Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 490 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

n.simpson81

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed this most informative and relaxed half day trip, I'd recommend to friends.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Dawn W

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I enjoyed the time spent at the Temple but was disappointed that it was just a drive past the beaches. It would have been better if we stopped at a cafe on the beach. A glass of wine while enjoying the Aegean or even a stroll down the beach would have been perfect.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Liesl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide for the acropolis walking tour was outstanding and the tour felt very personalized to us. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and fun.

The tour to Cap Souion and the Temple of Poseidon was amazing. The drive was beautiful and we loved the ruins. There were only a handful of tourists there and it was nice to get to see this place without the throngs of people at places like the acropolis.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Chelsey

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Athens tour with Joy was wonderful, she was very knowledgeable and thorough. Cape Sounion was a long drive for not much to see/learn about to be honest. The bus was really nice and comfortable, but I don't know that t is worth making a 90 minute drive even though the drive was nice for good coastal views.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Daniel W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our driver's duty was simply to drive us there and back, this was basically a private taxi however I think the rate was a little better than a taxi simply because it was booked and paid for in advance. Our driver was very pleasant and we had a good conversation on the ride over and back. The temple itself, even if you get there another way, is definitely worth the trip. Very much intact with beautiful views from the temple over the water and surrounding area, this was maybe the most beautiful of all the temples and ruins we saw because of how well preserved the structure was with the backgrounds. It was also nice that we were there in April, when it is their Spring so the grass was green and new and there were lots of wildflowers.

Doing what: Half-Day Private Tour: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon

Renee R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This tour was very informative. Prefect way to end our stay in Athens.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Renee R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This tour was very informative. Prefect way to end our stay in Athens.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Renee R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This tour was very informative. Prefect way to end our stay in Athens.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Russ M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour guide left half the group at Cape Sunion and went in while everyone else waited for her to bring their tickets at the restaurant. Finally we just walked in without tickets. Very strange.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Rachelle P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

If you are simply looking for a ride to the site and back this tour will work well for you. Not overly impressed with the guide or the information at the site. Love the ruins and the views cant be beat but not what I was expecting for a tour.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Jack M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was amazing! Our guide was very knowledgeable and even entertained some of my historical questions after! The views, well they and #39;re spectacular!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Hollis N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful site, great guide, easily one of our favorite excursions while in Athens. It was the absolute perfect amount of time, not too long and not too short.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

David D United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

the tour guide was great. The vehicle we traveled in had no shock absorbers and was aweful.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Adina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Despite having 2 half days the amount of information and sites toured was amazing. I would recommend particularly if you have limited time.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

Rahul Kumar R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

I loved the trip to Temple of Poseidon. The view from there is as amazing as I have ever seen in my life. The guide was great. She gave all the information about the temple and how it came to be where it is.

I wish the trip was long enough for moon to come up specially as it was full moon day and sky was clear which would have made the scene much more beautiful. But then you can't get everything in life and what I got to see was already worth the trip to Cape Sounion.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Nadezhda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The drive towards the Temple and back is simply awesome. Advice - if possible take the right seats on your way to and the left - on your way back to better enjoy the magnificent scenery. Guide was knowledge and friendly. The Temple itself is also a nice site and the view from it is breath-taking.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

BRUCE R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great tour in small bus - around 60 klms. great scenery and lovely visit to Temple of Posedon. Really enjoyed the trip

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

gigeorge

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The scenery en-route to the Temple was spectacular as was the Temple but we found there was not enough time.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

DLERMAN1234

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

DISAPPOINTED. THE GUIDE WAS HARD TO FOLLOW. SHE WAS ALWAYS SOMEWHERE WHERE WE WEREN'T. COULD NOT FIND HER OR HEAR HER MOST OF THE TIME. MY WIFE DID CATCH HER AT ONE POINT AND GOT HER TO TAKE OUR PICTURE. THE SITE ITSELF IS REALLY WORTHWHILE SEEING.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

michael d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

a great way to get to know Athens and its history, and well worth the trip to cape sounion just to see the views never mind the historical sight of the temple of psiodon

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

yongbum c

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The temple itself is okay, but the sunset view was great.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Florence D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a very relaxing tour with absoultly gorgeous views. My friends and I did this tour the last day of our stay in Athens and it was the perfect choice because by then we were super tired from all the walking we had done the previous days. This tour not only gives you the opportunity to see a lot without walking a lot, but it also gives you a chance to get out of the city and see the countryside. Although possibly less popular than the other Greek ruins, the Temple of Poseidon is a definite must see.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

jacome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was a wealth of knowledge and passionate about all the places we visited. The top floor of the museum is a fantastic way to feel like you are walking in the Parthenon. We got to see the sun setting at Cape Sounion. Magical!!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Mikki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour is outstanding! Our guide was very informative and the drive along the coast was lovely. We got to see the most amazing sunset during our tour. It is a definate must do tour.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message