Delphi is the second-most important archeological site in Greece (after the Acropolis in Athens). In ancient times Delphi was considered the place where heaven and earth met so the gods were close-by. Established around the 7th century BC, Delphi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 371 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michelle Y Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Tour was great but I would suggest staying in the beautiful town of Delphi for lunch . Other than lunch the whole tour was exceptional with outstanding sights and a great chance to view the country side .

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

michaelandrewcollins

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Really great guide (Stathis) and a great driver too (George). It and #39;s a rushed itinerary, but if you want to see this many sites in 4 days that and #39;s how it goes! All the sites were awesome, especially Delphi and Meteora.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

Gerard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Simply brilliant tour, super guide and driver worked to make this a superbly informative and enjoyable trip.
A highlight? Possibly Mycenae stands out as the best among equals, but the museum at Delphi is astonishing and so is much else.....

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

Temay S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a very well organized tour that took us to visit key centers of Greek ancient cultural history.
The trip was made extraordinary thanks to our tour guide, Lila with her very special humor. We stayed in Amalia hotels on all three nights. The breakfast and dinner buffets were very good, although we think the best is still the Amalia in Athens. By driving in a bus we could see the beautiful panoramic seas, the Ionian on the west, and the Aegean on the east of Athens. We recommend very good walking shoes to climb up to see the ancient monuments in Olympia, Delphi and Kalambaka. We also recommend bringing tissue papers because Kalambaka nunnery has extremely clean squat toilets with water but no Tpaper.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

Lauren P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing day, beautiful drive up there with an amazing guide. When we got to Delphi, the tour was brilliant and so interesting! I opted out of lunch and brought my own, and had a great view whilst eating it. A must for any history lover!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Anita G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing tour of Ancient Greece with the best guide that one could have asked for. She was very passionate and had thorough knowledge of Greece history which added to the charm in every place. We got excellent food along the way and the hotels were excellent with amazing views/décor and free wifi. All the places were very impressive - Stadium of Olympia, theatre at Epidaurus, sunset at Delphi and the incredible monasteries and views at Meteora were my favorites. The countryside was also amazing throughout the trip and the guide alerted us to spectacular views. We were a group of about 24 in a bus and got along great with each other. However, the bus got full in the last day and less enjoyable in several ways - a minor setback in an otherwise awesome tour. One thought to offset this setback is to limit the number in the bus.


Glad to have picked the 4-day tour instead of the 3-day tour as you do not want to miss out Meteora.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

Pres L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Joining the tour to Delphi is well worth it. The tour guide, Katerina is friendly and extremely knowledgeable. She took the time to answer the questions of travelers, and even gave recommendations for cool neighborhoods to check out in Athens. Delphi is a must-see when visiting Greece.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Kathleen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour to Delphi and surrounding area was amazing! Nor guide, Joy, was very knowledgable and clearly loved her work. The day was spent traveling to and from Athens, walking among the ruins and the site at Delphi, visiting the museum at the site, and even allowed for a brief stop at the ski mountain base village. We elected to have lunch apart from the trip and found a small restaurant with a gyro I will always remember!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Ness

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I first visited Delphi when I was only 15 years old, it's beauty has remained with me for.... a few more years! I really wanted to share that with my son and my fiancé. Our original plan was to hire a car and drive ourselves - however, having seen the way the Athenians drive, we decided a planned tour was the safer option!
We booked the trip the day before and were pleasantly surprised to receive confirmation very quickly, along with a phone call to confirm collection from our hotel. Previously I had only booked trips before leaving the UK.
The trip is advertised as being 10 hours, this is from the start time and not from the collection from your hotel. The trip was 12 hours and extremely long! It claims to be a two hour drive from Athens but, after leaving the final hotel, we were told it would be three and a half hours! This did include a stop off for a comfort break.
The long journey was made worth it once we arrived at Delphi. The sun shone although it was the end of October and the place, although there were plenty of visitors, was not as busy as the Athens Acropolis had been. Joy, our guide, was very informative and knowledgeable about the history of the site. There was plenty of time for us to view the site on our own before meeting at the museum. Joy's commentary was really interesting and informative.
We had opted to include lunch in our tour. The food was very tasty but the speed in which it was delivered didn't really give sufficient time to enjoy it! The four courses were probably served, and eaten within 30 minutes! Hardly enough time to swallow before the next course was delivered!
The obligatory stop at the 'souvenir' shop on the way back to Athens, along with another 'comfort' break delayed the return - resulting in the additional two hours on top of the 1.5 hours on the coach before the final pick up in the morning. A great day but very long. Would not advise if you have young children.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

dimple.bhandia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Excellent. My only issue was the waste of time at a souvenier shop for half an hour. It was outside of the small town on the way to Delphi. It would have been nicer if we had stopped in town.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

BARBARA S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour enfolded exactly as promised with a few extras enroute. We had an excellent guide, Calliope, who was extremely knowledgeable and made the sites and museum visits come alive. The hotels were good 3/3 but were not close enough to allow a walk into town in the evening which I would have preferred and hotel dinners were basic buffet or bland. Lunchnot included was better and 3 of 4 restaurants quite good. One annoyance was that our group 21 was overwhelmed by the addition of 30 people on the last part of the tour after 5 of our members left at Delphi. This overcrowded the bus and meant the group was too large to keep together for a tour of the second monastery we visited at Meteora, the easiest to reach St. Stephen's, which also had several cruise ship groups visiting. Need better communication so guide can avoid overcrowded monastery and need a second guide for a day when group is over 30. The reason for as high an overall rating as I gave is the excellence of Calliope and the value for the price.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

