Greece is where the Olympic Games began in the 11th century BC, as a festival dedicated to the god Zeus. The first modern Olympics was held in Athens in 1896 in the Panathinaiko Stadium, a 4th century BC stadium which was restored for the games. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 673 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was so easy to exchange the vouchers for the actual tickets. The hop on hop off bus was a great way to get around the city. My husband has trouble walking long distances so this was an ideal way to get around. Two days was perfect, as you didn't need to rush.

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was excellent! The tour was very informative and we LOVED the new Acropolis museum.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Highly recommend this tour. We were only in Athens a day so it enabled us to see all the major sites and get off when we wanted to. The bus was nice and air conditioned on a 45 degree day so we were very thankful for that. Great way to see Athens!

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is good for those who have a short time in Athens. It gives a very good overview of the City's main attractions even though most of the time is spent at the Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum if you include it in your tour. We were picked up at the hotel on time and Angelina who met us in the hotel lobby was very sweet and pleasant to be with. The guide (Eustaf (?), I think) was knowledgeable, professional and passionate about the City of Athens and its sights. He was extremely sensitive to the needs of each person in the group and this made us quite relaxed to actually enjoy the sights. I have physical health issues and was apprehensive about doing this tour but he made it quite easy for me to take my time and I did not miss out on anything, especially when climbing up the hill to the Acropolis. I was somewhat disappointed that we were not able to stop at some of the other sights for a few minutes to take pictures since the coach was moving at quite a fast pace when passing some of these sights. It felt more like an Acropolis tour instead of a Sightseeing tour of Athens. It is what it says :"Sightseeing" so if you want to stop at these attractions do so on your own. Wear proper shoes for the climb up to the Acropolis because many of the stones get very slippery on the way up. If not, watch where you place your feet as you go up the hill. My friend and I got very tired by the time we got to the Museum and we had to sit outside and wait for the group to get our ride back to the hotel. If you are not physically fit, do the museum tour separate. Nevertheless, I would recommend this tour. It is worth the money and Viator always delivers. Viator, you made my trip to Athens a pleasurable and stress free vacation, I was always able to reach one of your agents by phone, whether in Canada, the United Kingdom or in Athens. The tour company was very helpful and delivered. Thanks again. Looking forward to my next vacation with your tours.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An excellent tour that provided a terrific overview of all the main sites in Istanbul. We were provided with a delicious lunch in a very nice Turkish restaurant near the Cistern. Our guide was excellent and we benefitted from his extensive knowledge. Overall a great experience that we would highly recommend.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Highly recommend this tour. Very informative, excellent guide and amazing historical sights and the new museum is fantastic - really breathtaking. Enjoyed every minute and so did our kids.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great way to see the city the only thing we would have preferred to know was that the bus did pickups from the cruise terminal, this was not on our voucher so we caught a taxi to where the voucher said.

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

TAKE A HAT!!
Great tour with plenty of stops. lovely staff who were very helpful. the audio guide was interesting
only problem was the bus itself. Sitting upstairs in the direct sunlight in the Athens summer was VERY hot. One bus had a roof with open windows on the top level which was great, though most buses didn't. However, sitting downstairs in the air-conditioning was little better. The views were not nearly the same, and most of the windows has advertising on the outside which obstructed the view of anything outside.
Overall a good experience for the price. Just make sure you take a hat, sunscreen and water bottle!!!

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

What I liked best about this tour was the information the tour guides provide you. There is a hop on hop off bus, but they don't give you the details about each site. We booked this our first day and then our hop on hop off bus time was much more enjoyable.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We had a fantastic time on this tour. The ticket sales online was smooth and the lady at the actual reception point was very helpful. The tour itself was great. Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to 'hop off' as we had a flight to catch alter that day. But we have been inspired to visit Athens again and will certainly take time to doing more site-seeing next time!

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Stephen G
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Guide was very good. Visit to Acropolis museum well worth including. It was also good to be able to use the entry tickets at several other sites in Athens if you have more time. Reason for the rating being only 3 stars is that it is an expensive tour for half a day with a large group so didn't rate it very highly for value for money.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excelent tour!! Highly recommended

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message