Meteora, in central Greece, is a place of natural beauty and man-made wonder. The huge natural rock towers are home to cliff-top monasteries built by Eastern Orthodox hermit monks in the 14th century. The monks settled in the area from the 9th ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very instructive tour. Both Delphi and the Meteora are spiritually inspiring and naturally beautiful sites. Very helpful and knowledgeable guides.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Robyn C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great way to see the country side out of Athens. You travel over the mountains with some beautiful scenery on the way to Delphi and Meteora. My only concern is that once reached the ski fields and the mountain tops is that we did not stop for a photo shoot. Would have been great to do so in the ski village. The monasteries are exceptional. Nice trip for 2 days. Enjoyable

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Outstanding trip. It was very well organized and the tour guides were excellent...very knowledgeable and helpful. Meteora is a must to see...unbelievable in beauty!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The trip was well organised. Only disappointment was that we stayed at Hotel Amalia. Although a very good hotel and served amazing food, it had no view of the meteora cliffs.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The trip was well organised. Only disappointment was that we stayed at Hotel Amalia. Although a very good hotel and served amazing food, it had no view of the meteora cliffs.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I really enjoyed this tour because the guide was very good and I find the two places fascinating. If you do not have a special interest in either place be forewarned that you will be spending much more time on a bus on serpentine roads than at the sites. The countryside itself is fascinating but be aware that seeing it from the bus is a big part of the trip. If you are interested in the classical world, Delphi is terrific, and if you want a feel for the life of a medieval monk Meteora is amazing. I would not try to drive this route on my own. Take the tour

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It is a long trip on the bus but the monasteries and rocks of Meteora are stunning, the historical site at Delphi was excellent and it was a good look at some of the countryside of Greece. The hotel at Kalambaka was lovely - take your swimming gear for a dip before dinner. Definitely recommend the trip if you have the time.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was the best 2-Days trip! The tour guides, the tour to Delphi and Meteora, the hotel, the foods and everything was awesome. Highly recommended this tour. You wont regret it.. :)

From Malaysia.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A great couple of days - knowledgeable guides. Meteora is absolutely stunning. There were photo stops, and the chance to visit 2 of the monasteries. My only complaint would be the air conditioning on the bus was not very efficient, making the journey uncomfortable at times.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The tour guides were knowledgeable. I was disappointed the tour left 30 minutes late and because we had to meet another tour group and swap buses, the time we had to explore Delphi was extremely limited. Given the length of time we spent at truckstops for breaks, I think there could have been more time at Delphi, but our tour guide was determined to stick to his schedule. The Amalia hotel was nice, but outside the city, so it wasn't possible to explore town. Instead the schedule dictated we stop at 8:30 am for a shopping break when none of the stores were open. Meteora was lovely and very interesting. The stop was worth the trip. We were a little worried. The information provided on Viator indicated knees covered, but Meteora requires skirts and our tour guide stressed us out by indicating if there weren't enough skirts made available by the Monestary we wouldn't have time to wait for some to be returned. If your site had been clearer with this detail we would have been more appropriately prepared.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Meteora was beautiful however Delphi was a wasted. Tour guide only walked half way up n gave us 5 mins to explore. It was such a waste of time. Then they hustled u to go to meteora. The tour guy for meteora was excellent. She was really knowledgable n helpful. She gave us a treat to see Leonidas.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour, due both to the places it took us and especially because our guide, Emilios, was a highly educated and thoughtful man (he was trained as an engineer but has been a guide for decades) who brought alive the myths associated with each place, and also told us the real history and how the two were intertwined. Along the way he also told us about the importance of olives to the Greeks, how each family has at least one olive tree from which it produces both oil and soap, why eating olives must be cured and how, the difference between Kalamata olives and those grown below Delphi, and many other things. Unfortunately, Emilios is aging, and it seems inevitable that he will be retiring before too long, so I would urge you to take one of his tours while they are still available.

The visit to Nafplion was a real plus. It is beautiful and a nice respite from ancient stones.

Our tour was actually the first three days of a four-day tour, the last day to the monasteries of Meteora. We needed to be back in Athens so we were put on a different bus at Delphi, one that had brought others for a one day trip to Delphi. We had Emilios for the visit to the site at Dephi but we had another guide for the trip back to Athens. He, too, seemed to be knowledgeable but unfortunately his accent was so heavy that we had trouble understanding what he was saying.

The hotels and meals were also excellent, and the lunch restaurants (not included in the price of the tour) were excellent and reasonable for the quality of food. Only the restaurant at Olympia was not as good as the rest. Although the restaurants were very good, I would have been happy to have gone to at least one ordinary taverna in the course of the trip.

We were perhaps fortunate in that our bus was less than half full, so we had ample opportunity to talk to Emilios and also to the other people on the tour, most of whom were also interesting.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is a great way to get out of the busy city of Athens to see two incredible sites. Delphi was breathtaking, with an amazing drive to get up to the site. The lodging was great, and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and kind. Meteora was another highlight, wow! What an incredible site to see!! This is truly not to be missed when doing a trip to Greece!!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was definitely a highlight of our trip. Delphi and Meteora took our breath away...especially Meteora. What amazing monasteries ... the drive was well worth it. The hotel Amalia where we stayed overnight was great. Good sized room, well furnished and delicious meals. The guides on this trip were amazing and it was a great history lesson for us. It was very well organized, plenty of breaks, not too hectic and there was time to relax as well. Strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful time on our two day tour! Irene was our tour guide and she was so knowledgeable and helpful. We went with 5 kids , from ages 11-15, and they all really enjoyed the trip, too. It was a bit of a long drive but the bus was very comfortable, and the stops, and especially meteora itself, were amazing, and worth it all! We learned a lot, and definitely recommend the trip with the tour operators.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message