Meteora, in central Greece, is a place of natural beauty and man-made wonder. The huge natural rock towers are home to cliff-top monasteries built by Eastern Orthodox hermit monks in the 14th century. The monks settled in the area from the 9th ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 131 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Good trip for meteora but I felt like we could have seen more of Delphi and we didn't get to see the museum. Do the other tour if you want to do Delphi. I was lucky I had already seen Delphi but if I wanted to see both I would have been disappointed.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The trip to Delphi and Meteora was worthwhile, even though it was raining most of the time.

The Good: Easy pick-up location in central Athens, knowledgeable guides, beautiful sights, plenty of time to take great photo opportunities, friendly fellow travelers.

The Bad: There was a good deal of confusion on day one, as the tour is blended with another tour. So a lot of time was spent reviewing and re-viewing logistics. My group didn't get to visit the museum at Delphi because of time constraints, which was disappointing. Our male guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, but dropped a few tasteless comments regarding women, made in jest of course, but nevertheless surprising! The hotel was very basic; roomy and spacious with a large dining room (prettier in the summer I suppose), but with dated carpets -- with an iron burn on mine -- and flies in the bathroom.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Definitely worth the visit! Delphi for anyone who's a history buff and wants a look at the sacred ancient site. Fair warning: if you want to see the whole site, be prepared for some stair climbing! I had just come off two weeks of walking all around Italy, so my muscles were well prepared.

Meteora was absolutely fascinating. Again, be prepared for stair climbing, and be thankful that there ARE stairs, so you don't have to be hoisted up in a rope basket like the monks did for centuries :D If you're not religious at all, take note you may be surrounded by people who take the monasteries and cloisters a lot more seriously than you - just enjoy the striking scenery and incredible history you're surrounded by, and wonder at the dedication of the people who originally built these places on top of the rocks. Seriously. How did they get up there in the first place?!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! Saw so much in 4 days. Corinth Canal, Mycenae, Epidaurus, Olympia, Delphi, Thermopylae, Meteora. Katherina our tour guide did an outstanding job explaining to us the significance of what we were seeing at each site. We had a small amount of time at each location to explore. We opted for First Class Accomodations and they were good. Porters at each hotel did a great job unloading and loading our suitcases. So glad we did the 4-day trip to see Meteora. There was a lot of walking around on this tour and we had some older and physically challenged people - they hung in there for most of the tours but sometimes they had to wait while we climbed further. Several museums to visit at Epidaurus, Olympia, and Delphi. This 4 day tour gave us a much broader perspective and exposure to Greece beyond our stay in Athens.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thank you very much to our guide Mr. Yannis, he was realy high professional! He exellent knows history and he veru good person, I am so thankfull to Viator for my trip to Meteora and Delphi. Many many thanks!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide was amazing. He has deep knowledge on the history.Also, specially,Meteora was amazing !!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic experience at fantastic value. Our guide Irini was able to take us back through the millennia and seamlessly give us a real feel for current trends and issues - we were looking at bronze age burial sites and talking about Mrs. George Clooney trying to get back the Parthenon monuments!
This is great if you are interested in getting to know about history and you enjoy story telling and factual detail. If you are looking for memorable views and natural beauty you wont get much of that - although when the weather is good the sea views were lovely, as were the rock formations in Meteora.
You need to expect between 3 to 4 hours bus travel per day - that's how long it takes to get around and there isn't time to wander around on your own at every sites - especially the museums.
The bus was comfortable, the Amalia hotel rooms were comfortable not luxurious - a good nights' sleep assured . The breakfast and lunch buffets were ok- better in Olympia, average in Delphi and Meteora - but with a wide enough choice, no complaints.
Our group was lovely - very friendly and a great mix of people from all over the world who had a lot in common!

