• USD ($)
  • English

Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 249 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Beautiful tour and wonderful drive! Guide was lovely and very knowledgable

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was great. Our guides Vicky and Laila were very knowledgeable and nice. They made the experience amazing. I would highly recommend the tours.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A lovely half day trip not only for the destination but mostly for the scenic trip around the coast to get to Cape Sounion. If you aren't leaving Athens for the islands then it does give you a sense that you have seen the Agean (Saronic Gulf) which is gorgeous and made me realise that a few days booked in a little town near Athens on the way to Sounion is also a option to consider to have a seaside retreat.
The temple is impressive and the lofty location gorgeous ( very windy). Not a sunset trip as I believed but that meant we got to enjoy the trip home in daylight as well. Not enough time to hang at temple and have a cup of tea at cafe - bathroom queue got very long at times as well so a little more time at destination (30 mins) after a relatively long road trip would have been appreciated.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

good day trip. Guide was excellent explaining and showing us the sights.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

It was a 45-60 minute drive to the Temple of Poseidon which was nice but there was not much to it. The whole drive there the tour guide described the scenery and gave us info about life in Greece. There were spectacular views along the way and at the site but if I had the choice, I would have chosen a different tour.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great experience, everything was professionally organised- the timings, tours, sights.. The tour guides had a lots of knowledge about the history, area, culture. It was just great tripand we would accommodate this tour for everyone.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Pick up from the hotel was a bit late but we called the company and they reassured us that they were on their way. Pleasant and knowledgable tour guide. You see lots of temples when in Athens but this is worth visiting for the legends and the beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very interesting sight and a nice panoramic coast drive on both ways.
Really sad that so much ancient architecture got destroyed, but imagination how it might had been was supported by all the amazing facts presented by the tour guide.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip. The driver and guide were professional and knowledgeable. We were picked up right on time from the lobby of our hotel, and delivered safely at the end of our tour. We even saved a few Euros by booking this tour before we got to Greece.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was a quick trip, but it was definitely worth it. The views on the ride there were just as awesome as the destination.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Guide was very pleasant, friendly and knowledgable about the sight. She gave a great commentary throughout the trip.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic day out but would have loved to stay sunset and have it coupled with a beach visit, even though it was winter. Stunning views and the temple was fantastic! An experience that will stay with me for a lifetime :) Can't wait to go back!!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Well worth a visit and in the evening with the sun setting was a wonderful way to end our first day in Athens. Di and George

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message