Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 339 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lucy
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Bit of a long drive but worth it when we got to the Temp,e of Poisedon.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour, except Cape Sounion which was a long drive for not much to see, especially compared to Delphi.

The Cape Sounion tour guide was not very enthustasitc.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour delivered everything it promised. Our guide, Daphne, was exceptional. She was very helpful to the older ladies that had some difficulty climbing and was very aware of their limitations. She stayed with us extra time to ensure the ladies got down safely, got something to eat and we all knew where to pick up our second tour. Even got a few minutes to shop in Plaka but not much more. Beautiful sunset over the beaches on the drive home.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This is a great tour for a half day. The guide was informative and friendly, I learned a great deal.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

A BIT LATE PICKING US UP FROM THE HOTEL BUT TOUR GUIDE EXCELLENT.
IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER TO START EARLIER I.E. 1PM NOT 2PM AS GETTING DARK AT SOUNION BY THE END OF IT.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

eljx1988
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Nice combination of the Acropolis + Temple of Poseidon at Cape Sounion for a good feel of Athens and ancient Greece.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Very beautiful site, however long drive, short stay and high cost made me rate it a 3, you can probably do it much cheaper on your own.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I and my wife had a very good time in our honeymoon during this tour. Acropolis is amazing as well as Cape Sounion (Poseidon Temple)!!! The road sight to Cape Sounion is very beautiful... So, we enjoyed too much this trip! The time inside the Acropolis museum was quite long for us, then we left there before the group. Anyway, this is a very good tour to do when visiting Athens!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very good tour. The guide was very pleasant and informative. The 90 minute motorcoach ride to and from Cape Sounion was beautiful and our guide gave us the backstory on the Temple of Poseidon. The site itself is really something to behold - if you have the time and want to see a bit more than what central Athens has to offer, this is a relaxing and very worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you don't have a car but wanted to see a classical Greek site without the mad crush of tourists, this is a good little get away. Our tour guide Aphrodite (yes, like the goddess) beguiled us with stories of Athens, its different landmarks, how the city has changed, and linking the past and the present during the ride out to the site. As we get closer to it, the view of the Ionic Sea framed by the rockiness of the coast and offset by the sun and clouds made for an spectacular introduction to the drive leading to the Temple of Poseidon. While at the site, you can get some spectacular views of the Aegean and the Ionic Seas and understand why a temple dedicated to the god of the sea would be built at that location. Aphrodite not only guided us through the history of the port city, she also guided us through the myths to the anthropological history behind the myths. But like she said, we should all forget about the history and just remember the romantic stories surrounding the myths.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Vicky as she calls herself in English is pretty well versed and knowledgeable guide who can give you give a lot of information in a short duration. Starting from mythology, to food, culture and traditions she ensures that the 1.5 hour ride is worth every penny. I took the tour in mid-october and sun was still bring in the evening so i couldn't see the sunset, not sure if this the case otherwise but beyond this small disappointment ! everything has been wonderful !

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message