Isabel E

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

As a fellow traveler: Do consider that this tour is about 2/3 drive, 1/3 actual tour. But I would say it is worth it. To cut off some travel time, I suggest to NOT go with the hotel pick up. We got picked up at 7:30am, but didn't leave Syntagma station until about 9am.
For the tour operators: The time in Delphi is very tightly timed, if one is not that fit, one won't make it all the way up and down in the given time. Also, we would have been curious to stop in the little ski town on the way out, maybe this can be incorporated.
In general: Helena was a knowledgeable tour guide, but hard to understand. I am not sure she went into as much detail as I would have liked, but then again maybe she said everything but I just didn't understand.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Andrea Nikki F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour. Guide was knowledgeable, interesting and funny! Delphi is a magical place. The museum is worthwhile and not too large. Even the included lunch was very good and the view from the restaurant was spectacular.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

scott t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Long drive through the country side to reach the ruins. It was very hot and there was little escape from the sun. Ruins are extensive and our guide Joy provided in depth information about the site and museum. The museum was amazing with ancient sculptures and other finds from the ruins at Delphi. We chose lunch on our own in town and had a delicious mousaka at To Patriko mas Tavern. Open air seating under a 200 year old mulberry tree over looking a view of the valley to the sea. Would have liked to linger but had to return to the bus for our ride back to Athens. If you only have time for one tour, this is the one to do.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

TERRY M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

In and of itself, Delphi is an impressive site. We enjoyed visiting the museum and ruins in conjunction with the information provided by our knowledgeable and pleasant tour guide. The bus ride to and from Delphi is long 3 hours each way, but it is a comfortable ride that includes a rest stop and commentary which makes the time pass quickly.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Marcia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is quite a long day tour but the experience of visiting the spectacular site at Delphi is not to be missed. The tour is well paced with rest breaks on both forward and return journeys.The guide was knowledgeable and answered all sorts of questions. Her guiding in the museum gave us a good insight into Greek art. The lunch stop was the least good aspect of the tour but there are few options for group dining in the area and in order to spend the maximum amount of time possible at the site, the choice of restaurant was quite understandable. Upon arrival back in Athens, the guide made sure that people were all dropped back to their separate hotels.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

jimjenkins444

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

To see Delphi and trhen Meteora is one of those rare sites in the world. The trip to Delphi was very good and the ruins were excellent but the highlight was to see the monasteries at Meteora perched on the very top of the mammoth rocks. Nothing like it. Also, the guide Irene was one of the best we have every had. We would recommend this trip without qualification

Doing what: 3-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Samantha Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an excellent tour guide and small group on the bus since it was getting to be the off season. Our tour guide was funny. He catered to the group's requests on the way home and let us stop and shop in a village nearby Delphi. We had a great experience and good time. I would do it again.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Carl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

pleasant ride.meal provided very good.escorter very engaging and knowledgable.made Delphi come alive.she was the best part of the trip.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

George N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

While this tour wasn't exactly my style and I didn't have too long in Athens I still really enjoyed it. The starting location was easy to find and the bus was very comfortable with good A/C. In fact I would say I enjoyed the scenic ride to and from delphi more than I did the museum part. Walking around delphi was nice despite the heat and the mountains and the scenery are simply amazing. I was a little disappointed to learn that so much of the site had been reconstructed, however it's still awesome to know that you're walking around such an important site in the ancient world. At the end the driver dropped everyone off near their hotel which is really nice as well.

All and all it's a fairly laid back tour, you won't be walking around or exploring too much, however you will still see some pretty cool stuff. If you're traveling with kids, or are a bit older and just want to relax, this would be a great tour. Even if you're an active person though this tour would kind of work a rest day into your travels without having to waste a day.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Barbara M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

excellent hotel in Delphi but in Kalambaka our room in the Amalia had a non-functioning toilet flush, a sink stopper that once down we couldn't get up, a tv we couldn't figure out , and a door to the patio we couldn't open -- and the food was pretty mediocre.
similarly, our guide at Delphi, Coreena, was outstanding Meteora only ok
buses comfortable

Doing what: 3-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Jaclyn P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very knowledgible tour guides. Delphi and Cape Sounion were really cool sights, despite the long bus ride. The bus was typical coach, but comfortable. Expect crowds and some standing around for the Acropolis tour.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

julie.rea

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This was a big bus tour operation..... i had read it as a small bus tour so i was disappointed. Once i got over that, i enjoyed the tour.....well worth the trip to Delphi.....the lunch was also very good...... much better than i had anticipated.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Emma L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Both 1 and 2 day tour 3h trip there, 45m tour ruins 45 free time 45m tour museum then lunch and home or left alone till pick up next day I think over priced for 2hr actual tour. Delphi and village fab would do 1 long day and travel myself so have time properly look around. 1 day tour too short 2 days overpriced

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi from Athens

apbmeadowlands

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Long drive for a short visit. There is a lot to see at the site, but there is no extra time given to visit the Tholos at Athena Pronoia, just down the road. After the long trip, you'd think they's let us stay another hour to see this top site in Delphi. The fact that it is not even mentioned by the guide, we had to ask 'what is that down the hill?' shows that they hoped you didn't notice. Anyone rating this a 5 star didn't notice or doesn't know about Tholos. Not seeing Tholos makes a visit to Delphi incomplete. Anyone in the know would have gladly gave up lunch or the museum to see this. Although having the knowledgable guide was nice, I would have been better off taking a regular bus from Athens to Delphi and seeing everything.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message