Delphi is the second-most important archeological site in Greece (after the Acropolis in Athens). In ancient times Delphi was considered the place where heaven and earth met so the gods were close-by. Established around the 7th century BC, Delphi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 271 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! Saw so much in 4 days. Corinth Canal, Mycenae, Epidaurus, Olympia, Delphi, Thermopylae, Meteora. Katherina our tour guide did an outstanding job explaining to us the significance of what we were seeing at each site. We had a small amount of time at each location to explore. We opted for First Class Accomodations and they were good. Porters at each hotel did a great job unloading and loading our suitcases. So glad we did the 4-day trip to see Meteora. There was a lot of walking around on this tour and we had some older and physically challenged people - they hung in there for most of the tours but sometimes they had to wait while we climbed further. Several museums to visit at Epidaurus, Olympia, and Delphi. This 4 day tour gave us a much broader perspective and exposure to Greece beyond our stay in Athens.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A great deal.It is a long day, but we did stop for lunch and the tour guide did stop anytime somebody had to use the toilet, which I thought was nice. The drive was beautiful. When we got to Delphi, the guide was telling us the history of Delphi, but if you just want to go up and see the ruins, you can, just be back when the bus leaves. I was very glad I did it.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was excellent. I would suggest 1 hour longer at the Delphi ruins. It felt a bit rushed by everyone. I would gladly do it again and recommend it to others.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Its a long tour but well worth it. We were dropped off and picked up at our hotel. Its about a three hour journey each way, but they do stop about halfway for a break. Once you're at Delphi you spend about two hours there. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and took her time explaining things to us. One of the best guides Ive had.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic experience at fantastic value. Our guide Irini was able to take us back through the millennia and seamlessly give us a real feel for current trends and issues - we were looking at bronze age burial sites and talking about Mrs. George Clooney trying to get back the Parthenon monuments!
This is great if you are interested in getting to know about history and you enjoy story telling and factual detail. If you are looking for memorable views and natural beauty you wont get much of that - although when the weather is good the sea views were lovely, as were the rock formations in Meteora.
You need to expect between 3 to 4 hours bus travel per day - that's how long it takes to get around and there isn't time to wander around on your own at every sites - especially the museums.
The bus was comfortable, the Amalia hotel rooms were comfortable not luxurious - a good nights' sleep assured . The breakfast and lunch buffets were ok- better in Olympia, average in Delphi and Meteora - but with a wide enough choice, no complaints.
Our group was lovely - very friendly and a great mix of people from all over the world who had a lot in common!

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Trip was great! Tour guide was awesome! Would love to stay overnight in Delphi and spend more time at the ruins with even more discussion/lecture about the site.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We took the 2 day tour as I read on the web time was needed to see Delphi
Our tour guide Dimitra was very good and wove info on modern Greek life into the Classical Greek narrative
However, a number of people with us on the one day tour were clearly disappointed at the time available at the site and museum - it was quite short
We were able to spend hours at the site and museum next day before joining another one day trip back to Athens
The people on this trip were clearly annoyed at the time available AND the guide who was hard to understand and quite 'wooden' in his narrative. We got the impression that this bus load couldn't wait to bail out in Athens - and they did as soon as they could

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi from Athens

JCYK
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Joyce was our tour guide and she told the stories of Delphi very well - in both English and French. The tour bus was comfortable. The bus picks up at various hotel in Athens and that can take up to 30 - 45 mins alone if you are the first hotel to be picked up at. If you are too late to be picked up then chances are you may not get a window seat. So consider the location where you would like to be picked up at. The lunch at the hotel was decent (no wine), given that you only need to at 10 EURs.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

In the morning trip, the coach AC did not work well and was repaired when we were going around in Acropolis. The guide was excellent and very professional. I wish the tour included a few more sites, all it covered was the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum ( which was rushed ) and a few minutes at a very modern amphitheatre . Other sights were pointed out from the bus itself. Perhaps more time should be allotted to this trip and more sights covered , including for example, the temple of Zeus. The drive to Cape Sounion was pictureseque and wonderfully scenic. As usual the bus and guide were both excellent. There is not much to see at the Cape except the temple of Poseidon which is impressive, but about an hour stay there is more than enough. Reached hotel only at 7.40 pm as I was the last to be dropped off and the traffic can be horrendous.

The Delphi trip, you must remember, is a long drive taking three hours each way including a halt for coffee and toilets. Travelling up and down six hours and spending about one and half hours at the site itself makes you think if it is really worth it. The site is mostly in ruins considering its age, though one can make out the splendour of the place as it must have been those days. Remember that these sires are much older than the Roman Forum or the Colosseum in Rome and therefore nowhere near as well preserved, you must use your imagination . A few pats of the Delphi site are in slightly better condition , the museum is good but not enough time really considering the time to be spent travelling up and down.

