Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 353 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Awesome temple. Glad to have seen it. Your tour guide was lovely. Wish we had more time there. Drive was fantastic with the setting sun over the ocean.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

After visiting Pantheon in Athena's honor, I loved the symmetry of learning about Poseidon here. I know it'll be cold and windy but it's DEFINITELY worth it. Hands down, it was my favorite thing I did in Greece. The drive was incredible and you should absolutely take the time to explore Capenion

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour and guide were awesome. It was a great way to see the city and learn about the sites. The bus was clean and tour guide was knowledgeable. I would recommend this tour to anyone traveling to Athens. The only issue I had was not having a set pick-up location given to me when I booked the tour; I had to have the hotel call the tour company when we arrived in Athens. Good thing the company was still open when we arrive since they picked us up an hour earlier (0735) than I had planned for and we probably wouldn't have been able to recover if had we waiting until morning to contact them.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Given this trip involves around 3 hours of travel (there and back) I think it's fair to say you need to be really keen on the history of Greece to do this. The temple remains are pretty impressive, but there's nothing else here to grab you attention, so to be honest even with the guide talking you through the history of the place it's done in 30 minutes. Great views over the Aegean sea though. The tour guide was great and the trip was comfortable (decent vehicle) - so would recommend if historical stuff is really your thing, but not if it's a passing interest.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

too many people. trip was too impersonal. guides were good but info too general. will book private guide next time. I did a group tour in Paris with your company that was excellent. I wonder why the Athens tour was not good.....

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great trip. The Temple was amazing and the Guide did a great job.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Delphi trip was very nice, guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip plus Delphi Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It is okay if you have only half day to get out of Athens to explore another historical site.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was very easy-going and informative. The guide was nice and talked to us about Greece, the history, the language all the way and back to Athens. The Cape Sounion is absolutely amazing, the temple itself is very well kept and the views are awesome. The sunset over the sea is memorable. Excellent tour for a quick trip outside Athens.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour very informative guide

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

enjoyed this very much. Lovely drive and interesting temple. Ideal tour if you are just wanting a relaxing afternoon. Hotel transfers well organized also.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Although our walking tour became a driving tour since the main arteries were closed for Independence Day parades, this was still a good way to see the main city sites, plus the Acropolis and the Temple of Poseidon. The bus was clean and comfortable and the guide was very knowledgeable. We only wish the guide had talked less and given us more free time to enjoy the Acropolis at our own pace.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Cape Sounion is beautiful and not too far of a drive from Athens. Wish we had better weather but no one controls that :) Our guide was informative/easy to understand on the bus and at the site. We were given ample time to explore and take pics.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Long bus ride to see ruins by the seaside!! It's pretty but an hour to get there and an hour back leaving about 45-55 mins to walk around the temple..

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message