Meteora, located in central Greece, is a place of natural beauty and man-made wonder. The huge natural rock towers found here are home to 14th-century clifftop monasteries built by Eastern Orthodox hermit monks who settled in the area in the ninth ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 176 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jessica C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Overall a good tour, good guidance through Delphi and Meteora.
The morning of the first day was a bit rocky, our female guide repeated herself continuously, saying the same thing over and over in about 3 different ways and giving us heaps of unnecessary information just to try to fill in the bus trip nothing wrong with silence!. To give her credit she was much better during our time in Delphi and explained the ruins quite well.
At lunch time we were Combined with another group - who had been on tour for four days. The group was great, our guide Costos spel? was a kind hearted man and very knowledgable about the places we stopped. A good tour to go on and we met lots of wonderful people!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

SHIBASHISH B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very nice experience,especially the hotel stay at Meteora,,which serves great Dinner and breakfastI forgot the name of the hotel.Aspecial thanks to our tour guide,Laila,who made it possible for us to catch our flight to Rome from Athens.She took special efforts,without annoying the other tourists,so that we could reach Athens on time,and arranged a taxi for us,which was waiting for us on the highway on the outskirts of Athens.Laila ,thank you again.All in all a very nice trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

yongbum c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The trip to Delphi and Meteora was great - great places and truly amazing guides. Especially, our guide for Meteora, Steffie, is very knowledgeable, which made the trip really valuable.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Vei-Vei L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Delphi and Meteora are amazing.
My only complain is Amalia Hotel we stayed overnight is not a four star hotel, maybe 2 star.
Amalia hotel in Athens is a four star hotel and wonderful.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

michaelandrewcollins

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Really great guide (Stathis) and a great driver too (George). It and #39;s a rushed itinerary, but if you want to see this many sites in 4 days that and #39;s how it goes! All the sites were awesome, especially Delphi and Meteora.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

Anita G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing tour of Ancient Greece with the best guide that one could have asked for. She was very passionate and had thorough knowledge of Greece history which added to the charm in every place. We got excellent food along the way and the hotels were excellent with amazing views/décor and free wifi. All the places were very impressive - Stadium of Olympia, theatre at Epidaurus, sunset at Delphi and the incredible monasteries and views at Meteora were my favorites. The countryside was also amazing throughout the trip and the guide alerted us to spectacular views. We were a group of about 24 in a bus and got along great with each other. However, the bus got full in the last day and less enjoyable in several ways - a minor setback in an otherwise awesome tour. One thought to offset this setback is to limit the number in the bus.


Glad to have picked the 4-day tour instead of the 3-day tour as you do not want to miss out Meteora.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

jacome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Delphi and Meteora were both amazing and beautiful sites. Our guide was caring, organised and informative. Well worth the long trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Buddhi Sri Lanka

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour was well organized, covering everything needed for Delphi and Meteora. We had to change busses at Delphi, and both our guides were very friendly and helpful giving lots of information on Greek history and culture.

A minor complaint would be that we didn't have time to explore Delphi town. We got only 1 hour to explore and have lunch at Delphi town. We had to rush it to get back to the bus. Since we didn't have anything in the evening other than travelling to Kalambaka, can't see why an addition 30 mins would be a problem.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

BARBARA S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour enfolded exactly as promised with a few extras enroute. We had an excellent guide, Calliope, who was extremely knowledgeable and made the sites and museum visits come alive. The hotels were good 3/3 but were not close enough to allow a walk into town in the evening which I would have preferred and hotel dinners were basic buffet or bland. Lunchnot included was better and 3 of 4 restaurants quite good. One annoyance was that our group 21 was overwhelmed by the addition of 30 people on the last part of the tour after 5 of our members left at Delphi. This overcrowded the bus and meant the group was too large to keep together for a tour of the second monastery we visited at Meteora, the easiest to reach St. Stephen's, which also had several cruise ship groups visiting. Need better communication so guide can avoid overcrowded monastery and need a second guide for a day when group is over 30. The reason for as high an overall rating as I gave is the excellence of Calliope and the value for the price.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

Luanne H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour guide spent way too much time talking at Delphi so we didn't have nearly enough time to explore on our own before we had to race down and catch the bus. I would have liked at least another 30 minutes to see everything on the site plus another 30 minutes to visit the museum. No way to see the museum with so little time. Meteora was magical. The trip is worth it just for that alone. The hotel we stayed at was lovely.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Aaron S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This trip was fantastic. The early start was a struggle albeit necessary, however Delphi, and particularly Meteora was absolutely amazing. Visiting Meteora is an absolute must!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Despite the fact that I was most excited to see the islands on our trip, this was an amazing way to see the mainland - and it is all incredibly beautiful. I'm not much of a history buff myself, but had hoped that we would love it as much as all of the other reviewers. It was fantastic! Our guide made all of it fascinating for us, as she was very knowledgable, and all of our stops were more beautiful than the next. Meteora was actually our favorite, as the pictures just don't do it justice. This is a must-do in addition to seeing the islands. Insider tip: sit on the left side of the bus for the majority of the trip if you have a DSLR camera and/or a camera with a high enough shutter speed to capture the countryside as you travel. It's breathtaking!

