Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 474 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nadezhda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The drive towards the Temple and back is simply awesome. Advice - if possible take the right seats on your way to and the left - on your way back to better enjoy the magnificent scenery. Guide was knowledge and friendly. The Temple itself is also a nice site and the view from it is breath-taking.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

BRUCE R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great tour in small bus - around 60 klms. great scenery and lovely visit to Temple of Posedon. Really enjoyed the trip

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

gigeorge

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The scenery en-route to the Temple was spectacular as was the Temple but we found there was not enough time.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

DLERMAN1234

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

DISAPPOINTED. THE GUIDE WAS HARD TO FOLLOW. SHE WAS ALWAYS SOMEWHERE WHERE WE WEREN'T. COULD NOT FIND HER OR HEAR HER MOST OF THE TIME. MY WIFE DID CATCH HER AT ONE POINT AND GOT HER TO TAKE OUR PICTURE. THE SITE ITSELF IS REALLY WORTHWHILE SEEING.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

michael d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

a great way to get to know Athens and its history, and well worth the trip to cape sounion just to see the views never mind the historical sight of the temple of psiodon

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

yongbum c

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The temple itself is okay, but the sunset view was great.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Florence D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a very relaxing tour with absoultly gorgeous views. My friends and I did this tour the last day of our stay in Athens and it was the perfect choice because by then we were super tired from all the walking we had done the previous days. This tour not only gives you the opportunity to see a lot without walking a lot, but it also gives you a chance to get out of the city and see the countryside. Although possibly less popular than the other Greek ruins, the Temple of Poseidon is a definite must see.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

jacome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was a wealth of knowledge and passionate about all the places we visited. The top floor of the museum is a fantastic way to feel like you are walking in the Parthenon. We got to see the sun setting at Cape Sounion. Magical!!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Mikki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour is outstanding! Our guide was very informative and the drive along the coast was lovely. We got to see the most amazing sunset during our tour. It is a definate must do tour.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Nikhil N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

One feels like one is a part of history while walking in the shadow of the Parthenon on the Acropolis. Amazing structure. The tour of Cape Sounion offers unparalleled views all around.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Vincent H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

One of the most beautiful sunset on top of a hill overlooking the sea. My wife had a dream of the sunset that very night. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Luanne H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I enjoyed the opportunity to see the sights of Athens however, I had already seen everything but the Acropolis on my own by just wandering around so it wasn't really worth the money for me. One major problem was that there were a lot of cruise ships in port that morning and we hit the Temple of Olympian Zeus and the Acropolis at the same time as the cruise ship tours so it was a mad house trying to get in. I would suggest that those two sights be seen the earliest to avoid the crowds and the other sights later. The Temple of Poseidon Half-Day trip was great. A bit of a bus drive, but the sight is really beautiful.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Sonia Z M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

I think, overall, it was good. We had limited time so the guide pushed us to cover ground and was informative don't remember much though!. It was tiring but then we had a 2 hour lunch and then met back for a 1.25 hour bus drive to the temple of Poseidon. The Temple of Poseidon was the only attraction but the drive was very nice.
I would recommend it!
Suggestion: we went in mid-October so even the low 80 degree weather was hot since we were walking so much and there were heavy crowds. I'd hate to think of doing this in the summer in 90-100 degrees with 5 times the crowds. Shudder. Just a consideration if you have an opportunity to travel during the off season

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

dimple.bhandia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

They did not cover several of the places mentioned in the Viator tour - for example the tour mentioned: Stroll through Syntagma Square, the heart of the city, to see two of Athens stunning Byzantine churches: Sotira of Lycodimos and Kottakis Church. Head inside one of them and marvel at its majestic interior with your guide. We were not shown any churches nor taken inside any church. When I mentioned this to the guide, she said that you are talking about the Viator tour, not the tour operator.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Margarita F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

I was unable to take the tour because I couldn't leave on the day I had my reservations due to my passport expiring in January - not enough time for Greece rules. Missed 5 days of my trip.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour guide . Very knowledgable and gave us as much time as we wanted for pictures. Beautiful sunset over the sea during our dinner.

Doing what: Best Viator Exclusive: Private Tour from Athens to Cape Sounion with meal at Vouliagmeni

Jackie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

loved the tour. the tour guide was great.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

scott t

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Beautiful drive along coast passing many scenic beaches. I've been told that the sunset from this point is spectacular and the main reason to visit. However, this tour did not include time for viewing the sunset and we were back in the bus and on our way well before sunset. We were at the site about 1 hour, which was plenty of time to view the ruins, take photos and have a snack at the cafe.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

BazzaBoy

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Knowledgeable guide. Well conducted tour.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Jaclyn P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very knowledgible tour guides. Delphi and Cape Sounion were really cool sights, despite the long bus ride. The bus was typical coach, but comfortable. Expect crowds and some standing around for the Acropolis tour.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

robinsnc

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

You can't do Athens without doing the Acropolis. Possible to do independently but you will miss out on the history. Best to do in the morning if you struggle with the heat.
Afternoon at Cape Sounion was fantastic and not so easy to do independently.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Renee L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was pretty decent. Knowledgeable tour guides. Bring plenty of water if it is hot out!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Helen G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

I loved the tour!! How could we not see the Acropolis and Sounion when visiting Greece.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Diane L

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

good tour but too many stops to different hotels. Also, we waited for two passengers fifteen minutes after the set departure time. The bus did not leave Amalia hotel on time.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message