Greece is where the Olympic Games began in the 11th century BC, as a festival dedicated to the god Zeus. The first modern Olympics was held in Athens in 1896 in the Panathinaiko Stadium, a 4th century BC stadium which was restored for the games. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 709 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I and my wife had a very good time in our honeymoon during this tour. Acropolis is amazing as well as Cape Sounion (Poseidon Temple)!!! The road sight to Cape Sounion is very beautiful... So, we enjoyed too much this trip! The time inside the Acropolis museum was quite long for us, then we left there before the group. Anyway, this is a very good tour to do when visiting Athens!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful experience. Our tour guide was excellent, extremely knowledgeable with a great sense of humour and an obvious love of history.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I was able to catch the bus just around the corner from my hotel - the views from the top gave me perfect panoramic pictures!

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fun bus ride around athens to see all the sites. The driver was friendly and the audio guide was helpful!

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Yanni, was excellent. Also appreciated the driver's skills. Very good overall, recommended. Good value, saw the highlights. Would be happy to use ViaTour again

Doing what: Private Tour: Athens City Highlights Including the Acropolis of Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had the good fortune of having Sandra of Siva Travel as our guide for this tour and couldn't have been happier! Her English was very good, she moved at a pace that was perfect for our group of 4 and her knowledge of Greek history, Athens and the Acropolis was accurate and thorough, offering us insight into an ancient world. This was by far the best tour we took on our entire Mediterranean cruise!

Doing what: Private Tour: Athens City Highlights Including the Acropolis of Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous, our guide Costas was wonderful. I loved his passion for the Acropolis site . Highly recommended.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Dena, the guide for our tour did an excellent job of mixing her vast knowledge of Greek history and mythology with present day Greek realities and humor. A very fascinating and interesting trip, indeed!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

this was an excellent idea and very well organised with different coloured bus stops to match the bus being used. much better organised than the Rome activity of the same name.

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The best way to see all of Athens.

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent buses and commentary in four languages, very convenient bus every half an hour. The commentary was very clear and outstanding. The day was hot and I chose wisely to sit downstairs and not on the open upper deck. All important spots are covered. I particularly spent more time at the Temple of Zeus, the changing of the guards at the Parliament and the National Gardnes, and also Plaka which is wonderful to walk around in. I did not visit the Acropolis as I had already seen it earlier on another trip.

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide, could give us the history of the Parthenon and Acropolis, with information on the architecture, art, and art trends throughout the years. Lots of walking, but very informative. The museum was a great follow up to the Acropolis, and promoted further understanding of the history and meaning of this site to Ancient and modern Greeks.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A great introduction to the city. It would be helpful to know ahead of time where the stops are...it was confusing trying to find the stop after seeing several buses go by.

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The pick-up and drop- off service was a bit confusing. Its great that the company offered his service, but we had to take a few buses to get to our tour. A guide personally got off the bus to find us at our pick-up hotel - very nice. The tour guide was excellent, and gave a lot of great information. Wear comfortable walking shoes!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message