Meteora, in central Greece, is a place of natural beauty and man-made wonder. The huge natural rock towers are home to cliff-top monasteries built by Eastern Orthodox hermit monks in the 14th century. The monks settled in the area from the 9th ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 149 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful tour of Delphi and Meteora! Our tourguide (Joy) gave us a lot of useful information about the history and culture of those two places, and we got a lot of time to explore them on our own.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Maerose
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful trip to Delphi and Meteora! The guides were helpful and somehow entertaining. It was handled by a local tour company, and they only have certain pick-up and drop-off points my hotel not included, so I had to wake up early and go to another pick up point. The buses were nice, but the aircon was very weak! So bring a fan and a bottle of water if you take the tour in summer. Additional info: No dress requirement in Delphi, but the monasteries in Meteora require that women wear skirts and dresses with lengths below the knee and sleeved shirts or blouses. Men should wear trousers or long shorts. They provide skirts and shawls if you really don't feel like wearing any of the dress code above. We had stop-overs in nice restaurants, cafes and souvenir shops every 1.5-2 hours. : I highly recommend this tour! I learned a lot, and the places were amazing and the mountains were majestic!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything went according to plan Delphi was great and Meteora was beyond expectations

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Mostly good experience. The guide for Delphi was good, the guide for meteora was just ok. Transferring between tours and changing guides and groups was not well organized and a little confusing.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The places we visited and the sites we saw were AMAZING! However, seeing as that was the only enjoyable part, I would say it is HIGHLY overpriced and you should just go to these places without the aid of a tour.

Our guide, Lila, was very knowledgeable. It was a little excessive at points though, with her talking for 1.5 hours straight and dancing around direct questions to the point where it sounded like she thought if she talked enough people wouldn't realize she didn't actually know the answer to the question being asked. She was also VERY rude for the entire trip. Other travellers on our tour were constantly worried about being scolded or yelled at. One couple called her out on her rudeness but she acted like it was nothing. A NUN even got into an argument with her during our time at Meteora for being so rude and wrong with her information. She also rushed us at every stop. I understand time limits but she was freaking out about people being slow to get off the bus...we had older couples with us, they don't move as fast as her speed walking.

Our coach was comfortable and spacious and our driver, Demetrius, was great. Excellent driver and very friendly. There were A LOT of comfort stops and whenever we stopped for lunch it was always in the middle of nowhere so if you weren't hungry you had nothing to do for an hour. Many of the unplanned stops were at places where we were encouraged to buy something, and the people SOMEHOW knew we were coming. Also worth noting that a few of our stops seemed to solely be because Lila wanted to go pick up some things at a store.

The hotels were ALL Amalia and they were great. However, they didn't want to waste their double beds on a tour company seriously, we were told this. More politely though. so we were stuck with singles pushed together for couples. The food served was buffet style. No complaints about the food.

Overall it's probably a decent tour if you have a good guide but I wouldn't risk it!

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour. Do not miss the opportunity to travel to Delphi and Meteora. This 2-Day trip is worth every minute and every penny. Excellent tour guides and service.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Delphi and Meteora are amazing places to visit. The tour ran smoothly and close to schedule. The tour guides were friendly, nice and very informative.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely loved this tour! Everything about it was great. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel accommodation and the dinner buffet there.
But most of all, I was definitely impressed by Delphi and the Meteora monasteries. Amazing photo ops!
The guides were also super nice! And I learned a lot about Greek history on this tour. The surprise stop in a certain famous spot was also very welcomed :-
One think I did not like was that we did not have the opportunity to really explore Kalambaka because we got there late in the evening just in time for a quick shower and dinner, and when we stopped by again for lunch after visiting the monasteries, we were taken to a clear tourist restaurant where droves of tourist-filled buses were parked.
I have told all of my friends and family members to include this tour on their itineraries if they plan on visiting Greece.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Guides were so informative and nice but don't have much time in delphi. I know it is long trip to meteora from delphi. But I wished I could have more time in delphi.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed this tour, never realized how beautiful Greece is until we went on the bus tour. Our guide was also the best! He alone was worth the tour expense. While guides around us gave brief information of the sights, our guide really took his time to tell us the history, story, and linkage between all the sights that we see in 4 days. Everything is connected and he slowly builds the information day by day. He still leaves enough time for self-exploration and for photos. Food and accommodation was great as well. My only complain is that on Day 2, 3 there isn't enough sights. There is only 1 big sights and rest is drive time. I wish we get to see at least 2 sights walking ones not pit stops. Lastly, Day 4 Meteora was really amazing. I wish tour plan for more time at Meteora. Overall, a very nice tour and worth the cost. P.S. - Pick up and drop off was great! Door-to-Door service depended on where your hotel is located. I love it, no hassle.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour is a great way to see these sites. The guides give you plenty of information on the bus ride to and from the destination. The guides accompany you into the Delphi site and Meteora monastaries and give you more info as you walk through each site. Its a great ride through the mountains of Greece.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The journey was pretty long, but it was worth it as the scenary was beautiful at Delphi, looking at the temple of Apollo over the mountains. At Meteora, the monastries were beautiful. It was breath-taking to see the monastries suspended in the air on the huge rocks!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Meteora was worth the long drive, it was a pleasant trip and I saw lots of the lovely countryside

