Delphi is the second-most important archeological site in Greece (after the Acropolis in Athens). In ancient times Delphi was considered the place where heaven and earth met so the gods were close-by. Established around the 7th century BC, Delphi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 292 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Delphi trip was very nice, guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Delphi trip was very nice, guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Delphi trip was very nice, guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Delphi trip was very nice, guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Delphi was amazing, but the bus tour was very crowded.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

Delphi was an excellent place to visit and so very different from Athens and many of the islands. Situated in the mountains it was a lovely drive there. Ancient Delphi was very interesting and the guide did a good job of explaining the history and significance. The museum was very interesting as well, however instead of being given free time to wander through, the guide spoke generally in each room and the group was quickly ushered into the next. I wandered on my own behind the group and read and saw what I wanted to see.
The trip was disappointing as it was too 'touristy' we stopped in the most beautiful mountain town (Arahova, I think), conveniently parked in front of a tacky tourist shop. The owner was even there to great us, instead I wandering around the town for our 20 minute 'shopping' time and far more enjoyed that time.
I did not purchase lunch with my trip, thinking that this would give me time to wander quietly through Delphi or another town and away from the tourist restaurant that would have been the place for lunch. I was extremely disappointed when the lunch spot was located in the middle of no-where so there was no opportunity for alternatives at all. I paid for a very over-priced Greek salad that was poor at best and a glass of bad over-priced wine. I am not sure why the bus did not stop, or at least let the group disembark at either new Delphi or Arahova so that we could have spent the 90 minute lunch time eating good local food instead of being cooped up in a tacky bus tourist restaurant in the middle of no-where. Don't even get me started on the coffee stop in the morning, sure there were clean toilets, but also €8 for a cappuccino and baklava, tarnished silver jewellery for sale along with souvenirs from the 2004 Olympic games.
I do not recommend this tour and have already told two sets of friends who are going to visit Greece, not to bother. This is disappointing as the Delphi site and museum are great. I suggest renting a car...

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This most interesting and delightful tour was highlighted not just by Delphi itself, but by our excellent and thoroughly well-informed guide and commentator, Stathos (?). He went over and beyond the reponsibilities of his position to inform and explain, to respond considerately to the many questions asked of him and to take time to have one-on-one discussions with participants in the tour. Lunch at the adjacent Amalia Hotel was a pleasant addition and afforded the opportunity to chat with participants from other countries and backgrounds.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an amazing tour! Weather was great (you can't blame the tour company for the weather though), the guide kind and knew loads of stuff. We had some long bus rides, but trust me, the views from the seat was all worth it! Sunsets behind ranges of black mountains, spectacular cliffs and the deep blue sea. Most attractions were AMAZING, my favorite one was Epidaurus - it almost killed me! We stayed at 4 star hotels which was FANTASTIC, especially the Amelia hotel in Delphi took my breath away with it's views!

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great tour, worth the trip. Delphi is an awe inspiring place. The guide was quite informational, the trip comfortable. We did not take the lunch option, but instead went to a small, nice restaurant in Delphi town. It would have been nice to have a stop over at the beautiful Arahova town along the way.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This is an excellent day out despite a longish drive (with a break) from and back to Athens. Our Guide, Stathis, was excellent, and everyone loved his information. Delphi needs no recommendation it is one of the great sites of Greece and the world. The museum has a lot to recommend it lots of wonderful sculptures and artefacts which Stathis introduced us too. Stathis when we arrived at Delphi told us we were free to spend as much or as little time with him as we wished... I appreciated this and took 20 minutes out of the museum visit to spend alone at the Temple. Only for a sudden fall of rain I would have spent much more time there. True the museum is well worth your time but wandering among the ruins of Athens is simply unbeatable, and time alone there for reflection is priceless. I enjoyed the lunch which was ample, and gave time to get to know fellow day-trippers a little.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Even it was a rainy and chilly day, our tour guide bright it up with exciting tales about the Greek myths and detailed info about the Delphi Oracle.The site view is simply speechless!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour, except Cape Sounion which was a long drive for not much to see, especially compared to Delphi.

The Cape Sounion tour guide was not very enthustasitc.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was interesting and enjoyable. The guide was very knowledgeable and looked after us well. The coach was comfortable and we had about the right amount of time at Delphi. I didn't find the lunch anything special although acceptable and cheap and made up for by the splendid setting looking out over the sea. I would definitely recommend it as trouble free way to visit Delphi.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

An interesting and informative day trip to Delphi. The coach journey there and back was comfortable and pleasant. The lunch was well worth having, in a nice hotel in the mountains with splendid views over the pretty valley and bay. The guide was knowledgeable and explained, in an appropriate way, the history of Delphi and the other sights we passed. The Museum at Delphi was well laid out and worth visiting.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The tour was well organized. The bus picked us up at our hotel (Herodian) in Athens, right on time. It took about an hour to drive to the other hotels and pickup the rest of the tour members. The bus was mostly comfortable, except the person in front of me put their seat back all the way... this caused some anxiety for the 2 hour journey as I am a tall guy. However, on the way back, I made sure to find a better seat. The guide was knowledgeable and provided some great information. I particularly liked the fact that she covered the history and site details on the bus to the site, so we weren't missing out or trying to keep up while fighting through the crowds at Delphi. Overall, I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message