Athens - cradle of democracy and birthplace of philosophy. How much of ourselves we can trace back to ancient Greece is truly remarkable, but when visiting this magnificent city, its history is not the first thing you meet. That Athens is rife ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2815 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice and informTive as well as entertaining. Fun filled evening.

Doing what: Athens Night Sightseeing Tour with Greek Dinner Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour guide! She explained everything in Athens on our way to Cape Sounion and answered any questions we had, plus she or someone called the hotel the day before to tell us the time that we would be picked up from the hotel. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Hermes was a great tour guide!!! It was super hot when I took the walking tour, but he always made sure everyone could stand in the shade when he would stop to talk about the different buildings in the Acropolis. He was pretty funny too, and knowledgeable and informative about the history of the Greeks. He was also very willing to answer questions and took an interest in getting to know the people on the tour. I would definitely recommend him and this tour! Bring water!!

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was spectacular! The sights and history of Greece is incredibly fascinating. This tour has a lot of walking and moves quickly, but it is well worth it if you want to see a lot in a short amount of time. Our guide Irene was very passionate, patient, and knowledgeable. Loved it!!

Doing what: Best 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was good! Everything as described. A fantastic way to see the sights and get an idea of the history and layout of Athens

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was well organised and a very comprehensive tour. The tour guide was very informative and we were able to see all the sights with the appropriate time set. Overall, the tour showed us all the main sights and provided efficient information.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly informative guide---almost a walking encyclopedia. Amalia hotels were excellent.

Doing what: Best 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Sure beats walking.

Doing what: Athens City Highlights Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent! Really enjoyed it. Would recommend... it's very in depth but well worth it! Well done Viator!

Doing what: Best 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was an awesome tour with a lot historical inside and tipps where else to go.

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My husband and I were the only ones on this tour, so it felt very special. Our guide Marisa?, who is an archaeologist, was not only knowledgeable but funny and very friendly. We got a lot of info but never felt like it was dry. We did this tour in the evening our first day in Athens, and that was the perfect time to do it. It gave us an overview of the area and the sites within a few hours of landing, so this helped us navigate our subsequent days in the city. We watched the sunset and had our picnic on a local hill while we could see tons of tourists watching it from Mars Hill, nearby. We really felt like we got the insider's view of Athens. Marisa also recommended a great local restaurant, Manh Manh, that turned out to be a block from our hotel. I would definitely do this tour with her again!

Doing what: Best Hidden Athens Walking Tour and Picnic: Plaka and the Hills of Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A very leisurely tour that explores the aspects and areas of Athens we would never have found on our own. The guide was extremely knowledgeable about Athens and Greek history, which really helped flesh out and uncover the uniqueness of the areas we visited

Doing what: Best Hidden Athens Walking Tour and Picnic: Plaka and the Hills of Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour full of lots of information about Delphi and its importance to Greece. Great trip to the Delphi museum as well

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great overview of famous areas and sights of Athens. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. Would recommend following up this tour with the Hidden Athens walking tour to fully flesh out your Athens experience

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really fun! The guide was very knowledgeable and the entire trip was worth it. Great value! Glad I did it!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the highlight of our visit to Athens. Our tour guide met us at our hotel and during a short walk to our first stop she gave us the itinerary she had arranged in advance. Our tour was set up by the tour guide so we would visit the New Acropolis Museum before we climbed to the Acropolis. This allowed us to learn about the Acropolis prior to actually visiting the site. Our tour guide was extremely informative with dates, history, and information we had never before knew existed about the Acropolis. We finished our tour with a quiet dinner at a Athens restaurant where the food was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was excellent communicator and very pleasant. The food was delicious and a verey relaxing atmosphere. It was a great and delightful evening tour.

Doing what: Athens Night Sightseeing Tour with Greek Dinner Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was fantastic. Our guide was so informative with all the history of the Acropolis and Greece, in general. I can't even believe she was able to keep all the facts and dates straight. Its a great way to see the city if you have limited time in Athens.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent organization by the tour company. Guide, bus, sites, timings were all excellent. Hotel locations were perfect, the hotels were good being most probably built in the 1970, but not great

Doing what: Best 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent tour. My husbaand and I were the only people on the tour on the morning that we did the tour so we actually had a private tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and the tour was well paced. The tasting of Mango liquor at Brettos Bar was an unexpected treat.

Doing what: Best Hidden Athens Walking Tour and Picnic: Plaka and the Hills of Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide Christina was just amazing. She gave us a very interesting and informative tour of the city. We loved it!

Doing what: Alternative Athens City Walk

cookie
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well worth it. Our guide was very knowledgeable and professional and managed to find a little shade to inform us of what we were going to see. I was pleasantly surprised as other tours following the same itinerary were far more expensive. A great tour!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this tour was excellent and well worth it Angelina was a very informative guide we were picked up from our hotel and given a tour of the city on our way to the taverna the meal and entertainment were great - am so glad we did this tour would highly recommend it

Doing what: Athens Night Sightseeing Tour with Greek Dinner Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Demeteria was the best tour guide! This tour was the highlight of my stay in Greece. Excellent people, excellent scenery, amazing guide, great hotels, and delicious food! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Best 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I liked it because it included all the highlights. We did the Acropolis first thing and avoided crowds and heat. The guide was great and to the point.
The afternoon trip was great because we got to rest and then were taken to Sounion. We were given free time which was great.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message