for decades) who brought alive the myths associated with each place, and also told us the real history and how the two were intertwined. Along the way he also told us about the importance of olives to the Greeks, how each family has at least one olive tree from which it produces both oil and soap, why eating olives must be cured and how, the difference between Kalamata olives and those grown below Delphi, and many other things. Unfortunately, Emilios is aging, and it seems inevitable that he will be retiring before too long, so I would urge you to take one of his tours while they are still available.

The visit to Nafplion was a real plus. It is beautiful and a nice respite from ancient stones.

Our tour was actually the first three days of a four-day tour, the last day to the monasteries of Meteora. We needed to be back in Athens so we were put on a different bus at Delphi, one that had brought others for a one day trip to Delphi. We had Emilios for the visit to the site at Dephi but we had another guide for the trip back to Athens. He, too, seemed to be knowledgeable but unfortunately his accent was so heavy that we had trouble understanding what he was saying.

The hotels and meals were also excellent, and the lunch restaurants (not included in the price of the tour) were excellent and reasonable for the quality of food. Only the restaurant at Olympia was not as good as the rest. Although the restaurants were very good, I would have been happy to have gone to at least one ordinary taverna in the course of the trip.

We were perhaps fortunate in that our bus was less than half full, so we had ample opportunity to talk to Emilios and also to the other people on the tour, most of whom were also interesting.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Katvah was a wonderful guide on part of this tour. This two day experience was a great choice for us. The guides should always use a portable mike so all can hear. Not a problem on the bus.
The antquities at Delphi and Poseidn were amazing. Highly recommend this choice of the City tour and then Poseidon' temple

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I got a very good deal on this tour. My family and I were picked up at our hotel and the bus was really nice and clean. They made a restroom stop once each on the way to Delphi and back to Athens. You could buy coffee and snacks at each stop. The restrooms were also clean. The tour itself was a bit rush. We were given an opportunity to see the stadium which was located very uphill so some people of the group went up too. By the time we came back, the rest of the group that didn't go up, already went to the museum so we missed almost half of the tour at the museum. The stadium was not that impressive, if I had known, I would skip it and save my energy. The Tholos turned out was not included in the tour. We could not take a picture of it since it's located downhill and the bus didn't make any stops. The lunch was so delicious. It was at one of the hotels around the area. It was chicken with steamed vegetables and they gave a very generous portion too. All in all, it's a nice tour. Would be perfect if we could spent the night in Delphi. The view of the area was so beautiful.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Superb with a superb guide. Catherina was very knowledgeable and fun. In addition she gave us detailed instructions on time and where we were to meet. Trip to Delphi and back was worth the price of the whole trip. Lunch was superb looking out at the Gulf of Corinth. We had enough time on site to take what pictures we needed to take. I was taking detailed pictures for my class presentations so I probably could have used 10 more minutes but if you were just there for personal shots there was plenty of time. The museum was incredible and again our guide was great.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was great!
Our tour guide Dimitra (My spelling is definitely incorrect) spoke very good English and she was both friendly and helpful. She organized the tour in good pace and her explanation on site and in museums were very professional. She also helped us arrange our luggage transfer.

We stayed in Amalia Hotel at both Olympia and Delphi. The hotel is very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast at the hotel was also good.
The only problem we encountered at the Olympia was that our hotel's Wi-Fi did not work.

If you are interested in Greek history and ancient civilization and you can afford the time, I highly recommend this tour.

Going on this tour in May or early June should be better than late June, July or August, since it was not crowded and weather was very nice - around 70 F (20 C) during the day and mostly sunny.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was great! We saw a lot!
Our tour guide Dimitra (My spelling is definitely incorrect) spoke very good English and she was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. She organized the tour in good pace and sequence, and her explanations on site and in museums were very professional. She also helped us arrange our luggage transfer.

We stayed in Amalia Hotel at both Olympia and Delphi. The hotel was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast at the hotel was also good.
The only problem we encountered at the Olympia was that our hotel's Wi-Fi did not work. We could not go online.

If you are interested in Greek history and ancient civilization and you can afford the time, I highly recommend this tour.

