There is so much to do in the Athens area, from island hopping in the Aegean and consulting with oracles at Delphi to exploring ancient Corinth or wine tasting in Nemea. Most Greek island-hopping adventures start off from Piraeus harbor in Athens, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We scheduled an extra day in Athens just to take this day trip. It was a long bus ride for a day trip, but worth it if you came to see ancient Greek ruins. The guide was very informative.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Please take this tour!! It was the most fun we had on our 13 day trip around Europe. Antonis is not only a fun guy to barhop with - he really knows his history, too! We learned a lot about Athens life and Greek history while enjoying some delicious drinks. He takes you to places that you would only know about from a local. Avoid tourist traps with no culture or flavor and explore Athens nightlife with Antonis. We can not recommend it enough!!

Doing what: Best Athens Bar Hopping Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our day trip to Delphi from Athens was fantastic! I would highly recommend it to any traveler. The bus ride was comfortable and the tour was very good. We enjoyed our day immensely.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! Saw so much in 4 days. Corinth Canal, Mycenae, Epidaurus, Olympia, Delphi, Thermopylae, Meteora. Katherina our tour guide did an outstanding job explaining to us the significance of what we were seeing at each site. We had a small amount of time at each location to explore. We opted for First Class Accomodations and they were good. Porters at each hotel did a great job unloading and loading our suitcases. So glad we did the 4-day trip to see Meteora. There was a lot of walking around on this tour and we had some older and physically challenged people - they hung in there for most of the tours but sometimes they had to wait while we climbed further. Several museums to visit at Epidaurus, Olympia, and Delphi. This 4 day tour gave us a much broader perspective and exposure to Greece beyond our stay in Athens.

Doing what: Best 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

Helene D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a terrific way to spend a Sunday in Athens. There was an early start and pickup from a nearby hotel and the bus went directly to the ferry after picking up others from their hotels. It was a large ferry specifically for the day tour to the 3 islands. It took a few hours to get to the first destination - Hydra - a picture postcard of a Greek island with dazzling white buildings, waterside cafes and shops, a museum and time to wander and explore. A buffet lunch aboard the ferry was generous and quite good - live music helped it all swing along merrily. The second island of Poros was less exciting - a clock tower being the main feature. But the last island of Aegina was, for me, the most interesting. I recommend the tour to see the temple of Aefia - the setting and ruins are moving and spectacular. What a site! The long ferry trip home was made fun by a live Greek dancing display with 2 handsome and talented young men leading the charge and later getting the day trippers to join in. It was a lot of fun. Arrived back in Athens after sunset exhausted but content with the day.

Doing what: Best Hydra, Poros and Egina Day Cruise from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour, due both to the places it took us and especially because our guide, Emilios, was a highly educated and thoughtful man (he was trained as an engineer but has been a guide for decades) who brought alive the myths associated with each place, and also told us the real history and how the two were intertwined. Along the way he also told us about the importance of olives to the Greeks, how each family has at least one olive tree from which it produces both oil and soap, why eating olives must be cured and how, the difference between Kalamata olives and those grown below Delphi, and many other things. Unfortunately, Emilios is aging, and it seems inevitable that he will be retiring before too long, so I would urge you to take one of his tours while they are still available.

The visit to Nafplion was a real plus. It is beautiful and a nice respite from ancient stones.

Our tour was actually the first three days of a four-day tour, the last day to the monasteries of Meteora. We needed to be back in Athens so we were put on a different bus at Delphi, one that had brought others for a one day trip to Delphi. We had Emilios for the visit to the site at Dephi but we had another guide for the trip back to Athens. He, too, seemed to be knowledgeable but unfortunately his accent was so heavy that we had trouble understanding what he was saying.

The hotels and meals were also excellent, and the lunch restaurants (not included in the price of the tour) were excellent and reasonable for the quality of food. Only the restaurant at Olympia was not as good as the rest. Although the restaurants were very good, I would have been happy to have gone to at least one ordinary taverna in the course of the trip.

We were perhaps fortunate in that our bus was less than half full, so we had ample opportunity to talk to Emilios and also to the other people on the tour, most of whom were also interesting.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was our best tour during our 10-day trip in Athens! In fact, we went back to the places we were brought to during this tour for a second time. The tour guide was the best we had amongst other tours, probably because we had a small group of only 5 people. We were introduced to local food common to the Greeks so it is good information on food culture.

Doing what: Best Athens Small-Group Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very interesting day trip with knowledgeable guide. Unfortunately we hit Athens mid-heat wave and it was very hot to be doing all that walking. Make sure you have plenty of water with you.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This tour was simply amazing. If you go to Athens, you HAVE to go to Delphi, its an easy one day trip, with lunch included, which was at an amazing restaurant down from the mountaintop, we feasted like kings and the staff was super friendly and warm. Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and excited to explain all about Delphi. We got to see all of the major sites and had time during the one day trip to explore the museum there with the guide explaining everything in great detail that we were seeing. The ONLY issue about the one day version of this tour is that it does not leave enough time to go down to the Sanctuary of Athena, where the famed Tholos is. If you are quick you can basically jog down there after the main tour and catch back up with the group once they are in the museum. I wasn't going to miss this opportunity so the guide was helpful in telling me to go down to the Tholos first and then come back up to the museum, I had time to do both and was grateful I got to see everything. Easily the best money spent on my trip.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Excellent half day trip from Athens. Pick up on time, drive was great with great coastal scenery along the way. Martina our guide was very good. She was enthusiastic, friendly and informative.
The view at the temple was amazing.
I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

