Although there’s enough to see in Athens to keep you busy for years, look beyond the Acropolis to see what else Greece has to offer, whether you are an ancient history enthusiast, a sailor or a beach bunny. Greece’s Historic Sites Overnight ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 107 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kaye P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Definitely worth the day trip. Especially if you're into history!.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Chris O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Amazing experience to visit 3 islands in one day. Only downside is you don't get to spend enough time on some of the islands, but still a nice day trip and cruise.

Doing what: Hydra, Poros and Egina Day Cruise from Athens

Kathryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent day trip! Tour guide was very informative and made the ruins come to life. I would highly recommend this excursion!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

andy5times

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful half day trip and fantastic destination. Excellent and very pleasant guide

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Edward F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We scheduled an extra day in Athens just to take this day trip. It was a long bus ride for a day trip, but worth it if you came to see ancient Greek ruins. The guide was very informative.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Tobi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our day trip to Delphi from Athens was fantastic! I would highly recommend it to any traveler. The bus ride was comfortable and the tour was very good. We enjoyed our day immensely.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

endland Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour guide was lovely, very funny and knowledgeable. Good day trip.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

teresitapedraza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour. Do not miss the opportunity to travel to Delphi and Meteora. This 2-Day trip is worth every minute and every penny. Excellent tour guides and service.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

jag

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

excellent day trip

Doing what: Hydra, Poros and Egina Day Cruise from Athens

Kathryn B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a wonderful half-day trip! Getting out of the city was refreshing. Cape Sounion is beautiful. Nice paths to walk around and the temple is very picturesque.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Lee H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Delphey day trip was great very nice museum covered a lot of ground. Town of Delphey also very worthwhile.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Gailhaas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the 4-day trip. Our guides were knowledgeable and helpful. Accommodations were very good. The bus and van were comfortable.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

markhodgefa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

An interesting and informative day trip to Delphi. The coach journey there and back was comfortable and pleasant. The lunch was well worth having, in a nice hotel in the mountains with splendid views over the pretty valley and bay. The guide was knowledgeable and explained, in an appropriate way, the history of Delphi and the other sights we passed. The Museum at Delphi was well laid out and worth visiting.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

lyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful day trip,visiting three Islands .
The entertainment and lunch on board was fantastic.
The pick up and drop from the hotel in Glyfada was on time ,,and a comfortable .

Doing what: Hydra, Poros and Egina Day Cruise from Athens

Stephen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! Saw so much in 4 days. Corinth Canal, Mycenae, Epidaurus, Olympia, Delphi, Thermopylae, Meteora. Katherina our tour guide did an outstanding job explaining to us the significance of what we were seeing at each site. We had a small amount of time at each location to explore. We opted for First Class Accomodations and they were good. Porters at each hotel did a great job unloading and loading our suitcases. So glad we did the 4-day trip to see Meteora. There was a lot of walking around on this tour and we had some older and physically challenged people - they hung in there for most of the tours but sometimes they had to wait while we climbed further. Several museums to visit at Epidaurus, Olympia, and Delphi. This 4 day tour gave us a much broader perspective and exposure to Greece beyond our stay in Athens.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

Helene D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a terrific way to spend a Sunday in Athens. There was an early start and pickup from a nearby hotel and the bus went directly to the ferry after picking up others from their hotels. It was a large ferry specifically for the day tour to the 3 islands. It took a few hours to get to the first destination - Hydra - a picture postcard of a Greek island with dazzling white buildings, waterside cafes and shops, a museum and time to wander and explore. A buffet lunch aboard the ferry was generous and quite good - live music helped it all swing along merrily. The second island of Poros was less exciting - a clock tower being the main feature. But the last island of Aegina was, for me, the most interesting. I recommend the tour to see the temple of Aefia - the setting and ruins are moving and spectacular. What a site! The long ferry trip home was made fun by a live Greek dancing display with 2 handsome and talented young men leading the charge and later getting the day trippers to join in. It was a lot of fun. Arrived back in Athens after sunset exhausted but content with the day.

Doing what: Hydra, Poros and Egina Day Cruise from Athens

Lisa Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Perfect half day trip with amazing sights and views of the gulf.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Mathew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a great day trip. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable and added so much to the day. Highly recommend this day trip!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Lindsay G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is a brilliant day trip, we actually toured Mykonos and Santorini but have to say we loved Hydra the best. Great facilities on the boat and not too crowded, excellent lunch, I can't recommend this tour enough.

Doing what: Hydra, Poros and Egina Day Cruise from Athens

caspar d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour, due both to the places it took us and especially because our guide, Emilios, was a highly educated and thoughtful man (he was trained as an engineer but has been a guide for decades) who brought alive the myths associated with each place, and also told us the real history and how the two were intertwined. Along the way he also told us about the importance of olives to the Greeks, how each family has at least one olive tree from which it produces both oil and soap, why eating olives must be cured and how, the difference between Kalamata olives and those grown below Delphi, and many other things. Unfortunately, Emilios is aging, and it seems inevitable that he will be retiring before too long, so I would urge you to take one of his tours while they are still available.

The visit to Nafplion was a real plus. It is beautiful and a nice respite from ancient stones.

Our tour was actually the first three days of a four-day tour, the last day to the monasteries of Meteora. We needed to be back in Athens so we were put on a different bus at Delphi, one that had brought others for a one day trip to Delphi. We had Emilios for the visit to the site at Dephi but we had another guide for the trip back to Athens. He, too, seemed to be knowledgeable but unfortunately his accent was so heavy that we had trouble understanding what he was saying.

The hotels and meals were also excellent, and the lunch restaurants (not included in the price of the tour) were excellent and reasonable for the quality of food. Only the restaurant at Olympia was not as good as the rest. Although the restaurants were very good, I would have been happy to have gone to at least one ordinary taverna in the course of the trip.

We were perhaps fortunate in that our bus was less than half full, so we had ample opportunity to talk to Emilios and also to the other people on the tour, most of whom were also interesting.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

SCV

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! Delphi and Meteora are magical places. Katarina, our guide, was super knowledgeable and had an amazing ability to explain history facts and greek mythology in the most exciting way. The hotels were very nice. The first day we stopped for lunch at a very nice hotel in Delphi (beautiful views, swimming pool, nice gardens), which apparently is the one they use on the 3-day trip (so I'd recommend that option to anyone that has the time, unfortunately I didn't). The group was 8pax only, so very comfortable.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I loved my tour to Santorini, which is a fabulous destination! We had a good ferry trip to and from the island from Piraeus. Our hotel The Loucas, was wonderful with an incredible view...We also took an excursion to the volcano by boat and a bus tour to Akrotiri, with it's interesting ruins and to Oia fo sunset. People at the Hotel and on the day trips were most helpful and informative. We also sampled the local wine at the Santovino Winery, which has one of the great views of the caldera.I hope to go again someday... and visit more, Donna

Doing what: 3-Night Santorini Tour from Athens

Leif O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The day trip to Delphi was an easy way to get to the World heritage!
A lunch at an outside taverna in the village could be recommended!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

bobbi.burk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Really nice half day trip. Our guide was very knowledgeable and kind. She handled questions well and the kids on the trip were very comfortable approaching her.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

JoAnne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Loved this day trip. Our guide was fantastic, giving us just great information not only about Delphi, but history and geography of Greece. It's a long drive, but worth it. If you have difficulty walking, this would be a hard place to visit.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message