Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 420 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Aphrodite was wonderful! She gave historical background of the area on the way there and back to set the stage for our visit. The view of the sea along the coast during the trip was amazing! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved this trip. Our tour guide was very helpful and also gave us a lot of information both on the way and on the sight which made the trip even more enjoyable. We took some really good photos here. We definitely recommend this to anyone travelling to Athens.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Martina is incredibly knowledgeable the entire trip for Cape Sounion not to mention she's easy on the eyes.

The tour guide for the Mycenae and Epidaurus portion was also incredibly knowledgeable.

Both tours were wonderful and I'm happy that it was so easy to book and find the hotel that I needed to meet at.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

These were both excellent experiences. The guides were superb. We learned and saw a lot in a short period of time. Since we were only in Athens for 2 days, we wanted to make the most of it. We also chose tours because we didn't know what the situation would be like in Greece right before the referendum. We felt very safe and relaxed on the tours. We LOVED these tours and Athens as well, and want to come back. Our prayers are with the people of Greece in this troubled time. Judith

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an excellent tour! We really enjoyed it. It was a long ride but after a day of running around, it was exactly what we needed.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely lovely tour down to Cape Sounion and breathtaking views. Vicki the tour guide was fantastic!!...ps the temple is amazing

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Lots of walking but a very informative tour with interesting stories, great feel for Athen's history in 3 hours!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Hi, Enjoyed our tour very much , the tour guide lady was very good told us all the relavent details and on a very busy day the volume of people going round was high so all in all can say it worked very well. Thankyou.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Guide was great. Tour was cut short due to the referendum vote and early closings. We were refunded and while it was not the companies fault it was disappointing

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a really good tour seeing some of the amazing sites in Athens.
The walking tour was interesting and the guide was very informative. It isn't a strenuous walking tour so it is good for all.
I really enjoyed the afternoon bus tour to Cape Siunion. Driving along the coastal road was fantastic! Just wished we could have stopped and had a swim in some of the gorgeous beaches that we passed. The Temple of Poseidon was stunning!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Love the trip to Cape Sounion. The sight was awesome. The drive along coast was beautiful. Well worth the trip.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Excellent tour and the guide was very knowledgable. You must do the Acropolis in Athens and by tour you actually learn about the history. The half day Poseidon extension was probably too far /time for another ruin. The scenery was nice enough but I think spending more time at Acropolis and the Plaka district would have been the better option in hindsight.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

It was so hot and shadeless that the tour was completely miserable. This tour might be better if offered in the morning.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Definitely worth it! Guides are great and well informed, on time pickups, comfortable buses, and wonderful destinations.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It's a great package, very comfortable, very well planned, enough free time for photographs, the guides are very friendly and they know a lot, great value for your money

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It's a great package, very comfortable, very well planned, enough free time for photographs, the guides are very friendly and they know a lot, great value for your money

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day - the Acropolis was great and the tour guide was excellent with information and knowledge
Cape Sounion was the highlight - unexpected and was uncrowded - a nice coach drie, then this amazing location - we had a really good day!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome tour. Loved every second of it. The goes were very well informed and answer every question.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great to just enjoy the sights of the Acropolis and have someone explaining and pointing interesting points I'm glad I wore good sandals there was a lot of walking

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My mother and I took this private tour on a cloudy, cool and windy day in late May, but it made for dramatic pictures of the Temple of Apollo and Cape Sounion. The temple was remarkably intact and the many partridges on the site were very cute! The drive to Sounion and back was beautifully smooth thank you, Stavros! and Gina, our guide, was very engaging and knowledgeable about ancient and modern Greece. After our time at the Cape, we were taken to a lovely restaurant in Vouliagmeni with a view of the Aegean and had a nice four-course set lunch. I would recommend this tour to anyone. Thank you both for a wonderful day!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Tour from Athens to Cape Sounion with meal at Vouliagmeni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing! You shall do this one it's worth it. Love Greece

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The morning was a 4 hour walking tour that covered the President's Palace, Olympic Stadium, Hadrian's Arch, Temple of Zeus and the Olympic Stadium. We ended by climbing the hill to the Acropolis. The Acropolis was a bit of a let down as it is extremely crowded and practically covered with scaffolding and cranes. still amazing to experience a 2500 year old monument. The afternoon was a bus ride to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon which was amazing. No crowds, amazing ocean views and a relatively pristine temple. Awesome day!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message