Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 360 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I can not explain just how amazing this trip was. Worth every penny and more. Our tour guide was the BEST! She treated us like royalty and provided so much history and knowledge is was incredible. I could have spent my whole time in Athens with her just talking about the history. The sites are breathtaking - the lunch was very nice as well. it was the best day we had in Athens by far.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Tour from Athens to Cape Sounion with meal at Vouliagmeni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The drive to Cape Sounion is very beautiful and the Temple of Poseidon is just stunning. The views from it are just breathtaking.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a highlight of our trip the tour guide and driver were excellent we got to see many different sights alone the way and Cape Sounion was just spectacular and the walk around we had a wonderful meal in Vouliagmeni which was just perfect great local and very very good food and wine.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Tour from Athens to Cape Sounion with meal at Vouliagmeni

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very good. Should offer a 2 day to include the museum with a guide and a couple of other places we saw while walking but did not get to visit with the guide since it was not included (ie. Olympics stadium).

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Errol M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Nice drive through the countryside south of Athens.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Awesome temple. Glad to have seen it. Your tour guide was lovely. Wish we had more time there. Drive was fantastic with the setting sun over the ocean.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

After visiting Pantheon in Athena's honor, I loved the symmetry of learning about Poseidon here. I know it'll be cold and windy but it's DEFINITELY worth it. Hands down, it was my favorite thing I did in Greece. The drive was incredible and you should absolutely take the time to explore Capenion

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour and guide were awesome. It was a great way to see the city and learn about the sites. The bus was clean and tour guide was knowledgeable. I would recommend this tour to anyone traveling to Athens. The only issue I had was not having a set pick-up location given to me when I booked the tour; I had to have the hotel call the tour company when we arrived in Athens. Good thing the company was still open when we arrive since they picked us up an hour earlier (0735) than I had planned for and we probably wouldn't have been able to recover if had we waiting until morning to contact them.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Given this trip involves around 3 hours of travel (there and back) I think it's fair to say you need to be really keen on the history of Greece to do this. The temple remains are pretty impressive, but there's nothing else here to grab you attention, so to be honest even with the guide talking you through the history of the place it's done in 30 minutes. Great views over the Aegean sea though. The tour guide was great and the trip was comfortable (decent vehicle) - so would recommend if historical stuff is really your thing, but not if it's a passing interest.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

too many people. trip was too impersonal. guides were good but info too general. will book private guide next time. I did a group tour in Paris with your company that was excellent. I wonder why the Athens tour was not good.....

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great trip. The Temple was amazing and the Guide did a great job.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Delphi trip was very nice, guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message