• USD ($)
  • English
Meteora, in central Greece, is a place of natural beauty and man-made wonder. The huge natural rock towers are home to cliff-top monasteries built by Eastern Orthodox hermit monks in the 14th century. The monks settled in the area from the 9th ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 96 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour, due both to the places it took us and especially because our guide, Emilios, was a highly educated and thoughtful man (he was trained as an engineer but has been a guide for decades) who brought alive the myths associated with each place, and also told us the real history and how the two were intertwined. Along the way he also told us about the importance of olives to the Greeks, how each family has at least one olive tree from which it produces both oil and soap, why eating olives must be cured and how, the difference between Kalamata olives and those grown below Delphi, and many other things. Unfortunately, Emilios is aging, and it seems inevitable that he will be retiring before too long, so I would urge you to take one of his tours while they are still available.

The visit to Nafplion was a real plus. It is beautiful and a nice respite from ancient stones.

Our tour was actually the first three days of a four-day tour, the last day to the monasteries of Meteora. We needed to be back in Athens so we were put on a different bus at Delphi, one that had brought others for a one day trip to Delphi. We had Emilios for the visit to the site at Dephi but we had another guide for the trip back to Athens. He, too, seemed to be knowledgeable but unfortunately his accent was so heavy that we had trouble understanding what he was saying.

The hotels and meals were also excellent, and the lunch restaurants (not included in the price of the tour) were excellent and reasonable for the quality of food. Only the restaurant at Olympia was not as good as the rest. Although the restaurants were very good, I would have been happy to have gone to at least one ordinary taverna in the course of the trip.

We were perhaps fortunate in that our bus was less than half full, so we had ample opportunity to talk to Emilios and also to the other people on the tour, most of whom were also interesting.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is a great way to get out of the busy city of Athens to see two incredible sites. Delphi was breathtaking, with an amazing drive to get up to the site. The lodging was great, and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and kind. Meteora was another highlight, wow! What an incredible site to see!! This is truly not to be missed when doing a trip to Greece!!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was definitely a highlight of our trip. Delphi and Meteora took our breath away...especially Meteora. What amazing monasteries ... the drive was well worth it. The hotel Amalia where we stayed overnight was great. Good sized room, well furnished and delicious meals. The guides on this trip were amazing and it was a great history lesson for us. It was very well organized, plenty of breaks, not too hectic and there was time to relax as well. Strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

First part was to Delphi. Not so good. The Museum was not included in the package, so we were told. Why? And the Guide said that we would not be going to the Tholos, which was shocking considering that almost all photos of Delphi, show the Tholos. "It is really not that important", the guide said, and "you can see it when you go up on the stadium level". Really? When I travel, I go to see places I have read about and have seen in pictures. I want to see it, take a photo, and be in the photo. So despite what the guide said, I broke away from the group, which was languishing in the heat and probably bored listening to her description of the Sacred Way--and made my way (running and panting 25 minutes to the gymnasium area and down to the Tholos. Sure, it is dedicated to Athena Pronaia and not to Apollo, but these ruins are the most impressive in Delphi. And I was the only one who had photos of it. See for yourselves (assuming the publish it). Problem with guided tours is that the guides try to impress with what they know. In this day of the Internet, we tourists should read up on the area we are visiting and thus have more time to do other things ..like take photos, shop, or go our own way without being tied to a spot simply because the guide is spewing forth all knowledge which we may already know.
The second part to Meteora was great. Well, the guide (a new one) was taking so much time on one area, outside the main altar of one of the monasteries, that we had just a few minutes to go inside the main altar, before a group of pilgrims came in singing and chanting and forcing us out. Also, no time was alloted for souvenir shopping, so again, just go fast and buy what you can find.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! Delphi and Meteora are magical places. Katarina, our guide, was super knowledgeable and had an amazing ability to explain history facts and greek mythology in the most exciting way. The hotels were very nice. The first day we stopped for lunch at a very nice hotel in Delphi (beautiful views, swimming pool, nice gardens), which apparently is the one they use on the 3-day trip (so I'd recommend that option to anyone that has the time, unfortunately I didn't). The group was 8pax only, so very comfortable.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was very organized tour. The guides are professional and friendly. Also places are interesting. Amalia Hotel was also very comfortable and clean. But restaurants where we ate lunch are little expensive, but worth for the givien price. Food is delicious. Also the bus journey was tiring. Unfortunately meteora is 6 hours far away from athen. Meteora is worth the long journey.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My family really enjoyed this trip. I highly recommend spending a little more on the Meteora trip over the one-day Delphi trip. In the Meteora trip, you also get a stop at Thermopoly where the Spartans (300) battled the Persians (my sons got a big kick out of seeing the battlefield and the terrain) and Meteora was amazing.

