Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 406 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

It was so hot and shadeless that the tour was completely miserable. This tour might be better if offered in the morning.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Definitely worth it! Guides are great and well informed, on time pickups, comfortable buses, and wonderful destinations.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It's a great package, very comfortable, very well planned, enough free time for photographs, the guides are very friendly and they know a lot, great value for your money

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It's a great package, very comfortable, very well planned, enough free time for photographs, the guides are very friendly and they know a lot, great value for your money

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day - the Acropolis was great and the tour guide was excellent with information and knowledge
Cape Sounion was the highlight - unexpected and was uncrowded - a nice coach drie, then this amazing location - we had a really good day!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome tour. Loved every second of it. The goes were very well informed and answer every question.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great to just enjoy the sights of the Acropolis and have someone explaining and pointing interesting points I'm glad I wore good sandals there was a lot of walking

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My mother and I took this private tour on a cloudy, cool and windy day in late May, but it made for dramatic pictures of the Temple of Apollo and Cape Sounion. The temple was remarkably intact and the many partridges on the site were very cute! The drive to Sounion and back was beautifully smooth thank you, Stavros! and Gina, our guide, was very engaging and knowledgeable about ancient and modern Greece. After our time at the Cape, we were taken to a lovely restaurant in Vouliagmeni with a view of the Aegean and had a nice four-course set lunch. I would recommend this tour to anyone. Thank you both for a wonderful day!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Tour from Athens to Cape Sounion with meal at Vouliagmeni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing! You shall do this one it's worth it. Love Greece

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The morning was a 4 hour walking tour that covered the President's Palace, Olympic Stadium, Hadrian's Arch, Temple of Zeus and the Olympic Stadium. We ended by climbing the hill to the Acropolis. The Acropolis was a bit of a let down as it is extremely crowded and practically covered with scaffolding and cranes. still amazing to experience a 2500 year old monument. The afternoon was a bus ride to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon which was amazing. No crowds, amazing ocean views and a relatively pristine temple. Awesome day!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent value for money.
Well organised and informative.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour guide. She was able to answer all questions. Beautiful views from the Acropolis. Amazing time at cape sounion to see temple of Poseidon! Athens has a lot to offer!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Top notch tour. Guide was knowledgeable and friendly. A long day but was well worth the trip. The stop for lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Both tours were informative. The tour down the western side of the pensuliar to Cape Sounion provided a good insight to the local seascape.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was great tour to cover the basics of Athens and check out the amazing views on the way to Cape Sounion. The city tour was in the morning and the ride to Cape Sounion is in the afternoon. The guides were very well-attended and knowledgable about ancient greek myths. It was a good introduction for visiting Greece.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

As others mentioned, Cape Sounion doesn't have as much to see as Delphi, for example. Therefore, you are only there for about an hour with it being about 1.5 hrs drive each way from and to Athens. However, it is still a sight to see as the Temple overlooking the Aegean was beautiful. Also, since our flight didn't arrive until the afternoon, this was one of the few options available that fit our schedule. Our tour guide was perfect. Very nice and helpful, efficient, and English was superb. My only drawback was that the morning of the tour, they called our room at the Hotel Stanley, saying that they cannot pick us up and that we had to meet at another hotel to hop on to the bus. They gave the excuse that the streets were closed because of a demonstration. However, when we left, the streets seemed pretty clear to me. Luckily, where we had to go Amalia Hotel was relatively close, just a couple stops away on the train at Syntagma. It was just annoying since the hotel pickup was included in the price. Also, since there are a lot of tours going on, it is hard to tell which bus you need to hop on. You have to ask around, since there are no signs which would be way easier. Nonetheless, the tour itself was very good and we did get dropped off at our hotel upon our return.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Worth doing it. The guide was attentive to our questions and responded with confidence. We enjoyed it pretty much and recommend it

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very enjoyable tour with great views.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed this immensely. We saw the changing of the guard, Zappion, National Gardens, Temple of Zeus, Hadrian's Arch before making our way to the Acropolis. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The afternoon trip to Sounion was also worthwhile. I first saw the Acropolis and Sounion on a school trip when I was 17, I'm now 52 and returned with my partner so he could experience them too!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great tour if you're only in Athens for a couple of days :)

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great way to spend the day in Athens. The tour guides were very informative and interesting. They were happy to answer questions from everyone. After walking the Acropolis tour in the morning it was nice to relax in the Coach and enjoy the scenery of the Athens Riviera in the afternoon on the way to Cape Sounion. Great value for money.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

A lot of Sunday beach traffic. better to do this tour on a week day
I enjoyed seeing Poseidon's temple.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message