Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 375 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We took a 4 days cruise and visited Athens and did the tourist stuff but all all our experience the private tour to sounion was what I will remember for ever as the best experience of my life. My 2 children were with me all they also agree that it was the best thing of our trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Tour from Athens to Cape Sounion with meal at Vouliagmeni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We took a 4 days cruise and visited Athens and did the tourist stuff but all all our experience the private tour to sounion was what I will remember for ever as the best experience of my life. My 2 children were with me all they also agree that it was the best thing of our trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Tour from Athens to Cape Sounion with meal at Vouliagmeni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We took a 4 days cruise and visited Athens and did the tourist stuff but all all our experience the private tour to sounion was what I will remember for ever as the best experience of my life. My 2 children were with me all they also agree that it was the best thing of our trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Tour from Athens to Cape Sounion with meal at Vouliagmeni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide is what made this tour. She explained everything so well and brought the history of Athens to life. You will see all the major sites of Athens on this tour, and your ticket is good for four additional days to visit all the archeological sites of Athens.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was very good. The bus trip was over an hour and the tour guide gave us a history of Athens the entire trip. I would rate the tour guide as outstanding. Her understanding of Athens is remarkable

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good tour, where you see all the highlights. Guide was good, but she kept the info just with the basics. We have seen more lively/emotional involved guides in the past other destinations. But still a good way to discover Athens!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Delphi was a great trip and as I knew my way about I was able to visit more than was on the official trip, Like the sanctuary of Athena. Some guests were disappointed at this as it is shown on the picture opposite but not visited.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The Acropolis is a must see for any tourist in Athens. The trip to Poseidon's temple had a nice drive by the sea side. Tour guide was great too

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This your was ok. The site is well worth visiting, but our tour guide was very average.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The Acropolis walking guide was informative but EXTREMELY RUDE! She was paranoid that people were recording her. At one point she told me that I have to stop recording her or she would not continue. I explained that I was taking pics and she said I was taking pics all day I need to stop ....WHAT????

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I can not explain just how amazing this trip was. Worth every penny and more. Our tour guide was the BEST! She treated us like royalty and provided so much history and knowledge is was incredible. I could have spent my whole time in Athens with her just talking about the history. The sites are breathtaking - the lunch was very nice as well. it was the best day we had in Athens by far.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Tour from Athens to Cape Sounion with meal at Vouliagmeni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The drive to Cape Sounion is very beautiful and the Temple of Poseidon is just stunning. The views from it are just breathtaking.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a highlight of our trip the tour guide and driver were excellent we got to see many different sights alone the way and Cape Sounion was just spectacular and the walk around we had a wonderful meal in Vouliagmeni which was just perfect great local and very very good food and wine.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Tour from Athens to Cape Sounion with meal at Vouliagmeni

Shelley P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very good. Should offer a 2 day to include the museum with a guide and a couple of other places we saw while walking but did not get to visit with the guide since it was not included (ie. Olympics stadium).

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Errol M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Nice drive through the countryside south of Athens.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Joy, the Tour Guide for the walking tour was excellent... She seemed to really know her history and had lots of stories to tell...which I loved hearing and which makes a huge difference. The afternoon Cape Sounin tour was good.,.enjoyed the drive through other parts of Athens.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Awesome temple. Glad to have seen it. Your tour guide was lovely. Wish we had more time there. Drive was fantastic with the setting sun over the ocean.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

After visiting Pantheon in Athena's honor, I loved the symmetry of learning about Poseidon here. I know it'll be cold and windy but it's DEFINITELY worth it. Hands down, it was my favorite thing I did in Greece. The drive was incredible and you should absolutely take the time to explore Capenion

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message