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

Dr Kladis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was absolutely amazing and well worth the money spent. Our tour guide, Hara and bus driver Alekos were two wonderful people. Hara was a font of knowledge who shared many stories relating to the history, geography as well as myths and legends of the sites we visited. Though some days were very long i thought we spent a good deal of time visiting the archaeological sites and museums. The highlight for me was visiting two of the Holy Monasteries in the Meteora Great Meteoron and St. Stephan. The Meteora were just amazing and though the visibility was diminished due to morning fog, made the visit even more magical. Highly recommend this tour and any others offered by Viator. Great stuff.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

Christina R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Delphi and Meteora are not to be missed for the views alone. Stunning, rich with history and should be included with any trip to Greece. Joy was an excellent guide.

Hotel in Kalambaka is not a 4 star or comparable with its sister properties.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Alexandra B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Just home after our trip to Athens which included a 2 day trip to Delphi and Meteora. Fabulous trip- gorgeous scenery, and despite the torrential rain at Delphi. Meteroa stayed dry for the visit to the monasteries and the vies were stunning. The w guides were informative and intelligent. Gave the history and lots of commentary about current and historical Greece.
It was all excellent.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Bronwyn Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Good trip overall. Meteora is amazing and should not be missed. Unfortunately the tour stopped at a restaurant of their choosing away from the town for lunch at our expense and the food was mediocre at best. Would have liked the stop in town where one has the option to select what one wished to,eat.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Austin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The long trip to Delphi and Meteora was definitely worth it! We stopped at Delphi for a short amount of time before continuing on to Meteora. Delphi had impressive views and ruins. Meteora was amazing, with unique rock formations and stunning views! We had two different tour guides, one for the Delphi portion and one for Meteora. Both guides were very knowledgable and friendly! On our way back to Athens we stopped in the town of Kalambaka for lunch at Restaurant Meteora. Highly recommend that you eat here if the opportunity arises. The service was excellent and food was delicious! Our only issue with this trip overall was the hotel. It had a pool and provided us with dinner and breakfast which was tasty but it could have been cleaner.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Roger M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Both our guides for each day were awesome and fun and very knowledgable! We thoroughly enjoy each location at Delphi and Meteora and what each place had to offer! Thank you for a great tour and experience overall!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Rafael G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Long trip by bus but incredible views, particularly Meteora.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Ra S United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

I do not understand the change on buses on Delphi. There is too much complication on organizing the groups at the beginning of the tour. We had a great guide on Meteora with a well knowledge on places visited but not the same guide on Delphi section. The 1.5 hour in Delphi is not enough to explore all the site. It should be longer because the next stop was the check-in at the hotel in Kalambaka. We stopped at Amalia Hotel in Delphi for a lunch but there is not too much options to chose. Food was not really good, probably was keep in a fridge before the tour arrive and warm in a microwave. The prices are fair. Amalia Hotel in Kalambaka offers a spacious rooms and big bathrooms. The dinner and breakfast buffet even have a variety the quality is not great, food flavor is simple and not tasteful. PROS: The overall price paid for this tour is worth for what you see in Meteora.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Rita eslick E

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

very good trip. The tour guides were very nice and full of information. The hotel was nice too.
Meteora was just amazing...
I would tell my friends that it is a must!
Thank you

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Susan R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The two tour guides were not very informative nor personable. The directions for the change from the Delphi tour to the Meteora trip were very confusing not only to me but to the others doing the combined two day trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Leila Gaddi USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Not to miss. My favorite of all sights, Delphi and Meteora. The drive was long but all worth it.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Lizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely spectacular! The monestraries at Meteora were one of the most beautiful places I've seen. Tour guide was terrific. Gave lots of information. Hotel was very nice with a wonderful buffet dinner and breakfast. Overall, well worth the money.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Kristina K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Delhi was beautiful and Meteora was spectacular!
I would recommend anyone going to Athens to take this 2 day trip. The guide was great, everyone was punctual and sites visited were breathtaking!
The only complaint my boyfriend and I had,was that no one told us we have to wear something that covers our knees to monasteries. It wasn't mentioned anywhere on the website or mentioned by the guide at the beginning of the trip. We were told about this at 8pm and the visit to monasteries was at 8:30am the next morning. This was after being on the road for 12 hours, tired and exhausted we had to go shopping. Kalambaki is a cute little town, but in terms of shopping for a pair of summer trousers and the right size it wasn't great. I managed to find a colourful skirt but still...
Also, we paid for a 4 star hotel and were checked into a 3 star and again weren't told in advance.

All in all looking back at it now it was a great trip, but I would definitely suggest to bring a pair of trousers and a skirt if someone decided to take the tour : once you see the beautiful views you forget about everything! :

Kristina.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message