Delphi is the second-most important archeological site in Greece (after the Acropolis in Athens). In ancient times Delphi was considered the place where heaven and earth met so the gods were close-by. Established around the 7th century BC, Delphi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 337 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Stapheous was briliant. He really knew his stuff. His English was extremely good and we understood everything he said. My Mother and I really enjoyed our day and felt we learned so much from this trip. We believe Stapheous being the main reason for this. Delphi is somewhere I would recommend to see. It has so much history and is a must-see whilst in Athens.

We were told that pick-up from our hotel would be at 8.30 am. We were in fact collected at 7.45 pm. Luckily we were already awake and had breakfast, but having to rush out of the hotel to the coach really should not be the case. This, we felt, let the trip down due to the unorganisation of it. However, everything else during the day ran smoothly.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved our trip to Delphi - we were picked up right at our hotel - the scenery from Athens to Delphi was amazing and the history at Delphi was wonderful

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really enjoyed the highlights. Relaxed pace for the day. Just enough time at each place. Tour guide was very knowledgable and informative. We heard lots of tidbits, stories, and histories on the bus on the way to places. Hotel in Olympia was pretty deserted and I would not have called it 4-star. One in Delphi was better. Would do a tour with the local tour company again. Well-run operation.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. Delphi is a beautiful archaeological site to visit, the tour guide was excellent, and the pacing of the trip was very good. We were picked up at our hotel at 8:00 am, and were back by 7:00 pm. I felt we had enough time to enjoy the ruins and the museum. We purchased the optional lunch it was just ok. However, it was nice to not be rushed while trying to find an alternative place to eat, so I am glad we purchased the lunch option.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our day trip to Delphi from Athens was fantastic! I would highly recommend it to any traveler. The bus ride was comfortable and the tour was very good. We enjoyed our day immensely.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Maria was an excellent tour-guide. She was very knowledgeable of the Delphi region and ruins. She made for a much more interesting trip through the museum with archaeologist knowledge that she has. She kept us going with lots of information. Our driver did an excellent job getting us from Athens to Delphi safely and comfortably. A great tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Delphi Day Trip from Athens Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our trip to Delphi was well organized and extremely informative. Thanks!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a first for us and we enjoyed our trip around Greece. The 1st leg of the tour from Athens to Delphi was a real treat. Our guide Evie was a 'fire-cracker' and made everyone feel welcomed and excited about the trip. Her storytelling and positivity kept us all engaged at all time. On the 2nd leg of our tour we joined a different group. Meteora was also impressive, but it was Delphi that took our breaths away also because you had to climb up the hill in the heat. Both hotels were pleasant and beds were comfortable. The only downside was the food, which was less of a greek buffet and more of a international mix of pastas and meats.
All together it was an interesting experience and one we enjoyed.

Doing what: 3-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

So much to see! I wish we would have had a bit of time in the little town of Delphi and in Arachova.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Love this trip. The drive through the mountains and then arriving at Delphi was awesome. Well worth it.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We were picked up by a mini bus approximately an hour later then the schedule and then had a run around Athens trying to pick up people from various hotels who were either not ready or seemed to have forgotten about the tour altogether.We were then taken to the headquarters of the tour company who were the local agents where we were transferred to a coach The poor guide had a hard time trying to explain the various options for, it seemed like for different groups of people, some who were on one day tour,others on two days tour etc The guide was a lovely local lady with a good measure of both humour and knowledge and we did not feel like we were rushed at the Delphi site or the museum
We had booked for a vegetarian option for our lunch but all I had for my main course was some vegetables .

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Delphi is a nice place to visit. I will do that again. However I would give a low rating to the guide. She is knowledgeable however she was constantly on the phone, about every 5 minutes. She didn't tell us that much until we reached the museum.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent. The guide was very knowledgeable and also very good about making complex ancient history understandable. We were picked up on time from our hotel and the whole experience made our day in Delphi a highlight of our week in Athens.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The coach was comfortable and air conditioned and the guide was very efficient and knowledgeable. It is a long drive to get to Delphi but it is well worth it. The guide told us many interesting things and myths. The scenery on the journey is beautiful especially when you get into the mountains. We had chosen the lunch option in Delphi as we did not know what would be available but the three people who had not chosen this were dropped off in a very pretty little village where they had lunch and were able to explore. Although our lunch was ok we now feel we would have preferred to do this also. The ruins in Delphi are very interesting and we enjoyed touring the site very much.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was enthusiastic and friendly with good knowledge of the gods and Delphi itself. Organisation was brilliant despite the complexities of picking people up from all over Athens and other locations. Lunch in a good hotel was include in our ticket and I would recomm