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Yang V
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely dreamy! I'd do it all over again. Our guides one for Delphi, another for Meteora were knowledgeable, witty, friendly and overall charming. The buses were comfortable, though the hotel we stayed at overnight was basic and nothing too fancy for the 4 stars promised. I met and made friends with very interesting people, and that's always the best part of travelling. Overall a wonderful experience!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

While the sightseeing was great and Meteora was simply incredible and the our tour guide Joy for the Delphi portion of the trip was very informative and very easy to comprehend, the bus was too overpacked with people and seating wasn't comfortable.
Also Hotel Amalya in Kalambaka was rather inferior and didn't seem like a 4 star hotel at all, in fact our 3 star hotel in Athens was a 1000 times better.
The trip also seemed rushed at times, we were constantly being rushed at each stop.
Lastly, the lunch stop on day 2 after visiting Meteora was not optimal, the restartaurant selected was a bit on the pricy side, plus it was too early for lunch, would've preferred to have been stopped in the town so that people could've spent time sightseeing while others who preferred to eat could've eaten at that time.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Awful, agonizing trip, do not take this tour. Drive instead. I wish I had now, but was worried about driving in Greece. The roads were completely fine, you can do it! Food was terrible, after going very long periods of time between meals. It was like torture the whole time. No info given at sights about bathrooms or water. Guides awful. Hotel, restaurants awful, it was like being held captive. I hated every single moment. Our overweight guide could not even take us to the nice monasteries due to his inability to climb stairs, so thanks to him, Meteora was even a bust! The guide shuttled us to his favorites spots for food, which I don't think my dog would have even eaten. No lie, tells us the best food in greece, at a TRUCK STOP. The food looked as if it had been prepared days ago, and put out at least 5-6 times under heat lamps. We were so disgusted, could not wait to get back to Athens and take a decent shower and eat decent food.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Barry C
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

An outstanding trip though a lot of bus riding and fast-paced touring once on-site. The time in Delphi is extremely limited- only one hour is allotted to tour the Sanctuary of Apollo, and to reach the top tier you need to be in great physical shape and able to do a fast climb and take rapid-fire pictures to take it all in, and then return to the bus on-time. Most of day one is spent riding on the bus. Hotel accommodations at the 4 star Amalia were very good. The second day is spent touring Meteora and two of the seven monasteries in the morning. Truly amazing views and sights which were awe-inspiring and memorable. Though the ride home is nearly six hours from Meteora, it is scenic, and our wonderful guide, Joy, had excellent commentary throughout the trip which provided a great overview of Greek History and mythology. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone looking for a little something different from touring the Islands and the greater Athens area.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Meteora was spectacular but thought Delphi was just a 45 minute stop and not enough time.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour was absolutely amazing. We were on a tour with Martina and the driver was Dmitri. Our tour group was through G.O tours. Our tour driver was great and Martina was very good.

Delphi was nice but Meteora was spectacular. It is a must see. Martina was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Good trip for meteora but I felt like we could have seen more of Delphi and we didn't get to see the museum. Do the other tour if you want to do Delphi. I was lucky I had already seen Delphi but if I wanted to see both I would have been disappointed.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The trip to Delphi and Meteora was worthwhile, even though it was raining most of the time.

The Good: Easy pick-up location in central Athens, knowledgeable guides, beautiful sights, plenty of time to take great photo opportunities, friendly fellow travelers.

The Bad: There was a good deal of confusion on day one, as the tour is blended with another tour. So a lot of time was spent reviewing and re-viewing logistics. My group didn't get to visit the museum at Delphi because of time constraints, which was disappointing. Our male guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, but dropped a few tasteless comments regarding women, made in jest of course, but nevertheless surprising! The hotel was very basic; roomy and spacious with a large dining room (prettier in the summer I suppose), but with dated carpets -- with an iron burn on mine -- and flies in the bathroom.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Definitely worth the visit! Delphi for anyone who's a history buff and wants a look at the sacred ancient site. Fair warning: if you want to see the whole site, be prepared for some stair climbing! I had just come off two weeks of walking all around Italy, so my muscles were well prepared.

Meteora was absolutely fascinating. Again, be prepared for stair climbing, and be thankful that there ARE stairs, so you don't have to be hoisted up in a rope basket like the monks did for centuries :D If you're not religious at all, take note you may be surrounded by people who take the monasteries and cloisters a lot more seriously than you - just enjoy the striking scenery and incredible history you're surrounded by, and wonder at the dedication of the people who originally built these places on top of the rocks. Seriously. How did they get up there in the first place?!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! Saw so much in 4 days. Corinth Canal, Mycenae, Epidaurus, Olympia, Delphi, Thermopylae, Meteora. Katherina our tour guide did an outstanding job explaining to us the significance of what we were seeing at each site. We had a small amount of time at each location to explore. We opted for First Class Accomodations and they were good. Porters at each hotel did a great job unloading and loading our suitcases. So glad we did the 4-day trip to see Meteora. There was a lot of walking around on this tour and we had some older and physically challenged people - they hung in there for most of the tours but sometimes they had to wait while we climbed further. Several museums to visit at Epidaurus, Olympia, and Delphi. This 4 day tour gave us a much broader perspective and exposure to Greece beyond our stay in Athens.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thank you very much to our guide Mr. Yannis, he was realy high professional! He exellent knows history and he veru good person, I am so thankfull to Viator for my trip to Meteora and Delphi. Many many thanks!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide was amazing. He has deep knowledge on the history.Also, specially,Meteora was amazing !!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message