It's a long drive to Meteora from Delphi. On the way there, we were doubting whether or not it was worth the hours of driving to get there, but once we were there, we decided it was well worth it. It was an amazing place and a once in a life time opportunity to visit. If you are going to go the long long yards to get to Athens, then to Delphi, you might as well take another day to get to Meteora. It was worth the trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was well organized and outstanding. The guides were very professional and excellent knowledge.The bus drivers were also very pleasant and helpful guys. The hotels were our accommodation was arranged - Amalia - was also excellent, clean and the food was outstanding.Everything was well taken care of by the tour company including a wake up call on the second day!The bus tour to Delphi and Meteora were amazing and beautiful. Especially the trip to Meteora with the spectacular views from the top of the mountains and visit to monasteries. Overall it was a wonderful experience, a trip well worth it!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The trip is worth to visit, especially Meteora, The time in Delphi is a bit short, unable to explore all. The Hotel Amalia wifi connection was very poor, unable to get connect in the room at all.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The tour was definitely worthwhile. Meteora was spectacular. Delphi was interesting. The overnight accommodation was very comfortable with a well appointed room, good food, and high speed wi-fi. The bus was comfortable and our tour guide was enjoyable and informative. But be aware that it is a hike to Meteora so there is a lot of time spent on the road to visit those two site.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The tour was good, especially the visit to the Monastery in Meteora. Dinner and breakfast were included in the price. The negative part of the tour was that most of the time was spent on the bus and less time in the places of interest.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

A different guide would have made it better. I had difficulty with his English. Worst of all he did not walk or maybe he with us to all the specifics of the sites so he usually pointed to the specifics that were furthur away and give us time to explore rather going to them with us. For example when we visited Olympia it opened an hour late because of EU elections, our guide talked for about five to ten minutes then we waited about forty minutes for the place to open. Another guide I had met previously took her group for a walk on the public road to view the site especially the track facility to give her customers did not have to sit around doing nothing. Another example is when we visited Delphi he did not go as far up as other guides and he did not or could not go down to the Temple of Athena whwreas other guides did. I do believe your customers deserve better service. There are other incidents, in addition we had some Japanese visitors in the Meteora segment they did not understand him and he made little effort to work with them. He is about the worst I have ever experienced. I gave the rating as a two star becausee it was still worth going to those places with or without a guide, but a better guide would have provided an outstanding experience.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Experience was out of this world. The meteora monasteries should be part of the the wonders of the world. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Top notch tour and well worth what we paid.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The time spent in Delphi was woefully short. The tour guide lectured for 15-20 minutes, taking away our time to explore. All she said could have been shared on the bus ride there... not to mention the hundreds of school kids running around, screaming, which made the lecture not only a waste of time, but nearly impossible to hear. The guide was also not helpful when it came time to switch buses, as no one quite knew where our bus was, so it was very frustrating. Once we started the Meteora portion of the tour, things became very clear and the new guide was very knowledgeable, and managed our time visiting the monasteries exceptionally well, so we never felt slighted or rushed. The scenery around Meteora simply cannot be beat. A+ for the Meteora portion, D+ for the rush job at Delphi.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

2-day trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens, but we do not have chance to visit Delphi Museum because has to rush to Meteora in the afternoon. Only 1-day trip to Delphi got a chance to visit Delphi Museum, it should be included the visit to Museum for 2-day trip too.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message