The three course lunch is excellent value , worth paying for in advance. Do remember that you are taken straight to the lunch hotel and there are no other options where you can eat, so you must either have the fixed menu or the a la carte at the hotel itself

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The tour was disappointing, tbh. There wasn't enough time at the site - 1 hour to explore the whole of the ancient site of Delphi! Half the coach didn't even get up to the stadium! I did because I abandoned the group and did my own thing. The short time was due to a cock-up in ticket-buying. We had to wait for ages while the tour guide went to and fro to get our tickets. Why on earth they weren't purchased in advance, I have no idea. Communication was also bad. We were told to meet later at a certain time; it was not made clear this was to go round the museum. If I'd known, I would have stayed at the site! Bearing in mind how little time we had at the site, it was ludicrous to spend more than an hour over lunch. As the lack of time was due to the tour company's bad planning, they should have rearranged timings so that we had more time at the site. After all, we came to see Ancient Delphi, not the inside of a modern hotel.
Lunch was very disappointing. No choice (well, a spaghetti (!) option for vegetarians). I had a Greek salad without the feta, but getting this was a bit of a palaver.
The coach ride was very scenic and the tour guide provided interesting stories along the way, some of which were repeated. I was confused that we were told we were driving past the plains of Marathon, as I ( and my map) thought they were somewhere else entirely. I was baffled as to why we stopped outside a hillside town for a 'photo opportunity', when we didn't stop in the town to actually explore it. Our breaks were at service stations - it would have been more interesting to stop in a town, even if the timing wasn't in the middle of the journey. It would also have been far more interesting to use the spare time after lunch to explore the town of Delphi rather than be stuck in a hotel for 3/4 hour!
The site of Delphi itself was, of course, stunning. I just wish there had been more time to fully appreciate it, soak up the atmosphere and enjoy being in such an *incredible* ancient place!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

A real scam and please don't waste your precious time in Greece on this 2 hour tour sightseeing! This is not a day trip but just 2 hours of sightseeing and a lot of bus travel. The description of the tour did not meet the actual tour it self.
The tour was described as a 10 hours tour which included 3 hours of driving to Delphi and 3 hours back. So we figured we had about 4 hours of sightseeing including lunch. That was not true. We stopped 4
times for "coffee and shop" break of 20 minutes each. For lunch we had to get on a bus and take a
short drive to an empty hotel which took more than one hour in total. SO of that 10 hour daytrip we only
had a short 2 hours of sightseeing!!!! 2 hours!!! We paid almost 200 euros for 2 hours of sightseeing. We mostly just sat on the bus from taverns to taverns to empty hotel and back.
We took the lunch deal for 12 euro per person. That was a real scam! The food was not freshly made but was heated up for us. The waiter just came by with a huge plate of food and put some of it on everyone's plate. The food was of very poor quality and tasteless. The hotel was secluded from the village so it was not
easy to eat elsewhere.
Beside that we just waste a whole day in Athens for sightseeing of 2 hours! That was not what we wanted! In the details it said we could arrange a pick up or drop of at any major hotel, that was also not true! We still had to walk back for 30 min to our hotel because the bus driver did not want to stop at our place because it was not on his route!
Just don't waste your time nor money because it is really not worth it.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had an excellent tour guide! She was quite knowledgeable of Delphi and was able to answer our questions. We enjoyed the archaeological site as well as the visit to the village. We also enjoyed lunch. I would highly recommend this tour. It gave us a nice break from the city!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Delphi was a highlight of our sightseeing in Greece. I would definitely recommend this location for anyone traveling in the area. It is worth the extra drive to see a different side of the mainland. Breathtaking!

Doing what: Delphi, Arachova and Saint Lucas Monastery Tour from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Delphi was one of my favourite parts of my time in Greece. I HIGHLY recommend the 2-day option. Many folks who were on the 1-day tour said to me that they felt they didn't get to see everything. I had a whole 24 hours on my own to explore the town (which has a great many charming tavernas and interesting shops, so bring lots of euros and space in your bag for your treasures!). The hotel that the tour booked for me (Hotel Amalia) was very pleasant, with a beautiful lounge, pool, and restaurant where my supper and breakfast were included (and the food was very good, the service excellent). I really liked going through the archeological site with the tour guide, then being able to return on my own to explore with more time the next day. It was great to be picked up and dropped off at my hotel in Athens, so I didn't have to worry about a thing from start to finish. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Delphi is a must see for any trip to Greece. Very spirtual. Our guide was engaging and informative. We included lunch. Food and venue was very good.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message