• USD ($)
  • English

Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 287 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Must see. We could have seen the sites on our own, but with the help of the tour guide it was more interesting. We leaned a lot due to the passionate guide, who knew her history very well.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The sites are all must-see and the tour is well-organized and informative.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Katvah was a wonderful guide on part of this tour. This two day experience was a great choice for us. The guides should always use a portable mike so all can hear. Not a problem on the bus.
The antquities at Delphi and Poseidn were amazing. Highly recommend this choice of the City tour and then Poseidon' temple

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

EXCELLENT!!!! The temple and the area were simply stunning!! Short bus ride, GREAT tour guide, beautiful site, a picture stop on the side of the road to take pics of the gorgeous view. Simply wonderful, a must see!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Walking your was very informative and our tour guide was great for sharing bits of info not found in the tour guides. Only suggestions would be to start an hour earlier to get cooler temperatures. It also should be very clear that the entrance fee for the Acropolis is an additional fee required in cash. The afternoon tour gives a lovely drive down the coast which was lovely to see.
The Poseidon ruins are fabulous and glad we had an opportunity to see.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I only had a day in Athens so this tour was a great way to see some of the major sights. Half way I felt like I just wanted time to wander around and not be in a big group.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Enjoyable bus ride to Cape Sounion - but it would have been better if we had more time at the Temple...

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The first part of this tour was definitely not worth buying the combo tour, so I highly suggest just booking the Cape Sounion tour seperately! First of all, Like many other reviews have stated, you can really do all of the Athens sites on your own since they are all within walking distance and when there are large crowds, the last thing you want to do is stand in the hot sun listening to the guide talk for ten minutes. Also, (again like other reviews state) the tour company called me and told me they were "upgrading" me from the walking tour to the bus tour due to the hot weather and promised that they would pay for us to see the museum. They also promised we would see more things on the bus tour. Well, be warned- you will sit on a bus for 45 minutes while picking up everyone else from their hotels and you will not see the things described on the walking tour. I was really aggravated that we did not see the things we paid to see with a guide and then had to go back later in the hot afternoon to see those things on our own. Also, the tour guide had no idea that the company agreed to pay our museum entrance as part of the upgrade and told us we had to pay 5 euro each to get in. This was on top of the 12 euro per person fee to get into the acropolis which all the other people on the tour (those who hadn't booked the "super saver combo") did NOT have to pay! Therefore, it is VERY deceptive to say that you save 10 percent by booking the combo tour, because you end up having to pay when you get there. As for the second part of the tour, that was so wonderful, it was the only reason I will not entirely slam this tour package. It is worth the drive! The place is so romantic and beautiful and our guide was fabulous. She told us awesome stories on the bus about the Greek legends related to Cape Sounion and hyped us up to get there. When we arrived we were stunned by beauty of the place and I really did not want to leave. I would recommend just buying this afternoon tour.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very nice and informative afternoon trip
We learned a lot about the country and its history

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed it very much. Cape Sounion and the Temple are as beautiful as we'd hoped and the whole trip went smoothly with Giorgios at the wheel. Katya was an excellent guide, very knowledgeable, but not talking too much. We liked her readings from authors about their impressions of Sounion. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable, and the combination of seeing Acropolis in the morning, with the driving along throats to cape Sounion was perfect.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great experience! Would definitely use Viator again!!!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message