Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 296 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Perfect half day trip with amazing sights and views of the gulf.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I would definitely do this tour again!! I'm so glad my husband found this website. Great deals, friendly staff, can't beat that! The staff was really knowledgeable about Greece and there surroundings. If you had a question, they knew the answer to it. I will definitely be using Viator again to book sightseeing tours and other tours!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The day before my tour I was notified it was too hot for a walking tour, I agreed, so I was upgraded to the bus tour. The tour guide was kind and knowledgable. We hit all the important sites. The we had a long lunch break and the went to the coast to Cape Sounion which was beautiful! Great veiws

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Spectacular location, wonderful views. Friendly, well-informed guide. Would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was very nice well organized and the tour guide was quite informative. The only draw back was the winding roads that most of Greece has. Highly recommend this tour as it was amazing to see the temple and the awesome Agean Sea.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was excellent. We had a couple of problems but our guide overcame these by showing us a few different things that weren't actually in the itinerary. Maybe it could include a trip to the underground subway to see the roman ruins.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The Acropolis walking tour was very good and the guide informative. Take water with you the drinks at the location are unbelievably expensive. The printed ticket doesn't explain that you need to pay for the entrance to the Acropolis or that you should bring passports for Children who get in free with ID - so do take ID. Unlike other tours i've been on the guide didn't use a micro phone, there were a number of people in the group and Athens is pretty noisy so you had to be very close to hear the guide. Sounion a 90 min coach drive there, 5 mins at the temple there and then 90 mins coach ride back so in itself a lot of travel for not so much. That said the views from the cliff were spectacular.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Must see. We could have seen the sites on our own, but with the help of the tour guide it was more interesting. We leaned a lot due to the passionate guide, who knew her history very well.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The sites are all must-see and the tour is well-organized and informative.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Katvah was a wonderful guide on part of this tour. This two day experience was a great choice for us. The guides should always use a portable mike so all can hear. Not a problem on the bus.
The antquities at Delphi and Poseidn were amazing. Highly recommend this choice of the City tour and then Poseidon' temple

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

EXCELLENT!!!! The temple and the area were simply stunning!! Short bus ride, GREAT tour guide, beautiful site, a picture stop on the side of the road to take pics of the gorgeous view. Simply wonderful, a must see!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

morning tour of the various sights downtown including the acropolis was just great, had excellent tour guide who was more an archiologist than tour guide as he incredible depth of knowledge, was able interrelate each ruin wtih what was happening in the world, in the city, in the culture. Museum as last stop which was a great way to close...amazing sites, doable as long as it is not too hot, find the shade any time you can, and water...afternoon bus tour was good, hard to keep new information coming as it takes and hour or so to get to the ruin. the drive along the coast is amazing. once there, very rewarding. very good way to get a taste ot athens in a day...

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Walking your was very informative and our tour guide was great for sharing bits of info not found in the tour guides. Only suggestions would be to start an hour earlier to get cooler temperatures. It also should be very clear that the entrance fee for the Acropolis is an additional fee required in cash. The afternoon tour gives a lovely drive down the coast which was lovely to see.
The Poseidon ruins are fabulous and glad we had an opportunity to see.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message