This was such an awesome day trip! The bus ride was great; you get to see so much of Greece that you don't get to see by staying in Athens. The ruins were incredible and the tour guide was excellent!! We accidentally left our bag on the bus and the company returned it to our hotel the next day!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Nice day trip out of Athens. It was raining a bit on that day but it didn't spoilt the experience. Delphi is a lovely place and we enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Nice half day trip from Athens, the weather was lovely. We enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Fantastic trip! Visited Athens as a solo traveller and was picked up from hotel, and although a long drive, it is well worth the trip as Delphi is in the most stunning setting up in the mountains with terrific views. Had time to do the museum and had a lovely lunch which was included. Highly recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

What a fabulous way to spend time while in Athens! A great way to get out of the city and see a little more of Greece! The cruise itself was very well organized and hotel pick up and drop off was very convenient. All three islands were absolutely beautiful and wonderful. Would have been nice to spend a little more time at each though... Overall, a fabulous day trip and I would recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Best Hydra, Poros and Egina Day Cruise from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed everything about Athens.The guides for All the Viator day trips were excellent!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

We enjoyed every part of the Corinth Half-Day Trip from Athens. We met the bus at a hotel just three blocks from our hotel. Our guide started out speaking English only but discovered we had French speakers in the group and then gave all of her comments in both languages. Our first stop was the Corinth Canal. We were amazed at how deep it is with walls straight up and down. We walked across the iron pedestrian bridge and back on the other side of the road. Returned to bus we dove down a side road to see ancient fortifications and then on to Corinth. The site was amazing with ruins everywhere. First we toured the small museum and then went out into ancient Corinth where the apostle Paul had been. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and showed us many things we would not have known about without her. I would highly recommend this tour, especially to those who are interested in the Biblical connection to Paul when he was in Corinth.

Doing what: Corinth Half-Day Trip from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Excellent half day trip out of the hustle and bustle of Athens! Cape Sounion was gorgeous, and the temple was stunning, overlooking the water. There was plenty of time to explore the temple and the nearby area. Our tour guide was very friendly and tried very hard to make sure that everyone was satisfied and happy. Added bonus was being picked up for the hotel. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Sounion was a great trip. Definitely worth a half day trip from Athens by bus.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Delhi was beautiful and Meteora was spectacular!
I would recommend anyone going to Athens to take this 2 day trip. The guide was great, everyone was punctual and sites visited were breathtaking!
The only complaint my boyfriend and I had,was that no one told us we have to wear something that covers our knees to monasteries. It wasn't mentioned anywhere on the website or mentioned by the guide at the beginning of the trip. We were told about this at 8pm and the visit to monasteries was at 8:30am the next morning. This was after being on the road for 12 hours, tired and exhausted we had to go shopping. Kalambaki is a cute little town, but in terms of shopping for a pair of summer trousers and the right size it wasn't great. I managed to find a colourful skirt but still...
Also, we paid for a 4 star hotel and were checked into a 3 star and again weren't told in advance.

All in all looking back at it now it was a great trip, but I would definitely suggest to bring a pair of trousers and a skirt if someone decided to take the tour : once you see the beautiful views you forget about everything! :

Kristina.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A wonderful day trip exploring the islands off Athens, great buffet lunch.

Doing what: Best Hydra, Poros and Egina Day Cruise from Athens

Susan H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great option for a day trip out of Athens. The ruins are in a beautiful setting, and it is really easy to visualise how the place looked throughout history via the ruins that are left. I would recommend the option without lunch, as then you get the chance to explore the small town of Delphi by yourself, and take lunch of your choice in a restaurant with great mountain/lake views.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The trip to and from Athens to Delphi provides a much better perspective on Greece. if you only stay in Athens you can never get a sense of the country. The day trip is really a 5 star experience. However, the guide was poor to say the least. Some say the other guides are just as poor. So read a little bit before you go and enjoy a very scenic and well driven bus trip into the mountains to Delphi. It's well worth it.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We took the 2 day tour as I read on the web time was needed to see Delphi
Our tour guide Dimitra was very good and wove info on modern Greek life into the Classical Greek narrative
However, a number of people with us on the one day tour were clearly disappointed at the time available at the site and museum - it was quite short
We were able to spend hours at the site and museum next day before joining another one day trip back to Athens
The people on this trip were clearly annoyed at the time available AND the guide who was hard to understand and quite 'wooden' in his narrative. We got the impression that this bus load couldn't wait to bail out in Athens - and they did as soon as they could

Doing what: Best 2-Day Trip to Delphi from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A lovely half day trip not only for the destination but mostly for the scenic trip around the coast to get to Cape Sounion. If you aren't leaving Athens for the islands then it does give you a sense that you have seen the Agean (Saronic Gulf) which is gorgeous and made me realise that a few days booked in a little town near Athens on the way to Sounion is also a option to consider to have a seaside retreat.
The temple is impressive and the lofty location gorgeous ( very windy). Not a sunset trip as I believed but that meant we got to enjoy the trip home in daylight as well. Not enough time to hang at temple and have a cup of tea at cafe - bathroom queue got very long at times as well so a little more time at destination (30 mins) after a relatively long road trip would have been appreciated.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message