Greece is where the Olympic Games began in the 11th century BC, as a festival dedicated to the god Zeus. The first modern Olympics was held in Athens in 1896 in the Panathinaiko Stadium, a 4th century BC stadium which was restored for the games. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 785 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour, the bus stops were so handy! Loved the 24 hours!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoy your Hop-On Hop Off Bus Tours! Best way to get introduced to an area.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We thoroughy enjoyed the full tour on the first day and on the second day found this tour exceptionally reliable and flexible. It is a great way to see Athens - very convenient and easy.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great because most of it was in an air conditioned bus. We were able to hit the main attractions that were top on our list, the Parthenon, the Acropolis and the Temple of Zeus as well as the stadium from the 1896 Olympics. I highly recommend this tour if you are in Athens and want to see part of history that is spoken about in the Bible as one can not only see, but also go on top of Mar's Hill which is right next to the Acropolis. Mar's hill is where Paul preached to the Athenian people about the Unknown God in the book of Acts.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We took the tour on 4-3-15 and it was an educational experience. Such an ancient city with so much history.
Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was a good tour, the Acropolis is worth seeing if you do nothing else in Athens, but do yourself a favour and add the museum as some of the originals are actually here, not to mention you get to understand more of the story. Just be prepared that walking around a lot of Athens is slippery but still doable in flat souled shoes.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Joy was a wonderful guide and gave us a lot of information about the history. It made our trip to Athens very memorable.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Covered a lot of ground and provided excellent information. Guide was very knowledgeable. Would recommend doing the tour at the beginning of a visit to Athens as you get a good feel for the city and the locations of the most important archeological sites. You can then return and spend more time at the locations you choose.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very good Guide

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our guide Joy, was really excited about the history and told us many interesting facts on our tour. The Parthenon was spectacular and the Acropolis museum was interesting but due to a bike ride through the centre of town, we did not get to spend as much time there as we would have liked.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Radoslav P
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The Hop-On Hop-Off Tour was great.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Was a great tour. Very informative and fun. Times it was difficult to hear the tour guide, but overall was. Great addition to our trip! I would recommend this tour to those looking to understand a little background in addition to seeing wonderful sights!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour occurred on the hottest day of the year in Athens, so it was difficult for us, as the Acropolis requires a lot of climbing. It was beautiful on top, but frankly, it was too hot to truly enjoy it. The guide, though, was very knowledgeable, and we thoroughly enjoyed the new Acropolis museum. We are giving the door only three stars, although the tour company was not responsible for the weather. We think we would have enjoyed this more on a day in May when the temp in Athens was not an untypical 89 degrees!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

It was a complete waste of money and time! I would rate it as 1/2 star.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wow!! We had a fabulous day! Durania was an amazing guide whose enthusiasm and love for her country's history made our day one we will remember always. We were captivated by the historical facts and stories she shared with us. She went above and beyond to make our day special - at our request at the end of our tour she even took us to the greatest little spot to get gyros and it was delicious!! Thank you for a wonderful day - we learned so much about your great city!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Athens City Highlights Including the Acropolis of Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was great as usual always recommended when you arrive at a new city

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A wonderful opener to get the bit picture of Athens. We spent the first day just riding and looking to pick return spots of interest. Indespensable.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Love taking Hop on Hop off when we travel. It gives you a perfect way to get the lay of the city.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great tour of the Parthenon and Acropolis! Loved the changing of the guards that the tomb of unknown soldiers!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Errol M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour was great - only 4 people in a bus to ourselves! Guide was informative and attentive. A good mix of both ancient and modern Athens sights.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Good hop-on and hop-off logistic but only needed in one day really to visit all highlights on the city, no need of two days, every bus stop has a person that will explain and help you in case on any doubts

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Easy, frequent buses, the Earphones worked (!) and the commentary was very good. The staff were always friendly, helpful and nothing was a problem. Well worth it.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Shelley P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message