Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 332 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I and my wife had a very good time in our honeymoon during this tour. Acropolis is amazing as well as Cape Sounion (Poseidon Temple)!!! The road sight to Cape Sounion is very beautiful... So, we enjoyed too much this trip! The time inside the Acropolis museum was quite long for us, then we left there before the group. Anyway, this is a very good tour to do when visiting Athens!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very good tour. The guide was very pleasant and informative. The 90 minute motorcoach ride to and from Cape Sounion was beautiful and our guide gave us the backstory on the Temple of Poseidon. The site itself is really something to behold - if you have the time and want to see a bit more than what central Athens has to offer, this is a relaxing and very worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you don't have a car but wanted to see a classical Greek site without the mad crush of tourists, this is a good little get away. Our tour guide Aphrodite (yes, like the goddess) beguiled us with stories of Athens, its different landmarks, how the city has changed, and linking the past and the present during the ride out to the site. As we get closer to it, the view of the Ionic Sea framed by the rockiness of the coast and offset by the sun and clouds made for an spectacular introduction to the drive leading to the Temple of Poseidon. While at the site, you can get some spectacular views of the Aegean and the Ionic Seas and understand why a temple dedicated to the god of the sea would be built at that location. Aphrodite not only guided us through the history of the port city, she also guided us through the myths to the anthropological history behind the myths. But like she said, we should all forget about the history and just remember the romantic stories surrounding the myths.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Vicky as she calls herself in English is pretty well versed and knowledgeable guide who can give you give a lot of information in a short duration. Starting from mythology, to food, culture and traditions she ensures that the 1.5 hour ride is worth every penny. I took the tour in mid-october and sun was still bring in the evening so i couldn't see the sunset, not sure if this the case otherwise but beyond this small disappointment ! everything has been wonderful !

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Not much to see apart from the temple, but scenery on the drive is fantastic.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

NOAMI N
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

BE PREPARED FOR A VERY LONG, INTERESTING DAY WITH GOREGEOUS VIEWS and OUR GUIDE WAS VERY KNOWLEDGABLE ON HISTORY OF ATHENS.....THE BREAK BETWEEN SIGHTS WAS REFRESHING....THANK YOU GEORGE OUR DRIVER WHO DROPPED ME BACK TO THE HOTEL...

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a very interesting tour. However, most of the 4 hours for the tour was spent sitting on the bus getting to our destination. There were a number of very beautiful and scenic spots along the ocean drive that we wished we could have briefly stopped at. We did make one stop for a quick panorama view of the Temple. Overall the tour of the actual Temple of Poseidon was fantastic. Our tour operator was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

AN EXCELLENT TOUR, OUR ONLY CONCERN WAS THAT ALMOST ALL THE TOUR GUIDES ALTHOUGH CAPABLE OF SPEAKING ENGLISH DID SO WITH A DISTINCT NATIVE ACCENT WHICH OVER A P.A. SYSTEM IS VERY DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Picked up and dropped off at our hotel. Its about a 90 minute drive there. The scenery is great. You get to see all the people at all the different beaches. Once you get there, you spend about an hour there. Not a long time, but enough to take pictures and walk around. A short trip, but worth it if you have a few hours to spare.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Beware! Web site and booking page advertised hotel pick up but this did not happen and we had a 35 min walk to get to the pick up point and same at the end as we were returned to pick up point. Seeing the temple was excellent. Would have liked just a bit more time at the site.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message