Going on this tour in May or early June should be better than late June, July or August, since it was not crowded and weather was very nice - around 70 F (20 C) during the day and mostly sunny.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We absolutely loved the tour! Daphne our tour guide was fantastic! She gave us so much background information, not only about delphi but the region and greece in general! She spoke extremely good English and helped everyone with any questions they had regarding the tour or travel! The bus was great, air conditioned and a smooth ride! The only reservation we had was with the restaurant chosen for lunch.. I think a more traditional lunch in the village would have been a much nicer way to end a fantastic day!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour starts with a relaxing drive from Athens to the mountains in Central Greece. Our tour guide spent much time as we traveled explaining the traditions of the people and culture along with the history, Greek mythology, and significance of the area. Upon entering the mountains (an hour into the drive), the scenery was amazing and the olive trees of Greece were everywhere, along the mountain slopes and deep in the valleys. After a 2 ½ hour bus ride (with comfort stops), we arrived at Delphi and it was incredible. So huge with so many ancient structures and our guide walked us along the paths and explained each one with its history, and importance. She was incredible! We were allowed some free time to explore on our own and climbing up the slopes of this ancient complex, there are many superior photo opportunities. We then regrouped at a specific time and toured the museum which contained the specular archeological finds of Delphi and our guide was there to explain each. This is an excellent museum! We then took a very short bus ride to the Hotel Amalia (an excellent spacious hotel) and enjoyed lunch overlooking the Gulf of Corinth and it was delicious. Around 3pm we left for Athens and passed through beautiful towns sitting on the slopes of the mountains. We did take a rest break along the way at a station on the motorway which had local treats and a wonderful balaclava. Enjoy!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Delphi was great. Guide was very knowledgeable. Lunch was ok. Driving around Athens for over an hour picking up passengers for this and other tours was awful.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The Delphi tour was great the pickup was on time the tour guide Stafis was professional, knowledgeable
and courteous. It was the last day of our trip and it helped make our trip most memorable.
THANK YOU VIATOR!!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great tour, our guide Martina was lovely, well informed and presented all relevant historical facts and more in a friendly and interesting way. Was impressed with itinerary though some bus trips a little longer than anticipated. Hotel on second night in Delphi was located well with great views and breakfast but rooms were sub standard (for a four star hotel) with leaky taps, noisy plumbing, doors not locking properly, safe broken etc. we were not the only person on our tour to find this. Thanks to tour guide enjoyable tour. P.s. Glad we did not do the four day tour as another 27 people were joining the tour when we left which made for a crowded bus.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We really enjoyed these tours and had excellent guides for each. We chose the first class accommodation at both towns and it was very nice with plenty of choices for both breakfast and dinner. The only negative for this tour was the 24 hour stopover in Delphi. I was aware of this after reading previous reviews but as I wanted my husband to see the town of Delphi we had no choice. We were dropped off at the hotel in Delphi around 2.30 pm one day then picked up at 3pm the next. We had walked the streets of Delphi many times over and it was too cold to swim in the pool, so we sat for quite a few hours just waiting to get picked up. So if the weather is hot and you are happy to sit around the pool, or read a good book, this tour will suit you. If not, think twice about taking it. Check out was at 12 and our pick up time kept getting later and later. By the time we got on the bus we were pretty annoyed. Its a pity they don't have a one day tour to Meteora so you could take both tours independently and not spend a precious day of your holidays sitting around doing nothing.

Doing what: 3-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Like the other tours we took while in Greece, we were glad to have a knowledgeable guide who could help us understand what we were seeing and put everything into a historical context. Delphi is an incredible site to visit and we got a lot out of our visit to the museum as well. The bus ride is a long one but the view is beautiful. The guide wisely spent the first bit of the trip giving some history and insight into Athens and Greece but then she was quiet and let people doze or read. My only wish for the trip would have been for a slightly better lunch. We ate in the restaurant of a local hotel which was fine and the meal was adequate. My son and the other guests at our table seemed to enjoy their meal well enough but I am a vegetarian and there were no options for me. Overall however, I would highly recommend this trip and can't say enough about what a difference having a knowledgeable guide makes.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The Delphi trip was very interesting. Be prepared to walk some steep hills and steps for the best views and to see the stadium. Lunch was also very good.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

They tell you you stop in a small town when getting back fir coffee and it is not true. They stopped in a gas station with bathrooms. I asked the guide about the stop and she said it was not included, which is not true as it specifically says it is. I was looking forward to this stop. For the rest, Delphi is amazing, worth the trip.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message