Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 305 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Perfect half day trip with amazing sights and views of the gulf.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I would definitely do this tour again!! I'm so glad my husband found this website. Great deals, friendly staff, can't beat that! The staff was really knowledgeable about Greece and there surroundings. If you had a question, they knew the answer to it. I will definitely be using Viator again to book sightseeing tours and other tours!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This afternoon tour was interesting right from the start as the bus moved along the beach areas nearest to the central part of the city and further along the coast with many small picturesque bays and coves often with people swimming. The Temple of Poseidon is still impressive, and the views from its site are mesmerizing. The tour guide provided plenty of interesting background information, and the bus driver did an excellent job.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The day before my tour I was notified it was too hot for a walking tour, I agreed, so I was upgraded to the bus tour. The tour guide was kind and knowledgable. We hit all the important sites. The we had a long lunch break and the went to the coast to Cape Sounion which was beautiful! Great veiws

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Spectacular location, wonderful views. Friendly, well-informed guide. Would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was very nice well organized and the tour guide was quite informative. The only draw back was the winding roads that most of Greece has. Highly recommend this tour as it was amazing to see the temple and the awesome Agean Sea.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was excellent. We had a couple of problems but our guide overcame these by showing us a few different things that weren't actually in the itinerary. Maybe it could include a trip to the underground subway to see the roman ruins.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The morning walking tour of points of interest in Athens, and then to the Acropolis was well worth the money.
The tour leader, Effy, was very knowledgeable both about history and about daily life in Athens. It requires quite a bit of walking, and making it up to Acropolis is no small feat in the heat, but worth the effort. Then there was a 2 hour break and we were picked up at our hotel to go to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon. The trip on the motor coach was pleasant,and we got to see other areas of the city. It was worth the discounted rate.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The Acropolis walking tour was very good and the guide informative. Take water with you the drinks at the location are unbelievably expensive. The printed ticket doesn't explain that you need to pay for the entrance to the Acropolis or that you should bring passports for Children who get in free with ID - so do take ID. Unlike other tours i've been on the guide didn't use a micro phone, there were a number of people in the group and Athens is pretty noisy so you had to be very close to hear the guide. Sounion a 90 min coach drive there, 5 mins at the temple there and then 90 mins coach ride back so in itself a lot of travel for not so much. That said the views from the cliff were spectacular.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

worthwhile tour but bus not very confortable. scenic ride

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Day 1 was ok
Too Hot
Wish the guide would shorten talks in the sun
Provide umbrella maybe on real hot days as there is no sun
Delphi was amazing

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

City sightseeing tour was fantastic but did not have a good experience in cape sounion tour.
For the cape sounion tour, the guide was not good, was not able to understand her English sometimes and she was in a hurry.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Although I wouldn't have ventured out to Cape Sounion on my own via taxi, I am not sure I would recommend this trip as all it really was was an hour (ish) drive to the cape, 30 minutes there, and then an hour (ish) drive back into Athens. The tour guide provided information on the way there, at the Temple of Poseidon and on the way back, however, it's information that didn't really make a difference to the drive. The positives: The vistas at the Temple and en route were absolutely beautiful and the chocolate ice cream at the restaurant at the Temple of Poseidon was quite yummy!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Not worth it. The tour guide had a very strong accent and was difficult to understand. Also the facts he gave were not very interesting.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message