Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Olympian Zeus

The Temple of Olympian Zeus (or Olympieio) has been a ruin almost since it was built. The Athenian rulers who began its construction in the 6th century BC set out to build the greatest temple in the world, but it was not actually finished until ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide was knowledgeable on all the places on this tour -Temple of Zeus, Parthenon, Acropolis amongst others. She was friendly and humorous too. this tour entails a bit of walk, so make sure you know the weather before you head out.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent buses and commentary in four languages, very convenient bus every half an hour. The commentary was very clear and outstanding. The day was hot and I chose wisely to sit downstairs and not on the open upper deck. All important spots are covered. I particularly spent more time at the Temple of Zeus, the changing of the guards at the Parliament and the National Gardnes, and also Plaka which is wonderful to walk around in. I did not visit the Acropolis as I had already seen it earlier on another trip.

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was mainly an Acropolis tour and Acropolis Museum visit which is plenty to take in half a day. The crowds and climb up to the Parthenon and other temples are not the guide's fault, but it was difficult at times to stay up with the guide or hear her because she did not use connected microphone and head phones. Everyone should have this opportunity to see the Acropolis and all its splendor. Truly, a highlight of a Greek trip.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great value for money. Able to visit National Archaeological Museum, Acropolis, Temple of Zeus, and Stadium in 1 day. Still had time left over to get back to cruise ship. Highly recommend, especially if on cruise. Best option for 1 day in Athens.

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Another fantastic tour through Viator and again very lucky to have Dimitra the Tour Guide for a third time!! Athens, while not being the prettiest city makes up for it with it's amazing and fascinating history!!! You'll get to see where the first Modern Olympics was held, the Temple of Zeus and one of the most amazing places you'll ever see The Parthenon perched perfectly atop the Acropolis!!! You will not be disappointed by this or any of the other tours!!!!!!!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Enjoyable tour with knowledgable guide. Was contacted night before to confirm which hotel we had to make our way to in order to commence the tour (only 10 min walk from our hotel). Opportunity to photograph Olympic stadium and temple of Zeus, but disappointed there was no opportunity to get of the bus at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Started at 8.45am, got to Acropolis by 10.00am, where the guide took us inside and talked for about an hour (unfortunately cold windy day). Then we had 1 hour on our own to walk around and photos. Got dropped off at hotel by 12.45, so was only a 4 hour tour! (Done on Monday without museum visit).

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Visit to the Acropolis was a great experience.
The guide was unable to answer many questions and liked to skip over things.
The views from the hilltop were amazing and so was the vista around the Acropolis itself.
The visit to the Temple of Zeus was informative and over all the tour was worth taking.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Love, love, loved it! Our guide Ekaterini, was simply delightful....very knowledgeable, with an engaging personality! She was always aware of the needs of the group. The Acropolis was breathtaking! The view of the city, amazing! Panathenian Stadium was exciting to see! I was in awe at the Roman Temple of Olympian Zeus with those beautiful columns standing so tall. The tour bus was prompt on pick-up and extremely comfortable. We did a lot of walking, of course, but not at a fast pace. Plenty of time for pictures!! Athens is a memory now that I will treasure being able to experience.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The Parthenon was a little disappointing because visitors are unable to get very close as a result of the ongoing restoration works (not a fault of the tour company) but the museum more than made up for that it was spectacular and the guide was extremely good and gave full details about the items on display. It would have been better if visitors had been able to visit the temple of Zeus and the other site near the Parthenon rather than just to pass the former from the coach and walk past the latter.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Excellent tour! Our guide, Daphne, was extremely knowledgeable, answered questions, and gave us a lot of insights into the times, the construction of the temples and the mythology that surrounded the temples. Highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

My first full day in Athens had to begin with the Athens half day tour, simply because if anyone is coming to Athens, then it would stand to reason that they are there to visit the Acropolis. Our tour guide was excellent, and gave details and a little history into everything we passed that was of some importance. The Acropolis and the museum, of course, were the highlights of this trip, and the reason I was there, and wish now I had also booked the Acropolis night tour. I don’t think that this needs to be your first time visit to Athens though to enjoy the tour, and I would certainly go again. I would advise the wearing of shoes with good grip on the soles, as when you are in the Acropolis, (which by the way is NOT the temple that you see, but everything within the walls), you will find that the path can be very slippery and uneven. There is a refreshment bar near to the entrance.
Once you have visited the Acropolis, the next stop is the museum, where no photography is allowed at all, until you reach the top floor. On approach to the entrance, you will walk across a glazed floor and look down onto excavations and see the mosaic decorated floor of ancient Roman ruins. This extends well into the museum itself, and again, you will be walking on glass.
Fantastic half day that gives you an introduction into ancient Greece.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Stephoz
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

This was a good tour to do to see some good attractions like theAcropolis and Syntagma Square, the stadium, the Acropolis Museum and the Temple of Zeus. The bus was always on time as per the schedule.

Doing what: Athens Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

The tour was good I would have liked to see other sights in Athens such as Hadrians Arch and Temple of Zeus. Be warned if there is a cruise ship in town the Acropolis is VERY crowded!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

arnolds324
Philippines

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

A big bus came to pick us up and was late. People in the bus had tickets/ vouchers for different tours. When we arrived near the Syntagma Square, the guide asked us to transfer to smaller mini-vans. It took some time so the rest of the tour was in a hurry. Had some little free time at Temple of Zeus, Olympic stadium, Acropolis.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Good introduction to Athens. You'll probably want to go out and see more of the city after the tour. The tour does include the ticket to various historical sites, like the Temple of Zeus, in the city which is nice.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message