Delphi is the second-most important archeological site in Greece (after the Acropolis in Athens). In ancient times Delphi was considered the place where heaven and earth met so the gods were close-by. Established around the 7th century BC, Delphi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 257 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had an excellent tour guide! She was quite knowledgeable of Delphi and was able to answer our questions. We enjoyed the archaeological site as well as the visit to the village. We also enjoyed lunch. I would highly recommend this tour. It gave us a nice break from the city!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The pick-up in the Plaka was a little scrambled but the young lady who attended recovered everything by the time we arrived at the main assembly hotel. The drive out of Athens and through the agricultural countryside was less than interesting but then agriculture is agriculture the world over, really. The tour guide, a nice man who was certainly well informed, did his best to make it interesting. Only when the Parnassus loomed into vie after a couple of hours did the drive become more interesting. Actually the defect with this tour is the very extensive driving involved, not really improved by the assurances that, once the freeway is completed, it will be a lot shorter. The distances really are substantial so if you don't like long trips in bus seats that don't recline and with air conditioning systems that don't really work, think about taking this tour again. The hotels (Amalia at both Delphi and Meteora) do both the accommodation and food well, particularly at Delphi in that stunning setting. The rush and bustle at the historical sites is off-putting but that is Greece today. I dread to think what Delphi would have been like peak season. Considering the time spent in a bus seat relative to the time spent at the sites, this is a loooooong, expensive bus ride broken by short periods of attendance at the historical sites and some very comfortable rest-overs in the selected hotels.

Doing what: 3-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The trip was decent but I would've preferred to rent a car and make the trip myself. The tour guide wasn't very useful and we wasted a lot of time sitting on the bus picking up and dropping people from hotels throughout Athens. The stay in Delphi also wasn't very long and we had a short lunch break and didn't get to see much of the town itself, which was quite nice.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Delphi Gorge makes a majestic backdrop for the exploration of the ruins of Delphi, enhancing the mysterious aura at the site while providing a hint about the power of the faith that possessed thousands of pilgrims to seek answers from the Oracle at Delphi in spite of the arduous ordeal they experienced to reach the site. The knowledgeable guides provide insightful information that explains how Delphi also ranks as a fine example of religious entrepreneurship!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour to Delphi was one of the highlights of our trip to Greece. Our guide, Kostas, was very knowledgeable and informative. He made the trip especially interesting by blending history, religion, politics and culture in his narration. After visiting the Archaeological Museum at Delphi, my 10-year-old daughter said, "That was so cool!" That is high praise from a child. The motor coach was very comfortable, and the lunch arranged at the Hotel Amalia was lovely. The trip was at just the right pace, not too strenuous, but sufficient time to enjoy the surroundings, take photos and relax. It was also nice to escape the hustle and bustle of Athens for a day. Overall, this was a great tour!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour has the best of Athens, the tour guide was great and knew a lot about the history. Delphi was a great trip with amazing views, and full of history. This was a great opportunity to visit different landscapes in a short time.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Athens Sightseeing Tour plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour exceeded all expectations with high quality accommodation, informative commentary by our tour guide, Joy and archaeological sites to enthrall. Olympia and Delphi were unbelievable areas to visit with plenty of time allowed at all venues. Congratulations to the Amalia Hotel chain for providing sensational breakfasts with excellent service. The pick up and drop off at our hotel was much appreciated.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a terrific tour. Our guide, Marita, was outstanding. She communicated the history in an interesting manner, explained complex things clearly, and knew all about modern Greece as well. It was a delight. The food, and overnight accommodations were high quality as well. For three of the four days we had a very small group which enabled us to ask lots of questions of our guide, and to get to bond as a group. The highlight for my wife and I were the sites of Olympia and Delphi - there was lots more to see and understand than we had anticipated. We'd definitely do this again, or recommend it to friends. Tom and Anne

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour exceeded all my expectations with high quality accommodation, informative commentary by our tour guide Joy who has a great knowledge of History and Archaeology and the archaeological sites selected were great to enthral. Olympia and Delphi were unbelievable areas to visit. Plenty of time was allowed at all venues. Congratulations to the tour operator for providing accommodation in Amalia Hotel chain. The breakfasts and dinners were sensational with excellent spread and service. The pick up and drop off at our hotel is appreciable. Last but not the least the bus was in safe hands of Mr Dimitirs a matured and quite driver. I would recommend this tour to everyone who is visiting Greece.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I have had a good trip overall. First the bus driver is driving at a good speed which help to ease a bit of my worry seeing some comments on bus driving too fast. Second, I have a good guide Joy who speaks clear English which makes it very easy to understand and adding to this, she is very knowledgeable and her myths really makes the tour a lot more fun than it would have been. The hotels we were in are clean and comfortable in a way exceeding my expectation.

