Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 310 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Both guides were very knowledgeable and informative, specially Vicki of the Cape Sounion trip. They answered the questions patiently and meaningfully both from a historical abd current setting perspectives. Worth it!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide did a great job on the way to Cape Sounion, and we had plenty of time to look around at the site. She even managed to point out where Lord Byron graffitied the temple. We had a great time and I would definitely recommend this to others.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Overall it was very good. The tour guide was average - not as enthusiastic as most. She seemed knowledgeable but not very exciting. The ride along the ocean was beautiful. The temple and the associated site was interesting.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

A very easy trip to a great part of Greece. I wish there was more time to visit some of the beach towns along the way, but Cape Sounion is beautiful and the guide was informative.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Perfect half day trip with amazing sights and views of the gulf.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I would definitely do this tour again!! I'm so glad my husband found this website. Great deals, friendly staff, can't beat that! The staff was really knowledgeable about Greece and there surroundings. If you had a question, they knew the answer to it. I will definitely be using Viator again to book sightseeing tours and other tours!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This afternoon tour was interesting right from the start as the bus moved along the beach areas nearest to the central part of the city and further along the coast with many small picturesque bays and coves often with people swimming. The Temple of Poseidon is still impressive, and the views from its site are mesmerizing. The tour guide provided plenty of interesting background information, and the bus driver did an excellent job.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The day before my tour I was notified it was too hot for a walking tour, I agreed, so I was upgraded to the bus tour. The tour guide was kind and knowledgable. We hit all the important sites. The we had a long lunch break and the went to the coast to Cape Sounion which was beautiful! Great veiws

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Spectacular location, wonderful views. Friendly, well-informed guide. Would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was very nice well organized and the tour guide was quite informative. The only draw back was the winding roads that most of Greece has. Highly recommend this tour as it was amazing to see the temple and the awesome Agean Sea.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was excellent. We had a couple of problems but our guide overcame these by showing us a few different things that weren't actually in the itinerary. Maybe it could include a trip to the underground subway to see the roman ruins.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The morning walking tour of points of interest in Athens, and then to the Acropolis was well worth the money.
The tour leader, Effy, was very knowledgeable both about history and about daily life in Athens. It requires quite a bit of walking, and making it up to Acropolis is no small feat in the heat, but worth the effort. Then there was a 2 hour break and we were picked up at our hotel to go to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon. The trip on the motor coach was pleasant,and we got to see other areas of the city. It was worth the discounted rate.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The Acropolis walking tour was very good and the guide informative. Take water with you the drinks at the location are unbelievably expensive. The printed ticket doesn't explain that you need to pay for the entrance to the Acropolis or that you should bring passports for Children who get in free with ID - so do take ID. Unlike other tours i've been on the guide didn't use a micro phone, there were a number of people in the group and Athens is pretty noisy so you had to be very close to hear the guide. Sounion a 90 min coach drive there, 5 mins at the temple there and then 90 mins coach ride back so in itself a lot of travel for not so much. That said the views from the cliff were spectacular.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

worthwhile tour but bus not very confortable. scenic ride

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message