Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 345 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was very easy-going and informative. The guide was nice and talked to us about Greece, the history, the language all the way and back to Athens. The Cape Sounion is absolutely amazing, the temple itself is very well kept and the views are awesome. The sunset over the sea is memorable. Excellent tour for a quick trip outside Athens.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour very informative guide

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

enjoyed this very much. Lovely drive and interesting temple. Ideal tour if you are just wanting a relaxing afternoon. Hotel transfers well organized also.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Although our walking tour became a driving tour since the main arteries were closed for Independence Day parades, this was still a good way to see the main city sites, plus the Acropolis and the Temple of Poseidon. The bus was clean and comfortable and the guide was very knowledgeable. We only wish the guide had talked less and given us more free time to enjoy the Acropolis at our own pace.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Cape Sounion is beautiful and not too far of a drive from Athens. Wish we had better weather but no one controls that :) Our guide was informative/easy to understand on the bus and at the site. We were given ample time to explore and take pics.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Long bus ride to see ruins by the seaside!! It's pretty but an hour to get there and an hour back leaving about 45-55 mins to walk around the temple..

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Lucy
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Bit of a long drive but worth it when we got to the Temp,e of Poisedon.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour, except Cape Sounion which was a long drive for not much to see, especially compared to Delphi.

The Cape Sounion tour guide was not very enthustasitc.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour delivered everything it promised. Our guide, Daphne, was exceptional. She was very helpful to the older ladies that had some difficulty climbing and was very aware of their limitations. She stayed with us extra time to ensure the ladies got down safely, got something to eat and we all knew where to pick up our second tour. Even got a few minutes to shop in Plaka but not much more. Beautiful sunset over the beaches on the drive home.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This is a great tour for a half day. The guide was informative and friendly, I learned a great deal.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

A BIT LATE PICKING US UP FROM THE HOTEL BUT TOUR GUIDE EXCELLENT.
IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER TO START EARLIER I.E. 1PM NOT 2PM AS GETTING DARK AT SOUNION BY THE END OF IT.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

eljx1988
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Nice combination of the Acropolis + Temple of Poseidon at Cape Sounion for a good feel of Athens and ancient Greece.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Very beautiful site, however long drive, short stay and high cost made me rate it a 3, you can probably do it much cheaper on your own.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I and my wife had a very good time in our honeymoon during this tour. Acropolis is amazing as well as Cape Sounion (Poseidon Temple)!!! The road sight to Cape Sounion is very beautiful... So, we enjoyed too much this trip! The time inside the Acropolis museum was quite long for us, then we left there before the group. Anyway, this is a very good tour to do when visiting Athens!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message