• USD ($)
  • English
Santorini is among the best-known Greek islands, mainly for its natural beauty. Santorini is all clear ocean, white-walled buildings and blue-domed churches. In addition, it claims to have some of the best sunsets in the world. Santorini is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The two hour fast ferry was not running in mid Oct. Ended up with the 9 hr journey to Santorini from Athens. Lots of port stops along the way. Arrived around 430p into Santorini. Not enough time to explore until the next day which was only a half a day before getting back on the ferry boat for the return trip to Athens, Need more time because of the travel. Suggest just taking a plane from Athens to Santorini.
Best gold shopping was Greco Gold. High quality, friendly and good value.

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is a great way to see few of Greek Islands. This is not a guided tour. You are on your own. But it's easy to navigate through the island. You will need to pay for transportation from port to hotels in Mykonos and Santorini. That was only down side. I wish I had extra day on Mykonos. Hotels were good and staff were friendly and helpful. Boat rides are fun way to see islands from different angle. Only down side was boat ride from Santorini to Pireas. It was long 8 - 9 hours... I would not mind flying back from Santorini to Athens. These islands are beautiful and they are very unique. Must see at least once in your life time.

Doing what: 4 Nights in the Greek Islands from Athens: Santorini, Mykonos and Syros

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My wife and I had a great time in Santorini. Everything went smooth, we loved the Loucas hotel, it had a fantastic view and was quiet and secluded despite being right next to downtown Fira. Our tour to the volcano was great too, the hot springs were more warm than hot but how many people get to swim in the Aegean Sea.

Doing what: 3-Night Santorini Tour from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A great way of explore a few Greek Islands. The 3 star hotels are fine for the purpose.
Make sure to arrive in Athens the day before and collect all the Ferry tickets at the Port, and book a hotel close to Pireaus (Port). Consider to book a flight back from Santorini to Athens, since the 8 hours Ferry trip is no good.

Doing what: 4 Nights in the Greek Islands from Athens: Santorini, Mykonos and Syros

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Santorini has great views and staying there is relaxing. Our accommodation was not of the best quality or service but it was reasonably clean and comfortable considering the budget we had put into this tour. The tour to the volcano is an experience I enjoyed but not necessarily for everyone, especially those who enjoy scenery with more growth as the view can be quite bare and empty. It is advisable to wear comfortable shoes for walking on uneven grounds.

Doing what: 3-Night Santorini Tour from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Our stay in Santorini itself was awesome! However, our bus trip from the docks to our hotel was a disaster! The bus driver did not properly latch the luggage compartment door which allowed it to open completely allowing the luggage to be tumbled out onto the highway as we rounded one of the very sharp turns. People started yelling stop! There were several damaged pieces of luggage, one of which belonged to my son. When the bus driver finally did pull over, the door which had opened was ripped off the side of the bus by a road sign that he hit as he pulled over. Everyone had to get off the bus, many people had to run back up the road to retrieve their luggage which was thrown to the side of the road. We all had to wait for at least an hour on the side of the road in the 90 degree plus sun and wait for another bus to pick us up and take us to our destination. Once the luggage was reloaded onto the other bus and we were back on the road we had lost over an hour and a half. Once we arrived to our hotel we were relieved that we finally made it to our destination. Day or night, Santorini is beautiful! We wished we had booked another night!

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Hotel location is fantastic but the hotel room is not. Hotel rooms needs lots of improvement including the beds. Did not sleep very well. Santorini is must to visit but the trip is overprice. I could have arrange it myself and done a better job. I expected more on this trip

Doing what: 3-Night Santorini Tour from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This is one of the best place I have visited in Europe. The Greek Islands do not disappoint! The food is very good and for those are into Hiking... The hike from Fira to Oia is a must!

Doing what: 4 Nights in the Greek Islands from Athens: Santorini, Mykonos and Syros

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

I liked the tour, and visiting Santorini. However, there was almost no guidance, we had short free time of 1 hour or 1.5 hours in the major cities which was too crowded and left us with the wish to see more. The ferry was 2.75 hours to each direction, which left us less time than we expected.

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Santorini itself is the most beautiful
Of islands. However the tour tries too hard to fit too much in. The result is that you hardly have time to look round before being moved on to the next location. My advice get the ferry yourself and take your time maybe just concentrate on Thira or one location

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

If there was a zero I would give it that. Firstly, it was only 4 nights, not 5. This company did nothing but book 4 boat trips - ,0nly one was on a fast boat, and 3 hotels. Everything was left up to me... like all the transfers, entertainment, finding the hotels, finding information about sites and events and day trips (if there were any). I paid alot of money for hardly anything. Why, even the bookings were not tickets; I had to go to the boat dock very early to collect the actual tickets - they were only vouchers. When I phoned to contact agent, he was very rude and told me to go away with my boyfriend. Well, I am 60 and traveling alone - would have been nice to be with a group sometime during the 5 days. Horrible!!!

Doing what: 4 Nights in the Greek Islands from Athens: Santorini, Mykonos and Syros

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that the arrangements of the tour were not clear to you and appreciate you flagging it here so that other customers can take note. We have also now made clear in the description that it’s a 4 night tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Santorini was excellent. I plan to return and stay for a longer period. The hotel selected by Viator was wonderful. However, as noted in previous comments, they ferry trip is very long. Seven hours each way. so 14 hours on a ferry and 22 hours on the island. I wish that I had been informed about this and about the options of upgrading to business class or a private cabin. There seems to be a faster, direct ferry that may be a better option for those with limited time. Also, there was no *tour* of Santorini. We were simply shuttled to our hotel with no commentary. My final comment is in regards to the return to port for ferry pick-up. We were dropped off at the port more than an hour before the ferry arrived. It was hot and there was little shade - leaving little option except to patronize one of the restaurants near the port (who are very aggressive in attracting customers). I suspect that this early drop-off was intentional, in order to provide business for these establishments.
Again, Santorini was excellent. But the transportation aspect and communication could be improved.

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

This was the worst experience of any trip in my life and I am retired. It was completely overcharged as the ferry was only $38.00. You are not told that the ferry takes about 8 hours each way. Also, you arrive too late for an island tour and leave too early for a bus tour the next day, since you have to check out of the hotel by noon. We were booked into a room costing only $35.00 a night. There was no hot water working when we arrived, the tv did not work, you had to prop a chair next to the refrigerator to keep it closed, the mattresses were very thin, the towels were stiff and they were prickly hard, and the only reason I give it one star is because the staff was very helpful. Mistakenly, I believed that I woud enjoy a nice room since I booked two other tours with viator in Athens covering three days. I checked the internet for room rates one day prior to the cruise using the four places listed from Viator. Since it was so low and the trip cost substantially more, I thought the room would be upgraded. I would not reccommend this trip to anyone. Santorini is a beautiful island and should NOT be experienced through Viator. It ruins the experience.

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was an adventure and well worth it. The ferry trip is about 7 hours (hint: from Athens to Santorini upgrade to business class and on trip back try to get a cabin). The hotel selected was very nice but away from the main area - Fira).

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Quite a long trip in ferry (8 hours minimum) from Athens to Santorini for only 1 night... Would be way better if you can stay there more time to compensate such a trip
Santorini is beautiful and calm, perfect for relaxing and enjoying

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message