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The first guide on the way to Delphi started off the tour by talking for a half hour about how long and grueling the bus ride was going to be, as if we didnt know after reading the itinerary. I didnt feel her information was too deep. She wasnt so terrible, but I didnt feel she was great. The tour was a good deal considering what a pain it would have been to coordinate a trip like that on my own. The guide to Kalampaka was more informative, but talked less. And I understand that the second day is Meteora then a long ride home, but it was a shame we were rushed through the monestaries so quickly. It was to the point I didnt linger with the group to listen to the history, i was busy walking around taking pictures, as I dont feel i would have had enough time otherwise. But all in all, it was a good trip. Like I said, it would have been the same amount of money to plan it on my own, but five times the headache. The hotel we stayed at was wonderful. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Hotel Amalia!!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The guide was helpful and has perfect English. Nevertheless she was sometimes giving lots of details that made the explanation a bit boring especially inside the monasteries. The first day we stayed around 1.30 hour in Delphi (not enough in my opinion we needed at least half an hour more) and the rest of the time was spent on the road or on the stops so we felt there was a real waste of time. The Meteora day was better we had different stops with amazing views and enough time for pictures. The tour should mention the exact duration of the trip to avoid inconvenience with other plans. We didn't expect to arrive that late.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Had a great time on the tour. We didn't stay at the pick-up hotel spots but Amalia Hotel was a quick walk over. The first tour guide was very patient and informative. However the second guide who took us to Meteora sounds like she absolutely hates her job, ha ha. It was funny to us though. We chose Hotel Orfeas which I do recommend as it's a closer walk to the Kalambaka/Meteora town in the evening. Meteora was breathtaking. Definitely read the details so you know what you're paying for, as the bus ride quite long.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I enjoyed this tour having previously taken the 3 day classical tour back in 2008 and deciding that I really wanted to do the 4th day which involves a travel from Delphi to Meteora to see the wonderful monasteries perched up high on the cliffs. I found the tour guide (Irenee) to be very knowledgeable about ancient Greece and archaeology. Our bus driver was a very safe driver and I never felt endangered on the whole trip which involves a lot of driving sometimes on narrow windy roads. The Amelia hotels that we stayed at were mostly adequate and far from the worst I've experienced on other bus tours elsewhere. The only small complaint was the bus itself was a bit cramped for space and seemed to need some maintenance with some seats faulty and some leaks in the roof when it rained. The actual tour itself is fantastic and well worth it :-)

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Organization was really hectic. We changed busses 3 times through the trip. Also our tour guide spent a significant time slandering gypsies and Turks, not objective at all. The schedule was ok - Delphi at noon was killer since there's no shade. Meteora was fantastic timing wise.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Overall this was a tour worth doing. Meteora exceeded my expectations and we saw a monastery and a nunnery. Delphi was interesting but we were shortchanged since we were ONLY a two day tour. They only gave us 80 minutes at Delphi, no museum, and then bussed us to an empty hotel in Delphi for lunch with no guide and left us WITH OUR LUGGAGE! This was so we could join the four day tour which had the full morning at Delphi. We were supposed to have time to walk around the town and find lunch, but you can't do that with all of your luggage. The hotel we were dropped at took 20 minutes to even produce a waiter for lunch and then the menu was very very limited, especially for someone who doesn't eat meat. We had extra time here and all of us would have preferred more time at Delphi or in Delphi. When the four day tour finally showed up (late!) to pick us up, we had a three+ hour drive to Kalambaka so most of the day was spent on the bus or in the hotel. Of course, for a first time visitor, this was a good way to see the countryside of Greece.
Food at Kalambaka was excellent and varied both for dinner and breakfast.
Guide to Delphi was knowledgeable and provided good information to supplement what we saw. It was possible to walk to the Stadium from the temple in 15-20 minutes - definitely recommended if in good shape. Views from the top of Delphi are awesome. Would have liked to have had time to check out site below road rather than sit in hotel.
Guide to/from Meteora was very interesting and supplemented local information with history lessons of Greece - very good for a first time visitor. Recommend single people have "bus-buddies" to make sure all are on bus before leaving a site - we actually left one person behind at the nunnery and had to go back and get her.
It was great to stand near the ancient battlefields and then watch a "300" movie on the plane home.
Even with the negatives, with the proper mindset, this is a tour worth doing.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The trip to Delphi and Meteora was very long but amazing! Very interesting facts and stories on the way and at the sites. A little rushed, I felt that the guide was done and preferred to speak with the driver than us. She was annoyed a few times about the crowds and made it clear that we needed to keep it moving.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

1) Delphi-we did not realize that we would be left off @ the site to wander around on our own for 1 hr 15 min before bus pickup to to be taken to lunch location. (The rest of the group went to the museum for explanations there.) The guide was young woman (probably under 30, name Mina (sp?) who was so negative about Greece, young people's unemployment rate, not know where their next meal was coming from, etc...unacceptable. (Yikes--what a welcome to Greece!) This portion not a particularly good experience. 2) Meteora-was magnificent and did not disappoint! Guide was wonderful, knowledgeable (maybe named Yiannis, middle-aged)--his personality quite a contrast to 1st guide. Loved hearing about Meteora's importance geologically, culturally and religiously. This portion of the trip was definitely worth it!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message