The only one complaint I have is the restaurant at Delphi where we have lunch is terrible as there are just too many flies. Imagine you have to cover your drink with tissue in case the fly land on it. Also I saw 1 fly stick on the a piece of cake that the staff is carrying.

Overall I'm please with the trip.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I have had a good trip overall. First the bus driver is driving at a good speed which help to ease a bit of my worry seeing some comments on bus driving too fast. Second, I have a good guide Joy who speaks clear English which makes it very easy to understand and adding to this, she is very knowledgeable and her myths really makes the tour a lot more fun than it would have been. The hotels we were in are clean and comfortable in a way exceeding my expectation.

The only one complaint I have is the restaurant at Delphi where we have lunch is terrible as there are just too many flies. Imagine you have to cover your drink with tissue in case the fly land on it. Also I saw 1 fly stick on the a piece of cake that the staff is carrying.

Overall I'm please with the trip.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Day 1 was ok
Too Hot
Wish the guide would shorten talks in the sun
Provide umbrella maybe on real hot days as there is no sun
Delphi was amazing

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

This review is difficult to write as it comprises two tours, both of whic were on opposite ends of the spectrum.

The first tour, Athens, was incredible. Joy was fantastic as she kept the tour moving, was kind and courteous and really brought the history to life in her descriptions. She answered all questions and even stayed after to make sure we all had directions for where we wanted to go next. I highly recommend her and the Athens tour. Five stars!

The Delphi tour was a different story. The Delphi tour deserves 1 star. Don't get me wrong, the actual area was incredible, it was the tour guide who was awful. Her name was Lila and she droned on and on talking about silly details,but failing to point out what the large pieces of architecture was. If you asked any questions she claimed that she had already answered it and then shamed you in front of the group. During the tour she left 10 min to walk around the magnificent area which left no time to see anything on your own. On the way back, instead of letting us nap she talked loudly on the microphone telling a historically inaccurate version of the Oedipus Rex story.

Recap: do the Athens and Delphi tours, just make sure you don't have Lila. I honestly want my money back for the Delphi tour. She ruined it that bad.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Athens Sightseeing Tour plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour, due both to the places it took us and especially because our guide, Emilios, was a highly educated and thoughtful man (he was trained as an engineer but has been a guide for decades) who brought alive the myths associated with each place, and also told us the real history and how the two were intertwined. Along the way he also told us about the importance of olives to the Greeks, how each family has at least one olive tree from which it produces both oil and soap, why eating olives must be cured and how, the difference between Kalamata olives and those grown below Delphi, and many other things. Unfortunately, Emilios is aging, and it seems inevitable that he will be retiring before too long, so I would urge you to take one of his tours while they are still available.

The visit to Nafplion was a real plus. It is beautiful and a nice respite from ancient stones.

Our tour was actually the first three days of a four-day tour, the last day to the monasteries of Meteora. We needed to be back in Athens so we were put on a different bus at Delphi, one that had brought others for a one day trip to Delphi. We had Emilios for the visit to the site at Dephi but we had another guide for the trip back to Athens. He, too, seemed to be knowledgeable but unfortunately his accent was so heavy that we had trouble understanding what he was saying.

The hotels and meals were also excellent, and the lunch restaurants (not included in the price of the tour) were excellent and reasonable for the quality of food. Only the restaurant at Olympia was not as good as the rest. Although the restaurants were very good, I would have been happy to have gone to at least one ordinary taverna in the course of the trip.

We were perhaps fortunate in that our bus was less than half full, so we had ample opportunity to talk to Emilios and also to the other people on the tour, most of whom were also interesting.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Katvah was a wonderful guide on part of this tour. This two day experience was a great choice for us. The guides should always use a portable mike so all can hear. Not a problem on the bus.
The antquities at Delphi and Poseidn were amazing. Highly recommend this choice of the City tour and then Poseidon' temple

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message