• USD ($)
  • English

Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

Athens' Tomb of the Unknown Soldier (Mnēmeíon Agnōstou Stratiōtou) commemorates all those Greek soldiers who died in service of their country over its long history. Among its inscriptions are quotes from Pericles Funeral Oration as written by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very informative and well organized tour.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Dipranil
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Excellent. Guide was fantastic. Cape Sounion was the highlight for me. Maybe time it a little different to catch the sunset while you are at the cape.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Very informative. Amazing views. You get to see a lot with a short drive. Totally a surprise. I recommend this for anyone who loves water, mountains and mesmerizing view.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Brilliant trip superb guide very knowledgeable highly recommended

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The tomb is massive and has a beautiful bas-relief of a deceased warrior lying on a bed.We observed the changing of the guard on September 29, 2011. It was an awe-inspiring occurrence. The photo does not do justice to the uniforms or march-step used. They raise each foot, extend it upwards at a 45 degree angle, with the opposing arm at the same angle, and then step forward. There are videoclips on YouTube that show it. Definitely a must-see if in Athens!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We were unable to see the National Archeological Museum because of the strike. However, the supplier arranged for our guide to take us to the New Acropolis Museum which was amazing! Even though transporation was disrupted, Vicki made a heroic effort to get to our hotel so that we could take the tour. Her expertise in archeology makes her an exceptional guide. We truly bonded with her. She will be a life-long friend of our family. We are so grateful to them for making our trip to Greece memorable even though the city was practically shut down due to the strike. They are amazing!

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: National Archaeological Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

getting ready by 7:30am was well worth it. got to see most of the landmarks around the city centre and the guide explained to us what everything was and the history behind it.
the half-day cape sounion trip was awesome as well. long ride to temple of Poseidon but it was very scenic on the way. the guide was amazing and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

All in all the tour was good.
But: the were 3 Franch speaking people on bus and our guide spent half time speaking in Franch.
That means we lost half of here valuable time.
Compering with prices in other broshures your tour is very overpriced.
David

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Excellent guides. The Acropolis tour was most interesting. The guide to Cape Sounion was great, but there was only one thing to see: The Temple of Poseidon. Plenty of time to swim at one of the lovely beaches we passed, but this was not built in to the schedule.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Ths tour was great and well organised. The trip to Cape Sounion well worth it too. Picked me up and dropped me back at my hotel as well!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Our guide was excellent however if you prepay all though I called to let them know that a member of our team was sick and unable to make it there was no refund

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Loved the tour...wish the tour guide had headsets because with a crowd of 25 it was hard to hear her on the acropolis and in the museum.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The morning tour was amazing including the walk around the Parthenon at the Acropolis and we had a terrific tour guide. Wear sturdy walking shoes as the well worn marble slabs on the path were slippery and we saw 3 people slip.Fantastic photo opportunities looking over Athens. Highlight was visiting the 4yr old Acropolis Museum with its glass floors built over ancient ruins.Early June was ideal time to visit before the busy tourist season. The afternoon long coastal bus trip to Cape Sounion provided interesting scenery of the ocean and countryside but was a bit of an anticlimax when we arrived at Temple of Poseiden.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Guide Katarina was great. Thanks to guides like her make it possible to see the essence of a place like Athens in just half a day, while providing you with enough inspiration to explore further. The half-day tour of Athens was great. In contrast however, the Cape Sounion trip was not worth the time going there in my view.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The Athens part was fine. We were picked up promptly, our guide was knowledgeable and we saw the principal sights.
The Cape Sounion trip was hardly worth it. A one and a half drive each way along a beautiful but repetitve coast line, for approximately forty five minutes at the temple of Poseidon, left us with the feeling we could have done more with our limited time in Athens.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message