Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 518 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jean Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed this!
Fun to meet other tourists and also see the sights. Very happy I booked this tour

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

rasbury1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Acropolis walking tour was amazing. To be that close to history was phenomenal and our tour guide Pantelis did a wonderful job of educating us about so many of the aspects of that era. We also had some free time to really see the Acropolis and Parthenon.
We then walked back to our meeting place where we had a short lunch break.
After lunch we took a bus to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon. It was a beautiful drive along the coast and our new guide Effie did an excellent job of describing the sights along the way. She also gave us the history of the Temple of Poseidon.
There is a lot of walking on uneven ground for both of these tours, so if you can't navigate hills and rough terrain I would not recommend this tour. If you can, then it's a 'must do'.
A couple of expenses to note before you leave your ship or hotel:
Price of the cab ride to and from the meeting place.
Price of admission to the Acropolis
Price of lunch-the tour met at a hotel and they had a varied menu/excellent food

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Amanda Blair Shiff United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful trip! We were so glad we were able to make it out to Sounion also!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Daniel E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Booking these together was well worth it. Tour guides were very smart and both trips were tours I will never forget!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Mercedes United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must when you go to Athens. Make sure you wear tennis shoes and if in summer a hat. Bring water. The tour guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable. There is a lot of walking and plenty of ancient history to absorb.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Drupal P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good tour if you want to cover a lot in a short span of time.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Richard P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The scenic bus trip, the destination and an informative guide made this a good trip.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Ashley R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was wonderful, Effie told us wonderful Greek mythology tales

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Marjorie M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The first half of the day with the trip up to the Acropolis along with a visit to the museum was really good, but the afternoon trip to Sounion was a long way with seemingly little pay off.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Trizzia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Nice drive along coast. We only had 1 hr at the temple and 30mins of it was with tour guide talking. I left and did my own thing because I wanted to venture around the site and take photos. Guide had a lot of information but next time I will find my own way there.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Laura B

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The location was wonderful and it was great to be picked up at our hotel. However, we had a very short time at Sounion that caused us to have to literally run around the site. It is a big expense and time commitment to have less than an hour at the site!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Jennifer M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

An OK tour, nice drive along the sea and interesting tour of the Poseidon Temple.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Deborah G

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Certainly worth doing particularly on a clear day- amazing water! Would have enjoyed a sunset tour there.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Louise B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

A fabulous place and a very good informative tour guide, but the actual time spent in Sounion was not long enough. Only 1 hour after a long coach ride from Syntagma. It should have been at least 2 hours I hour at the site and 1 hour to go to the sea. Slightly disappointing from that respect.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

n.simpson81

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed this most informative and relaxed half day trip, I'd recommend to friends.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Katie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great 1/2 day excursion. The guide was very knowledgeable and personable.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

DavidandDavid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This 1/2 day tour was amazing. We were promptly picked up at hour hotel by our tour guide from Siva Private Tours, Ioanna, and and our driver, Mike. The narration on the driving trip was just enough to make the one hour journey seem very short. We had ample time at the Temple and Ioanna walked us through the entire site and allowed some time to wander on our own. After a coffee at the cafe, we headed back to downtown Athens and our hotel, making an unplanned stop at a beautiful lake on the outskirts of Athens. We sere very pleased with Siva Tours

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape Sounion Half-Day Trip from Athens

bknfy.yee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A must when in Athens. The tour gave my wife and myself a real sense of the importance of the Acropolis ruins. Our guide was very knowledgable and gave us a sense of why it came to be. The second part of our tour to the temple of Poseidon gave us an opportunity to see the Greek coastline. The the temple is spectacular. The commanding view was worth seeing by itself.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message