Greece is where the Olympic Games began in the 11th century BC, as a festival dedicated to the god Zeus. The first modern Olympics was held in Athens in 1896 in the Panathinaiko Stadium, a 4th century BC stadium which was restored for the games. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 920 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was good! Everything as described. A fantastic way to see the sights and get an idea of the history and layout of Athens

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent, excellent and excellent !!!!

Doing what: Best City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was well organised and a very comprehensive tour. The tour guide was very informative and we were able to see all the sights with the appropriate time set. Overall, the tour showed us all the main sights and provided efficient information.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great overview of famous areas and sights of Athens. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. Would recommend following up this tour with the Hidden Athens walking tour to fully flesh out your Athens experience

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very accomodating for our needs in Athens.

Doing what: Best City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was fantastic. Our guide was so informative with all the history of the Acropolis and Greece, in general. I can't even believe she was able to keep all the facts and dates straight. Its a great way to see the city if you have limited time in Athens.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The city tour was booked and I was pleased with The Hop on Hop Off Tour. Everyone on the tour I talked to was very friendly and very helpful with Q's and A's. Would recommend it.

Doing what: Best City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

cookie
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well worth it. Our guide was very knowledgeable and professional and managed to find a little shade to inform us of what we were going to see. I was pleasantly surprised as other tours following the same itinerary were far more expensive. A great tour!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I liked it because it included all the highlights. We did the Acropolis first thing and avoided crowds and heat. The guide was great and to the point.
The afternoon trip was great because we got to rest and then were taken to Sounion. We were given free time which was great.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent way to see the city. Enjoyed the second day included to finish touring. With two days you can spend more time at the stops. We did 1/2 the sites one day and the other 1/2 the next. Ran pretty much on time.

Doing what: Best City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Efficient and reliable

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was wonderful! Joy was a wealth of information and a fabulous guide.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Even though the tour was only half-day, I saw all I needed to see in Athens. I included the museum option and got to see the statues from the Acropolis up close. It was totally worth it.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good. Nice overview of the city and nice tour of the Acropolis and Parthenon.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good tour. Guide was informative. Cape Sounion was a bit far, about an hour and a half to get there and another hour and a half to get dropped back off at hotel, to only stay at the site for an hour!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were pleasantly surprised to learn this tour entailed more than we expected. We visited a few other iconic Greek sites before the Acropolis, which were very interesting and informative. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and really kept a nice pace throughout the afternoon. We learned a lot, and found ourselves eager to do another tour!

Overall, taking the time to see the Acropolis is a MUST, especially with a guide. The insight and stories from our guide really enhanced the visit and made it more meaningful than if my husband and I just visited the Parthenon alone. It truly is breathtaking!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It has main attractions included and excellent frequency of buses.

Doing what: Best City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great value and easy to use. Check in staff helpful at the bus stop. Liked the option of the open top or covered buses too.

Doing what: Best City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was very interesting and informative, and our guide was wonderful! Will definitely continue to book with Viator tours!!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We stayed in a hotel very near to the hop on hop off bus. The tour person at the bus stop was very helpful and gave us the inside infromation on how it all worked.
We had a bus which had a roof to it which on the day we went was a godsend as it was over 40 degrees.
Would recommend this to see the sights of Athens.

Doing what: Best City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great way to start our visit in athens. Would recommend for everyone to do this first.

Doing what: Best City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

There were too many people waiting for the bus for us to get on quickly.

Doing what: Best City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message