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Knowledgeable guide, comfortable drive with a great driver, beautiful lunch . . . Delphi is breathtaking and well worth the long trip to and from Athens to experience this spiritual place.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Mark I
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was INSANELY ENTERTAINING AND INFORMATIVE. On the way to Delphi, he told us about the history of Greece and a very entertaining manner. Delphi is a nice place and you stop on the way back for a very beautiful spot for photos.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour to Delphi was enjoyable. The tour guide was accommodating and extremely knowledgable.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour to Delphi was a great experience. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. The bus was very comfortable with stops for coffee and snacks. The tour around the museum and sites of Delphi was very good with the tour guide giving lots of interesting facts that we would have missed without her. Would defiantly recommend!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide was extremely knowledgeable. Delphi was a nice excursion into other areas of Greece. Lunch was great.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very informative. The Delphi part was a bit too short though for such long travel. But the lunch was nice and it was a well organised trip.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Athens Sightseeing Tour plus Delphi Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was nice because it gives you a convenient way to get to Delphi, know where you are going and gives a brief on what you expect to see there. I did learn a lot from the tour, however I feel it was too touch and go, secondly although our tour guide was very well informed she was very rude and dismissive for someone you would imagine a tour guide to be Her name was Aphrodite. I think you should train your tour guides to be a little nicer and more friendly, that gives a very nice feel to the tour. Otherwise, money well spent! Lunch was at a very nice restaurant at some hotel but to be honest the guide told us so much about the village en route to delphi that we should have had a good traditional greek meal there and maybe a pitstop to buy souvenirs. Very limited free time, she expected us to climb all the way to the top and be back to the bus in 20 mins.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was nice because it gives you a convenient way to get to Delphi, know where you are going and gives a brief on what you expect to see there. I did learn a lot from the tour, however I feel it was too touch and go, secondly although our tour guide was very well informed she was very rude and dismissive for someone you would imagine a tour guide to be Her name was Aphrodite. I think you should train your tour guides to be a little nicer and more friendly, that gives a very nice feel to the tour. Otherwise, money well spent! Lunch was at a very nice restaurant at some hotel but to be honest the guide told us so much about the village en route to delphi that we should have had a good traditional greek meal there and maybe a pitstop to buy souvenirs. Very limited free time, she expected us to climb all the way to the top and be back to the bus in 20 mins.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Really wanted to give this a 5-star as Delphi was breathtaking but our tour guide was so-so. We actually overslept like 15 minutes, but was so relieved to see all the buses still waiting outside the hotel. However, we frantically were running around to see which bus was ours, until some lady from the tour company luckily helped us.

Our tour guide was nice and clearly explained everything ...almost too much. We got to the first stopping point and we were there for nearly 40 minutes. At this point, a couple of the group already left on their own to explore, as we had to be back by the museum by 1:30pm. Her English was fine but didn't seem too comfortable with it as she repeated herself many times, wasting our time. Some of the group asked questions, which was fine, but after a certain point, the guide really needed to consider the whole group and move on. We finally get to the Temple of Apollo and our tour guide kept rambling on. We were supposed to get some free time, but really didn't see this happening. She goes on to dissuade us from hiking further up to see the stadium, as all our free time would be wasted. At the point, boo and I, along with many others left the group to go see the stadium, as we didn't come all the way here to just see a picture of it. Besides, at the rate she was going, there was no free time and if there was, we already saw everything else, so it was baffling as to why we wouldn't explore all that Delphi has to offer. Stadium was worth it and we made it back to the museum in time, and the rest of the tour was fine. No selfies or posing in the museum! The slushies at the café were overly sweet.

The no-lunch option was a great decision, as we got to have more free time to roam around the town. The bus of course was late in picking us back up before heading into another town, which was awesome to briefly explore.

Overall, definitely worth it and at least you can make your own way, as the itinerary is clearly stated in the beginning.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The trip was great. It was the perfect amount of time for the Delphi area. The bus was comfortable and they stopped 1 time each way for a break and snack. The lunch at the hotel was excellent.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message